Response to Amendment
The Request for Continued Examination filed on 05/19/2026 has been accepted and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claim 1, Huang et al. (US20220199624A1) of the previous office action discloses a semiconductor structure comprising:
a first memory array (Fig. 3A frontside bit cell 10); and
a second memory array directly connected to the first memory array by nanosheet stacks (Fig. 3A, par. 30 backside bit cell 20 connected to frontside bit cell through transistor stack structure 30 “has a GAA transistor architecture with a plurality of stacked channel regions 105”) and
backside contacts (Fig. 3A backside interconnect 182), wherein a gate contact is horizontally between a first source/drain (S/D) region and a second S/D region (Fig. 3A gate electrode 110 is horizontally between source/drain regions 106 in both frontside bit cell 10 and backside bit cell 20), wherein the first S/D region and the second S/D region extend above a top surface of the nanosheet stacks (Fig. 3A examiner notes that as the claim language has changed from a first or second “source/drain contacts” to a first or second “source/drain region,” the mapping in Huang changes as well to be the combination of source/drain regions 106 and their respective contact 161/108 as the BRI of a “source/drain region” would encompass its contacts as well. As such, the source/drain regions of Huang extend above a top surface of the transistor stack structure 30).
Similar arguments to those above apply to amended independent claims 10 and 19, see below for full claims mapping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US20220199624A1, hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a semiconductor structure comprising:
a first memory array (Fig. 3A frontside bit cell 10); and
a second memory array directly connected to the first memory array by nanosheet stacks (Fig. 3A, par. 30 backside bit cell 20 connected to frontside bit cell through transistor stack structure 30 “has a GAA transistor architecture with a plurality of stacked channel regions 105”) and
backside contacts (Fig. 3A backside interconnect 182), wherein a gate contact is horizontally between a first source/drain (S/D) region and a second S/D region (Fig. 3A gate electrode 110 is horizontally between source/drain regions 106 in both frontside bit cell 10 and backside bit cell 20), wherein the first S/D region and the second S/D region extend above a top surface of the nanosheet stacks (Fig. 3A examiner notes that as the language has changed from a first or second “source/drain contacts” to a first or second “source/drain region,” the mapping in Huang changes as well to be the combination of source/drain regions 106 and their respective contact 161/108 as the BRI of a “source/drain region” would encompass its contacts as well. As such, the source/drain regions of Huang extend above a top surface of the transistor stack structure 30).
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1,
wherein the first and second memory arrays collectively define a double-sided memory array on a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) wafer (Par. 28 teaches that “[f]abrication of double-sided, or “double-layered” stacked memory may leverage monolithic stacked transistor structures that include GAA, stacked RoW channels, which are also suitable for advanced logic (CMOS) circuitry” and “[s]tacked transistor structures suitable for advanced CMOS may be further leveraged in double-sided DRAM architectures through the application of backside transistor interconnect technology”).
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1,
wherein the backside contacts are through silicon vias (TSV) (Figs. 1, 3A see substrate region 103 below lower transistor 102 wherein backside interconnect 182 is disposed and so the backside interconnect is also a TSV).
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1,
wherein the nanosheet stacks separate the first memory array from the second memory array (Fig. 3A frontside bit cell 10 and backside bit cell 20 are separated from each other by transistor stack structure 30).
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1,
wherein the nanosheet stacks are separated from each other by the first S/D region and the second S/D region (Fig. 3A frontside bit cell 10 and backside bit cell 20 are separated from each other by both source/drain regions 106).
Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1,
wherein S/D contacts in the first memory array are vertically offset from S/D contacts in the second memory array (Fig. 3A frontside source/drain contact 161 upper transistor 101 are vertically offset from backside source/drain contacts 108 in lower transistor 101).
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 7,
wherein the S/D contacts in the first memory array and the S/D contacts in the second memory array are vertically offset from the nanosheet stacks (Fig. 3A frontside source/drain contact 161 and backside contacts 108 are vertically offset from channel regions 105).
