DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 02/04/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
One of the information disclosure statements filed on 04/25/2022 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) and MPEP § 609.04(a), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered for LAURENT CARIOU (INTEL), ALFRED ASTERJADHI (QUALCOM INC) and ARIK KLEIN (HUAWEI). Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 and 15 are objected to because of the following typographical error: the term ‘quite’ appears to be used in place of ‘quiet’: “a duration parameter indicating a duration or remaining time of an unavailability, quite or disablement interval; and an offset parameter indicating an offset value of the unavailability, quite or disablement interval from the TBTT,” Based on the context of the specification, which repeatedly refers to ‘quiet intervals’ and ‘quiet elements’ in relation to link unavailability, the examiner believes this is a simple typographical error and has interpreted claims 1, 9 and 15 to state ‘quiet’ instead of ‘quite’. Please make the corresponding change in order to avoid a future 112(b) antecedent basis issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2024/0137979 A1), hereinafter “KIM” in view of Patil et al. (US 2023/0053972 A1), hereinafter “PATIL”.
Regarding claim 1, KIM teaches, ‘A method, comprising:‘ (Paragraph [0021], method including):
‘generating, by a first access point (AP) affiliated with an AP multi-link device (MLD) operating on a non-simultaneous-transmission-and-reception (NSTR) link pair comprising a primary link and a non-primary link, a beacon frame or probe response frame;’ (Paragraph [0051], a station for wireless communication includes a processor and a communication unit… The processor may generate a frame to be transmitted through a wireless network or process a frame received through the wireless network and besides, perform various processing for controlling the station. Paragraph [0150], each AP included in an AP MLD may transmit a beacon frame in its link. Paragraph [0153], AP MLD operates one link among the NSTR link pair as the primary link and at least one another link as the non-primary link… beacon frame may be transmitted only through the primary link);
‘…in reference to a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) of the first AP as a reporting AP…’ (Paragraph [0289], A primary link AP of an NSTR AP MLD may need to configure timing fields… in the
per-STA profile… for the AP of the non-primary link with reference to the beacon interval and the TBTT of the primary link AP itself)…
‘wherein a per-station (per-STA) profile sub-element in a Multi-Link element of the beacon frame or probe response frame contains a link unavailability/disable parameters subfield comprising two or more of:’ (Paragraph [0281], the NSTR AP MLD may need to include, in the beacon frame (and the (ML) probe response frame) of the primary link, a per-STA profile for the AP of the non-primary link. Paragraph [0283], Referring to FIG. 17, a per-STA profile… may include a… quiet element, and a quiet channel element):
‘a count parameter indicating a number of TBTTs of the reporting AP until a beacon interval during which the non-primary link is unavailable or is in a scheduled quiet interval or is disabled;’ (Paragraph [0304], a quiet element for the non-primary link, transmitted through the beacon frame of the primary link, may be configured (indicated) by the NSTR AP MLD as follows. Paragraph [0305], quiet count field may be configured with the number of remaining TBTTs of a primary link until the next quiet interval starts in a non-primary link. Paragraph [0350], the fields related to the channel switching of the second AP may be configured on the basis of a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) and a beacon interval (BI) for the first AP of the primary link, and the fields related to the channel switching of the second AP may include a switch time field indicating a time interval in which a first frame is transmitted through a switched channel from a time point at which channel switching is started and/or a channel switch count field indicating the number of TBTTs remaining until the channel switching is started);
‘a period parameter indicating a number of beacon intervals of the reporting AP between a start of regularly scheduled unavailability, quiet or disablement intervals;’ (Paragraph [0306], quiet period field may be configured with a value (a beacon interval unit of a primary link) related to the number of primary link beacon intervals at which a regular (periodic) quiet interval of a non-primary link, defined through a corresponding quiet element, starts (configured as 0 in a case of non-regular quiet interval);
‘a duration parameter indicating a duration or remaining time of an unavailability, quite or disablement interval;’ (Paragraph [0328], the lengths of the quiet intervals is indicated through a quiet duration field indicated together in the quiet element. Paragraph [0288], timing fields (for example, duration related fields (…quiet duration field, etc.)… included in the… quiet element, and/or the quiet channel element needs to be applied with reference to the most recent TBTT and BI indicated in the corresponding element of the AP operating the primary link);
‘and an offset parameter indicating an offset value of the unavailability, quite or disablement interval from the TBTT,’ (Paragraph [0307], a quiet offset field may be configured with a time value (in units of TUs) related to an offset that a quiet interval of a non-primary link has from a TBTT of a primary link specified through a quiet count subfield before the quiet interval starts),
‘…by inclusion of information in the link unavailability/disable parameters subfield.’ (Paragraph [0295], … the non-AP MLD associated with the NSTR soft AP MLD… may recognize that the AP of the non-primary link is performing channel switching by identifying that the subfield corresponding to the AP of the non-primary link is indicated as a specific value… the non-AP MLD may need to perform UL PPDU transmission on the basis of whether the AP… is operating in the channel… recognized by the AP itself).
