DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 30th 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claims Status:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-12, 14-15 and 18-20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are examined as follow:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al (US2010/0252540A1 previously cited) herein set forth as Lei, in view of Cai et al (US2022/0319888A1 newly cited) herein set forth as Cai.
Regarding claim 1, Lei discloses a method of dicing an optical device (refer to “optical device” annotated in fig.3) from a substrate (#8, fig.3) comprising:
forming a first trench (tool path #10, fig.3) by exposing the substrate (workpiece #8, fig.3) to one or more first radiation pulses (laser pulse #16, fig.3) around a circumference (refer to the shape of the tool path #10 in fig.3) of the optical device (refer to “optical device” annotated in fig.3), the first trench (tool path #10, fig.3) having a first depth (Examiner note: the depth of the trench is a result of Lei’s laser pulse removing material along the tool path #10).
Lei does not disclose forming a second trench by exposing the substrate to one or more second radiation pulses around the circumference of the optical device, the second trench having a second depth greater than the first depth and the second trench being concentric about the first trench; and forming one or more additional trenches by exposing the substrate to one or more additional radiation pulses around the circumference of the optical device, each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches having a depth greater than a previous depth of a previously formed trench, each subsequently formed additional trench concentric about a previously formed additional trench, wherein the first trench, the second trench, and the one or more additional trenches collectively form a tapered edge of the optical device, the tapered edge having a tapered outer edge profile with increasing depth in a radially outward direction from the optical device.
In the similar field of laser dicing method, Cai discloses forming a first trench (#302, fig.3) by exposing the substrate (#204, fig.3) to one or more first radiation pulses (refer as “1 pass” annotated in fig.3), the first trench (#302, fig.3) having a first depth (refer to the depth of #302 in fig. 3); forming a second trench (#306, fig.3) by exposing the substrate (#204, fig.3) to one or more second radiation pulses (refer as “2 pass” annotated in fig.3), the second trench (#306, fig.3) having a second depth (refer to the depth of #306 in fig. 3) greater than the first depth (refer to the depth of #302 in fig. 3); and forming one or more additional trenches (refer as “3 pass” annotated in fig.3) by exposing the substrate (#204, fig.3) to one or more additional radiation pulses (#310, fig.3), each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches (refer as “3 pass” annotated in fig.3) having a depth (refer to the depth of “third trench” annotated in fig. 4C) greater than a previous depth (refer to the depth of “second trench” annotated in fig. 4C) of a previously formed trench (refer as “2 pass” annotated in fig.3); wherein the first trench (refer as “1 pass” annotated in fig.3) , the second trench (refer as “2 pass” annotated in fig.3), and the one or more additional trenches (refer as “3 pass” annotated in fig.3) collectively form a tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.1) of the optical device (refer to the “optical device” annotated in fig.1), the tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.1) having a tapered outer edge profile (refer to the taper shape of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.1) with increasing depth (refer to the increasing depth of each pass in fig.3) in a radially outward direction from the optical device (refer to the “optical device” annotated in fig.1) (refer to Paragraph 0030 cited: “…FIG. 3 illustrates a cross-section 300 of cutting street 204 formed on semiconductor structure 202, according to some implementations of the present disclosure…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s method with forming a second trench by exposing the substrate to one or more second radiation pulses around the circumference of the optical device, the second trench having a second depth greater than the first depth and the second trench being concentric about the first trench; and forming one or more additional trenches by exposing the substrate to one or more additional radiation pulses around the circumference of the optical device, each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches having a depth greater than a previous depth of a previously formed trench, each subsequently formed additional trench concentric about a previously formed additional trench, wherein the first trench, the second trench, and the one or more additional trenches collectively form a tapered edge of the optical device, the tapered edge having a tapered outer edge profile with increasing depth in a radially outward direction from the optical device, as taught by Cai, in order to provide a high accuracy, faster dicing, high quality level of an optical device, and also more flexibility on how to dice the machined surface, such that would reduce defect and increase thermal crack tolerance.
Regarding claim 2, the modification of Lei and Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei further discloses wherein each of the one or more first radiation pulses has a pulse width of less than 30 picoseconds (refer to Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts…”)
Regarding claim 3, the modification of Lei and Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei does not disclose wherein the one or more second radiation pulses are delivered outward of the one or more first radiation pulses by a radial distance of 0.01 mm to 0.05 mm.