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1,
wherein top surfaces of the nanosheet stacks directly contact gate contacts extending into the first memory array (Fig. 3A top surface of topmost channel region 105 contacts gate electrode 110 which extends into frontside bit cell 10) and bottom surfaces of the nanosheet stacks directly contact oxide layers placed adjacent the second memory array (Fig. 3A bottom surface of bottommost channel region 105 directly contacts gate dielectrics 217 which are placed adjacent to the backside bit cell 20).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses a semiconductor structure comprising:
a first memory array (Fig. 3A frontside bit cell 10); and
a second memory array integrated with the first memory array by at least a plurality of nanosheet stacks to define a single complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) chip (Fig. 3A, par. 30 backside bit cell 20 connected to frontside bit cell through transistor stack structure 30 “has a GAA transistor architecture with a plurality of stacked channel regions 105” and par. 28 teaches that “[f]abrication of double-sided, or “double-layered” stacked memory may leverage monolithic stacked transistor structures that include GAA, stacked RoW channels, which are also suitable for advanced logic (CMOS) circuitry” and “[s]tacked transistor structures suitable for advanced CMOS may be further leveraged in double-sided DRAM architectures through the application of backside transistor interconnect technology”), wherein
a gate contact is horizontally between a first source/drain (S/D) region and a second S/D region (Fig. 3A gate electrode 110 is horizontally between source/drain regions 106 in both frontside bit cell 10 and backside bit cell 20), wherein the first S/D region and the second S/D region extend above a top surface of the nanosheet stacks (Fig. 3A examiner notes that as the language has changed from a first or second “source/drain contacts” to a first or second “source/drain region,” the mapping in Huang changes as well to be the combination of source/drain regions 106 and their respective contact 161/108 as the BRI of a “source/drain region” would encompass its contacts as well. As such, the source/drain regions of Huang extend above a top surface of the transistor stack structure 30).
Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 10,
wherein the first and second memory arrays are further integrated by a plurality of backside contacts (Fig. 3A backside interconnect 182 and backside source/drain contacts 108).
Regarding claim 12, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 11,
wherein the backside contacts are through silicon vias (TSV) (Fig. 3A backside interconnect 182 and backside source/drain contacts 108 extend through the silicon substrate).
Regarding claim 14, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 10,
wherein the nanosheet stacks separate the first memory array from the second memory array (Fig. 3A frontside bit cell 10 and backside bit cell 20 are separated from each other by transistor stack structure 30).
Regarding claim 15, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 10,
wherein the nanosheet stacks are separated from each other by the first S/D region and the second S/D region (Fig. 3A frontside bit cell 10 and backside bit cell 20 are separated from each other by both source/drain regions 106).
Regarding claim 16, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 10,
wherein S/D contacts in the first memory array are vertically offset from S/D contacts in the second (Fig. 3A frontside source/drain contact 161 upper transistor 101 are vertically offset from backside source/drain contacts 108 in lower transistor 101).
Regarding claim 17, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 16,
wherein the S/D contacts in the first memory array and the S/D contacts in the second memory array are vertically offset from the nanosheet stacks (Fig. 3A frontside source/drain contact 161 and backside contacts 108 are vertically offset from channel regions 105).
Regarding claim 18, Huang discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 10,
wherein top surfaces of the nanosheet stacks directly contact gate contacts extending into the first memory array (Fig. 3A top surface of topmost channel region 105 contacts gate electrode 110 which extends into frontside bit cell 10) and bottom surfaces of the nanosheet stacks directly contact oxide layers placed adjacent the second memory (Fig. 3A bottom surface of bottommost channel region 105 directly contacts gate dielectrics 217 which are placed adjacent to the backside bit cell 20).
