DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4, 15 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites “wherein the reference pilot sequence of the set of reference pilot sequences have one or both of different length and associated to different lengths”. Since there is only one reference pilot sequence being referred to it should use the term “is” instead of “have”, similar to the amendment made to claim 7. Similar objection applies to claim 18.
Claims 3 and 4 recite “a receiving radio node”, however, no where in the claim does the radio node perform any receiving step. For clarity purposes, it is suggested to recite as “a radio node”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Patent US 11,671,217 B2 (hereinafter “Hui ‘217”) in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0038238 A1, hereinafter “Liu”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For instance, the table below compares the different parts of exemplary claims. Those not underlined are the same or effectively the same parts:
Instant Application 17/948,539
US 11,671,217 B2
1. (Currently Amended) A method of operating a transmitting radio node in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
constructing reference signalling, the reference signalling being based on a reference pilot sequence, the reference pilot sequence being one of a set of reference pilot sequences, the set of reference pilot sequences including one reference pilot sequence and one or more subsequences thereof, the reference pilot sequence of the set being based on complementary subsequences, where two of the complimentary subsequences represent a complementary sequence pair;
associating the constructed reference signalling to a control signalling of a set of control signallings available for transmission on a channel; and
transmitting the associated reference signalling.
1. A method of operating a transmitting radio node in a wireless communication network, the transmitting radio node being configured with a set of reference pilot sequences, the method comprising: determining reference signaling based on a first reference pilot sequence, the first reference pilot sequence being one of the set of reference pilot sequences, the first reference pilot sequence being a subsequence of a second reference pilot sequence of the set, the first reference pilot sequence being associated with control signaling of a first aggregation level, the second reference pilot sequence being associated with control signaling a second aggregation level different from the first aggregation level; and causing transmission of the determined reference signaling to a receiving radio node.
As to claim 1:
Claim 1 of ‘Hui ‘217 discloses claim 1 of the instant application, see table above, but does not explicitly recite the set of reference pilot sequences including one reference pilot sequence and one or more subsequences thereof (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence… where the first subsequence and the second subsequence are complementary sequences; [0040] note: first sequence = one reference pilot sequence of the set; note 2: first subsequence and second subsequence (of the first sequence) = one or more subsequences thereof), the reference pilot sequence of the set being based on complementary subsequences (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence… where the first subsequence and the second subsequence are complementary sequences; [0040] note: first sequence = reference pilot sequence of the set), where two of the complimentary subsequences represent a complementary sequence pair (“the complementary sequences exist in pairs”; [0240] “According to a characteristic of the complementary sequences, assuming that TC (namely, an example of a first subsequence Ta) and TD (namely, an example of a second subsequence) are a complementary sequence pair, TA=[TC, TD] and TB=[-TC, TD] are still a complementary sequence pair”; Fig. 10; [0300]).
However, Liu discloses the set of reference pilot sequences including one reference pilot sequence and one or more subsequences thereof, the reference pilot sequence of the set being based on complementary subsequences, where two of the complimentary subsequences represent a complementary sequence pair.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Liu into the system/method of Hui’217 as it would allow the set of reference pilot sequences including one reference pilot sequence and one or more subsequences thereof, the reference pilot sequence of the set being based on complementary subsequences, where two of the complimentary subsequences represent a complementary sequence pair. Such combination would have been obvious as applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement would yield predictable results. Similar rejection apples to claims 2-4 and 11.
As to claim 5:
Liu further discloses wherein first reference signalling associated to first control signalling is based on a same reference pilot sequence as second reference signalling associated to second control signalling (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence, and the second sequence includes a third subsequence and the second subsequence”; [0040] “a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214] note: second subsequence = same reference pilot sequence), wherein the first reference signalling are orthogonalised relative to the second reference signalling (Applicant’s disclosure states “Being orthogonalised may be based on orthogonalising as described herein, e.g., using different complementary pairs”. Liu discloses the reference signals using different complementary pairs; see [0006] and [0040]).
