DETAILED ACTION
DEBRIS BIN ASSEMBLY, CLEANING ROBOT AND CLEANING ROBOT SYSTEM
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract exceeds 150 words and the abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because portions of the drawings, such as the bracket within figure 2 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.84
All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: diversion part, debris evacuation structure in claims 7-12.
Examiner is interpreting the debris evacuation structure as an opening with discharging valve disclosed in applicant specification (see page 10) or equivalent structure.
Examiner is interpreting the diversion part as a convex corner disclosed in applicant specification (see page 9) or equivalent structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhe (US20120291809A1) in view of Brede (DE102010060479A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kuhe teaches a debris bin housing (50 , figures 4a and 5) , a filter assembly (54, figure 13a-b), and, wherein the debris bin housing comprises a top portion (66, figure 13a-13b), a bottom portion (annotated figure 13a) disposed opposite to the top portion, and a side housing (see annotated figure 5) surrounding the top portion and the bottom portion (annotated figure 13a), the top portion, the bottom portion and the side housing are enclosed to form an inner cavity (see area surrounding 1302, figure 13a -13b) the top portion of the debris bin housing is provided with an air exhaust channel (76, figure 15a) communicating with the inner cavity (15a-15b) and an air outlet (56, figure 15a-15b) communicating with the air exhaust channel (76, figure 15a) , the side housing is provided with an air inlet (78, figure 17) communicating with the inner cavity, the air inlet (78, figure 15a-15b) inclines towards a side where the top portion is located (see figure 15a-15b), the filter assembly (54, figure 13a-b) is disposed in the air exhaust channel of the top portion
Kuhe fails to teach a flow guide plate, where the flow guide plate extends from the top portion to the bottom portion and is configured for intercepting, decelerating and laterally guiding air flow entering from the air inlet.
Brede teaches automatically movable sweeping device (abstract, figures 1-3) that has debris bub collection area (19, figures 1-3) that has a flow guide plate (22,31,32 figure 3) the flow guide plate extends from the top portion to the bottom portion and is configured for intercepting, decelerating and laterally guiding air flow entering from the air inlet (see 26, figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kuhe to include Brede’s flow guide plate and placement of flow guide . This modification would help with reducing the momentum of particles when entering bin collection chamber. ( see Brede’s“resulting impulse of the dirt particles 10 is damped, preferably such that the dirt particles 10 at least virtually impulse-free in the dust collection room 19 be filed.”)
Regarding claim 2, modified Kuhe teaches a side (see Kuhe annotated figure 15a), close to the bottom portion, of the top portion forms an air inlet side of the air exhaust channel (see Kuhe 76, figure 15a), and the flow guide plate (see Brede’s 22,31,32 figure 3) is disposed on a surface of the air inlet side in a protruding manner, and the flow guide plate (see Brede’s 22,31,32 figure 3) laterally guides air flow entering from the air inlet, so that the air flow flushes the surface of the air inlet side along a preset direction (see Brede’s figure 3)
Regarding claim 3, modified Kuhe teaches an area where the air inlet side is located is provided with a first edge and two opposite second edges, the first edge is a side edge (see annotated figure below), close to the air inlet, of the area where the air inlet side is located, the two second edges are connected with the first edge, and at least part of the flow guide plate spans between the two second edges (see Brede discloses that the flow guide plate inclined at an angle; figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kuhe teaches wherein the flow guide plate (see Brede 22, 31, 32) comprises a first side plate and a second side plate, the first side plate and the second side plate are connected to form a V-shaped plate structure (see Brede figure 3), a junction of the first side plate and the second side plate is disposed close to the first edge, the first side plate is disposed crosswise to one of the two second edges, and the second side plate is disposed crosswise to the other of the two second edges (see Brede discloses that the flow guide plate inclined at an angle; figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kuhe teaches wherein the flow guide plate (see Brede’s 22,31,32 figure 3) comprises an inclined flow guide plate (see Brede’s each of 22,31,32 are inclined figure 3) , and at least part of the inclined flow guide plate spans between the two second edges (see Brede 22,31,32 incline from top area and to a bottom area , figure 3) , and the inclined flow guide plate is inclined relative to the first edge.
Regarding claim 6, modified Kuhe teaches the flow guide plate (see Brede’s 22,31,32 figure 3) comprises a first side plate (see Brede’s 31, figure 3) and a second side plate (see Brede’s 32, figure 3) connected with the first side plate, a junction (see annotated figure below) of the first side plate and the second side plate is provided with a diversion part (see Brede’s 33 ,figure 3 impact areas), the diversion part protrudes toward a direction of the air inlet is configured to divert the air flow entering from the air inlet, so that the air flow flows along the first side plate and the second side plate, respectively. ( see Brede’s dirt particles hit 31 and then 33 see arrows C)
Regarding claim 7, modified Kuhe teaches a debris evacuation structure (see Kuhe 80a-c, figure 4a and 5) opposite to the air inlet (Kuhe’s 78, figure 17), and the air inlet, the diversion part and the debris evacuation structure are sequentially arranged at a middle position of the debris bin assembly along a front-rear direction of the debris bin assembly ((see Kuhe’s figure 4a and5).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kuhe teaches a center line of the air inlet, a center line of the diversion part and a center line of the debris evacuation structure are located in a same preset plane (see figures 5-15 Kuhe and see Brede’s figure 3) the first side plate (see Brede’s 31, figure 3) is disposed at a first included angle with respect to the preset plane, and the second side plate is disposed at a second included angle (see Brede’s 32, figure 3 with respect to the preset plane, wherein the first included angle is equal to the second included angle.
