DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 31 October 2025 of Applicants’ amendments in which claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 14, 15, 17, 21, and 22 are amended and claims 3 and 16 are cancelled. The Office withdraws the indefiniteness rejections applied in the Office Communication dated 5 August 2025 in view of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11-15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moon et al. (US20200411605A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moon teaches in Fig. 6A a display panel, comprising:
a first area (DA1) in which a plurality of pixels (Pm) are disposed {Fig. 1A, 1B; [0062]}; and
a second area (DA2) comprising at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) {Fig. 5B; [0062, 0112]},
wherein each of the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) comprises:
at least one pixel (Pa) {Fig. 6A; [0136]}; and
a light transmittance portion (TA) disposed between the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) to transmit light {Fig. 5B; [0112]},
wherein the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) are disposed on a first layer (117, 119) {Fig. 6A; [0154]},
wherein the first layer (117, 119) comprises a planarization layer (117) disposed on a driving circuit (TFT’) of the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) {Fig. 6A; [0137, 0154]}, and
wherein the planarization layer (117) is disposed in the light transmittance portion (TA) {Fig. 6A; [0136]},
wherein the at least one pixel (Pa) includes an anode (221’), an emission layer (222b’) and a cathode (CE1’) {Fig. 6A; [0107, 0154 0161]},
wherein the light transmittance portion (TA) includes an opening (opening between CE1’ corresponding to TA) in which the cathode (CE1’) is removed {Fig. 6A; [0120]}, and
wherein the planarization layer (117) disposed on the driving circuit (TFT’) of the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) extends to the opening (opening between CE1’ corresponding to TA) of the light transmittance portion (TA) {Fig. 6A; [0120]}.
Regarding claim 2, Moon teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Moon further teaches
wherein a thickness of a first point (e.g., end point of CE1’ near TA) of the cathode (CE1’) is less than a thickness of a second point (e.g., a point along sloping portion of CE1’ along sidewall of PDL 119) of the cathode (CE1’) {Fig. 6A}, and
wherein the first point (e.g., end point of CE1’ near TA) is closer to the light transmittance portion (TA) than the second point (e.g., a point along sloping portion of CE1’ along sidewall of PDL 119) {Fig. 6A}.
Regarding claim 11, Moon teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Moon further teaches wherein a surface of the light transmittance portion (TA) has a circle shape or a polygon shape {Figs. 1A, 1B, and 3 together with Fig. 5B illustrate TA has a closed plane bounded by three or more line segments (i.e., a polygon shape)}.
Regarding claim 12, Moon teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Moon further teaches wherein each of the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) comprises a pixel (Pa) corresponding to at least one of a red color, a green color, a blue color, and a white color {[0086]}.
Regarding claim 13, Moon teaches the display panel of claim 12, and Moon further teaches wherein a pixel density of the second area (DA2) is lower than a pixel density of the first area (DA1) {Figs. 5A, 5B; [0064]}.
Regarding claim 14, Moon teaches in Fig. 6A a display apparatus, comprising:
a display panel (10) comprising {Fig. 2; [0070]}:
a first area (DA1) in which a plurality of pixels (Pm) are disposed {Fig. 1A, 1B; [0062]}; and
a second area (DA2) comprising at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) {Fig. 5B; [0062, 0112]},
wherein each of the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) comprises:
at least one pixel (Pa) {Fig. 6A; [0136]}; and
a light transmittance portion (TA) disposed between the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) to transmit light {Fig. 5B; [0112]},
wherein the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) are disposed on a first layer (117, 119) {Fig. 6A; [0154]},
wherein the first layer (117, 119) comprises a planarization layer (117) disposed on a driving circuit (TFT’) of the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) {Fig. 6A; [0137, 0154]},
wherein the planarization layer (117) is disposed in the light transmittance portion (TA) {Fig. 6A; [0136]},
wherein the at least one pixel (Pa) includes an anode (221’), an emission layer (222b’) and a cathode (CE1’) {Fig. 6A; [0107, 0154 0161]},
wherein the light transmittance portion (YA) includes an opening (opening between CE1’ corresponding to TA) in which the cathode (CE1’) is removed {Fig. 6A; [0120]}, and
wherein the planarization layer (117) disposed on the driving circuit (TFT’) of the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) extends to the opening (opening between CE1’ corresponding to TA) of the light transmittance portion (TA) {Fig. 6A; [0120]}.
