DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
EXEMPLARY RATIONALES
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundelfinger (US 1982382) in view of Topaz et al. (US 10294956B2)
Gundelfinger discloses:
1. A space heater A/B comprising:
a heater housing 16/29/34/48 having a front grill 48 and rear grill 16;
a fan 14/12 positioned near the rear grill 16 of the heater housing, the fan includes a hub and fan blades positioned in angular relationship to the rotational axis of the fan
at least one heating element C positioned in front of the fan behind the front grill 48 of the heater housing where the heating element and the fan are linearly aligned (along axis through center of fan/motor); and a duct assembly 29/34 positioned within the heater housing surrounding both the fan 14 and the heating element C where the duct assembly gradually decreases in circumference as it approaches the front grill of the heater housing. See Figure 2
Grundelfinger does not explicitly disclose the fan blades having tip ends with both a forward tip and a rearward tip, where both the forward tip and rearward tip are bent forward toward the front of the fan in the direction of the airflow such that the entire tip end is bent forward toward the front of the fan.
Topaz discloses a fan/propeller configuration for reducing radial flow and force losses, redirecting the radial flow in an axial direction, reducing the exit flow area of the propeller, and increasing the inlet flow area of the propeller including the fan blades having tip ends with both a forward tip and a rearward tip, where both the forward tip and rearward tip are bent forward toward the front of the fan in the direction of the airflow such that the entire tip end is bent forward toward the front of the fan.
One of skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the construction of the fan blades of Grundelfinger to reduce radial flow and force losses, redirect the radial flow in an axial direction, reduce the exit flow area of the propeller, and increase the inlet flow area of the propeller by including the fan blades having tip ends with both a forward tip and a rearward tip, where both the forward tip and rearward tip are bent forward toward the front of the fan in the direction of the airflow such that the entire tip end is bent forward toward the front of the fan.
4. The space heater of claim 1 where the fan and the at least one heating element are both in communication with a controller that is programed to operate the fan either with, or
independent of, the at least one heating element. See page 2, lines 4-7.
5. A space heater comprising:
a heater housing having a front grill and rear grill; and
a heating assembly including:
a fan having a hub and at least two fan blades positioned in angular relationship to the rotational axis of the fan, the at least two fan blades having tip ends with both a forward tip and a rearward tip, where both the forward tip and rearward tip are both bent forward toward the front of the fan in the direction of the airflow such that the entire tip end is bent forward toward the front of the fan; and at least two ring shaped heating elements positioned in front of the fan, where one heating element is positioned in front of the other and where the center of each of the at least two ring shaped circular heating elements are on the axis of rotation of the fan and where the diameter of each of the at least two ring shaped heating elements is equal to or lesser than the fan diameter such that an outer circumference of the at least two heating elements is positioned at or just inside the circumference of fan as defined by the fan blades when rotating; and where the heating assembly is positioned within the heater housing such that the at least two heating elements are positioned behind the front grill of the heater housing and the fan is positioned near the rear grill of the heater housing.
See Figure 2. And See Claim 1 mutatis mutandis.
6. The space heater of claim 5, further including a duct assembly positioned within the heater housing enclosing the heating assembly where the duct assembly gradually decreases in circumference as it approaches the front grill of the heater housing. See Figure 2. And See Claim 1 mutatis mutandis
8. The space heater of claim 5 where the fan and the at least one circular heating element are both in communication with a controller that is programed to operate the fan either with, or
independent of, the at least one circular heating element. See claim 1 mutatis mutandis, page 2, lines 4-7.
11. A space heater comprising:
a heater housing having a front grill and rear grill; and
a heating assembly including:
a fan having a fan hub and fan blades, where the fan blades have fronts and tips tip ends with both a forward tip and a rearward tip, where both the forward tip and rearward tip are both bent forward toward the front of the fan in the direction of the airflow such that the entire tip end is bent forward toward the front of the fan; and at least one ring shaped heating element positioned in front of the fan where the center of the ring shaped heating element is on the axis of rotation of the fan and where the ring shaped heating element is in linear alignment with the fan such that the at least one ring shaped heating element is positioned between the hub of the fan and the tip ends of the fan blades and has a diameter equal to or lesser than the fan diameter such that an outer circumference of the at least one ring shaped heating element is positioned at or just inside the circumference of fan as defined by the fan blades when rotating; and where, the heating assembly is positioned within the heater housing such that the heating element is positioned behind the front grill of the heater housing and the fan is positioned near the rear grill of the heater housing. See claims 1 and 5 mutatis mutandis.
12. The space heater of claim 11, further including a duct assembly positioned within the heater housing enclosing the heating assembly where the duct assembly gradually decreases in circumference as it approaches the front grill of the heater housing. See claims 1 and 5 mutatis mutandis.