As to claim 6:
Liu further discloses wherein two or more different reference pilot sequences of the set are associated to at least one of two or more control regions, two or more search spaces and two or more control signalling formats (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214]).
As to claim 7:
Liu further discloses wherein the reference pilot sequence of the set of reference pilot sequences is one or both of different length and associated to different lengths, and associated to one or more of different search spaces, control regions, and control signalling formats (“K is a length of TA”; [0244]-[0245]; “K is a length of TB”; [0246]-[0248]; [0309]-[0310] “a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214]).
As to claim 8:
Liu further discloses wherein the reference signalling is Demodulation Reference Signalling, DM-RS (“the first reference signal and the second reference signal may include a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)”; [0034]).
As to claim 9:
Liu further discloses wherein a reference pilot sequence of the set is one of based on, comprises, and consists of, one or more Golay, Turyn and polyphase complementary sequences (“the first original sequence and the second original sequence include Golay sequences or Golay complementary sequences”; [0015]; [0251]; [0239]-[0240]).
As to claim 10:
Liu further discloses wherein the reference signalling is associated to control signalling (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information”; [0211]-[0214]), wherein the control signalling are transmitted on a control channel (“a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel)). This is not particularly limited in this application”; [0214]).
As to claim 13:
Liu further discloses, wherein first reference signalling associated to first control signalling is based on a same reference pilot sequence as second reference signalling associated to second control signalling (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence, and the second sequence includes a third subsequence and the second subsequence”; [0040] “a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214] note: second subsequence = same reference pilot sequence), wherein the first reference signalling are orthogonalised relative to the second reference signalling (Applicant’s disclosure states “Being orthogonalised may be based on orthogonalising as described herein, e.g., using different complementary pairs”. Liu discloses the reference signals using different complementary pairs; see [0006] and [0040]).
As to claim 14:
Liu further discloses wherein two or more different reference pilot sequences of the set are associated to at least one of two or more control regions, two or more search spaces and two or more control signalling formats (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214]).
As to claim 15:
Liu further discloses wherein the reference pilot sequence of the set of reference pilot sequences have one or both of different length and associated to different lengths, and is associated to one or more of different search spaces, control regions, and control signalling formats (“K is a length of TA”; [0244]-[0245]; “K is a length of TB”; [0246]-[0248]; [0309]-[0310] “a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214] “The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]).
As to claim 16:
Liu further discloses wherein first reference signalling associated to first control signalling is based on a same reference pilot sequence as second reference signalling associated to second control signalling (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence, and the second sequence includes a third subsequence and the second subsequence”; [0040] “a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214] note: second subsequence = same reference pilot sequence), wherein the first reference signalling are orthogonalised relative to the second reference signalling (Applicant’s disclosure states “Being orthogonalised may be based on orthogonalising as described herein, e.g., using different complementary pairs”. Liu discloses the reference signals using different complementary pairs; see [0006] and [0040]).
As to claim 17:
Liu further discloses wherein two or more different reference pilot sequences of the set are associated to at least one of two or more control regions, two or more search spaces and two or more control signalling formats (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214]).
As to claim 18:
Liu further discloses wherein reference pilot sequences one or both of different length and associated to different lengths, are associated to one or more of different search spaces, control regions, and control signalling formats (“K is a length of TA”; [0244]-[0245]; “K is a length of TB”; [0246]-[0248]; [0309]-[0310] “a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214]).
As to claim 19:
Liu further discloses wherein the reference signalling is Demodulation Reference Signalling, DM-RS (“the first reference signal and the second reference signal may include a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)”; [0034]).
As to claim 20:
Liu further discloses wherein a reference pilot sequence of the set is one of based on, comprises, and consists of, one or more Golay, Turyn and polyphase complementary sequences (“the first original sequence and the second original sequence include Golay sequences or Golay complementary sequences”; [0015]; [0251]; [0239]-[0240]).
