DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 28th 2023 and September 15th 2022 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4, 6, 8-11, 14-15 and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 2-4, 6, 8, 10-11, 14-15 and 18-20, the term “about” before a value, should be removed, such that would avoid the possible 112b issues.
In claim 9, the preamble “…one or more optical…” should change to “…at least two optical devices…”, such that would avoid a possible 112 issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al (US2010/0252540A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Lei, in view of JP2005059042A (newly cited) herein set forth as JP59042A.
Regarding claim 1, Lei discloses a method of dicing an optical device (refer to “optical device” annotated in fig.3) from a substrate (#8, fig.3) comprising:
forming a first trench (tool path #10, fig.3) by exposing the substrate (workpiece #8, fig.3) to one or more first radiation pulses (laser pulse #16, fig.3) around a circumference (refer to the shape of the tool path #10 in fig.3) of the optical device (refer to “optical device” annotated in fig.3), the first trench (tool path #10, fig.3) having a first depth (Examiner note: the depth of the trench is a result of Lei’s laser pulse removing material along the tool path #10).
Lei does not disclose forming a second trench by exposing the substrate to one or more second radiation pulses around the circumference of the optical device, the second trench having a second depth greater than the first depth and the second trench being concentric about the first trench; and forming one or more additional trenches by exposing the substrate to one or more additional radiation pulses around the circumference of the optical device, each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches having a depth greater than a previous depth of a previously formed trench, each subsequently formed additional trench concentric about a previously formed additional trench.
In the similar field of laser machining method, JP59042A discloses forming a first trench (refer to “first trench” annotated in fig.4c) by exposing the substrate (#401 and #403, fig. 4A-C) to one or more first radiation pulses (#404, fig.4A-C), the first trench (refer to “first trench” annotated in fig.4c) having a first depth (refer to the depth of “first trench” annotated in fig. 4C); forming a second trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4c) by exposing the substrate (#401 and #403, fig. 4A-C) to one or more second radiation pulses (#404, fig.4A-C), the second trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4c) having a second depth (refer to the depth of “second trench” annotated in fig. 4C) greater than the first depth (refer to the depth of “first trench” annotated in fig. 4C); and forming one or more additional trenches (refer to “third trench” annotated in fig.4c) by exposing the substrate (#401 and #403, fig. 4A-C) to one or more additional radiation pulses (#404, fig.4A-C), each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches (refer to “third trench” annotated in fig.4c) having a depth (refer to the depth of “third trench” annotated in fig. 4C) greater than a previous depth (refer to the depth of “second trench” annotated in fig. 4C) of a previously formed trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s method with forming a second trench by exposing the substrate to one or more second radiation pulses around the circumference of the optical device, the second trench having a second depth greater than the first depth and the second trench being beside the first trench; and forming one or more additional trenches by exposing the substrate to one or more additional radiation pulses, each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches having a depth greater than a previous depth of a previously formed trench, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
Regarding claim 2, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei further discloses wherein each of the one or more first radiation pulses has a pulse width of less than about 30 picoseconds (refer to Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts…”)
.
Regarding claim 3, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei does not disclose wherein the one or more second radiation pulses are delivered outward of the one or more first radiation pulses by a radial distance of about 0.01 mm to about 0.05 mm.
In the similar field of laser machining method, JP59042A further discloses wherein the one or more second radiation pulses (laser pulse #404, fig.4) are delivered outward (refer to the laser pulses #404 between “first trench” and the “second trench” annotated in the fig 4a) of the one or more first radiation pulses (laser pulse #404, fig.4) by a radial distance (refer to the distance between each of the Silhouettes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s method with wherein the one or more second radiation pulses are delivered outward of the one or more first radiation pulses by a radial distance, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
JP59042A discloses the one or more second radiation pulses are delivered outward of the one or more first radiation pulses by a radial distance as shown in Fig. 4, but does not explicitly disclose a radial distance of about 0.01mm to about 0.05mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radial distance of JP59042A to about 0.01mm to about 0.05mm, in order to provide accommodation to various laser machining sizes and/or the appropriate designed sizes for laser machining, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (refer to MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei does not disclose wherein the first trench and the second trench a tapered edge of the optical device, the tapered edge having a taper angle of about 1 degree to about 45 degrees with respect to a plane normal to a top substrate surface.