KIM does not explicitly teach but PATIL teaches, ‘and transmitting, by the first AP, the beacon frame or probe response frame on a link that is not the non-primary link to indicate that a second AP affiliated with the NSTR AP MLD and operating on the non-primary link is unavailable, quiet or disabled,’ (PATIL - Paragraph [0005], …operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access
point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP associated with a non-primary link. …determining that the non-primary link is unavailable. …transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the
non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame, a probe response frame… In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link),
‘wherein the beacon frame or probe response frame indicates that the second AP is unavailable, quiet or disabled… or another AP affiliated with the AP MLD and operating on the primary link,’ (PATIL – Paragraph [0005], …operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP associated with a non-primary link. …determining that the non-primary link is unavailable. …transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame, a probe response frame… Paragraph [0397], the primary link is associated with a target beacon transmission time (TBTT), and the non-primary link includes a pseudo-BSS aligned with the TBTT of the primary link),
‘and wherein the beacon frame or probe response frame explicitly indicates whether the non-primary link is permitted to be used for communication...’ (PATIL - Paragraph [0005], …operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP associated with a non-primary link. …determining that the non-primary link is unavailable. …transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame, a probe response frame… In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PATIL with KIM because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PATIL into KIM is that PATIL provides operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP
associated with a non-primary link; includes determining that the non-primary link is unavailable; includes transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the
non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link. (See paragraph [0005], PATIL)
Regarding claim 2, KIM and PATIL teach, the method of claim 1, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein the first AP transmits the beacon frame or probe response frame on the primary link of the NSTR link pair.’ (Paragraph [0152], …the NSTR soft AP MLD… transmit a beacon frame through only one link among the two links above if the two links are in an NSTR relationship. …the link in which the NSTR soft AP MLD transmits the beacon frame may have concept of a primary link among the NSTR link pair. Paragraph [0280], the APs included in the same AP MLD as the APs supporting NSTR may transmit the beacon frames only through the primary link).
Regarding claim 3, KIM and PATIL teach, the method of claim 2, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein an Unavailability/Quiet information element (IE) carried in the beacon frame or probe response frame…’ (Paragraph [0283], Referring to FIG. 17, a per-STA profile… may include a… quiet element, and a quiet channel element. Paragraph [0281], when performing channel switching of the non-primary link or configuring a quiet interval, the NSTR AP MLD may need to include, in the beacon frame (and the (ML) probe response frame) of the primary link, a per-STA profile for the AP of the non-primary link)…
KIM does not explicitly teach but PATIL teaches, ‘…indicates that the second AP is unavailable, quiet or disabled.’ (PATIL - Paragraph [0005], …operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP associated with a non-primary link. …determining that the non-primary link is unavailable. …transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the non-primary link).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PATIL with KIM because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PATIL into KIM is that PATIL provides operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP
associated with a non-primary link; includes determining that the non-primary link is unavailable; includes transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the
non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link. (See paragraph [0005], PATIL)
Regarding claims 4 and 8, KIM and PATIL teach, the method of claim 3, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein a basic service set (BSS) parameter change count…’ (Paragraph [0162], the change sequence subfield may be a subfield used to indicate information relating to an update (for example, a critical update) related to a link of another AP. For example, when a value of the change sequence subfield is changed, the station having received the same may recognize that a parameter related to a BSS (or, link) of the corresponding AP has been updated, and may request an updated parameter from the AP to update the corresponding parameter)…
KIM does not explicitly teach but PATIL teaches, ‘…in a common information field of a
multi-link element carried in the Unavailability/Quiet IE is incremented to denote inclusion of the Unavailability/Quiet IE in the beacon frame or probe response frame as a critical update.’ (PATIL – Paragraph [0092], The ML Element may include a Per-STA Profile sub-element that indicates the complete profile of the non-primary link. The ML Element may also include a Common Info field carrying a basic service set (BSS) Parameters Change Count (BPCC) field that indicates updates to
one or more BSS parameters associated with the primary link. Paragraph [0098], the NSTR