In the similar field of dicing machining method, Cai further discloses wherein the one or more second radiation pulses (refer as “2 pass” annotated in fig.3) are delivered outward (refer to the direct of “1 pass” to “2 pass” and “3 pass” in fig.3) of the one or more first radiation pulses (refer as “1 pass” annotated in fig.3) by a radial distance (refer to the distance between each of the Silhouettes of #302, #304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s method with wherein the one or more second radiation pulses are delivered outward of the one or more first radiation pulses by a radial distance, as taught by Cai, in order to provide a high accuracy, faster dicing, high quality level of an optical device, and also more flexibility on how to dice the machined surface, such that would reduce defect and increase thermal crack tolerance.
Since Cai discloses the one or more second radiation pulses are delivered outward of the one or more first radiation pulses by a radial distance as shown in Fig. 3, but does not explicitly disclose a radial distance of 0.01mm to 0.05mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radial distance of Cai to 0.01mm to 0.05mm, in order to provide accommodation to various laser machining sizes and/or the appropriate designed sizes for laser machining, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (refer to MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Lei and Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei does not disclose wherein the first trench and the second trench a tapered edge of the optical device, the tapered edge having a taper angle of 1 degree to 45 degrees with respect to a plane normal to a top substrate surface.
In the similar field of dicing machining method, Cai further discloses wherein the first trench (#302, fig.3) and the second trench (#304, fig.3) a tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.1) having a taper angle with respect to a plane (#206, fig.3) normal to a top substrate surface (#204, fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s invention with wherein the first trench and the second trench a tapered edge of the optical device, the tapered edge having a taper angle with respect to a plane normal to a top substrate surface, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
Since Cai discloses a taper angle in fig.3, but does not explicitly disclose a taper angle of 1 degree to 45 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the taper angle of Cai to 1 degree to 45 degrees, in order to different laser machining depth, accommodate the appropriate designed depth for laser machining, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(refer to MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Lei and Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei further discloses wherein the substrate comprises one or a combination of silicon (refer to Paragraph 0003 cited: “…By brittle materials we mean materials such as glass or glasslike materials including semiconductor substrates such as silicon or sapphire wafers, or ceramic or ceramic-like materials such as sintered aluminum oxide and the like…”).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Lei and Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei further discloses wherein the one or more first radiation pulses and the one or more second radiation pulses have a wavelength of less than 500 nm (refer to Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts …”).
Regarding claim 7, the modification of Lei and Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei further discloses wherein each of the one or more first radiation pulses and the one or more second radiation pulses are delivered to one or more concentric silhouettes around the optical device (refer to the laser pattern of pulse in fig.1 and Paragraph 0018 cited: “…An aspect of this invention is illustrated in FIG. 1, where a complex tool path 10 on a workpiece 8 is shown. This tool path contains curved sections which are difficult to cut without causing cracking and chipping. The circles, one of which is indicated 12, represent laser pulses directed to the workpiece in one pass. Once this pass was complete, the pattern would be indexed one step size and repeated …”).
Regarding claim 8, the modification of Lei and Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Lei further discloses wherein each of the first radiation pulses has a pulse energy of a range of less than 50 µJ (refer to the Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts …”, Examiner note: calculating the Joules from using Watt and Hz in the cited paragraph will get the pulse energy range 40nJ to 100mJ).
Lei does not explicitly disclose each of the second radiation pulses has the range of a pulse energy of less than 50 µJ too.
Since Lei discloses a first pulse energy is less than 50 µJ.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Lei with the second radiation pulses also have pulse energy of less than 50 µJ, as it would reduce the complexity of the laser control between different laser pulses, by using the same pulse energy setting as the first radiation pulses.
Regarding claim 9, Lei discloses a method of dicing an optical device (refer to “optical device” annotated in fig.3) from a substrate (#8, fig.3) comprising:
forming a first trench (tool path #10, fig.3) by exposing the substrate (workpiece #8, fig.3) to one or more first radiation pulses (laser pulse #16, fig.3) around a circumference (refer to the shape of the tool path #10 in fig.3) of the optical device (refer to “optical device” annotated in fig.3), the first trench (tool path #10, fig.3) having a first depth (Examiner note: a depth is inherently disclosed in a laser processing surface).