In the similar field of laser machining method, JP59042A further discloses wherein the first trench (refer to “first trench” annotated in fig.4) and the second trench (refer to “first trench” annotated in fig.4) a tapered edge (refer to fig.4 for the annotated “tapered line” as a tapered edge of the trenches, Examiner note: “tapered edge” does not mean it is a smooth tapered edge, it can be a not smooth tapered edge just as shown in Fig. 4c), the tapered edge (refer to fig.4 for the annotated “tapered line” as a tapered edge of the trenches, Examiner note: “tapered edge” does not mean it is a smooth tapered edge, it can be a not smooth tapered edge like Fig. 4c) having a taper angle (refer to “taper angle” annotated in fig. 4b) with respect to a plane (refer to “plane” annotated in fig.4b) normal to a top substrate surface (refer to “surface” annotated in fig.4b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s invention with wherein the first trench and the second trench a tapered edge of the optical device, the tapered edge having a taper angle with respect to a plane normal to a top substrate surface, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
JP59042A discloses a taper angle in fig.4b (refer to “taper angle” annotated in fig.4b) but does not explicitly disclose a taper angle of about 1 degree to about 45 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the taper angle of JP59042A to about 1 degree to about 45 degrees, in order to different laser machining depth, accommodate the appropriate designed depth for laser machining, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(refer to MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei further discloses wherein the substrate comprises one or a combination of silicon (refer to Paragraph 0003 cited: “…By brittle materials we mean materials such as glass or glasslike materials including semiconductor substrates such as silicon or sapphire wafers, or ceramic or ceramic-like materials such as sintered aluminum oxide and the like…”).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei further discloses wherein the one or more first radiation pulses and the one or more second radiation pulses have a wavelength of less than about 500 nm (refer to Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts …”).
Regarding claim 7, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei further discloses wherein each of the one or more first radiation pulses and the one or more second radiation pulses are delivered to one or more concentric silhouettes around the optical device (refer to the laser pattern of pulse in fig.1 and Paragraph 0018 cited: “…An aspect of this invention is illustrated in FIG. 1, where a complex tool path 10 on a workpiece 8 is shown. This tool path contains curved sections which are difficult to cut without causing cracking and chipping. The circles, one of which is indicated 12, represent laser pulses directed to the workpiece in one pass. Once this pass was complete, the pattern would be indexed one step size and repeated …”).
Regarding claim 8, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei further discloses wherein each of the first radiation pulses has a pulse energy of a range of less than about 50 µJ (refer to the Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts …”, Examiner note: calculating the Joules from using Watt and Hz in the cited paragraph will get the pulse energy range 40nJ to 100mJ).
Lei does not explicitly disclose each of the second radiation pulses has the range of a pulse energy of less than about 50 µJ too.
In the similar field of laser machining method, JP59042A further discloses the each second radiation pulses are the same as first radiation pulses (referring the multiple laser pulses #404 in fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s invention with the second radiation pulses have pulse energy of less than about 50 µJ, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide consistence in accuracy and quality level of an optical device to from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
Regarding claim 12, Lei discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause a computer system (controller #58, fig.7) to perform the steps of:
instructing the laser source (laser source #42, fig.7) to deliver one or more radiation pulses (laser pulse #44, fig.7 and laser pulse #16, fig3) to the substrate (chuck #54, fig.7) around the circumference (refer to the circular shape of tool path #10 in fig.3) of the first optical device (refer to “optical device” annotated in fig.3) to form the first trench (tools path #10, fig.7), the first trench (tools path #10, fig.7) having a first depth (Examiner note: a depth is result of Lei’s laser pulse remove material along the tool path #10 ) and the substrate (chuck #54, fig.7) disposed on a stage (motion stage #56, fig.7), the stage being instructed to move (refer to the term “motion” for “motion stage #56” in fig.7) during delivery of the first radiation pulses (laser pulse #44, fig.7 and laser pulse #16, fig3);
Lei does not disclose instructing the laser source to deliver one or more second radiation pulses to the substrate around the circumference of the first optical device to form a second trench, the second trench having a second depth greater than the first depth and the second trench radially outward of the first trench, and one or both of the stage and the laser source being instructed to move during delivery of the first radiation pulses; and instructing the laser source to deliver one or more additional radiation pulses to the substrate around the circumference of the first optical device to form one or more additional trenches, each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches having a depth greater than a previous depth of a previously formed trench.