Regarding claim 9, modified Kuhe teaches the side housing is provided with a first side wall and a second side wall (see annotated figures below) disposed opposite to the first side wall, and two opposite guide side walls (see Kuhe 55a and 55b of 55, ; para 0047), the air inlet is disposed on the first side wall, the debris evacuation structure (see Kuhe 80, figure 5) is disposed on the second side wall, the two guide side walls are connected between the first side wall and the second side wall, respectively, the two guide side walls are configured to guide air flow to the debris evacuation structure (see Kuhe 55a and 55b allow air enter the port 80), and the first side plate and the second side plate are connected with the two guide side walls (connected within bin touching port inner side panels), respectively.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kuhe teaches a distance between the two guide side walls (Kuhe side panels distance decreased to cover 80, figure 4a; para 0047) when approaching is narrowed approaching the debris evacuation structure (Kuhe 80a-80b, figure 4a).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kuhe teaches a side (see Kuhe 64, figure 13a), close to the top portion, of the bottom portion is provided with an upper surface, the upper surface is connected between the debris evacuation structure (Kuhe 80 , figures 4a,5a, 15a-18) and the air inlet, the upper surface is recessed away from the top portion to form a recessed space, and the recessed space forms a part of the inner cavity.
Regarding claim 12, modified Kuhe teaches a portion (see annotated figure 4a), close to the debris evacuation structure, of the upper surface is arched toward the top portion, and a portion, close to the air inlet, of the upper surface is arched toward the top portion.
Regarding claim 13, modified Kuhe teaches the flow guide plate (divides an area where the air inlet side is located into a first area (see Brede area surrounding 22, figure 3) and a second area (see Brede area surrounding 31, figure 3), the first area is located on a side, close to the air inlet, of the flow guide plate, the second area is located on a side, away from the air inlet, of the flow guide plate, when the air outlet is subjected to a suction negative (see Kuhe para 0092) pressure, at least part of the air flow entering from the air inlet enters the air exhaust channel through the first area, and at least part of the air flow entering from the air inlet bypasses the flow guide plate (see Brede 22,31,32 figure 3) and enters the air exhaust channel (see Kuhe 76, figure 15a)through the second area
Regarding claim 14, modified Kuhe teaches a robot body (see Kuhe 10, figure 1) and the debris bin assembly (see rejection above) as claimed in claim 1, and the debris bin assembly is detachably mounted on the robot body ( see Kuhe para 0050).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kuhe teaches a side (see Kuhe annotated figure 15a), close to the bottom portion, of the top portion forms an air inlet side of the air exhaust channel (see Kuhe 76, figure 15a), and the flow guide plate (see Brede’s 22,31,32 figure 3) is disposed on a surface of the air inlet side in a protruding manner, and the flow guide plate (see Brede’s 22,31,32 figure 3) laterally guides air flow entering from the air inlet, so that the air flow flushes the surface of the air inlet side along a preset direction (see Brede’s figure 3)
Regarding claim 16, modified Kuhe teaches an area where the air inlet side is located is provided with a first edge and two opposite second edges, the first edge is a side edge (see annotated figure below), close to the air inlet, of the area where the air inlet side is located, the two second edges are connected with the first edge, and at least part of the flow guide plate spans between the two second edges (see Brede discloses that the flow guide plate inclined at an angle; figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, modified Kuhe teaches wherein the flow guide plate (see Brede 22, 31, 32) comprises a first side plate and a second side plate, the first side plate and the second side plate are connected to form a V-shaped plate structure (see Brede figure 3), a junction of the first side plate and the second side plate is disposed close to the first edge, the first side plate is disposed crosswise to one of the two second edges, and the second side plate is disposed crosswise to the other of the two second edges (see Brede discloses that the flow guide plate inclined at an angle; figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, modified Kuhe teaches wherein the flow guide plate (see Brede’s 22,31,32 figure 3) comprises an inclined flow guide plate (see Brede’s each of 22,31,32 are inclined figure 3) , and at least part of the inclined flow guide plate spans between the two second edges (see Brede 22,31,32 incline from top area and to a bottom area , figure 3) , and the inclined flow guide plate is inclined relative to the first edge.
Regarding claim 19, modified Kuhe teaches the flow guide plate (see Brede’s 22,31,32 figure 3) comprises a first side plate (see Brede’s 31, figure 3) and a second side plate (see Brede’s 32, figure 3) connected with the first side plate, a junction (see annotated figure below) of the first side plate and the second side plate is provided with a diversion part (see Brede’s 33 ,figure 3 impact areas), the diversion part protrudes toward a direction of the air inlet is configured to divert the air flow entering from the air inlet, so that the air flow flows along the first side plate and the second side plate, respectively. ( see Brede’s dirt particles hit 31 and then 33 see arrows C)
Regarding claim 20, modified Kuhe teaches the cleaning robot as claimed in claim 14 (see rejection above), and a cleaning base station (100, figure 1), the cleaning base station is configured (para 0037-0041) for performing at least one maintenance on the cleaning robot, and the at least one maintenance comprises recycling garbage in the debris bin assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (US10779695B2) discloses a dand (US20160256025 A1) discloses a cleaning device with deflector surfaces.
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723