Lei does not disclose at least two optical devices within a substrate; forming a first tapered edge around a first optical device by forming a plurality of trenches around the first optical device using one or more bursts of radiation pulses, the plurality of trenches varying in depth from a top surface of the substrate; forming a second tapered edge around a second optical device by forming a plurality of trenches around the second optical device using one or more bursts of radiation pulses, the plurality of trenches varying in depth from the top surface of the substrate; and removing the first optical device and the second optical device from the substrate after forming the first tapered edge and the second tapered edge, wherein, for each of the first tapered edge and the second tapered edge, the corresponding plurality of trenches collectively form a tapered edge of the corresponding optical device, the tapered edge having a tapered outer edge profile with increasing depth in a radially outward direction from the corresponding optical device.
In the similar field of dicing machining method, Cai further discloses at least two optical devices (refer to “optical device” annotated in fig.1) within a substrate (#102, fig.1 and #204, fig.3);
forming a first tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.3) around a first optical device (refer to the optical on side of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.3) by forming a plurality of trenches (refer to #302, #306 and #310 in fig.3) around the first optical device (refer to the optical on side of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.3) using one or more bursts of radiation pulses (refer as 1, 2, 3 pass in fig.3), the plurality of trenches (refer to #302, #306 and #310 in fig.3) varying in depth (refer to different depth of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.3) from a top surface (#206, fig.3) of the substrate (#102, fig.1 and #204, fig.3);
forming a second tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #304, #308 and #310 in fig.3) around a second optical device (refer to the optical on side of #304, #308 and #310 in fig.3) by forming a plurality of trenches (refer to #304, #308 and #310 in fig.3) around the second optical device (refer to the optical on side of #304, #308 and #310 in fig.3) using one or more bursts of radiation pulses (refer as 11, 21, 3 pass in fig.3), the plurality of trenches (refer to #304, #308 and #310 in fig.3) varying in depth (refer to different depth of #304, #308 and #310 in fig.3) from a top surface (#206, fig.3) of the substrate (#102, fig.1 and #204, fig.3); and removing the first optical device (refer to the optical on side of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.3) and the second optical device (refer to the optical on side of #304, #308 and #310 in fig.3) from the substrate (#102, fig.1 and #204, fig.3) after forming the first tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.3) and the second tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #304, #308 and #310 in fig.3), wherein, for each of the first tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.3) and the second tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #304, #308 and #310 in fig.3), the corresponding plurality of trenches collectively form a tapered edge (refer to fig.3) of the corresponding optical device (refer to fig.1), the tapered edge (refer to the V shape taper in fig.3, and V shape tapered outward for the two “optical device” annotated in fig.1) having a tapered outer edge profile (refer to the V shape taper in fig.3, and V shape tapered outward for the two “optical device” annotated in fig.1) with increasing depth in a radially outward direction from the corresponding optical device (refer to the optical on side of #304, #308 and #310 in fig.3 or the optical on side of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s method with at least two optical devices within a substrate; forming a first tapered edge around a first optical device by forming a plurality of trenches around the first optical device using one or more bursts of radiation pulses, the plurality of trenches varying in depth from a top surface of the substrate; forming a second tapered edge around a second optical device by forming a plurality of trenches around the second optical device using one or more bursts of radiation pulses, the plurality of trenches varying in depth from the top surface of the substrate; and removing the first optical device and the second optical device from the substrate after forming the first tapered edge and the second tapered edge, wherein, for each of the first tapered edge and the second tapered edge, the corresponding plurality of trenches collectively form a tapered edge of the corresponding optical device, the tapered edge having a tapered outer edge profile with increasing depth in a radially outward direction from the corresponding optical device, as taught by Cai, in order to provide a high accuracy, faster dicing, high quality level of an optical device, and also more flexibility on how to dice the machined surface, such that would reduce defect and increase thermal crack tolerance.
Regarding claim 10, the modification of Lei, Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 9, Lei does not explicitly disclose wherein the first tapered edge and the second tapered edge are disposed at an angle of 1 degree to 45 degrees, the angle defined between a plane normal to the top surface of the substrate and a taper line of each of the first optical device and the second optical device, wherein the taper line of each of the first optical device and the second optical device intersects a discreet discrete point on each of the plurality of trenches.