In the similar field of laser machining method, JP59042A discloses instructing a laser source (Examiner note: inherently disclosed and primary prior art Lei also disclosed) to deliver one or more first radiation pulses (#404, fig.4A-C) to a substrate (#401 and #403, fig. 4A-C) to form a first trench (refer to “first trench” annotated in fig.4c), the first trench (refer to “first trench” annotated in fig.4c) having a first depth (refer to the depth of “first trench” annotated in fig. 4C) and the substrate (#401 and #403, fig. 4A-C) disposed on a stage (Examiner note: inherently disclosed and primary prior art Lei also disclosed);
instructing the laser source (Examiner note: inherently disclosed and primary prior art Lei also disclosed) to deliver one or more second radiation pulses (#404, fig.4A-C) to the substrate (#401 and #403, fig. 4A-C) to form a second trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4c), the second trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4c) having a second depth (refer to the depth of “second trench” annotated in fig. 4C) greater than the first depth (refer to the depth of “first trench” annotated in fig. 4C) and the second trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4c) radially outward of the first trench (refer to “first trench” annotated in fig.4c),; and
instructing the laser source (Examiner note: inherently disclosed and primary prior art Lei also disclosed) to deliver one or more additional radiation pulses (#404, fig.4A-C) to the substrate (#401 and #403, fig. 4A-C) to form one or more additional trenches (refer to “third trench” annotated in fig.4c), each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches (refer to “third trench” annotated in fig.4c) having a depth (refer to the depth of “third trench” annotated in fig. 4C) greater than a previous depth (refer to the depth of “second trench” annotated in fig. 4C) of a previously formed trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified instructing a laser source to deliver one or more first radiation pulses to a substrate around a circumference of the first optical device to form a first trench, the first trench having a first depth and the substrate disposed on a stage, one or both of the stage and the laser source being instructed to move during delivery of the first radiation pulses; instructing the laser source to deliver one or more second radiation pulses to the substrate around the circumference of the first optical device to form a second trench, the second trench having a second depth greater than the first depth and the second trench radially outward of the first trench, and one or both of the stage and the laser source being instructed to move during delivery of the first radiation pulses; and instructing the laser source to deliver one or more additional radiation pulses to the substrate around the circumference of the first optical device to form one or more additional trenches, each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches having a depth greater than a previous depth of a previously formed trench, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
Regarding claim 13, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei does not disclose wherein the tapered edge is disposed at an angle other than 0 degrees with respect to a vertical plane normal to a top substrate surface.
In the similar field of laser machining method, JP59042A further discloses wherein the first trench (refer to “first trench” annotated in fig.4b), the second trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4b) and the third trench (refer to “third trench” annotated in fig.4b) forming a tapered edge (refer to “taper angle” and “tapered line” annotated in fig.4b of the trenches, Examiner note: “tapered edge” does not mean it is a smooth tapered edge, it can be a not smooth tapered edge like Fig. 4c) and an angle (refer to the “taper angle” annotated in fig. 4b) other than 0 degrees (refer to the “tapered line” and the “taper angle” annotated in fig.4b, clearly showing it is not 0 degree) with respect to a vertical plane (refer to the “plane” annotated in fig.4b) normal to a top substrate surface (refer to the “surface” annotated in fig. 4b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s invention with wherein the tapered edge is disposed at an angle other than 0 degrees with respect to a vertical plane normal to a top substrate surface, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
Regarding claim 14, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 13, Lei does not disclose wherein the angle of the tapered edge is about 1 degree to about 45 degrees.