softAP MLD may increment a BPCC value… [and] also set the Critical Update Flag (CUF)… based on incrementing the BPCC value. Paragraph [0005], the frame includes a Capability Information field carrying a Critical Update Flag (CUF), the CUF set to a value of 1 based on the unavailability of the non-primary link).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PATIL with KIM because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PATIL into KIM is that PATIL provides operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP
associated with a non-primary link; includes determining that the non-primary link is unavailable; includes transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the
non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link. (See paragraph [0005], PATIL)
Regarding claims 5 and 18, KIM and PATIL teach, the method of claim 2, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element with a Neighbor AP Information field corresponding to the non-primary link carried in the beacon frame or probe response frame…’ (Paragraph [0159], the beacon frame may include a reduced neighbor report (RNR) element for indicating information of a neighbor AP. The RNR element may be used to notify a station of the information of the neighbor AP (corresponds to the second AP), and the station may receive the beacon frame and recognize the neighbor AP through the RNR element included in the beacon frame. Paragraph [0160], the RNR element may include an element ID field, a length field, and a neighbor AP information field. Paragraph [0176], when transmitting the RNR element through the AP of the primary link, the NSTR soft AP MLD may need to set, to a pre-configured value, the TBTT-related field of the neighbor AP information field corresponding to the AP of the non-primary link. Paragraph [0272], the NSTR AP MLD may indicate, through the beacon frame transmitted in the primary link, information required to switch an operating channel of the non-primary link (information required to perform channel switching) and/or information required to configure a quiet interval).
KIM does not explicitly teach but PATIL teaches, ‘…indicates that the second AP is unavailable, quiet or disabled.’ (PATIL - Paragraph [0005], the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PATIL with KIM because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PATIL into KIM is that PATIL provides operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP
associated with a non-primary link; includes determining that the non-primary link is unavailable; includes transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the
non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link. (See paragraph [0005], PATIL)
Regarding claims 6 and 19, KIM and PATIL teach, the method of claim 1, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein the first AP transmits the beacon frame or probe response frame on a simultaneous-transmission- and-reception (STR) link. (Paragraph [0153], AP MLD operates one link among the NSTR link pair as the primary link and at least one another link as the non-primary link… beacon frame may be transmitted only through the primary link. Paragraph [0130], STAs operated in an STR link pair of an MLD are referred to (specified) as STAs of an STR MLD, and STAs operated in an NSTR link pair of the MLD are referred to (specified) as STAs of an NSTR (and non-STR) MLD. Paragraph [0273], in a case of an STR AP MLD, APs included in the same AP MLD may periodically transmit the beacon frame).
Regarding claim 7, KIM and PATIL teach, the method of claim 6, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein an Unavailability/Quiet information element (IE) included in a per-station (per-STA) profile sub-element corresponding to the second AP and carried in a multi-link element in the beacon frame or probe response frame...’ (Paragraph [0283], referring to FIG. 17, a per-STA profile for (corresponding to) an AP of a non-primary link may include a… quiet element, and a quiet channel element. Paragraph [0281], the NSTR AP MLD may need to include, in the beacon frame (and the (ML) probe response frame) of the primary link, a per-STA profile for the AP of the non-primary link. Paragraph [0155], the primary link AP of the NSTR soft AP MLD may include a per-STA profile corresponding to an AP (of the same NSTR soft AP MLD) of the non-primary link in a multi-link element of the beacon frame)…
KIM does not explicitly teach but PATIL teaches, ‘…indicates that the second AP is unavailable, quiet or disabled.’ (PATIL - Paragraph [0005], the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PATIL with KIM because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PATIL into KIM is that PATIL provides operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP
associated with a non-primary link; includes determining that the non-primary link is unavailable; includes transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the
non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link. (See paragraph [0005], PATIL)
Regarding claim 9, KIM teaches, ‘A method, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0021], method including):
‘scheduling, by a first access point (AP) affiliated with an AP multi-link device (MLD) operating on a primary link of a non-simultaneous-transmission-and-reception (NSTR) link pair comprising the primary link and a non-primary link, one or more quiet intervals;’ (Paragraph [0153], AP MLD operates one link among the NSTR link pair as the primary link and at least one another link as the non-primary link… beacon frame may be transmitted only through the primary link. Paragraph [0272], the NSTR AP MLD may indicate, through the beacon frame transmitted in the primary link, information required to switch an operating channel of the non-primary link (information required to perform channel switching) and/or information required to configure a quiet interval).