In the similar field of dicing machining method, Cai further discloses wherein the first tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.3) and the second tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #304, #308 and #310 in fig.3) are disposed at an angle (refer to “taper angle” annotated in fig.3), the angle (refer to “taper angle” annotated in fig.3) defined between a plane normal to the top surface of the substrate (#206, fig.3) and a taper line (refer to “taper line” annotated in fig.3) of each of the first optical device (refer to the each “seal ring” in fig.3 or the annotated “optical device in fig.1) and the second optical device (refer to the each “seal ring” in fig.3 or the annotated “optical device in fig.1), wherein the taper line (refer to “taper line” annotated in fig.3) of each of the first optical device (refer to the each “seal ring” in fig.3 or the annotated “optical device in fig.1) and the second optical device (refer to the each “seal ring” in fig.3 or the annotated “optical device in fig.1) intersects discrete point on each of the plurality of trenches (refer to the trench of #302, #304, #306, #308 and #310 in fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s method with wherein the first tapered edge and the second tapered edge are disposed at an angle, the angle defined between a plane normal to the top surface of the substrate and a taper line of each of the first optical device and the second optical device, wherein the taper line of each of the first optical device and the second optical device intersects a discreet discrete point on each of the plurality of trenches, as taught by Cai, in order to provide a high accuracy, faster dicing, high quality level of an optical device, and also more flexibility on how to dice the machined surface, such that would reduce defect and increase thermal crack tolerance.
Since Cai discloses a taper angle in fig.3 (refer to fig.3) but does not explicitly disclose a taper angle of 1 degree to 45 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the taper angle of Cai to 1 degree to 45 degrees, in order to different laser machining depth, accommodate the appropriate designed depth for laser machining, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(refer to MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Regarding claim 11, the modification of Lei and Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 10, Lei further discloses wherein the one or more bursts of radiation pulses comprise: a pulse width of less than about 15 picoseconds; a pulse frequency of greater than 50 kHz; and a pulse energy of less than 200 nJ (refer to Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts …”, Examiner note: calculating the Joules from using Watt and Hz in the cited paragraph will get the pulse energy range of 40nJ to 100mJ).
Regarding claim 12, Lei discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause a computer system (controller #58, fig.7) to perform the steps of:
instructing the laser source (laser source #42, fig.7) to deliver one or more radiation pulses (laser pulse #44, fig.7 and laser pulse #16, fig3) to the substrate (chuck #54, fig.7) around the circumference (refer to the circular shape of tool path #10 in fig.3) of the first optical device (refer to “optical device” annotated in fig.3) to form the first trench (tools path #10, fig.7), the first trench (tools path #10, fig.7) having a first depth (Examiner note: a depth is result of Lei’s laser pulse remove material along the tool path #10 ) and the substrate (chuck #54, fig.7) disposed on a stage (motion stage #56, fig.7), the stage being instructed to move (refer to the term “motion” for “motion stage #56” in fig.7) during delivery of the first radiation pulses (laser pulse #44, fig.7 and laser pulse #16, fig3);
Lei does not disclose instructing the laser source to deliver one or more second radiation pulses to the substrate around the circumference of the first optical device to form a second trench, the second trench having a second depth greater than the first depth and the second trench radially outward of the first trench, and one or both of the stage and the laser source being instructed to move during delivery of the [[first]] second radiation pulses; and instructing the laser source to deliver one or more additional radiation pulses to the substrate around the circumference of the first optical device to form one or more additional trenches, each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches having a depth greater than a previous depth of a previously formed trench, each subsequently formed additional trench concentric about a previously formed additional trench, and one or both of the stage and the laser source being instructed to move during delivery of the one or more additional radiation pulses, wherein the first trench, the second trench, and the one or more additional trenches collectively form the tapered edge, the tapered edge having a tapered outer edge profile with increasing depth in a radially outward direction from the first optical device.