In claim rejection 13 above, which claim 14 depended on, JP59042A already discloses wherein the first trench (refer to “first trench” annotated in fig.4b), the second trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4b) and the third trench (refer to “third trench” annotated in fig.4b) forming a tapered edge (refer to “taper angle” and “tapered line” annotated in fig.4b of the trenches, Examiner note: “tapered edge” does not mean it is a smooth tapered edge, it can be a not smooth tapered edge like Fig. 4c) and an angle (refer to the “taper angle” annotated in fig. 4b) with respect to a vertical plane (refer to the “plane” annotated in fig.4b) normal to a top substrate surface (refer to the “surface” annotated in fig. 4b).
JP59042A already discloses a taper angle in fig.4b (refer to “taper angle” annotated in fig.4b), but does not explicitly disclose a taper angle of about 1 degree to about 45 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the taper angle of JP59042A to about 1 degree to about 45 degrees, in order to different laser machining depth, accommodate the appropriate designed depth for laser machining, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(refer to MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Regarding claim 15, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei further discloses wherein each of the one or more first radiation pulses has a pulse width of less than about 15 picoseconds (refer to Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts…” Examiner note: 15 picoseconds is with10 femtoseconds to 1 microsecond ).
Regarding claim 16, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei further discloses wherein each of the first radiation pulses has a pulse frequency of greater than 50KHz. (refer to Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts…”)
Lei does not discloses the second laser pulse has same pulse frequency of greater than 50KHz.
In the similar field of laser machining method, JP59042A further discloses the second laser pulse is the same as first laser pulse (referring the multiple laser pulses #404 in fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s invention with the second laser pulse has same pulse frequency of greater than 50KHz, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
Regarding claim 17, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei further discloses wherein each of the first radiation pulses has a pulse energy of a range of less than 200 nJ (refer to the Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts …”, Examiner note: calculating the Joules from using Watt and Hz in the cited paragraph will get the pulse energy range 40nJ to 100mJ).
Lei does not discloses the second laser pulse has same pulse energy of a range of less than 200 nJ.
In the similar field of laser machining method, JP59042A further discloses the second radiation pulses are the same as first radiation pulses (referring the multiple laser pulses #404 in fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s invention with the second laser pulse has same pulse energy of a range of less than 200 nJ, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
Regarding claim 18, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei further discloses wherein each the first radiation pulses are delivered in a first burst, each of the first burst has a burst energy of less than about 40 µJ (refer to the Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts …”, Examiner note: calculating the Joules from using Watt and Hz in the cited paragraph will get the pulse energy range above).
Lei does not discloses the second radiation pulses are delivered in a second burst, and the second burst having a burst energy of less than about 40 µJ.
In the similar field of laser machining method, JP59042A further discloses the second radiation pulses are the same as first radiation pulses (referring the multiple laser pulses #404 in fig. 4).
In the rejection above, the modification of Lei and JP59042A read on the limitation “…the second radiation pulses are delivered in a second burst…”, (Examiner note: by pausing and moving to the second trench in fig.4, the burst of the first radiation pulse is stopped.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s invention with the second laser pulse has same pulse energy of less than about 40 µJ, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
Regarding claim 19, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei does not disclose wherein the first trench is formed along a first silhouette and the second trench is formed along a second silhouette, the first silhouette separated from the second silhouette by a radial distance of about 0.01 mm to about 0.05 mm.