Regarding claim 15, Moon teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, and Moon further teaches
wherein a thickness of a first point (e.g., end point of CE1’ near TA) of the cathode (CE1’) is less than a thickness of a second point (e.g., a point along sloping portion of CE1’ along sidewall of PDL 119) of the cathode (CE1’) {Fig. 6A}, and
wherein the first point (e.g., end point of CE1’ near TA) is closer to the light transmittance portion (TA) than the second point (e.g., a point along sloping portion of CE1’ along sidewall of PDL 119) {Fig. 6A}.
Regarding claim 19, Moon teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, and Moon further teaches
wherein the display apparatus further includes an optical sensor (20) disposed on one side of the display panel (10) to correspond to the second area (DA2) {Fig. 2; [0075]}.
Regarding claim 20, Moon teaches the display apparatus of claim 19, and Moon further teaches wherein the optical sensor (20) comprises at least one of a camera and an infrared sensor {Fig. 2; [0075], infrared sensor}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6-10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon as applied to claim 1 (for claims 4 and 6-10) and claim 14 (for claim 17), and further in view of Jo et al. (US20200365667A1).
Regarding claim 4, Moon teaches the display panel of claim 1, but Moon does not teach further comprising
a hole formed to correspond to a boundary of the light transmittance portion,
wherein the cathode related to the at least one pixel is disposed in at least a part of the hole,
wherein the hole is provided in the first layer based on removing at least a part of the first layer, and
wherein the cathode is disposed in a first pixel among the at least one pixel included in the at least two pixel groups, and the cathode extends from the first pixel to an upper end of the hole.
In an analogous art, Jo teaches in Fig. 5:
a hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) formed to correspond to a boundary of a light transmittance portion (TA) {[0115]},
wherein a cathode (223) related to at least one pixel (Pa) is disposed in at least a part of the hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) {[0115]},
wherein the hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) is provided in the first layer (117, 199) based on removing at least a part of the first layer (117, 119) {[0115]}, and
wherein the cathode (223) is disposed in a first pixel (Pa) among the at least one pixel (Pa) included in the at least two pixel groups (left-side Pas, right-side Pas) {Fig. 4; [0080]}, and the cathode (223) extends from the first pixel (Pa) to an upper end of the hole (H3) {Fig. 5}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel based on the teachings of Jo, to achieve the above-identified features, so the light transmittance of the transmission area … may be enhanced. Jo [0115].
Regarding claim 6, Moon as modified by Jo teaches the display panel of claim 4, but Moon does not teach wherein the hole comprises a plurality of sub-holes.
Jo teaches in Fig. 5 a hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) comprises a plurality of sub-holes (e.g., hole H3 and a portion of hole H2 above horizontal dashed line). The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to intermediate claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, Moon as modified by Jo teaches the display panel of claim 6, but Moon does not teach wherein the plurality of sub-holes are divided by at least one column having a first height.
Jo teaches in Fig. 5 a plurality of sub-holes (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) are divided by at least one column (column of vertically sloping 222a and or 222c on sidewall of 117 and or 119 or, alternatively, column of 117 immediately adjacent H2) having a first height. The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to intermediate claim 4.
Regarding claim 8, Moon as modified by Jo teaches the display panel of claim 7, but Moon does not teach wherein the first height is less than a depth of the hole.
Jo teaches in Fig. 5 a first height of a column (vertically sloping 222a and or 222c on sidewall of 117 or, alternatively, column of 117 immediately adjacent H2) is about the same depth of a hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) {see Examiner’s Note, below}. The instant application identifies no benefit derived from the first height of the column being less than a depth of the hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel as modified by Jo based on the further teachings of Jo, to achieve the above-identified feature, because a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. MPEP §2144.05(I).
Examiner’s Note: “The Examiner is authorized to make a finding of relative dimensions that are, as here, clearly depicted in a drawing.” Ex parte Wright, 091818 USPTAB, 2017-001093 (Patent Trial and Appeal Board Decisions, 2018).
Regarding claim 9, Moon as modified by Jo teaches the display panel of claim 4, but Moon does not teach wherein the emission layer associated with the at least one pixel is disposed in at least a portion of the hole.
Jo teaches in Fig. 5 an emission layer (222b) associated with at least one pixel (Pa) is disposed in at least a portion of a hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) {Fig. 6 illustrates emission layer 222b extending into H2 from H1; thus, emission layer 222b within H2 is continuous from H1 and portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line; [0120]}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel as modified by Jo based on the further teachings of Jo, to achieve the above-identified feature, because all the claimed elements (e.g., emission layer, hole) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Jo) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 10, Moon as modified by Jo teaches the display panel of claim 9, but Moon does not teach wherein the emission layer is disposed between an upper surface of the hole and the cathode.
