DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the amendment received June 25, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 16-25, and 28-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over FROMMELD et al (5,057,398), (4,940,647) and/or (4,767,445).
The claimed invention now recites the following:
FROMMELD et al ‘398 anticipates the claimed invention at Example 2 in column 9, lines 6-56 in which the composition comprises a copolymer of methyl methacrylate/methacrylic acid, a polymerizable compound (trimethylolethanetriacrylate) and a photoinitiator in an amount of 0.7 parts by weight of 2-tribromomethylquinoline (a quinone derivative), see below:
Example 2 continues on to disclose a method wherein the composition is coated on an aluminum plate which is conductive, exposed to a metal halide lamp and developed.
FROMMELD et al ‘647 anticipate the claimed invention at Example 2, column 7, lines 9-36 wherein the composition comprises a terpolymer of methyl methacrylate/n-hexylmethacrylate/methacrylic acid, a photopolymerizable compound and a photoinitiator comprising a quinoline derived compound, see below:
FROMMELD et al ‘445 anticipate the claimed invention at Example 5, column 10, lines 61 – column 11, line 23 wherein the composition comprises a copolymer of methyl methacrylate/methacrylic acid, a photopolymerizable compound and a photoinitiator comprising a quinoline derived compound, see below.
With respect to claims 6-9 the molar absorption coefficient and pKa of compound β, are asserted by Office to be inherent with respect to those properties wherein the same or similar derived compounds are recited in the FROMMELD et al references as the quinoline would continue to contains those properties based on the structure of the heterocyclic ring of quinoline.
Claim 11 is met by the disclose copolymers in FROMMELD et al having a (meth)acrylic acid.
Claims 16 and 17 have been disclosed above for the polymerizable compound and the photopolymerization initiator.
Claims 19-21 for the method are reported above in Example 2 of FROMMELD et al ‘398.
Claims 22 to the temporary support is disclosed in col. 7, lines 15-29 of FROMMELD et al ‘398.
Claims 23-25 are asserted to be inherent wherein the transmittance is inseparable from the quinoline compound itself as a natural property and the reduction rate is inherent based on the content of the quinoline compound in the composition.
Claim 35- 38 are rejected as b0 is undefined and is met by any of the comonomers reported in any of the FROMMELD references above.
The rejection is repeated wherein the requirement (W01) is interpreted as a polymer A having a unit b0 which is undefined, and the additive compounds reported in the FROMMELD references meet the reduction of the carboxy groups upon exposure.
Claims 1, 11, 16-25, and 28-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FROMMELD et al (5,057,398), (4,940,647) and/or (4,767,445) above further in view of DUDMAN et al (6,090,865).
The claimed invention is recited above.
FROMMELD et al ‘467 has been discussed above for their composition comprising a terpolymer of methyl methacrylate/n-hexylmethacrylate/methacrylic acid, a photopolymerizable compound and a photoinitiator comprising a quinoline derived photoinitiator.
FROMMELD et al ‘467 disclose equivalent photoinitiators such as benzophenone with the quinoline derived compounds, see col. 3, lines 4-9.
Claims 11, and 19-38 are rejected above in the previous rejection over FROMMELD et al.
With respect to claim 18 for the photopolymerization initiators, DUDMAN et al report a photopolymerizable composition wherein known photoinitiators include benzophenone along with α-aminoacetophenone, see col. 33, lines 37-48 and col. 34, lines 27-41, wherein equivalent photoinitiators used in combination include benzophenones and α-aminoacetophenones. The skilled artisan would expect any of the listed photoinitiators to function in the same or similar manner such that the use of aminoacetophenone is prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan, see below the text below:
From column 33:
From column 34:
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive composition to add any equivalent photopolymerization initiator such as α- aminoacetophenone in place of known photoinitiators like benzophenone in a mixture with the quinoline derivatives in the examples of the FROMMELD et al ‘467 reference and reasonably expect same or similar results for improved shelf life, stable photopolymerizable compositions which are highly light sensitive and that adhere well to metal surfaces as taught in FROMMELD et al ‘467.
The rejection is repeated wherein the requirement (W01) is interpreted as a polymer A having a unit b0 which is undefined, and the additive compounds reported in the FROMMELD references meet the reduction of the carboxy groups upon exposure.
Claims 2, 12 and 29-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art references of record disclose b0 being a heteroaromatic ring and the additional limitations to claim 29 for defining the heteroaromatic ring.
Claims 39-59 are allowed.
None of the prior art references of record disclose the claimed photosensitive material having requirement (V01) wherein the “photosensitive material dose [sic] not substantially include a polymerizable compound having one or more ethylenically unsaturated groups in a molecule which is interpreted as having 0% in the photosensitive material.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BARR et al (2004/0063030 A1) disclose polymers which can have an acrylic acid/vinyl pyridine repeating units in photoresist compositions, however there is no direct teaching to use those specific monomers together.
VAN ISEGHEM et al (5,334,485) disclose an acid soluble photoresist composition comprising a vinyl pyridine polymer in the photosensitive composition; however, lacks the directed teaching for an (meth)acrylic acid comonomer.
KANCHIKU et al (2009/0233221 A1) disclose the use of a polymerizable monomer in an amount of 5% to 60% in a photosensitive material for infrared laser exposure and negative working planographic printing plates.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
August 28, 2026