In the similar field of laser machining method, JP59042A discloses wherein the first trench (refer to “first trench” annotated in fig.4) is formed along a first silhouette (refer to one of the “silhouette” annotated closest to “first trench” annotated in fig.4) and the second trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4) is formed along a second silhouette (refer to one of the “silhouette” annotated closest to “second trench” annotated in fig.4) and the second trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4), the first silhouette (refer to one of the “silhouette” annotated closest to “first trench” annotated in fig.4) separated from the second silhouette (refer to one of the “silhouette” annotated closest to “second trench” annotated in fig.4) by a radial distance (refer to the distance between the “silhouette” in fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s invention with wherein the first trench is formed along a first silhouette and the second trench is formed along a second silhouette, the first silhouette separated from the second silhouette by a radial distance, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
JP50942A discloses a radial distance in fig. 4, but does not explicitly disclose a radial distance of about 0.01mm to about 0.05mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radial distance of JP50942A to about 0.01mm to about 0.05mm , in order to control and decide how much material of the substrate is going to utilized and/or wasted, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(refer to MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Regarding claim 20, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei does not disclose wherein a change in depth between the first trench and the second trench is about 1 µm to about 7.5 µm.
In the similar field of laser machining method, JP59042A discloses wherein a change in depth (refer to the difference in depth between first and second trench annotated in fig.4) between the first trench (refer as “first trench” in fig.4) and the second trench (refer as “second trench” in fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s method with wherein a change in depth between the first trench and the second trench, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
JP50942A discloses a change in depth in fig. 4, but does not explicitly disclose a change in depth of about 1 µm to about 7.5 µm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the change in depth of JP50942A to about 1 µm to about 7.5 µm, in order to control and decide how much material of the substrate is going to utilized and/or wasted, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(refer to MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al (US2010/0252540A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Lei, in view of JP2005059042A (cited from newly cited) herein set forth as JP59042A, and further in view of Chan (US2012/0020610A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Chan.
Regarding claim 9, Lei discloses a method of dicing an optical device (refer to “optical device” annotated in fig.3) from a substrate (#8, fig.3) comprising:
forming a first trench (tool path #10, fig.3) by exposing the substrate (workpiece #8, fig.3) to one or more first radiation pulses (laser pulse #16, fig.3) around a circumference (refer to the shape of the tool path #10 in fig.3) of the optical device (refer to “optical device” annotated in fig.3), the first trench (tool path #10, fig.3) having a first depth (Examiner note: a depth is inherently disclosed in a laser processing surface).
Lei does not disclose forming a first tapered edge around a first optical device by forming a plurality of trenches around the first optical device using one or more bursts of radiation pulses, the plurality of trenches varying in depth from a top surface of the substrate; forming a second tapered edge around a second optical device by forming a plurality of trenches around the second optical device using one or more bursts of radiation pulses, the plurality of trenches varying in depth from the top surface of the substrate; and removing the first optical device and the second optical device from the substrate after forming the first tapered edge and the second tapered edge.
In the similar field of laser machining method, JP59042A discloses forming a first trench (refer to “first trench” annotated in fig.4c) by exposing the substrate (#401 and #403, fig. 4A-C) to one or more first radiation pulses (#404, fig.4A-C), the first trench (refer to “first trench” annotated in fig.4c) having a first depth (refer to the depth of “first trench” annotated in fig. 4C); forming a second trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4c) by exposing the substrate (#401 and #403, fig. 4A-C) to one or more second radiation pulses (#404, fig.4A-C), the second trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4c) having a second depth (refer to the depth of “second trench” annotated in fig. 4C) greater than the first depth (refer to the depth of “first trench” annotated in fig. 4C); and forming one or more additional trenches (refer to “third trench” annotated in fig.4c) by exposing the substrate (#401 and #403, fig. 4A-C) to one or more additional radiation pulses (#404, fig.4A-C), each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches (refer to “third trench” annotated in fig.4c) having a depth (refer to the depth of “third trench” annotated in fig. 4C) greater than a previous depth (refer to the depth of “second trench” annotated in fig. 4C) of a previously formed trench (refer to “second trench” annotated in fig.4c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s method with forming a second trench by exposing the substrate to one or more second radiation pulses around the circumference of the optical device, the second trench having a second depth greater than the first depth and the second trench being concentric about the first trench; and forming one or more additional trenches by exposing the substrate to one or more additional radiation pulses around the circumference of the optical device, each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches having a depth greater than a previous depth of a previously formed trench, each subsequently formed additional trench concentric about a previously formed additional trench, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
Therefore, in the rejection above, the modification of Lei and JP59042A read on the limitation forming a first tapered edge (JP59042A discloses the tapered edge with the trenches in fig.4) around a first optical device (Lei discloses the around the optical device in fig.3) by forming a plurality of trenches (JP59042A discloses the tapered edge with the trenches in fig.4) around the first optical device (Lei discloses the around the optical device in fig.3) using one or more bursts of radiation pulses (Lei discloses the around the optical device in fig.3), the plurality of trenches varying in depth (JP59042A discloses the tapered edge with the trenches in fig.4) from a top surface of the substrate (JP59042A discloses the tapered edge with the trenches in fig.4);
The modification of Lei and JP59042A does not discloses forming a second tapered edge around a second optical device by forming a plurality of trenches around the second optical device using one or more bursts of radiation pulses, the plurality of trenches varying in depth from the top surface of the substrate; and removing the first optical device and the second optical device from the substrate after forming the first tapered edge and the second tapered edge.
