DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 12/18/2025 that has been entered, wherein claims 1, 3-5, 9-10, 12-23 are pending, claims 2, 6-8 and 11 are canceled and claims 17-20 are withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0395477 A1) and Yasunaga et al. (US 2003/0155634 A1), both of record.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an electronic device(Fig. 2h), comprising:
a multilevel metallization structure(120, ¶0020) having multiple levels of conductive metal traces(horizontal electrical interconnect of 122, ¶0020) and vias(124, ¶0020) and polyimide insulator material(123, ¶0020), including a first level along a first side(128, ¶0020) and a final level along a second side(126, ¶0020), the first level including conductive metal leads(exposed surface of 122 along 128, exposed surface of 124, ¶0020, ¶0033) with exposed surfaces along the first side(128, ¶0020), and the final level including conductive metal pads(exposed surface of 122 along 126, ¶0020) with exposed surfaces along the second side(126, ¶0020);
a semiconductor die(130a, ¶0021) having conductive features, the semiconductor die(130a, ¶0021) flip chip attached to the second side(126, ¶0020) of the multilevel metallization structure(120, ¶0020) with the conductive features(112, ¶0018, ¶0021) connected to respective one of the conductive metal pads(exposed surface of 122 along 126, ¶0020); and
a package structure(136, ¶0022) that encloses the semiconductor die(130a, ¶0021), wherein:
the electronic device has a first side, a second side, a third side, a fourth side, a fifth side, and a sixth side;
the first side extends in a first plane of orthogonal first and second directions;
the second side extends in a second plane of the first and second directions and is spaced apart from the first side along a third direction that is orthogonal to the first and second directions;
the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth sides extend from the first side to the second side along the third direction; and
the conductive metal leads(exposed surface of 122 along 128, exposed surface of 124, ¶0020, ¶0033) have second surfaces exposed along respective ones of the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth sides(please see examiner annotated Fig. 5, ¶0033).
Lee is not relied on to teach the conductive metal leads(exposed surface of 122 along 128, exposed surface of 124, ¶0020, ¶0033) include indented undercut features along the first side(128, ¶0020).
Yasunaga teaches an electronic device(Fig. 11) wherein the conductive metal leads(10, ¶0006) include indented undercut(12, ¶0006) features along the first side(14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the conductive metal leads include indented undercut features along the first side, as taught by Yasunaga, in order to facilitate bonding of the encapsulating insulating material layer to the lead(¶0007) while diminishing the tendency of the lead from separating from the encapsulating insulating material layer(¶0006).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the conductive metal leads(exposed surface of 122 along 128, exposed surface of 124, ¶0020, ¶0033) and the conductive metal pads(exposed surface of 122 along 126, ¶0020) include copper(¶0020).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 2.
The embodiment of fig. 2h of Lee is not relied on to teach the electronic device has a quad flat no-lead shape.
The embodiment of fig. 7 of Leah teaches an electronic device(Fig. 7) the electronic device(300) has a quad flat no-lead shape(320, ¶0040). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of fig. 2h of Lee, so that the electronic device has a quad flat no-lead shape, as taught by the embodiment of fig. 7 of Lee, so that the electronic device can be manufactured using less expensive components and a streamlined manufacturing process resulting in an electronic device that is less likely to fail and less expensive to manufacture resulting in a lower cost for consumers(¶0040).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein:
the conductive features(112, ¶0018, ¶0021) are connected to respective ones of a first set of the conductive metal pads(exposed surface of 122 along 126, ¶0020); and
the electronic device further comprises an additional die(130b, ¶0021) or a passive component connected to respective ones of a second set of the conductive metal pads(exposed surface of 122 along 126, ¶0020).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0395477 A1) and Yasunaga et al. (US 2003/0155634 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2017/0005023 A1) all of record.
Regarding claim 9, Lee, in view of Yasunaga teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Lee and Yasunaga are not relied on to teach the conductive metal leads(exposed surface of 122 along 128, exposed surface of 124, ¶0020, ¶0033) include a solderable finish on the exposed surfaces along the first side(128, ¶0020).
Chen teaches an electronic device(Fig. 2H) wherein the conductive metal leads(211, ¶0032) include a solderable finish(¶0032) on the exposed surfaces along the first side(21a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the conductive metal leads include a solderable finish on the exposed surfaces along the first side, as taught by Lee, in order to bond electronic elements to the first side of the multilevel metallization structure(¶0032).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 12-16 and 21-23 are allowed. Please see the office action dated 5/12/2025 for reasons for allowance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s argue the office action on page 8 indicates that an ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee to incorporate the teachings of Yasunaga in order to facilitate bonding of the encapsulating material to the lead while diminishing the tendency of the lead from separating from the encapsulating material. Applicant respectfully disagrees. In Lee, as shown in Fig. 2h, the encapsulant 136 does not cover the conductive layers 122 along the bottom side of the interconnect substrate. That is, the conductive layers 122 on the bottom side of the interconnect substrate are not in contact with the encapsulant 136. There is no bonding of encapsulating material to the lead, because the encapsulating material does not contact the lead on the bottom surface of the substrate. Thus, an ordinary artisan would not have been motivated to modify Lee to incorporate the teachings of Yasunaga, because such modification is unnecessary and would make the structure of the interconnect substrate of Lee more complicated without any practical benefits. The other cited reference does not remedy the deficiency of Lee and Yasunaga. Claim 1 as amended is patentable over the cited references.
The examiner respectfully submits that the conductive layers 122 of Lee are encapsulated in insulating material layer 123. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to facilitate bonding of the encapsulating insulating material 123 to the conductive lead layers 122 and prevent the conductive lead layers 122 from separating from the encapsulating insulating material 123. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the conductive metal leads include indented undercut features along the first side, as taught by Yasunaga, in order to facilitate bonding of the encapsulating insulating material layer to the lead(¶0007) while diminishing the tendency of the lead from separating from the encapsulating insulating material layer(¶0006).
Conclusion
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892