Regarding claim 19, Huang discloses a method comprising:
forming a first set of source/drain (S/D) contacts (Fig. 3A source/drain regions 106 within upper transistor 101) within a silicon on insulator (SOI) layer of a wafer Par. 35 “channel regions 105 were formed from a semiconductor layer of an semiconductor-on-insulator (SOI) substrate” and so it is formed within an SOI layer of a wafer);
forming nanosheet stacks over portions of the SOI layer (Fig. 3A channel regions 105 and par. 35 teaches that “channel regions 105 were formed from a semiconductor layer of a semiconductor-on-insulator (SOI) substrate”);
constructing a first memory array (Fig. 3A frontside bit cell 10);
flipping the wafer;
removing the portions of the SOI layer (Fig. 6 steps 610-630 comprise flipping wafer and then subsequently removing backside portions of the substrate to form backside contacts);
constructing a second memory array (Fig. 3A backside bit cell 20); and
re-flipping the wafer so that the second memory array is integrated with the first memory array by at least the nanosheet stacks to define a single complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) chip (Fig. 3A shows a completed device with two memory arrays in frontside bit 10 and backside bit 20 in an upright configuration and par. 28 teaches that “[f]abrication of double-sided, or “double-layered” stacked memory may leverage monolithic stacked transistor structures that include GAA, stacked RoW channels, which are also suitable for advanced logic (CMOS) circuitry” and “[s]tacked transistor structures suitable for advanced CMOS may be further leveraged in double-sided DRAM architectures through the application of backside transistor interconnect technology”), wherein
a gate contact is horizontally between a first S/D region and a second S/D region (Fig. 3A backside interconnect 182 is between source/drain regions 106 and their contacts), and wherein the first S/D region and the second S/D region extend above a top surface of the nanosheet stacks (Fig. 3A examiner notes that as the language has changed from a first or second “source/drain contacts” to a first or second “source/drain region,” the mapping in Huang changes as well to be the combination of source/drain regions 106 and their respective contact 161/108 as the BRI of a “source/drain region” would encompass its contacts as well. As such, the source/drain regions of Huang extend above a top surface of the transistor stack structure 30).
Regarding claim 20, Huang discloses the method of claim 19,
wherein the nanosheet stacks separate the first memory array from the second memory array (Fig. 3A frontside bit cell 10 and backside bit cell 20 are separated from each other by transistor stack structure 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Wang et al. (US20190386062A1, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1.
Huang does not appear to teach
wherein the first memory array is a first type of memory device and the second memory array is a second type of memory device different than the first type of memory device.
Wang teaches
wherein the first memory array is a first type of memory device and the second memory array is a second type of memory device different than the first type of memory device (Wang fig. 3C SHE-MRAM 342 is a different type of memory device than STT-MRAM 360).
Being in analogous arts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang with the teachings of Wang because as both Huang and Wang teach suitable configurations for use in a DRAM device, it would have been obvious to substitute Huang’s configuration where the first and second memory arrays are the same type of memory devices with Wang’s configuration where the first and second memory arrays are SHE-MRAM and STT-MRAM to achieve the predictable result of forming a memory device wherein the first memory array is a first type of memory device and the second memory array is a second type of memory device different than the first type of memory device.
Regarding claim 13, Huang teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 10.
Huang does not appear to teach
wherein the first memory array is a first type of memory device and the second memory array is a second type of memory device different than the first type of memory device.
Wang teaches
wherein the first memory array is a first type of memory device and the second memory array is a second type of memory device different than the first type of memory device (Wang fig. 3C SHE-MRAM 342 is a different type of memory device than STT-MRAM 360).
Being in analogous arts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang with the teachings of Wang because as both Huang and Wang teach suitable configurations for use in a DRAM device, it would have been obvious to substitute Huang’s configuration where the first and second memory arrays are the same type of memory devices with Wang’s configuration where the first and second memory arrays are SHE-MRAM and STT-MRAM to achieve the predictable result of forming a memory device wherein the first memory array is a first type of memory device and the second memory array is a second type of memory device different than the first type of memory device.
Conclusion
/COLE LEON LINDSEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812