As to claim 21:
Liu further discloses wherein the reference signalling is associated to control signalling (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information”; [0211]-[0214]), wherein the control signalling are transmitted on a control channel (“a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel)). This is not particularly limited in this application”; [0214]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2022/0038238 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
As to claim 1:
Liu discloses a method of operating a transmitting radio node in a wireless communication network (“a reference signal sending method is provided, and includes: A first device”; Abstract; [0006]), the method comprising:
constructing reference signalling (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence, and generates a second reference signal based on a second sequence, where the first sequence and the second sequence are complementary sequences. The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]), the reference signalling being based on a reference pilot sequence (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence”; [0006]; [0198] note: first sequence (where the first reference signal is based on the first sequence) = reference pilot sequence), the reference pilot sequence being one of a set of reference pilot sequences (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence, and generates a second reference signal based on a second sequence… The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006] note: first sequence and second sequence = set of reference pilot sequences), the set of reference pilot sequences including one reference pilot sequence and one or more subsequences thereof (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence… where the first subsequence and the second subsequence are complementary sequences; [0040] note: first sequence = one reference pilot sequence of the set; note 2: first subsequence and second subsequence (of the first sequence) = one or more subsequences thereof), the reference pilot sequence of the set being based on complementary subsequences (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence… where the first subsequence and the second subsequence are complementary sequences; [0040] note: first sequence = reference pilot sequence of the set), where two of the complimentary subsequences represent a complementary sequence pair (“the complementary sequences exist in pairs”; [0240] “According to a characteristic of the complementary sequences, assuming that TC (namely, an example of a first subsequence Ta) and TD (namely, an example of a second subsequence) are a complementary sequence pair, TA=[TC, TD] and TB=[-TC, TD] are still a complementary sequence pair”; Fig. 10; [0300]);
associating the constructed reference signalling to a control signalling (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information”; [0211]; “a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; [0214]) of a set of control signallings available for transmission on a channel (see [0006]; [0068]-[0069]; [0214] note: since there are two reference signals, the examiner interprets as each reference signal being used to demodulate a corresponding control information (i.e., set of control signallings)); and
transmitting the associated reference signalling (“The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]; [0211]; [0214]).
As to claim 5:
Liu further discloses wherein first reference signalling associated to first control signalling is based on the same reference pilot sequence as second reference signalling associated to second control signalling (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence, and the second sequence includes a third subsequence and the second subsequence”; [0040] “a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214] note: second subsequence = same reference pilot sequence), wherein the first reference signalling may be orthogonalised relative to the second reference signalling (Applicant’s disclosure states “Being orthogonalised may be based on orthogonalising as described herein, e.g., using different complementary pairs”. Liu discloses the reference signals using different complementary pairs; see [0006] and [0040]).
As to claim 6:
Liu further discloses wherein two or more different reference pilot sequences of the set are associated to at least one of two or more control regions and search spaces and control signalling formats (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214]).
As to claim 7:
Liu further discloses wherein the reference pilot sequence of the set of reference pilot sequences is one or both of different length and associated to different lengths, and associated to one or more of different search spaces, control regions, and control signalling formats (“K is a length of TA”; [0244]-[0245]; “K is a length of TB”; [0246]-[0248]; [0309]-[0310] “a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214] “The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]).
As to claim 8:
Liu further discloses wherein the reference signalling is Demodulation Reference Signalling, DM-RS (“the first reference signal and the second reference signal may include a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)”; [0034]).
As to claim 9:
Liu further discloses wherein a reference pilot sequence of the set is one of based on, comprises, and consists of, one or more Golay, Turyn and polyphase complementary sequences (“the first original sequence and the second original sequence include Golay sequences or Golay complementary sequences”; [0015]; [0251]; [0239]-[0240]).