13. The space heater of claim 11 where the fan and the at least one ring shaped heating element are both in communication with a controller that is programed to operate the fan either with, or independent of, the at least one ring shaped heating element. See claim 1 mutatis mutandis, page 2, lines 4-7.
14. The space heater of claim 11 where the at least one right shaped heating element is a heating ribbon. Heating means C can be read as a ribbon heater
15. The space heater of claim 14 where the heating ribbon includes ceramic heating elements. Gundelfinger discloses :
Note fire clay can be considered a ceramic
16. The space heater of claim 14 where the heating ribbon includes wire heating elements mounted on the heating ribbon.
17. The space heater of claim 11 where the at least one ring shaped heating element is a wire coil.
Claim(s) 5, 8, 11-14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole (US 1515731) in view of Topaz et al. (US 10294956B2)
Cole discloses:
5. A space heater comprising:
a heater housing 9 having a front grill 26 and rear grill 27; and
a heating assembly including:
a fan 1 having at least two fan blades 7 having fronts A and tips B; the fan includes a hub and fan blades positioned in angular relationship to the rotational axis of the fan and
at least one circular heating element 11 positioned in front of the fan where the center of the circular heating element is on the axis of rotation of the fan and where the diameter of the circular heating element extends across the fronts of the fan blades not beyond the tips of the fan blades; and where, the heating assembly is positioned within the heater housing such that the heating element is positioned behind the front grill 26 of the heater housing and the fan is positioned near the rear grill 27 of the heater housing. See Figures 1 and 2.
Cole does not explicitly disclose the fan blades having tip ends with both a forward tip and a rearward tip, where both the forward tip and rearward tip are bent forward toward the front of the fan in the direction of the airflow such that the entire tip end is bent forward toward the front of the fan.
Topaz discloses a fan/propeller configuration for reducing radial flow and force losses, redirecting the radial flow in an axial direction, reducing the exit flow area of the propeller, and increasing the inlet flow area of the propeller including the fan blades having tip ends with both a forward tip and a rearward tip, where both the forward tip and rearward tip are bent forward toward the front of the fan in the direction of the airflow such that the entire tip end is bent forward toward the front of the fan.
One of skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the construction of the fan blades of Cole to reduce radial flow and force losses, redirect the radial flow in an axial direction, reduce the exit flow area of the propeller, and increase the inlet flow area of the propeller by including the fan blades having tip ends with both a forward tip and a rearward tip, where both the forward tip and rearward tip are bent forward toward the front of the fan in the direction of the airflow such that the entire tip end is bent forward toward the front of the fan.
8. The space heater of claim 5 where the fan and the at least one circular heating element are both in communication with a controller that is programed to operate the fan either with, or
independent of, the at least one circular heating element. See claim 1 mutatis mutandis, page 2, lines 41-71.
11. A space heater comprising:
a heater housing 9 having a front grill 26 and rear grill 27; and
a heating assembly including:
a fan having a fan hub and fan blades, where the fan blades have tip ends B with both a forward tip and a rearward tip (see Fig. 2), where both the forward tip and rearward tip are both bent forward toward the front of the fan in the direction of the airflow such that the entire tip end is bent forward toward the front of the fan; and at least one ring shaped heating element 11 positioned in front of the fan where the center of the ring shaped heating element is on the axis of rotation of the fan and where the ring shaped heating element is in linear alignment with the fan such that the at least one ring shaped heating element is positioned between the hub of the fan and the tip ends of the fan blades and has a diameter equal to or lesser than the fan diameter such that an outer circumference of the at least one ring shaped heating element is positioned at or just inside the circumference of fan as defined by the fan blades when rotating; and where, the heating assembly is positioned within the heater housing such that the heating element is positioned behind the front grill of the heater housing and the fan is positioned near the rear grill of the heater housing.
See claim 5 mutatis mutandis.
12. The space heater of claim 11, further including a duct assembly positioned within the heater housing enclosing the heating assembly where the duct assembly gradually decreases in circumference as it approaches the front grill of the heater housing.
13. The space heater of claim 11 where the fan and the at least one ring shaped heating element are both in communication with a controller that is programed to operate the fan either with, or independent of, the at least one ring shaped heating element. See claim 11 mutatis mutandis, page 2, lines 41-71.
14. The space heater of claim 11 where the at least one ring shaped heating element is a heating ribbon. Heating means 11 can be read as a ribbon heater
17. The space heater of claim 11 where the at least one ring shaped heating element 11 is a wire coil.
Claim(s) 5, 8-11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You (US 4740670) in view of Topaz et al. (US 10294956B2)
You discloses:
5. A space heater comprising:
a heater housing 1 having a front grill 8 and rear grill 14; and
a heating assembly including:
a fan having at least two fan blades 30 having fronts and tips (14); and
at least one ring shaped heating element 51 positioned in front of the fan where the center of the circular heating element is on the axis of rotation of the fan and where the diameter of the circular heating element extends across the fronts of the fan blades not beyond the tips of the fan blades; and where, the heating assembly is positioned within the heater housing such that the heating element is positioned behind the front grill of the heater housing and the fan is positioned near the rear grill of the heater housing.