In the similar field of dicing machining method, Cai discloses instructing the laser source (#104, fig.1) to deliver one or more second radiation pulses (refer as “2 pass” annotated in fig.3) to the substrate (#204, fig.3) around the circumference of the first optical device (refer to the “optical device” annotated in fig.1) to form a second trench (#306, fig.3), the second trench (#306, fig.3) having a second depth (refer to the depth of #306 in fig. 3) greater than the first depth (refer to the depth of #302 in fig. 3) and the second trench (#306, fig.3) radially outward of the first trench (#302, fig.3), and one or both of the stage and the laser source (#104, fig.1) being instructed to move during delivery of the second radiation pulses (refer as “2 pass” annotated in fig.3); and instructing the laser source (#104, fig.1) to deliver one or more additional radiation pulses (refer as “3 pass” annotated in fig.3) to the substrate (#204, fig.3) around the circumference of the first optical device (refer to the “optical device” annotated in fig.1) to form one or more additional trenches (#310, fig.3), each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches (#310, fig.3) having a depth (refer to the depth of #310 in fig. 3) greater than a previous depth (refer to the depth of #306 in fig. 3) of a previously formed trench (#306, fig.3), each subsequently formed additional trench (#306, fig.3) concentric about a previously formed additional trench (#310, fig.3), and one or both of the stage and the laser source (#104, fig.1) being instructed to move during delivery of the one or more additional radiation pulses (refer as “3 pass” annotated in fig.3), wherein the first trench (#302, fig.3), the second trench (#306, fig.3), and the one or more additional trenches (#310, fig.3) collectively form the tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.1), the tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.1) having a tapered outer edge profile (refer to the taper shape of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.1) with increasing depth in a radially outward direction from the first optical device (refer to the “optical device” annotated in fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s method with instructing the laser source to deliver one or more second radiation pulses to the substrate around the circumference of the first optical device to form a second trench, the second trench having a second depth greater than the first depth and the second trench radially outward of the first trench, and one or both of the stage and the laser source being instructed to move during delivery of the second radiation pulses; and instructing the laser source to deliver one or more additional radiation pulses to the substrate around the circumference of the first optical device to form one or more additional trenches, each additional trench of the one or more additional trenches having a depth greater than a previous depth of a previously formed trench, each subsequently formed additional trench concentric about a previously formed additional trench, and one or both of the stage and the laser source being instructed to move during delivery of the one or more additional radiation pulses, wherein the first trench, the second trench, and the one or more additional trenches collectively form the tapered edge, the tapered edge having a tapered outer edge profile with increasing depth in a radially outward direction from the first optical device, as taught by Cai, in order to provide a high accuracy, faster dicing, high quality level of an optical device, and also more flexibility on how to dice the machined surface, such that would reduce defect and increase thermal crack tolerance.
Regarding claim 13, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei does not disclose wherein the tapered edge is disposed at an angle other than 0 degrees with respect to a vertical plane normal to a top substrate surface.
In the similar field of dicing machining method, Cai discloses wherein the tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.1) is disposed at an angle (refer to fig.3) other than 0 degrees with respect to a vertical plane (refer to a vertical plane to #206 in fig.3) normal to a top substrate surface (#206, fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s method with wherein the tapered edge is disposed at an angle other than 0 degrees with respect to a vertical plane normal to a top substrate surface, as taught by Cai, in order to provide a high accuracy, faster dicing, high quality level of an optical device, and also more flexibility on how to dice the machined surface, such that would reduce defect and increase thermal crack tolerance.
Regarding claim 14, the modification of Lei and Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 13, Lei does not disclose wherein the taper angle of the tapered edge is 1 degree to 45 degrees.
In the similar field of dicing machining method, Cai further discloses wherein the first trench (#302, fig.3) and the second trench (#304, fig.3) a tapered edge (refer to the taper shape of #302, #306 and #310 in fig.1) having a taper angle with respect to a plane (#206, fig.3) normal to a top substrate surface (#204, fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s invention with wherein the first trench and the second trench a tapered edge of the optical device, the tapered edge having a taper angle with respect to a plane normal to a top substrate surface, as taught by JP59042A, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface (refer to Abstract cited: “…in laser beam machining to obtain surfaces and machined surfaces of high accuracy/high quality level of an optical device or the like…”).
Since Cai discloses a taper angle in fig.3, but does not explicitly disclose a taper angle of 1 degree to 45 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the taper angle of Cai to 1 degree to 45 degrees, in order to different laser machining depth, accommodate the appropriate designed depth for laser machining, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(refer to MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Regarding claim 15, the modification of Lei and Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei further discloses wherein each of the one or more first radiation pulses has a pulse width of less than about 15 picoseconds (refer to Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts…” Examiner note: 15 picoseconds is with10 femtoseconds to 1 microsecond ).
Regarding claim 16, the modification of Lei and Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei further discloses wherein each of the first radiation pulses has a pulse frequency of greater than 50KHz. (refer to Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts…”)
Lei does not discloses the second laser pulse has same pulse frequency of greater than 50KHz.
Since Lei discloses a first pulse frequency is greater than 50KHz.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Lei with the second radiation pulses also have pulse frequency of greater than 50KHz, as it would reduce the complexity of the laser control between different laser pulses, by using the same pulse energy setting as the first radiation pulses.
