Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 07/17/26. Claims 1-6, 8-21, 23-33 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-15, 17-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Ramaswamy (US20190006376) and further in view of Lee (US 20220199621 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ramaswamy, at least at fig 10, discloses a memory device, comprising: a first horizontally oriented access device (see fig 10) having a first source/drain region and a second source/drain region separated by a first channel region (see fig 10, left 20/22 being separated by 24), the first access device being operatively controlled by a first gate (see 26 on the left being the first gate, see fig 10); and a second horizontally oriented access device having a first source/drain region and a second source/drain region separated by a second channel region(see fig 10, right 20/22), the second access device being operatively controlled by a second gate(see 26 on the right being the second gate, see fig 10); and a shared storage node coupled between the second source/drain regions of the first access device and the second access device (see capacitor 48b, 52b separating left and right devices).
However, Ramaswamy does not explicitly disclose a 2t 1c arrangement wherein a first electrode of the shared storage node is coupled to the second source/drain region of the first access device, and a second electrode of the shared storage node is coupled to the second source/drain region of the second access device, as recited in amended claim 1. However, Lee is directed towards 2c 1t devices and at least at fig 2 2 and 3 discloses a first electrode of the shared storage node is coupled to the second source/drain region of the first access device (see cx1, fig 3 and 4), and a second electrode of the shared storage node is coupled to the second source/drain region of the second access device(see cx1, fig 3 and 4).
Ramaswamy and Lee are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to combine Ramaswamy with Lee. Ramaswamy and Lee may be combined by forming the transistor device of Ramaswamy with the device in Lee. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application would have been motivated to combine Ramaswamy with Lee in order to create a 2t 1c device.
Regarding claim 2, Ramaswamy and Lee at least at fig 10 disclose the memory device of claim 1, wherein the first and the second gates are electrically connected (see fig 10 where the first and second gates are connected via the capacitor, 52b).
Regarding claim 3, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 1, wherein the first and the second gates are vertically oriented gates (see fig 10 disclosing vertically oriented gates).
Regarding claim 5, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 1, wherein the first and the second gates are horizontally oriented gates (see fig 10 disclosing horizontal gates).
Regarding claim 8, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 1, wherein the first and the second access devices are thin film transistors (TFTs) and the shared storage node is a horizontally oriented capacitor (see para [0005] disclosing thin insulating film).
Regarding claim 9, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 1, wherein the first and the second access devices are thin film transistors (TFTs) and the shared storage node is a ferroelectric storage node (see para [0006] disclosing FeFet).
Regarding claim 10, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 1, wherein the memory device comprises a vertically oriented three-dimensional (3D), multi-tiered memory array with each tier having two transistor, one capacitor (2T1C) memory cells (see fig 10, disclosing 2 transistors 1 capacitor).
Regarding claim 11, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose, at least at fig 10, a memory device (see para [0048]), comprising: a first horizontally oriented access device having a first source/drain region (see left 20/22) and a second source/drain region (20/22 )separated by a first channel region(see fig 10, 24), the first access device being operatively controlled by a first gate(see 26 on the left being the first gate, see fig 10); and a second horizontally oriented access device having a first source/drain region and a second source/drain region (20/22) separated by a second channel region(see fig 10, right 20/22), the second access device also being operatively controlled by a second gate (see 26 on the right being the second gate, see fig 10); and a storage node (see capacitor 52b) comprising: a first electrode (left 56b)coupled to the second source/drain region (20) of the first access device (see left 50b); and a second electrode coupled to the second source/drain region of the second access device (see right 50b, connected to 20 fig 10). However, Ramaswamy does not explicitly disclose a 2t 1c arrangement wherein a first electrode of the shared storage node is coupled to the second source/drain region of the first access device, and a second electrode of the shared storage node is coupled to the second source/drain region of the second access device, as recited in amended claim 1. However, Lee is directed towards 2c 1t devices and at least at fig 2 2 and 3 discloses a first electrode of the shared storage node is coupled to the second source/drain region of the first access device (see cx1, fig 3 and 4), and a second electrode of the shared storage node is coupled to the second source/drain region of the second access device(see cx1, fig 3 and 4).
Ramaswamy and Lee are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to combine Ramaswamy with Lee. Ramaswamy and Lee may be combined by forming the transistor device of Ramaswamy with the device in Lee. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application would have been motivated to combine Ramaswamy with Lee in order to create a 2t 1c device.
Regarding claim 12, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 11, wherein the first and the second gates are gate on two side (G2S) structures on opposing sides, respectively, of the first and the second channel regions (see fig 10 disclosing two gate structures on opposing horizontal sides).
Regarding claim 13, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 11, wherein the first gate and the second gate are electrically coupled together (see fig 10 where the gates are commonly/electrically connected via the capacitor).
Regarding claim 14, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 11, wherein the first and the second horizontally oriented access devices are thin film transistors (TFTs) and the shared storage node is a horizontally oriented capacitor located in a same horizontal tier to form a two transistor, one capacitor (2T1C) memory cell(see para [0005] disclosing thin insulating film).
Regarding claim 15, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 14, wherein the memory device comprises a vertically oriented three-dimensional (3D), multi-tiered memory array with each tier having two transistor, one capacitor (2T1C) memory cells(see fig 10, disclosing 2 transistors 1 capacitor).
Regarding claim 17, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 11, wherein the storage node is a shared storage node located in a same plane, horizontally between the first access device and the second access device (see fig 10, disclosing capacitor and electrodes 50b are floating on each side).
