DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is in response to applicant’s arguments/remarks and amendments filed on 01/20/2026. Claims 9, 13-14, 24, 28-29, 31, 35-36, 38, 42-43, 45, 47, 49, and 51 have been amended. No Claims have been cancelled. No Claims have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 9-15, and 24-52 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s arguments/response, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 9-13, 15, 24-28, 30, 38-42 and 44 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUI in view of Futasugi have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of SUI and Guo US 2020/0294394 A1 as detailed below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for transmitting, means for receiving, and means for providing in claims 31-37.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Means for transmitting, means for receiving, and means for providing are interpreted to be an OBU on-board a vehicle including a processor and a memory as described in Paragraphs 0132-0134.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-15 and 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. With respect to claim 9, the applicant claims “negotiating by the first vehicle”. Said limitation is not supported in the specification. Paragraph 0110 of the specification discloses “The RSU 602 or the server 606 may be configured to utilize the BSM information to group vehicles proximate to the intersection 600 based on the clearance factors”. The specification is silent about the vehicle performing the negotiation.
Claims 10-15 and 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as being dependent on rejected independent claim 9 and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-13, 15, 24-28, 30, 38-42 and 44-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUI US 2020/0193813 A1 (hence SUI) in view of Guo US 2020/0294394 A1 (hence Guo) or in an alternative rejection, where providing an indication to proceed or halt is being performed by the OBU on-board a vehicle, Claim(s) 9-13, 15, 24-28, 30, 38-42 and 44-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUI US 2020/0193813 A1 (hence SUI) in view of Guo US 2020/0294394 A1 (hence Guo).
In re claims 9, 24, and 38, SUI discloses an intelligent traffic technology, and more particularly, to a navigation method, device and system for a cross intersection (Abstract and Paragraph 0001) and teaches the following:
transmitting wirelessly, from a first vehicle, one or more vehicle state messages indicating heading of the first vehicle (Paragraphs 0051, 0054 and 0073);
negotiating, by the first vehicle with at least a second vehicle and a network entity, the network entity comprising a component of a radio access network and being configured to communicate wirelessly with the first vehicle and the second vehicle (Fig.1, a communication established between the vehicle and the intersection controller, Fig.11, Paragraphs 0090+ and Tables 1-15 describe communication between a plurality of vehicles to pass an intersection, and Paragraph 0163);
receiving, at the first vehicle, the one or more traffic intersection control messages including proceed information including a first indication for the vehicles to proceed or halt progress through an intersection (Fig.1, S200, and Paragraphs 0041, 0058, Paragraphs 0090+ and Tables 1-15);
and providing a second indication for the first vehicle to proceed or halt progress through the intersection based at least in part on the one or more traffic intersection control messages (Fig.1, S300, and Paragraph 0042, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim could read on the intersection controller providing an indication or a vehicle controller/interface providing the indication)
However, SUI doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
vehicle state messages indicating location, speed, of the first vehicle
to form a first group of vehicles comprising at least the first vehicle and the second vehicle and for the first group of vehicles to proceed or halt progress through an intersection
Nevertheless, Guo discloses optimizing control efficiency by making real time optimal control decisions so that vehicles do not need to stop to pass the intersection and/or highway merging point (Abstract and Paragraph 0010) and teaches the following:
vehicle state messages indicating location, speed, of the first vehicle (Paragraph 0047)
to form a first group of vehicles comprising at least the first vehicle and the second vehicle and for the first group of vehicles to proceed or halt progress through an intersection (Paragraph 0055 “The IoV-Edge then groups vehicles in the sequencing zone into groups (clusters) based on the estimated arrival time”, Fig.6, and Paragraph 0057, Fig.7, and Paragraph 0062, and Paragraph 0081 “a grouping module 933 configured to group vehicles traveling within the sequencing zone into a set of groups of the vehicles”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the SUI reference to include jointly controlling vehicles traveling on different roads, as taught by Guo, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to optimize control efficiency by making real time optimal control decisions so that vehicles do not need to stop to pass the intersection and/or highway merging point (Guo, Paragraph 0010).
In the alternative rejection where providing an indication to proceed or halt is being performed by the OBU on-board a vehicle, Claim(s) 9-13, 15, 24-28, 30, 38-42 and 44-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUI US 2020/0193813 A1 (hence SUI) in view of Guo US 2020/0294394 A1 (hence Guo).