As to claim 10:
Liu further discloses wherein the reference signalling is associated to control signalling (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information”; [0211]-[0214]), wherein the control signalling are transmitted on a control channel (“a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel)). This is not particularly limited in this application”; [0214]).
As to claim 2:
Liu discloses a transmitting radio node (“A first device”; Abstract; [0006]) comprising processing circuitry for a wireless communication network (“processor”; [0185]; [0347]-[0348]; [0351]; [0006]), the processing circuitry configured to:
construct reference signalling (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence, and generates a second reference signal based on a second sequence, where the first sequence and the second sequence are complementary sequences. The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]), the reference signalling being based on a reference pilot sequence (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence”; [0006]; [0198] note: first sequence (where the first reference signal is based on the first sequence) = reference pilot sequence), the reference pilot sequence being one of a set of reference pilot sequences (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence, and generates a second reference signal based on a second sequence… The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006] note: first sequence and second sequence = set of reference pilot sequences), the set of reference pilot sequences including one reference pilot sequence and one or more subsequences thereof (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence… where the first subsequence and the second subsequence are complementary sequences; [0040] note: first sequence = one reference pilot sequence of the set; note 2: first subsequence and second subsequence (of the first sequence) = one or more subsequences thereof), the reference pilot sequence of the set being based on complementary subsequences (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence… where the first subsequence and the second subsequence are complementary sequences; [0040] note: first sequence = reference pilot sequence of the set), where two of the complimentary subsequences represent a complementary sequence pair (“the complementary sequences exist in pairs”; [0240] “According to a characteristic of the complementary sequences, assuming that TC (namely, an example of a first subsequence Ta) and TD (namely, an example of a second subsequence) are a complementary sequence pair, TA=[TC, TD] and TB=[-TC, TD] are still a complementary sequence pair”; Fig. 10; [0300]);
associating the constructed reference signalling to a control signalling (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information”; [0211]; “a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; [0214]) of a set of control signallings available for transmission on a channel (see [0006]; [0068]-[0069]; [0214] note: since there are two reference signals, the examiner interprets as each reference signal being used to demodulate a corresponding control information (i.e., set of control signallings)); and
transmitting the associated reference signalling (“The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]; [0211]; [0214]).
As to claim 13:
Liu further discloses, wherein first reference signalling associated to first control signalling is based on a same reference pilot sequence as second reference signalling associated to second control signalling (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence, and the second sequence includes a third subsequence and the second subsequence”; [0040] “a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214] note: second subsequence = same reference pilot sequence), wherein the first reference signalling are orthogonalised relative to the second reference signalling (Applicant’s disclosure states “Being orthogonalised may be based on orthogonalising as described herein, e.g., using different complementary pairs”. Liu discloses the reference signals using different complementary pairs; see [0006] and [0040]).
As to claim 14:
Liu further discloses wherein two or more different reference pilot sequences of the set are associated to at least one of two or more control regions, two or more search spaces and two or more control signalling formats (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214]).
As to claim 15:
Liu further discloses wherein the reference pilot sequence of the set of reference pilot sequences have one or both of different length and associated to different lengths, and is associated to one or more of different search spaces, control regions, and control signalling formats (“K is a length of TA”; [0244]-[0245]; “K is a length of TB”; [0246]-[0248]; [0309]-[0310] “a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214] “The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]).