‘…in reference to a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) of the first AP as a reporting AP…’ (Paragraph [0289], A primary link AP of an NSTR AP MLD may need to configure timing fields… in the
per-STA profile… for the AP of the non-primary link with reference to the beacon interval and the TBTT of the primary link AP itself)…
‘wherein a per-station (per-STA) profile sub-element in a Multi-Link element of the beacon frame or probe response frame contains a link unavailability/disable parameters subfield comprising two or more of:’ (Paragraph [0281], the NSTR AP MLD may need to include, in the beacon frame (and the (ML) probe response frame) of the primary link, a per-STA profile for the AP of the non-primary link. Paragraph [0283], Referring to FIG. 17, a per-STA profile… may include a… quiet element, and a quiet channel element):
‘a count parameter indicating a number of TBTTs of the reporting AP until a beacon interval during which the non-primary link is unavailable or is in a scheduled quiet interval or is disabled;’ (Paragraph [0304], a quiet element for the non-primary link, transmitted through the beacon frame of the primary link, may be configured (indicated) by the NSTR AP MLD as follows. Paragraph [0305], quiet count field may be configured with the number of remaining TBTTs of a primary link until the next quiet interval starts in a non-primary link. Paragraph [0350], the fields related to the channel switching of the second AP may be configured on the basis of a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) and a beacon interval (BI) for the first AP of the primary link, and the fields related to the channel switching of the second AP may include a switch time field indicating a time interval in which a first frame is transmitted through a switched channel from a time point at which channel switching is started and/or a channel switch count field indicating the number of TBTTs remaining until the channel switching is started);
‘a period parameter indicating a number of beacon intervals of the reporting AP between a start of regularly scheduled unavailability, quiet or disablement intervals;’ (Paragraph [0306], quiet period field may be configured with a value (a beacon interval unit of a primary link) related to the number of primary link beacon intervals at which a regular (periodic) quiet interval of a non-primary link, defined through a corresponding quiet element, starts (configured as 0 in a case of non-regular quiet interval);
‘a duration parameter indicating a duration or remaining time of an unavailability, quite or disablement interval; (Paragraph [0328], the lengths of the quiet intervals is indicated through a quiet duration field indicated together in the quiet element. Paragraph [0288], timing fields (for example, duration related fields (…quiet duration field, etc.)… included in the… quiet element, and/or the quiet channel element needs to be applied with reference to the most recent TBTT and BI indicated in the corresponding element of the AP operating the primary link);
‘and an offset parameter indicating an offset value of the unavailability, quite or disablement interval from the TBTT,’ (Paragraph [0307], a quiet offset field may be configured with a time value (in units of TUs) related to an offset that a quiet interval of a non-primary link has from a TBTT of a primary link specified through a quiet count subfield before the quiet interval starts),
‘…by inclusion of information in the link unavailability/disable parameters subfield.’ (Paragraph [0295], … the non-AP MLD associated with the NSTR soft AP MLD… may recognize that the AP of the non-primary link is performing channel switching by identifying that the subfield corresponding to the AP of the non-primary link is indicated as a specific value… the non-AP MLD may need to perform UL PPDU transmission on the basis of whether the AP… is operating in the channel… recognized by the AP itself).