Jo teaches in Fig. 6 an emission layer (222b) is disposed between an upper surface of a hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) and a cathode (223) {Fig. 6 illustrates emission layer 222b disposed between hole H2 and cathode 223 as both continuously extend from H1 and portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line; [0120]}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel as modified by Jo based on the further teachings of Jo, to achieve the above-identified feature, because all the claimed elements (e.g., emission layer, hole, cathode) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Jo) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 17, Moon teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, but Moon does not teach further comprising
a hole formed to correspond to a boundary of the light transmittance portion,
wherein the cathode related to the at least one pixel is disposed in at least a part of the hole,
wherein the hole is provided in the first layer based on removing at least a part of the first layer, and
wherein the cathode is disposed in a first pixel among the at least one pixel included in the at least two pixel groups, and the cathode extends from the first pixel to an upper end of the hole.
Jo teaches in Fig. 5:
a hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) formed to correspond to a boundary of a light transmittance portion (TA) {[0115]},
wherein a cathode (223) related to at least one pixel (Pa) is disposed in at least a part of the hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) {[0115]},
wherein the hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) is provided in the first layer (117, 199) based on removing at least a part of the first layer (117, 119) {[0115]}, and
wherein the cathode (223) is disposed in a first pixel (Pa) among the at least one pixel (Pa) included in the at least two pixel groups (left-side Pas, right-side Pas) {Fig. 4; [0080]}, and the cathode (223) extends from the first pixel (Pa) to an upper end of the hole (H3) {Fig. 5}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display apparatus based on the teachings of Jo, to achieve the above-identified features, so the light transmittance of the transmission area … may be enhanced. Jo [0115].
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon as applied to claim 1 (for claim 22) and claim 14 (for claim 21), and further in view of Bang et al. (US20210273029A1).
Regarding claim 21, Moon teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, and Moon further teaches further comprising
a substrate (100) that includes a first substrate (100) having a first thickness (implicit) {Fig. 6A; [0072]}.
Moon does not expressly teach:
a second substrate with a second thickness different from the first thickness, disposed on the first substrate, and
an inorganic layer positioned between the first substrate and the second substrate.
However, Moon teaches in paragraph [0072] [t]he substrate 100 may have a multi-layered structure including a layer including a polymer resin and an inorganic layer.
In an analogous art, Bang teaches in Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0049], [0051], and [0052] a substrate (100) includes a first substrate (101) having a first thickness, a second substrate (103) with a second thickness different from the first thickness, disposed on the first substrate (101), and an inorganic layer (102; SiN or SiO) positioned between the first substrate (101) and the second substrate (103). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display apparatus based on the teachings of Bang – such that the substrate includes a first substrate having a first thickness, a second substrate with a second thickness different from the first thickness, disposed on the first substrate, and an inorganic layer positioned between the first substrate and the second substrate – to prevent[] infiltration of external foreign materials into the display apparatus … through the substrate. Bang ¶0052.
Regarding claim 22, Moon teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Moon further teaches further comprising
a substrate (100) that includes a first substrate (100) having a first thickness (implicit) {Fig. 6A; [0072]}.
Moon does not expressly teach:
a second substrate with a second thickness different from the first thickness, disposed on the first substrate, and
an inorganic layer positioned between the first substrate and the second substrate.
However, Moon teaches in paragraph [0072] [t]he substrate 100 may have a multi-layered structure including a layer including a polymer resin and an inorganic layer.
Bang teaches in Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0049], [0051], and [0052] a substrate (100) includes a first substrate (101) having a first thickness, a second substrate (103) with a second thickness different from the first thickness, disposed on the first substrate (101), and an inorganic layer (102; SiN or SiO) positioned between the first substrate (101) and the second substrate (103). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel based on the teachings of Bang – such that the substrate includes a first substrate having a first thickness, a second substrate with a second thickness different from the first thickness, disposed on the first substrate, and an inorganic layer positioned between the first substrate and the second substrate – to prevent[] infiltration of external foreign materials into the display apparatus … through the substrate. Bang ¶0052.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeon et al. (US20220415973A1) teaches a display device includes a substrate including a first display area and a second display area, the first display area including a first pixel, and the second display area including a second pixel and a transmissive area, a first pixel electrode and a first emission layer in the first pixel, a second pixel electrode and a second emission layer in the second pixel, an opposite electrode arranged as one body in the first display area and the second display area, and a top layer arranged on the opposite electrode, wherein the opposite electrode and the top layer each have an opening area corresponding to the transmissive area, and wherein a convex portion is around the transmissive area, the convex portion being convex in a top surface direction of the substrate.
Conclusion
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891