DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 16 March 2026 were filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Communication on 2 February 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 22 April 2026 of Applicants’ amendments in which claims 1, 4, 14, 17, 21, and 22 are amended and claims 23-28 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11-15, 19, 20, 25, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US20200411605A1) in view of Han et al. (US20200395426A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moon teaches in Fig. 6A a display panel, comprising:
a substrate (100) {[0071]};
a thin film transistor (TFT) having an active layer (A1), a gate electrode (G1), a first electrode ({S1/D1}/{S2/D2}) and a second electrode ({D1/S1}/{D2/S2}), disposed on the substrate (100) {[0142]};
an interlayer insulating layer (113) disposed on the gate electrode (G1) {[0147]};
a first layer (115) disposed on the interlayer insulating layer (113) {[0152]};
a second planarization layer (117) disposed on the first layer (115) {[0154]};
wherein the substrate (100) comprises:
a first area (DA1) in which a plurality of pixels (Pm) are disposed {Figs. 1A, 1B, 3; [0062]}; and
a second area (DA2) comprising at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) {Fig. 5B; [0062, 0112]},
wherein each of the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) comprises:
at least one pixel (Pa) {Fig. 6A; [0136]}; and
a light transmittance portion (TA) disposed between the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) to transmit light {Fig. 5B; [0112]},
wherein the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) are disposed on the second planarization layer (117) {Fig. 6A; [0137, 0154]},
wherein the at least one pixel (Pa) includes an anode (221’), an emission layer (222b’) and a cathode (CE1’) {Fig. 6A; [0107, 0154 0161]},
wherein the light transmittance portion (TA) includes an opening (opening between CE1’ corresponding to TA) in which the cathode (CE1’) is removed {Fig. 6A; [0120]},
wherein a connection electrode (connection electrode disposed directly between 115 and 117 and connected to {S1/D1}/{S2/D2}) is disposed between the first layer (115) and the second planarization layer (117),
wherein the first electrode ({S1/D1}/{S2/D2}) and the second electrode ({D1/S1}/{D2/S2}) are disposed on the interlayer insulating layer (113) {[0153]},
wherein each of the first electrode ({S1/D1}/{S2/D2}) and the second electrode ({D1/S1}/{D2/S2}) is connected to the active layer (A1) through a respective contact hole in the interlayer insulating layer (113) {[0153]}, and
wherein the connection electrode (connection electrode disposed directly between 115 and 117 and connected to {S1/D1}/{S2/D2}) connects one of the first electrode ({S1/D1}/{S2/D2}) and the second electrode ({D1/S1}/{D2/S2}) to the anode (221’) through a contact hole of the first layer.
Moon does not teach the first layer is a first planarization layer.
In an analogous art, Han teaches in Fig. 7 and paragraph [0096] a first planarization layer (117) disposed on an interlayer insulating layer (116); a second planarization layer (118) disposed on the first planarization layer (117); and a connection electrode (CM) is disposed between the first planarization layer (117) and the second planarization layer (118). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel based on the teachings of Han, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, because all the claimed elements (e.g., first planarization layer, interlayer insulating layer, second planarization layer, connection electrode) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Lim) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, Moon teaches the layer (115) may include silicon oxide (SiO2), silicon nitride (SiNx), silicon oxynitride (SiON), aluminum oxide (Al2O3), titanium oxide (TiO2), tantalum oxide (Ta2O5), hafnium oxide (HfO2), or zinc oxide (ZnO2), and Han teaches in paragraph [0097] the first planarization layer (117) may be made of these same materials; [t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 2, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Moon further teaches
wherein a thickness of a first point (e.g., end point of CE1’ near TA) of the cathode (CE1’) is less than a thickness of a second point (e.g., a point along sloping portion of CE1’ along sidewall of PDL 119) of the cathode (CE1’) {Fig. 6A}, and
wherein the first point (e.g., end point of CE1’ near TA) is closer to the light transmittance portion (TA) than the second point (e.g., a point along sloping portion of CE1’ along sidewall of PDL 119) {Fig. 6A}.
Regarding claim 11, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Moon further teaches wherein a surface of the light transmittance portion (TA) has a circle shape or a polygon shape {Figs. 1A, 1B, and 3 together with Fig. 5B illustrate TA has a closed plane bounded by three or more line segments (i.e., a polygon shape)}.
Regarding claim 12, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Moon further teaches wherein each of the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) comprises a pixel (Pa) corresponding to at least one of a red color, a green color, a blue color, and a white color {[0086]}.
Regarding claim 13, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display panel of claim 12, and Moon further teaches wherein a pixel density of the second area (DA2) is lower than a pixel density of the first area (DA1) {Figs. 5A, 5B; [0064]}.