KIM does not explicitly teach but PATIL teaches, ‘and transmitting, by the first AP, one or more beacon frames or probe response frames on the primary link to indicate the scheduling of the one or more quiet intervals for at least a second AP affiliated with the AP MLD and operating on the non-primary link,’ (PATIL - Paragraph [0005], …operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP associated with a non-primary link. …determining that the non-primary link is unavailable. …transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame, a probe response frame… In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link),
‘wherein each of the one or more beacon frames or probe response indicates that the second AP is unavailable, quiet or disabled… or another AP affiliated with the AP MLD and operating on the primary link,’ (PATIL – Paragraph [0005], …operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP associated with a non-primary link. …determining that the non-primary link is unavailable. …transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame, a probe response frame… Paragraph [0397], the primary link is associated with a target beacon transmission time (TBTT), and the non-primary link includes a pseudo-BSS aligned with the TBTT of the primary link),
‘and wherein the beacon frame or probe response frame explicitly indicates whether the non-primary link is permitted to be used for communication…’ (PATIL - Paragraph [0005], …operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP associated with a non-primary link. …determining that the non-primary link is unavailable. …transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame, a probe response frame… In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PATIL with KIM because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PATIL into KIM is that PATIL provides operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP
associated with a non-primary link; includes determining that the non-primary link is unavailable; includes transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the
non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link. (See paragraph [0005], PATIL)
Regarding claim 10, KIM and PATIL teach, the method of claim 9, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein, responsive to the one or more quiet intervals being scheduled for both the first AP and the second AP, a Quiet element carried in the one or more beacon frames or probe response frames indicates the scheduling of the one or more quiet intervals for the first AP and the second AP.’ (Paragraph [0319], if the NSTR soft AP MLD indicates (configures) the quiet interval for the AP (BSS) of the primary link, the same time interval as the channel switching interval may need to be indicated (configured) as a quiet interval of the non-primary link AP (BSS). Paragraph [0281], the NSTR AP MLD may need to include, in the beacon frame (and the (ML) probe response frame) of the primary link, a per-STA profile for the AP of the non-primary link. Paragraph [0283], Referring to FIG. 17, a per-STA profile… may include a… quiet element, and a quiet channel element. Paragraph [0289], A primary link AP of an NSTR AP MLD may need to configure timing fields… in the per-STA profile… for the AP of the non-primary link with reference to the beacon interval and the TBTT of the primary link AP itself).
Regarding claim 11, KIM and PATIL teach, the method of claim 9, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein, responsive to the one or more quiet intervals being scheduled for the second AP but not the first AP, a Quiet element carried in a per-station (per-STA) profile sub-element corresponding to the second AP in a … in the one or more beacon frames or probe response frames indicates the scheduling of the one or more quiet intervals for the second AP.’ (Paragraph [0155], the primary link AP of the NSTR soft AP MLD may include a per-STA profile corresponding to an AP (of the same NSTR soft AP MLD) of the non-primary link in a multi-link element of the beacon frame. Paragraph [0290], non-AP MLDs combined with the NSTR AP MLD may receive a beacon frame from the AP of the NSTR AP MLD operated in the primary link, and then acquire information related to a quiet interval and/ or channel switching of the non-primary link from a per-STA profile included in the beacon frame, and may need to interpret the information related to the quiet interval and/or the information related to channel switching of the non-primary link with reference to the TBTT and the beacon interval (BI) of the primary link. In this case, the per-STA profile means a per-STA profile corresponding to the AP of the non-primary link).
KIM does not explicitly teach but PATIL teaches, ‘…Basic Variant multi-link element…’ (PATIL – Paragraph [0174], The BSS Parameters Change Count (BPCC) field 1223 carries an unsigned integer, initialized to 0, that increments when a critical update occurs to the operational parameters for the
AP that transmits the Basic variant ML Element. Paragraph [0092], The ML Element may include a Per-STA Profile sub-element that indicates the complete profile of the non-primary link)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PATIL with KIM because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PATIL into KIM is that PATIL provides operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP
associated with a non-primary link; includes determining that the non-primary link is unavailable; includes transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the
non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link. (See paragraph [0005], PATIL)
Regarding claim 12, KIM and PATIL teach, the method of claim 9, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein the one or more quiet intervals scheduled for the second AP are in reference to a most recent target beacon transmission time (TBTT) and a beacon interval (BI) indicated in one or more corresponding elements of the first AP’. (Paragraph [0155], the primary link AP of the NSTR soft AP MLD may include a per-STA profile corresponding to an AP (of the same NSTR soft AP MLD) of the non-primary link in a multi-link element of the beacon frame. Paragraph [0288], timing fields (for example, duration-related fields (switch time, quiet duration field…) and time-related fields including time point-related fields (channel switch count, quiet count field…) included in the… quiet element, and/or the quiet channel element needs to be applied with reference to the most recent TBTT and BI indicated in the corresponding element of the AP operating the primary link).
Regarding claim 13, KIM and PATIL teach, the method of claim 9, KIM further teaches, further comprising: ‘receiving, by the first AP, an association request frame or re-association request frame on the primary link from a station (STA) affiliated with a non-AP MLD and capable of operating on the NSTR link pair;’ (Paragraph [0171], the NSTR AP MLD may be allowed to perform, through a primary link, responding to the (ML) association request frame received through a non-primary link (i.e., to respond with the (ML) association response frame in the primary link). Paragraph [0169], the non-AP STA MLD may perform a procedure for association or setup with the NSTR AP MLD only through a link in which the beacon frame is received. Paragraph [0116], The multi-link setup may correspond to an association operation… and may need to be performed first for frame exchange in the multiple links).