In the field of optical device manufacturing, Chan discloses there are plurality of optical device (refer to each block on the wafer #10 in fig.1) on the substrate (wafer #10, fig.1) and required to dice each one of optical device (refer to each block on the wafer #10 in fig.1).
Therefore, in the rejection above, Lei in view of JP59042A, and further in view of Chan read on the limitation forming a second tapered edge around a second optical device by forming a plurality of trenches around the second optical device using one or more bursts of radiation pulses, the plurality of trenches varying in depth from the top surface of the substrate; and removing the first optical device and the second optical device from the substrate after forming the first tapered edge and the second tapered edge, Examiner note: by repeating the process of Lei in view of JP59042A on another optical device on the substrate in Chan.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei in view of JP59042A’s method with plurality of optical device on the substrate and required to dice each one of optical device, as taught by Chan, in order to increase efficiency of production of the optical device and also maximize the usage of the wafer saving material and reduce overhead cost of the method.
Regarding claim 10, the modification of Lei, JP59042A and Chan discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 9, the modification of Lei, JP59042A and Chan further read on the limitation wherein the first tapered edge (refer to JP59042A fig.4 and Chan plurality of optical device) and the second tapered edge (refer to JP59042A fig.4 and Chan plurality of optical device) are disposed at an angle (refer to JP59042A fig.4), the angle defined between a plane normal to the top surface of the substrate and a taper line (refer to JP59042A fig.4 for the taper edge, Examiner note: when there is a tapered edge, a taper line is inherently exited refer to “tapered line” and “taper angle” annotated in fig.4) of each of the first optical device and the second optical device (refer to the combination with Chan for plurality of optical devices, fig.1), wherein the taper line of each of the first optical device and the second optical device (refer to the combination with Chan for plurality of optical devices, fig.1) intersects a discreet point (Examiner note: when optical device side by side and tapered trenches too, an intersects of a discreet point is also inherent, refer to the “tapered line” annotated in fig.4b) on each of the plurality of trenches (refer to JP59042A fig.4 for trenches).
JP59042A discloses a taper angle in fig.4b (refer to “taper angle” annotated in fig.4b) but does not explicitly disclose a taper angle of about 1 degree to about 45 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the taper angle of JP59042A to about 1 degree to about 45 degrees, in order to different laser machining depth, accommodate the appropriate designed depth for laser machining, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(refer to MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Regarding claim 11, the modification of Lei, JP59042A and Chan discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 10, Lei further discloses wherein the one or more bursts of radiation pulses comprise: a pulse width of less than about 15 picoseconds; a pulse frequency of greater than 50 kHz; and a pulse energy of less than 200 nJ (refer to Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts …”, Examiner note: calculating the Joules from using Watt and Hz in the cited paragraph will get the pulse energy range of 40nJ to 100mJ).
Conclusion
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 January 16th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761