DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 8/5/2026 that has been entered, wherein claims 1, 3-5, 9-10, 12-24 are pending, claims 2, 6, and 11 are canceled and claims 17-20 are withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2023/0395477 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an electronic device(Fig. 2d), comprising:
a multilevel metallization structure(120, ¶0020) having multiple levels of conductive metal traces(horizontal electrical interconnect of 122, ¶0020) and vias(124, ¶0020) and polyimide insulator material(123, ¶0020), including a first level along a first side(128, ¶0020) and a final level along a second side(126, ¶0020), the first level including conductive metal leads(exposed surface of 122 along 128, exposed surface of 124, ¶0020, ¶0033) with exposed surfaces along the first side(128, ¶0020), and the final level including conductive metal pads(exposed surface of 122 along 126, ¶0020) with exposed surfaces along the second side(126, ¶0020);
a semiconductor die(130a, ¶0021) having conductive features, the semiconductor die(130a, ¶0021) flip chip attached to the second side(126, ¶0020) of the multilevel metallization structure(120, ¶0020) with the conductive features(112, ¶0018, ¶0021) connected to respective one of the conductive metal pads(exposed surface of 122 along 126, ¶0020); and
a package structure(136, ¶0022) that encloses the semiconductor die(130a, ¶0021), wherein:
the electronic device has a first side, a second side, a third side, a fourth side, a fifth side, and a sixth side;
the first side extends in a first plane of orthogonal first and second directions;
the second side extends in a second plane of the first and second directions and is spaced apart from the first side along a third direction that is orthogonal to the first and second directions;
the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth sides extend from the first side to the second side along the third direction; and
the conductive metal leads(exposed surface of 122 along 128, exposed surface of 124, ¶0020, ¶0033) have surfaces exposed along the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth sides(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2h, ¶0033), wherein exposed along the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth sides are not attached to an electrical component(Fig. 2d).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the conductive metal leads(exposed surface of 122 along 128, exposed surface of 124, ¶0020, ¶0033) and the conductive metal pads(exposed surface of 122 along 126, ¶0020) include copper(¶0020).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein:
the conductive features(112, ¶0018, ¶0021) are connected to respective ones of a first set of the conductive metal pads(exposed surface of 122 along 126, ¶0020); and
the electronic device further comprises an additional die(130b, ¶0021) or a passive component connected to respective ones of a second set of the conductive metal pads(exposed surface of 122 along 126, ¶0020).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0395477 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 2.
The embodiment of fig. 2h of Lee is not relied on to teach the electronic device has a quad flat no-lead shape.
The embodiment of fig. 7 of Leah teaches an electronic device(Fig. 7) the electronic device(300) has a quad flat no-lead shape(320, ¶0040). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of fig. 2h of Lee, so that the electronic device has a quad flat no-lead shape, as taught by the embodiment of fig. 7 of Lee, so that the electronic device can be manufactured using less expensive components and a streamlined manufacturing process resulting in an electronic device that is less likely to fail and less expensive to manufacture resulting in a lower cost for consumers(¶0040).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0395477 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2017/0005023 A1) both of record.
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Lee is not relied on to teach the conductive metal leads(exposed surface of 122 along 128, exposed surface of 124, ¶0020, ¶0033) include a solderable finish on the exposed surfaces along the first side(128, ¶0020).
Chen teaches an electronic device(Fig. 2H) wherein the conductive metal leads(211, ¶0032) include a solderable finish(¶0032) on the exposed surfaces along the first side(21a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the conductive metal leads include a solderable finish on the exposed surfaces along the first side, as taught by Lee, in order to bond electronic elements to the first side of the multilevel metallization structure(¶0032).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0395477 A1) of record in view of Sato et al. (US 2006/0138615 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Lee is not relied on to teach the conductive metal leads(exposed surface of 122 along 128, exposed surface of 124, ¶0020, ¶0033) include an indented undercut feature along the first side(128, ¶0020), the indented undercut feature not in direct contact with the polyimide insulator material(123, ¶0020).
Sato teaches an electronic device(Fig. 9) wherein the conductive metal leads(7, ¶0069) include an indented undercut feature(41, ¶0069). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the conductive metal leads include an indented undercut feature, as taught by Sato, in order to increase the overall area of solder adhered to the lead resulting in improving the joining strength between the lead and solder(¶0014) and to allow a human inspector to easily inspect the condition of joining between the lead and solder from the exterior of the electronic device(¶0015).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 12-16 and 21-23 are allowed. Please see the office action dated 5/12/2025 for reasons for allowance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/2026 have been fully considered but are moot Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is based on a different figure in the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892