You does not explicitly disclose the fan blades having tip ends with both a forward tip and a rearward tip, where both the forward tip and rearward tip are bent forward toward the front of the fan in the direction of the airflow such that the entire tip end is bent forward toward the front of the fan.
Topaz discloses a fan/propeller configuration for reducing radial flow and force losses, redirecting the radial flow in an axial direction, reducing the exit flow area of the propeller, and increasing the inlet flow area of the propeller including the fan blades having tip ends with both a forward tip and a rearward tip, where both the forward tip and rearward tip are bent forward toward the front of the fan in the direction of the airflow such that the entire tip end is bent forward toward the front of the fan.
One of skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the construction of the fan blades of You to reduce radial flow and force losses, redirect the radial flow in an axial direction, reduce the exit flow area of the propeller, and increase the inlet flow area of the propeller by including the fan blades having tip ends with both a forward tip and a rearward tip, where both the forward tip and rearward tip are bent forward toward the front of the fan in the direction of the airflow such that the entire tip end is bent forward toward the front of the fan.
8. The space heater of claim 5 where the fan and the at least one circular heating element are both in communication with a controller that is programed to operate the fan either with, or
independent of, the at least one circular heating element. See title of invention “Electric Fan Heater for Circulating AND/OR Heating Air” See also Fig. 10
9. The space heater of claim 5 further including a motor 2 having a shaft 22 positioned between the at least one circular heating element and the fan, where the fan is affixed to the shaft of the motor and where the at least one circular heating element 51 is mounted to the motor on the side of the motor opposing the shaft. See Fig. 8
10. The space heater of claim 9 where the at least one circular heating element is affixed to a barrel mount 12, and where the barrel mount is mounted to the motor 2.
11. A space heater comprising:
a heater housing having a front grill 8 and rear grill 14; and
a heating assembly including:
a fan having a fan hub and fan blades 30, where the fan blades have tips (14);
where the fan blades have tip ends with both a forward tip and a rearward tip (see Fig. 2), where both the forward tip and rearward tip are both bent forward toward the front of the fan in the direction of the airflow such that the entire tip end is bent forward toward the front of the fan; and at least one ring shaped heating element 51 positioned in front of the fan where the center of the ring shaped heating element is on the axis of rotation of the fan and where the ring shaped heating element is in linear alignment with the fan such that the at least one ring shaped heating element is positioned between the hub of the fan and the tip ends of the fan blades and has a diameter equal to or lesser than the fan diameter such that an outer circumference of the at least one ring shaped heating element is positioned at or just inside the circumference of fan as defined by the fan blades when rotating; and where, the heating assembly is positioned within the heater housing such that the heating element is positioned behind the front grill of the heater housing and the fan is positioned near the rear grill of the heater housing.
See claim 5 mutatis mutandis.
13. The space heater of claim 11 where the fan and the at least one ring shaped heating element are both in communication with a controller that is programed to operate the fan either with, or independent of, the at least one ring shaped heating element. See Fig. 10
14. The space heater of claim 11 where the at least one right shaped heating element is a heating ribbon. Heating means C can be read as a ribbon heater
Claim(s) 2-3 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You, Cole or Gundelfinger in view of Topaz et al. (US 10294956B2) and further in view of Soverhill (US 2109279)
You, Cole or Gundelfinger discloses the claimed invention as delineated above except in reference to claim:
2. The space heater of claim 1 where the at least one heating element includes at least two ring shaped heating elements.
3. The space heater of claim 2 where the at least two ring shaped heating elements are positioned in front of the fan with one of the at least two ring shaped heating elements positioned in front of the other, where the center of the at least two ring shaped heating elements is on the axis of rotation of the fan and are in linear axial alignment with the fan such that the at least two ring shaped heating elements are aligned between the hub of the fan and the tip of the fan blades. See as discussed above mutatis mutandis
18. The space heater of claim 11 where the at least one ring shaped heating elements include at least two ring shaped heating elements.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 18 , You or Cole or Gundelfinger in view of Topaz disclose the claimed invention (as discussed above) with the exception of the use of two ring shaped heating elements fan with one of the at least two ring shaped heating elements positioned in front of the other. Soverhill discloses a similar heating device explicitly teaching two ring two ring shaped heating elements 41 with one of the at least two ring shaped heating elements positioned in front of the other along the flow direction.
Additionally note, the use of duplicate/redundant and/or additional heating elements, separately controlled is a well known practice in the art of space heating for the purpose of increasing heating power and/or heating variability, as such one of skill in the art would find it obvious to modify any of the devices described by You, Cole or Gundelfinger to include additional heating elements as described by Soverhill such that additional heating is possible.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOR S CAMPBELL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761
tsc