Regarding claim 14, Moon teaches in Fig. 6A a display apparatus, comprising:
a display panel (10) comprising {Fig. 2; [0070]}:
a substrate (100) {[0071]};
a thin film transistor (TFT) having an active layer (A1), a gate electrode (G1), a first electrode ({S1/D1}/{S2/D2}) and a second electrode ({D1/S1}/{D2/S2}), disposed on the substrate (100) {[0142]};
an interlayer insulating layer (113) disposed on the gate electrode (G1) {[0147]};
a first layer (115) disposed on the interlayer insulating layer (113) {[0152]};
a second planarization layer (117) disposed on the first layer (115) {[0154]};
wherein the substrate (100) comprises:
a first area (DA1) in which a plurality of pixels (Pm) are disposed {Fig. 1A, 1B; [0062]}; and
a second area (DA2) comprising at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) {Fig. 5B; [0062, 0112]},
wherein each of the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) comprises:
at least one pixel (Pa) {Fig. 6A; [0136]}; and
a light transmittance portion (TA) disposed between the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) to transmit light {Fig. 5B; [0112]},
wherein the at least two pixel groups (e.g., left-side PDs, right-side PDs) are disposed on the second planarization layer (117) {Fig. 6A; [0137, 0154]},
wherein the at least one pixel (Pa) includes an anode (221’), an emission layer (222b’) and a cathode (CE1’) {Fig. 6A; [0107, 0154 0161]},
wherein the light transmittance portion (YA) includes an opening (opening between CE1’ corresponding to TA) in which the cathode (CE1’) is removed {Fig. 6A; [0120]}, and
wherein a connection electrode (connection electrode disposed directly between 115 and 117 and connected to {S1/D1}/{S2/D2}) is disposed between the first layer (115) and the second planarization layer (117),
wherein the first electrode ({S1/D1}/{S2/D2}) and the second electrode ({D1/S1}/{D2/S2}) are disposed on the interlayer insulating layer (113) {[0153]},
wherein each of the first electrode ({S1/D1}/{S2/D2}) and the second electrode ({D1/S1}/{D2/S2}) is connected to the active layer (A1) through a respective contact hole in the interlayer insulating layer (113) {[0153]}, and
wherein the connection electrode (connection electrode disposed directly between 115 and 117 and connected to {S1/D1}/{S2/D2}) connects one of the first electrode ({S1/D1}/{S2/D2}) and the second electrode ({D1/S1}/{D2/S2}) to the anode (221’) through a contact hole of the first layer.
Moon does not teach the first layer is a first planarization layer.
In an analogous art, Han teaches in Fig. 7 and paragraph [0096] a first planarization layer (117) disposed on an interlayer insulating layer (116); a second planarization layer (118) disposed on the first planarization layer (117); and a connection electrode (CM) is disposed between the first planarization layer (117) and the second planarization layer (118). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel based on the teachings of Han, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, because all the claimed elements (e.g., first planarization layer, interlayer insulating layer, second planarization layer, connection electrode) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Lim) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, Moon teaches the layer (115) may include silicon oxide (SiO2), silicon nitride (SiNx), silicon oxynitride (SiON), aluminum oxide (Al2O3), titanium oxide (TiO2), tantalum oxide (Ta2O5), hafnium oxide (HfO2), or zinc oxide (ZnO2), and Han teaches in paragraph [0097] the first planarization layer (117) may be made of these same materials; [t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 15, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, and Moon further teaches
wherein a thickness of a first point (e.g., end point of CE1’ near TA) of the cathode (CE1’) is less than a thickness of a second point (e.g., a point along sloping portion of CE1’ along sidewall of PDL 119) of the cathode (CE1’) {Fig. 6A}, and
wherein the first point (e.g., end point of CE1’ near TA) is closer to the light transmittance portion (TA) than the second point (e.g., a point along sloping portion of CE1’ along sidewall of PDL 119) {Fig. 6A}.
Regarding claim 19, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, and Moon further teaches wherein the display apparatus further includes an optical sensor (20) disposed on one side of the display panel (10) to correspond to the second area (DA2) {Fig. 2; [0075]}.
Regarding claim 20, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display apparatus of claim 19, and Moon further teaches wherein the optical sensor (20) comprises at least one of a camera and an infrared sensor {Fig. 2; [0075], infrared sensor}.
Regarding claim 25, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Moon further teaches wherein at least one of the first and second planarization layers (modified 115, 117) extends to the opening (opening between CE1’ corresponding to TA) of the light transmittance portion (TA) {Fig. 6B, 6C}.
Regarding claim 27, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, and Moon further teaches wherein at least one of the first and second planarization layers (modified 115, 117) extends to the opening (opening between CE1’ corresponding to TA) of the light transmittance portion (TA) {Fig. 6B, 6C}.