Regarding claim 14, KIM and PATIL teach, the method of claim 13, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein a Quiet element carried in a per-station (per-STA) profile sub-element corresponding to the second AP in the association response frame or re-association response frame indicates that the one or more quiet intervals on the non-primary link have started.’ (Paragraph [0229]-[0230], no beacon frame is transmitted in the non-primary link, and thus the NSTR AP MLD may need to configure beacon interval, DTIM [Delivery Traffic Indication Message] count, and DTIM interval subfields as a pre-promised value in the per-STA profile corresponding to the AP of the non-primary
Link. Paragraph [0311], after receiving the beacon frame through the primary link, the non-AP MLD associated with the NSTR AP MLD may acquire information relating to the quiet interval and channel switch time point and interval of the non-primary link on the basis of TBTT and beacon interval information of the primary link and information indicated in the per-STA profile of the non-primary AP included in the beacon frame. In this case, the non-AP MLD may configure (recognize or interpret) a start time point of the quiet interval of the non-primary link on the basis of the TBTT of the primary link).
Regarding claim 15, KIM teaches, ‘An apparatus implementable in an access point (AP multi-link device (MLD), comprising:’ (Paragraph [0049], the wireless LAN system includes one or more BSS represents a set of apparatuses):
‘a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly;’ (Paragraph [0104], transmitter and a receiver of the PPDU transmitted);
‘and a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations as a first AP on a primary link and a second AP on a non-primary link of a non-simultaneous- transmission-and-reception (NSTR) link pair, respectively, the operations comprising:‘ (Paragraph [0051], processor and a communication unit. Paragraph [0153], AP MLD operates one link among the NSTR link pair as the primary link and at least one another link as the non-primary link):
‘generating, as the first AP, a beacon frame or probe response frame;’ (Paragraph [0051], a station for wireless communication includes a processor and a communication unit … The processor may generate a frame (corresponds to a beacon frame) to be transmitted through a wireless network or process a frame received through the wireless network and besides, perform various processing for controlling the station. Paragraph [0150], each AP included in an AP MLD may transmit a beacon frame in its link. Paragraph [0153], AP MLD operates one link among the NSTR link pair as the primary link and at least one another link as the non-primary link … beacon frame may be transmitted only through the primary link);
‘…in reference to a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) of the first AP as a reporting AP…’ (Paragraph [0289], A primary link AP of an NSTR AP MLD may need to configure timing fields… in the
per-STA profile… for the AP of the non-primary link with reference to the beacon interval and the TBTT of the primary link AP itself)…
‘wherein a per-station (per-STA) profile sub-element in a Multi-Link element of the beacon frame or probe response frame contains a link unavailability/disable parameters subfield comprising two or more of:’ (Paragraph [0281], the NSTR AP MLD may need to include, in the beacon frame (and the (ML) probe response frame) of the primary link, a per-STA profile for the AP of the non-primary link. Paragraph [0283], Referring to FIG. 17, a per-STA profile… may include a… quiet element, and a quiet channel element):
‘a count parameter indicating a number of TBTTs of the reporting AP until a beacon interval during which the non-primary link is unavailable or is in a scheduled quiet interval or is disabled;’ (Paragraph [0304], a quiet element for the non-primary link, transmitted through the beacon frame of the primary link, may be configured (indicated) by the NSTR AP MLD as follows. Paragraph [0305], quiet count field may be configured with the number of remaining TBTTs of a primary link until the next quiet interval starts in a non-primary link. Paragraph [0350], the fields related to the channel switching of the second AP may be configured on the basis of a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) and a beacon interval (BI) for the first AP of the primary link, and the fields related to the channel switching of the second AP may include a switch time field indicating a time interval in which a first frame is transmitted through a switched channel from a time point at which channel switching is started and/or a channel switch count field indicating the number of TBTTs remaining until the channel switching is started);
‘a period parameter indicating a number of beacon intervals of the reporting AP between a start of regularly scheduled unavailability, quiet or disablement intervals;’ (Paragraph [0306], quiet period field may be configured with a value (a beacon interval unit of a primary link) related to the number of primary link beacon intervals at which a regular (periodic) quiet interval of a non-primary link, defined through a corresponding quiet element, starts (configured as 0 in a case of non-regular quiet interval);