As to claim 3:
Liu discloses a method of operating a receiving radio node in a wireless communication network (“A first device”; Abstract; [0006]; [0347]-[0348]; [0351]), the method comprising:
construct reference signalling (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence, and generates a second reference signal based on a second sequence, where the first sequence and the second sequence are complementary sequences. The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]), the reference signalling being based on a reference pilot sequence (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence”; [0006]; [0198] note: first sequence (where the first reference signal is based on the first sequence) = reference pilot sequence), the reference pilot sequence being one of a set of reference pilot sequences (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence, and generates a second reference signal based on a second sequence… The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006] note: first sequence and second sequence = set of reference pilot sequences), the set of reference pilot sequences including one reference pilot sequence and one or more subsequences thereof (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence… where the first subsequence and the second subsequence are complementary sequences; [0040] note: first sequence = one reference pilot sequence of the set; note 2: first subsequence and second subsequence (of the first sequence) = one or more subsequences thereof), the reference pilot sequence of the set being based on complementary subsequences (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence… where the first subsequence and the second subsequence are complementary sequences; [0040] note: first sequence = reference pilot sequence of the set;), where two of the complimentary subsequences represent a complementary sequence pair (“the complementary sequences exist in pairs”; [0240] “According to a characteristic of the complementary sequences, assuming that TC (namely, an example of a first subsequence Ta) and TD (namely, an example of a second subsequence) are a complementary sequence pair, TA=[TC, TD] and TB=[-TC, TD] are still a complementary sequence pair”; Fig. 10; [0300]);
associating the constructed reference signalling to a control signalling (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information”; [0211]; “a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; [0214]) of a set of control signalling available for transmission on a channel (see [0006]; [0068]-[0069]; [0214] note: since there are two reference signals, the examiner interprets as each reference signal being used to demodulate a corresponding control information (i.e., set of control signallings)); and
transmitting the associated reference signalling (“The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]; [0211]; [0214]).
As to claim 16:
Liu further discloses wherein first reference signalling associated to first control signalling is based on a same reference pilot sequence as second reference signalling associated to second control signalling (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence, and the second sequence includes a third subsequence and the second subsequence”; [0040] “a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214] note: second subsequence = same reference pilot sequence), wherein the first reference signalling are orthogonalised relative to the second reference signalling (Applicant’s disclosure states “Being orthogonalised may be based on orthogonalising as described herein, e.g., using different complementary pairs”. Liu discloses the reference signals using different complementary pairs; see [0006] and [0040]).
As to claim 17:
Liu further discloses wherein two or more different reference pilot sequences of the set are associated to at least one of two or more control regions, two or more search spaces and two or more control signalling formats (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214]).
As to claim 18:
Liu further discloses wherein the reference pilot sequence of the set of reference pilot sequences have one or both of different length and associated to different lengths, and is associated to one or more of different search spaces, control regions, and control signalling formats (“K is a length of TA”; [0244]-[0245]; “K is a length of TB”; [0246]-[0248]; [0309]-[0310] “a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information… a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; see [0211]-[0214] “The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]).
As to claim 19:
Liu further discloses wherein the reference signalling is Demodulation Reference Signalling, DM-RS (“the first reference signal and the second reference signal may include a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)”; [0034]).
As to claim 20:
Liu further discloses wherein a reference pilot sequence of the set is one of based on, comprises, and consists of, one or more Golay, Turyn and polyphase complementary sequences (“the first original sequence and the second original sequence include Golay sequences or Golay complementary sequences”; [0015]; [0251]; [0239]-[0240]).
As to claim 21:
Liu further discloses wherein the reference signalling is associated to control signalling (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information”; [0211]-[0214]), wherein the control signalling are transmitted on a control channel (“a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel)). This is not particularly limited in this application”; [0214]).