Claim(s) 4, 6-10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Han as applied to claim 1 (for claims 4 and 6-10) and claim 14 (for claim 17), and further in view of Jo et al. (US20200365667A1).
Regarding claim 4, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display panel of claim 1, but Moon does not teach further comprising
a hole formed to correspond to a boundary of the light transmittance portion,
wherein the cathode related to the at least one pixel is disposed in at least a part of the hole,
wherein the hole is provided in the second planarization layer based on removing at least a part of the second planarization layer, and
wherein the cathode is disposed in a first pixel among the at least one pixel included in the at least two pixel groups, and the cathode extends from the first pixel to an upper end of the hole.
In an analogous art, Jo teaches in Fig. 5:
a hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) formed to correspond to a boundary of a light transmittance portion (TA) {[0115]},
wherein a cathode (223) related to at least one pixel (Pa) is disposed in at least a part of the hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) {[0115]},
wherein the hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) is provided in the second planarization layer (117 and/or 199) based on removing at least a part of the second planarization layer (117 and/or 119) {[0115]}, and
wherein the cathode (223) is disposed in a first pixel (Pa) among the at least one pixel (Pa) included in the at least two pixel groups (left-side Pas, right-side Pas) {Fig. 4; [0080]}, and the cathode (223) extends from the first pixel (Pa) to an upper end of the hole (H3) {Fig. 5}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel as modified by Han based on the teachings of Jo, to achieve the above-identified features, so the light transmittance of the transmission area … may be enhanced. Jo [0115].
Examiner’s Note: the recitation of “based on removing” is a product-by-process feature that does not further limit the scope of the claim. [E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP §2113(I).
Regarding claim 6, Moon as modified by Han and Jo teaches the display panel of claim 4, but Moon does not teach wherein the hole comprises a plurality of sub-holes.
Jo teaches in Fig. 5 a hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) comprises a plurality of sub-holes (e.g., hole H3 and a portion of hole H2 above horizontal dashed line). The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to intermediate claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, Moon as modified by Han and Jo teaches the display panel of claim 6, but Moon does not teach wherein the plurality of sub-holes are divided by at least one column having a first height.
Jo teaches in Fig. 5 a plurality of sub-holes (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) are divided by at least one column (column of vertically sloping 222a and or 222c on sidewall of 117 and or 119 or, alternatively, column of 117 immediately adjacent H2) having a first height. The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to intermediate claim 4.
Regarding claim 8, Moon as modified by Han and Jo teaches the display panel of claim 7, but Moon does not teach wherein the first height is less than a depth of the hole.
Jo teaches in Fig. 5 a first height of a column (vertically sloping 222a and or 222c on sidewall of 117 or, alternatively, column of 117 immediately adjacent H2) is about the same depth of a hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) {see Examiner’s Note, below}. The instant application identifies no benefit derived from the first height of the column being less than a depth of the hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel as modified by Han and Jo based on the further teachings of Jo, to achieve the above-identified feature, because a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. MPEP §2144.05(I).
Examiner’s Note: “The Examiner is authorized to make a finding of relative dimensions that are, as here, clearly depicted in a drawing.” Ex parte Wright, 091818 USPTAB, 2017-001093 (Patent Trial and Appeal Board Decisions, 2018).
Regarding claim 9, Moon as modified by Han and Jo teaches the display panel of claim 4, but Moon does not teach wherein the emission layer associated with the at least one pixel is disposed in at least a portion of the hole.
Jo teaches in Fig. 5 an emission layer (222b) associated with at least one pixel (Pa) is disposed in at least a portion of a hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) {Fig. 6 illustrates emission layer 222b extending into H2 from H1; thus, emission layer 222b within H2 is continuous from H1 and portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line; [0120]}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel as modified by Han and Jo based on the further teachings of Jo, to achieve the above-identified feature, because all the claimed elements (e.g., emission layer, hole) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Jo) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 10, Moon as modified by Han and Jo teaches the display panel of claim 9, but Moon does not teach wherein the emission layer is disposed between an upper surface of the hole and the cathode.
Jo teaches in Fig. 6 an emission layer (222b) is disposed between an upper surface of a hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) and a cathode (223) {Fig. 6 illustrates emission layer 222b disposed between hole H2 and cathode 223 as both continuously extend from H1 and portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line; [0120]}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel as modified by Han and Jo based on the further teachings of Jo, to achieve the above-identified feature, because all the claimed elements (e.g., emission layer, hole, cathode) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Jo) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 17, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, but Moon does not teach further comprising
a hole formed to correspond to a boundary of the light transmittance portion,
wherein the cathode related to the at least one pixel is disposed in at least a part of the hole,
wherein the hole is provided in the second planarization layer based on removing at least a part of the second planarization layer, and
wherein the cathode is disposed in a first pixel among the at least one pixel included in the at least two pixel groups, and the cathode extends from the first pixel to an upper end of the hole.