‘a duration parameter indicating a duration or remaining time of an unavailability, quite or disablement interval;’ (Paragraph [0328], the lengths of the quiet intervals is indicated through a quiet duration field indicated together in the quiet element. Paragraph [0288], timing fields (for example, duration related fields (…quiet duration field, etc.)… included in the… quiet element, and/or the quiet channel element needs to be applied with reference to the most recent TBTT and BI indicated in the corresponding element of the AP operating the primary link);
‘and an offset parameter indicating an offset value of the unavailability, quite or disablement interval from the TBTT, (Paragraph [0307], a quiet offset field may be configured with a time value (in units of TUs) related to an offset that a quiet interval of a non-primary link has from a TBTT of a primary link specified through a quiet count subfield before the quiet interval starts),
‘…by inclusion of information in the link unavailability/disable parameters subfield.’ (Paragraph [0295], … the non-AP MLD associated with the NSTR soft AP MLD… may recognize that the AP of the non-primary link is performing channel switching by identifying that the subfield corresponding to the AP of the non-primary link is indicated as a specific value… the non-AP MLD may need to perform UL PPDU transmission on the basis of whether the AP… is operating in the channel… recognized by the AP itself).
KIM does not explicitly teach but PATIL teaches, ‘and transmitting, as the first AP and via the transceiver, the beacon frame or probe response frame on a link that is not the non-primary link to indicate that a second AP affiliated with the NSTR AP MLD and operating on the non-primary link is unavailable, quiet or disabled,’ (PATIL - Paragraph [0005], …operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP associated with a non-primary link. …determining that the non-primary link is unavailable. …transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame, a probe response frame… In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link),
‘wherein the beacon frame or probe response frame indicates that the second AP is unavailable, quiet or disabled… or another AP affiliated with the AP MLD and operating on the primary link’, (PATIL – Paragraph [0005], …operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP associated with a non-primary link. …determining that the non-primary link is unavailable. …transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame, a probe response frame… Paragraph [0397], the primary link is associated with a target beacon transmission time (TBTT), and the non-primary link includes a pseudo-BSS aligned with the TBTT of the primary link),
‘and wherein the beacon frame or probe response frame explicitly indicates whether the non-primary link is permitted to be used for communication...’ (PATIL - Paragraph [0005], …operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP associated with a non-primary link. …determining that the non-primary link is unavailable. …transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame, a probe response frame… In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PATIL with KIM because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PATIL into KIM is that PATIL provides operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP
associated with a non-primary link; includes determining that the non-primary link is unavailable; includes transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the
non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link. (See paragraph [0005], PATIL)
Regarding claim 16, KIM and PATIL teach, the method of claim 15, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein the first AP transmits the beacon frame or probe response frame on the primary link of the NSTR link pair, and wherein the beacon frame or probe response frame indicates that the second AP is unavailable, quiet or disabled in reference to a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) of the first AP as a reporting AP.’ (Paragraph [0153], AP MLD operates one link among the NSTR link pair as the primary link and at least one another link as the non-primary link… beacon frame may be transmitted only through the primary link. Paragraph [0287], APs… transmit a per-STA profile including… information related to a quiet interval… in the primary link. Paragraph [0311], the non-AP MLD associated with the NSTR AP MLD may acquire information relating to the quiet interval and channel switch time point and interval of the non-primary link on the basis of TBTT and beacon interval information of the primary link and information indicated in the per-STA profile of the non-primary AP included in the beacon frame. Paragraph [0289], A primary link AP of an NSTR AP MLD may need to configure timing fields… in the per-STA profile… for the AP of the non-primary link with reference to the beacon interval and the TBTT of the primary link AP itself).