In re claims 9, 24, 31, and 38, SUI discloses an intelligent traffic technology, and more particularly, to a navigation method, device and system for a cross intersection (Abstract and Paragraph 0001) and teaches the following:
transmitting wirelessly, from a first vehicle, one or more vehicle state messages indicating heading of the first vehicle (Paragraphs 0051, 0054 and 0073);
negotiating, by the first vehicle with at least a second vehicle and a network entity, the network entity comprising a component of a radio access network and being configured to communicate wirelessly with the first vehicle and the second vehicle (Fig.1, a communication established between the vehicle and the intersection controller, Fig.11, Paragraphs 0090+ and Tables 1-15 describe communication between a plurality of vehicles to pass an intersection, and Paragraph 0163);
receiving, at the first vehicle, the one or more traffic intersection control messages including proceed information including a first indication for the vehicles to proceed or halt progress through an intersection (Fig.1, S200, and Paragraphs 0041, 0058, Paragraphs 0090+ and Tables 1-15);
and providing a second indication for the first vehicle to proceed or halt progress through the intersection based at least in part on the one or more traffic intersection control messages (Fig.1, S300, and Paragraph 0042, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim could read on the intersection controller providing an indication or a vehicle controller/interface providing the indication)
However, SUI discloses the intersection controller transmitting an action instruction to the vehicle controller but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
vehicle state messages indicating location, speed, of the first vehicle
to form a first group of vehicles comprising at least the first vehicle and the second vehicle and for the first group of vehicles to proceed or halt progress through an intersection
providing a second indication for the first vehicle to proceed or halt progress through the intersection based at least in part on the one or more traffic intersection control messages
Nevertheless, Guo discloses optimizing control efficiency by making real time optimal control decisions so that vehicles do not need to stop to pass the intersection and/or highway merging point (Abstract and Paragraph 0010) and teaches the following:
vehicle state messages indicating location, speed, of the first vehicle (Paragraph 0047)
to form a first group of vehicles comprising at least the first vehicle and the second vehicle and for the first group of vehicles to proceed or halt progress through an intersection (Paragraph 0055 “The IoV-Edge then groups vehicles in the sequencing zone into groups (clusters) based on the estimated arrival time”, Fig.6, and Paragraph 0057, Fig.7, and Paragraph 0062, and Paragraph 0081 “a grouping module 933 configured to group vehicles traveling within the sequencing zone into a set of groups of the vehicles”)
providing a second indication for the first vehicle to proceed or halt progress through the intersection based at least in part on the one or more traffic intersection control messages (Fig.4, #460, and Paragraph 0055)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the SUI reference to include jointly controlling vehicles traveling on different roads, as taught by Guo, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to optimize control efficiency by making real time optimal control decisions so that vehicles do not need to stop to pass the intersection and/or highway merging point (Guo, Paragraph 0010).
In re claims 10, 25, 39 and in the alternative rejection, claims 10, 25, 32, and 39, SUI teaches the following:
transmitting vehicle priority information (Paragraphs 0049-0050)
In re claims 11, 26, 40 and in the alternative rejection, claims 11, 26, 33, and 40, SUI teaches the following:
wherein receiving the one or more traffic intersection control messages includes receiving a unicast message including the proceed information (Paragraphs 0043 and 0059)
In re claims 12, 27, 41, and in the alternative rejection, claims 12, 27, 34, and 41, SUI teaches the following:
wherein receiving the one or more traffic intersection control messages includes receiving a groupcast message including a list of vehicle identification values (Paragraphs 0076, and 0079-0080)
In re claims 13, 28, 42, and in the alternative rejection, claims 13, 28, 35, and 42, SUI teaches the following:
wherein providing the second indication to proceed or halt progress through the intersection includes providing an instruction to a controller in an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle (Paragraph 0045)
In re claims 15, 30, 44, and in the alternative rejection, claims 15, 30, 37, and 44, SUI teaches the following:
wherein the one or more traffic intersection control messages are received via a PC5 interface, a Uu interface, a device-to-device protocol, or any combinations thereof (Paragraph 0043)
In re claims 45, 47, and 49, and in the alternative rejection, claims 45, 47, 49, and 51, Guo teaches the following:
at least one of transmit first traffic intersection control information to, and receive second traffic intersection control information from, a second group of vehicles that is different from the first group of vehicles (Paragraphs 0015, Fig.5, and Paragraph 0056)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the SUI reference to include grouping vehicles traveling within the sequencing zone on the first and the second roads into a set of groups of the vehicles, as taught by Guo, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure the safety and optimality of passing the intersection (Guo, Paragraph 0015).
In re claims 46, 48, and 50, and in the alternative rejection, claims 46, 48, 50, and 52, Guo teaches the following:
negotiate a right of way for the first group of vehicles (Fig.6, and Paragraph 0057)
Claim(s) 14, 29, 36, and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUI in view of Guo and further in view of Sze et al US 2021/0158693 A1 (hence Sze).
In re claims 14, 29, 36, and 43, the combination of SUI in view of Guo in both of the rejections above discloses the claimed invention as recited above but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
wherein providing the second indication to proceed or halt progress through the intersection includes activating a driver alert device
Nevertheless, Sze discloses providing guidance to vehicles or devices operating in vehicles stopped at an intersection (Abstract) and teaches the following:
wherein providing the second indication to proceed or halt progress through the intersection includes activating a driver alert device (Paragraph 0065 “the congestion control system can generate less precise guidance to a portable device operating in a conventional vehicle” and Paragraph 0069 “a vocalized instruction “slow down” or “do not accelerate to a speed above 20 mph.””)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the SUI reference to include a device operated by a driver, as taught by Sze, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide guidance to a device operated by a driver of the certain vehicle regarding the determined acceleration parameters, in accordance with the determined time (Sze, Paragraph 0007).
Conclusion
/RAMI KHATIB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669