Regarding claim 18, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 17, wherein the shared storage node is a capacitor and both electrodes of the capacitor are floating electrodes(see fig 10, disclosing capacitor and electrodes 50b are floating on each side).
Regarding claim 19, Ramaswamy discloses the memory device of claim 11, wherein the storage node is a horizontally oriented, ferroelectric storage node located between the first access device and the second access device (see fig 10 disclosing storage note horizontally oriented between two transistors).
Regarding claim 20, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose a memory device, comprising: an array of vertically stacked two transistor, one capacitor (2T1C) memory cells (see fig 10), the 2T1C memory cells, comprising: a first horizontally oriented transistor having a first source/drain region and a second source/drain region separated by a first channel(see fig 10, left 20/21), the first horizontally oriented transistor being operatively controlled by a first vertically oriented gate(see 26 on the left being the first gate, see fig 10); a second horizontally oriented transistor having a first source/drain region and a second source/drain region separated by a second channel(see fig 10, left 20/21), the second horizontally oriented transistor being operatively controlled by a second vertically oriented gate(see 26 on the right being the second gate, see fig 10); and a floating capacitor coupled to the second source drain regions 20/21 of the first and the second horizontally oriented transistors(see capacitor 52b); a first horizontally oriented digit line coupled to the first source/drain region of the first horizontally oriented transistor (see fig 10, element 57, left); and a second horizontally oriented digit line coupled to the first source/drain region of the second horizontally oriented transistor(see fig 10, element 57, right).
However, Ramaswamy does not explicitly disclose a 2t 1c arrangement wherein a first electrode of the shared storage node is coupled to the second source/drain region of the first access device, and a second electrode of the shared storage node is coupled to the second source/drain region of the second access device, as recited in amended claim 1. However, Lee is directed towards 2c 1t devices and at least at fig 2 2 and 3 discloses a first electrode of the shared storage node is coupled to the second source/drain region of the first access device (see cx1, fig 3 and 4), and a second electrode of the shared storage node is coupled to the second source/drain region of the second access device(see cx1, fig 3 and 4).
Ramaswamy and Lee are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to combine Ramaswamy with Lee. Ramaswamy and Lee may be combined by forming the transistor device of Ramaswamy with the device in Lee. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application would have been motivated to combine Ramaswamy with Lee in order to create a 2t 1c device.
Regarding claim 23, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 20, wherein the first and the second horizontally oriented transistors are thin film transistors (TFTs) (see para [0005] disclosing thin insulating film).
Claims 4, 6, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.§103 as being unpatentable over Ramaswamy and further in view of Lee and Juengling (US 20180182761 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 3, wherein the first source/drain region of the first horizontally oriented access device and the first source/drain region of the second horizontally oriented access device are coupled to a complimentary pair of horizontally oriented digit lines
However, Ramaswamy and Lee do not disclose electrically connected to a sense amplifier. However, Juengling discloses a connection of a memory device to a sense amplifier. Ramaswamy, Lee and Juengling are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Ramaswamy and Lee with Juengling. Ramaswamy, Lee and Juengling may be combined by, for example, completing Ramaswamy’s memory device with a sense amplification, as taught in Juengling. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Ramaswamy and Lee with Juengling in order, to, for example, to be an operable memory device, see paras [0032] and [0033].
Regarding claim 6, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 5, wherein the first source/drain region of the first horizontally oriented access device and the first source/drain region of the second horizontally oriented access device are coupled (see fig 10 disclosing two horizontally oriented transistors) to a complimentary pair of vertically oriented digit lines (see fig 10).
However, Ramaswamy and Lee do not disclose digit lines electrically connected to a sense amplifier. However, Juengling discloses a connection of a memory device to a sense amplifier. Ramaswamy, Lee and Juengling are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Ramaswamy and Lee with Juengling. Ramaswamy, Lee and Juengling may be combined by, for example, completing Ramaswamy’s memory device with a sense amplification, as taught in Juengling. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Ramaswamy, Lee with Juengling in order, to, for example, to be an operable memory device, see paras [0032] and [0033].
Regarding claim 16, Ramaswamy and Lee disclose the memory device of claim 11, wherein the first source/drain region of the first horizontally oriented access device and the first source/drain region of the second horizontally oriented access device are coupled to a complimentary pair of horizontally oriented digit lines electrically.
However, Ramaswamy and Lee do not disclose digit lines electrically connected to a sense amplifier. However, Juengling discloses a connection of a memory device to a sense amplifier. Ramaswamy, Lee and Juengling are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Ramaswamy and Lee with Juengling. Ramaswamy and Lee with Juengling may be combined by, for example, completing Ramaswamy’s memory device with a sense amplification, as taught in Juengling. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Ramaswamy, Lee with Juengling in order, to, for example, to be an operable memory device, see paras [0032] and [0033].
Regarding claim 21, Ramaswamy and Lee discloses the memory device of claim 20, wherein the first and the second horizontally oriented digit lines are complementary digit lines (see fig 10).
However, Ramaswamy and Lee do not disclose digit lines electrically connected to a sense amplifier. However, Juengling discloses a connection of a memory device to a sense amplifier. Ramaswamy, Lee and Juengling are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Ramaswamy and Lee with Juengling. Ramaswamy, Lee and Juengling may be combined by, for example, completing Ramaswamy’s memory device with a sense amplification, as taught in Juengling. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Ramaswamy and Lee with Juengling in order, to, for example, to be an operable memory device, see paras [0032] and [0033].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWARD CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893