Regarding claim 17, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei further discloses wherein each of the first radiation pulses has a pulse energy of a range of less than 200 nJ (refer to the Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts …”, Examiner note: calculating the Joules from using Watt and Hz in the cited paragraph will get the pulse energy range 40nJ to 100mJ).
Lei does not discloses the second laser pulse has same pulse energy of a range of less than 200 nJ.
Since Lei discloses a first pulse energy of a range of less than 200 nJ.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Lei with the second radiation pulses also have pulse energy of a range of less than 200 nJ, as it would reduce the complexity of the laser control between different laser pulses, by using the same pulse energy setting as the first radiation pulses.
Regarding claim 18, the modification of Lei and JP59042A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei further discloses wherein each the first radiation pulses are delivered in a first burst, each of the first burst has a burst energy of less than about 40 µJ (refer to the Paragraph 0023 cited: “…An adapted laser processing system 40 has a laser 42 which may be a solid state or fiber laser emitting pulses 44 with pulse duration ranging from about 10 femtoseconds up to about 1 microsecond at wavelengths ranging from about 255 nm to about 1064 nm at pulse repetition rates ranging from about 1 KHz up to about 100 MHz and with average power ranging from about 4 watts up to about 100 watts …”, Examiner note: calculating the Joules from using Watt and Hz in the cited paragraph will get the pulse energy range above).
Lei does not discloses the second radiation pulses are delivered in a second burst, and the second burst having a burst energy of less than about 40 µJ.
Since Lei discloses a first pulse energy of less than about 40 µJ.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Lei with the second radiation pulses also have pulse energy of less than about 40 µJ, as it would reduce the complexity of the laser control between different laser pulses, by using the same pulse energy setting as the first radiation pulses.
Regarding claim 19, the modification of Lei and Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei does not disclose wherein the one or more second radiation pulses are delivered outward of the one or more first radiation pulses by a radial distance of 0.01 mm to 0.05 mm.
In the similar field of dicing machining method, Cai further discloses wherein the one or more second radiation pulses (refer as “2 pass” annotated in fig.3) are delivered outward (refer to the direct of “1 pass” to “2 pass” and “3 pass” in fig.3) of the one or more first radiation pulses (refer as “1 pass” annotated in fig.3) by a radial distance (refer to the distance between each of the Silhouettes of #302, #304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s method with wherein the one or more second radiation pulses are delivered outward of the one or more first radiation pulses by a radial distance, as taught by Cai, in order to provide a high accuracy, faster dicing, high quality level of an optical device, and also more flexibility on how to dice the machined surface, such that would reduce defect and increase thermal crack tolerance.
Since Cai discloses the one or more second radiation pulses are delivered outward of the one or more first radiation pulses by a radial distance as shown in Fig. 3, but does not explicitly disclose a radial distance of 0.01mm to 0.05mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radial distance of Cai to 0.01mm to 0.05mm, in order to provide accommodation to various laser machining sizes and/or the appropriate designed sizes for laser machining, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (refer to MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Regarding claim 20, the modification of Lei and Cai discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 12, Lei does not disclose wherein a change in depth between the first trench and the second trench is about 1 µm to about 7.5 µm.
In the similar field of dicing machining method, Cai discloses wherein a change in depth (refer to the difference in depth between first #302 and second trench #306 in fig.3) between the first trench (#302, fig.3) and the second trench (#306, fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei’s method with wherein a change in depth between the first trench and the second trench, as taught by Cai, in order to provide a high accuracy and high quality level of an optical device from the machined surface.
Since Cai discloses a change in depth in fig. 4, but does not explicitly disclose a change in depth of about 1 µm to about 7.5 µm. However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the change in depth of Cai to about 1 µm to about 7.5 µm, in order to control and decide how much material of the substrate is going to utilized and/or wasted, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(refer to MPEP 2144.05 IIa).
Response to Amendment
With respect to the Claim Objection: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on June 26th 2026 that overcame the Claim Objection in the previous office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 26th 2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive but moot in view of the new grounds of rejection with the newly cited secondary Prior art Cai et al (US2022/0319888A1 newly cited).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Horisaka et al (US2003/0096078A1) discloses a glass disk laser machining method that teaches plurality of laser machined trenches.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 August 5th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761