As to claim 4:
Liu discloses a receiving radio node (“A first device”; Abstract; [0006]) comprising processing circuitry for a wireless communication network (“processor”; [0185]; [0347]-[0348]; [0351]; [0006]), the processing circuitry configured to:
construct reference signalling (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence, and generates a second reference signal based on a second sequence, where the first sequence and the second sequence are complementary sequences. The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]), the reference signalling being based on a reference pilot sequence (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence”; [0006]; [0198] note: first sequence (where the first reference signal is based on the first sequence) = reference pilot sequence), the reference pilot sequence being one of a set of reference pilot sequences (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence, and generates a second reference signal based on a second sequence… The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006] note: first sequence and second sequence = set of reference pilot sequences), the set of reference pilot sequences including one reference pilot sequence and one or more subsequences thereof (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence… where the first subsequence and the second subsequence are complementary sequences; [0040] note: first sequence = one reference pilot sequence of the set; note 2: first subsequence and second subsequence (of the first sequence) = one or more subsequences thereof), the reference pilot sequence of the set being based on complementary subsequences (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence… where the first subsequence and the second subsequence are complementary sequences; [0040] note: first sequence = reference pilot sequence of the set), where two of the complimentary subsequences represent a complementary sequence pair (“the complementary sequences exist in pairs”; [0240] “According to a characteristic of the complementary sequences, assuming that TC (namely, an example of a first subsequence Ta) and TD (namely, an example of a second subsequence) are a complementary sequence pair, TA=[TC, TD] and TB=[-TC, TD] are still a complementary sequence pair”; Fig. 10; [0300]);
associating the constructed reference signalling to a control signalling (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information”; [0211]; “a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; [0214]) of a set of control signallings available for transmission on a channel (see [0006]; [0068]-[0069]; [0214] note: since there are two reference signals, the examiner interprets as each reference signal being used to demodulate a corresponding control information (i.e., set of control signallings)); and
transmitting the associated reference signalling (“The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]; [0211]; [0214]).
As to claim 11:
Liu discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions causing processing circuitry to one of both of control and perform a method (“The computer-readable medium stores a computer program (which may also be referred to as code or an instruction). When the computer program is run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform the method in any one of the first aspect and the second aspect and the possible implementations thereof"; Fig. 10; [0148]; [0138]), the method comprising:
constructing reference signalling (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence, and generates a second reference signal based on a second sequence, where the first sequence and the second sequence are complementary sequences. The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]), the reference signalling being based on a reference pilot sequence (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence”; [0006]; [0198] note: first sequence (where the first reference signal is based on the first sequence) = reference pilot sequence), the reference pilot sequence being one of a set of reference pilot sequences (“A first device generates a first reference signal based on a first sequence, and generates a second reference signal based on a second sequence… The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006] note: first sequence and second sequence = set of reference pilot sequences), the set of reference pilot sequences including one reference pilot sequence and one or more subsequences thereof (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence… where the first subsequence and the second subsequence are complementary sequences; [0040] note: first sequence = one reference pilot sequence of the set; note 2: first subsequence and second subsequence (of the first sequence) = one or more subsequences thereof), the reference pilot sequence of the set being based on complementary subsequences (“the first sequence includes a first subsequence and a second subsequence… where the first subsequence and the second subsequence are complementary sequences; [0040] note: first sequence = reference pilot sequence of the set), where two of the complimentary subsequences represent a complementary sequence pair (“the complementary sequences exist in pairs”; [0240] “According to a characteristic of the complementary sequences, assuming that TC (namely, an example of a first subsequence Ta) and TD (namely, an example of a second subsequence) are a complementary sequence pair, TA=[TC, TD] and TB=[-TC, TD] are still a complementary sequence pair”; Fig. 10; [0300]);
associating the constructed reference signalling to a control signalling (“a channel over which a signal (for example, a reference signal) is carried in the embodiments of this application may carry modulated control information. Therefore, the signal (for example, the reference signal) may be used to demodulate the control information”; [0211]; “a channel to which the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation is applicable (or a channel demodulated by using the signal (for example, the DMRS) used for control channel demodulation) may be an uplink channel (for example, a PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), or may be a downlink channel (for example, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel))”; [0214]) of a set of control signallings available for transmission on a channel (see [0006]; [0068]-[0069]; [0214] note: since there are two reference signals, the examiner interprets as each reference signal being used to demodulate a corresponding control information (i.e., set of control signallings)); and
transmitting the associated reference signalling (“The first device sends the first reference signal and the second reference signal by using a same antenna port and a same resource”; [0006]; [0211]; [0214]).
Conclusion
/MARIELA VIDAL CARPIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476