Regarding claim 17, KIM and PATIL teach, the apparatus of claim 16, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein an Unavailability/Quiet information element (IE) carried in the beacon frame or probe response frame…’ (Paragraph [0283], Referring to FIG. 17, a per-STA profile… may include a… quiet element, and a quiet channel element. Paragraph [0281], when performing channel switching of the non-primary link or configuring a quiet interval, the NSTR AP MLD may need to include, in the beacon frame (and the (ML) probe response frame) of the primary link, a per-STA profile for the AP of the non-primary link)…
‘and wherein a basic service set (BSS) parameter change count…’ (Paragraph [0162], the change sequence subfield may be a subfield used to indicate information relating to an update (for example, a critical update) related to a link of another AP. For example, when a value of the change sequence subfield is changed, the station having received the same may recognize that a parameter related to a BSS (or, link) of the corresponding AP has been updated, and may request an updated parameter from the AP to update the corresponding parameter)…
KIM does not explicitly teach but PATIL teaches, ‘…indicates that the second AP is unavailable, quiet or disabled,’ (PATIL - Paragraph [0005], …operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP associated with a non-primary link. …determining that the non-primary link is unavailable. …transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the non-primary link),
‘…in a common information field of a multi-link element carried in the Unavailability/Quiet IE is incremented to denote inclusion of the Unavailability/Quiet IE in the beacon frame or probe response frame as a critical update.’ (PATIL – Paragraph [0092], The ML Element may include a Per-STA Profile sub-element that indicates the complete profile of the non-primary link. The ML Element may also include a Common Info field carrying a basic service set (BSS) Parameters Change Count (BPCC) field that indicates updates to one or more BSS parameters associated with the primary link. Paragraph [0098], the NSTR softAP MLD may increment a BPCC value… [and] also set the Critical Update Flag (CUF)… based on incrementing the BPCC value. Paragraph [0005], the frame includes a Capability Information field carrying a Critical Update Flag (CUF), the CUF set to a value of 1 based on the unavailability of the non-primary link).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PATIL with KIM because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PATIL into KIM is that PATIL provides operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP
associated with a non-primary link; includes determining that the non-primary link is unavailable; includes transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the
non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link. (See paragraph [0005], PATIL)
Regarding claim 20, KIM and PATIL teach, the apparatus of claim 19, KIM further teaches, ‘wherein an Unavailability/Quiet information element (IE) included in a per-station (per-STA) profile sub-element corresponding to the second AP and carried in a multi-link element in the beacon frame or probe response frame indicates that the second AP is unavailable, quiet or disabled,’ Paragraph [0153], AP MLD operates one link among the NSTR link pair as the primary link and at least one another link as the non-primary link… beacon frame may be transmitted only through the primary link. Paragraph [0130], STAs operated in an STR link pair of an MLD are referred to (specified) as STAs of an STR MLD, and STAs operated in an NSTR link pair of the MLD are referred to (specified) as STAs of an NSTR (and non-STR) MLD. Paragraph [0273], in a case of an STR AP MLD, APs included in the same AP MLD may periodically transmit the beacon frame),
‘and wherein a basic service set (BSS) parameter change count…’ (Paragraph [0162], the change sequence subfield may be a subfield used to indicate information relating to an update (for example, a critical update) related to a link of another AP. For example, when a value of the change sequence subfield is changed, the station having received the same may recognize that a parameter related to a BSS (or, link) of the corresponding AP has been updated, and may request an updated parameter from the AP to update the corresponding parameter)…
KIM does not explicitly teach but PATIL teaches, ‘…in a common information field of a multi-link element carried in the Unavailability/Quiet IE is incremented to denote inclusion of the Unavailability/Quiet IE in the beacon frame or probe response frame as a critical update.’ (PATIL – Paragraph [0092], The ML Element may include a Per-STA Profile sub-element that indicates the complete profile of the non-primary link. The ML Element may also include a Common Info field carrying a basic service set (BSS) Parameters Change Count (BPCC) field that indicates updates to
one or more BSS parameters associated with the primary link. Paragraph [0098], the NSTR
softAP MLD may increment a BPCC value… [and] also set the Critical Update Flag (CUF)… based on incrementing the BPCC value. Paragraph [0005], the frame includes a Capability Information field carrying a Critical Update Flag (CUF), the CUF set to a value of 1 based on the unavailability of the non-primary link).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PATIL with KIM because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PATIL into KIM is that PATIL provides operating as a non-simultaneous transmit-receive (NSTR) soft access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including a first AP associated with a primary link and including a second AP
associated with a non-primary link; includes determining that the non-primary link is unavailable; includes transmitting, on only the primary link, a frame carrying an indication of the unavailability of the
non-primary link. The frame may be one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. In some instances, the frame includes a Per-STA Profile sub-element or a Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element including a Do Not Transmit (DNT) bit set to a value of 1, where the DNT bit set to the value of 1 indicates the unavailability of the non-primary link. (See paragraph [0005], PATIL)
Conclusion
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479