Jo teaches in Fig. 5:
a hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) formed to correspond to a boundary of a light transmittance portion (TA) {[0115]},
wherein a cathode (223) related to at least one pixel (Pa) is disposed in at least a part of the hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) {[0115]},
wherein the hole (e.g., H3, portion of H2 above horizontal dashed line) is provided in the second planarization layer (117 and/or 199) based on removing at least a part of the second planarization layer (117 and/or 119) {[0115]}, and
wherein the cathode (223) is disposed in a first pixel (Pa) among the at least one pixel (Pa) included in the at least two pixel groups (left-side Pas, right-side Pas) {Fig. 4; [0080]}, and the cathode (223) extends from the first pixel (Pa) to an upper end of the hole (H3) {Fig. 5}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display apparatus as modified by Han based on the teachings of Jo, to achieve the above-identified features, so the light transmittance of the transmission area … may be enhanced. Jo [0115].
Examiner’s Note: the recitation of “based on removing” is a product-by-process feature that does not further limit the scope of the claim. [E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP §2113(I).
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Han as applied to claim 1 (for claim 22) and claim 14 (for claim 21), and further in view of Bang et al. (US20210273029A1).
Regarding claim 21, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, and Moon further teaches wherein the substrate (100) includes a first substrate (100) having a first thickness (implicit) {Fig. 6A; [0072]}.
Moon does not expressly teach:
a second substrate with a second thickness different from the first thickness, disposed on the first substrate, and
an inorganic layer positioned between the first substrate and the second substrate.
However, Moon teaches in paragraph [0072] [t]he substrate 100 may have a multi-layered structure including a layer including a polymer resin and an inorganic layer.
In an analogous art, Bang teaches in Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0049], [0051], and [0052] a substrate (100) includes a first substrate (101) having a first thickness, a second substrate (103) with a second thickness different from the first thickness, disposed on the first substrate (101), and an inorganic layer (102; SiN or SiO) positioned between the first substrate (101) and the second substrate (103). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display apparatus as modified by Han based on the teachings of Bang – such that the substrate includes a first substrate having a first thickness, a second substrate with a second thickness different from the first thickness, disposed on the first substrate, and an inorganic layer positioned between the first substrate and the second substrate – to prevent[] infiltration of external foreign materials into the display apparatus … through the substrate. Bang ¶0052.
Regarding claim 22, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Moon further teaches wherein the substrate (100) includes a first substrate (100) having a first thickness (implicit) {Fig. 6A; [0072]}.
Moon does not expressly teach:
a second substrate with a second thickness different from the first thickness, disposed on the first substrate, and
an inorganic layer positioned between the first substrate and the second substrate.
However, Moon teaches in paragraph [0072] [t]he substrate 100 may have a multi-layered structure including a layer including a polymer resin and an inorganic layer.
Bang teaches in Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0049], [0051], and [0052] a substrate (100) includes a first substrate (101) having a first thickness, a second substrate (103) with a second thickness different from the first thickness, disposed on the first substrate (101), and an inorganic layer (102; SiN or SiO) positioned between the first substrate (101) and the second substrate (103). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel as modified by Han based on the teachings of Bang – such that the substrate includes a first substrate having a first thickness, a second substrate with a second thickness different from the first thickness, disposed on the first substrate, and an inorganic layer positioned between the first substrate and the second substrate – to prevent[] infiltration of external foreign materials into the display apparatus … through the substrate. Bang ¶0052.
Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Han as applied to claim 1 (for claim 23) and claim 14 (for claim 24), and further in view of Son et al. (US20210335955A1).
Regarding claim 23, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display panel of claim 1, but Moon does not teach further comprising an encapsulation layer disposed on the at least one pixel, and a touch sensor disposed on the encapsulation layer.
In an analogous art, Son teaches in Fig. 11 and paragraph [0159] an encapsulation layer (TFE) disposed on at least one pixel (e.g., 170), and a touch sensor (SENL) disposed on the encapsulation layer (TFE). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel as modified by Han based on the teachings of Son, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, so as to provide a touch-screen display. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., encapsulation layer, pixel, touch sensor) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Son) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 24, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, but Moon does not teach further comprising an encapsulation layer disposed on the at least one pixel, and a touch sensor disposed on the encapsulation layer.
Son teaches in Fig. 11 and paragraph [0159] an encapsulation layer (TFE) disposed on at least one pixel (e.g., 170), and a touch sensor (SENL) disposed on the encapsulation layer (TFE). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel as modified by Han based on the teachings of Son, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, so as to provide a touch-screen display. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., encapsulation layer, pixel, touch sensor) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Son) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Han as applied to claim 1 (for claim 26) and claim 14 (for claim 28), and further in view of Chung et al. (US20200295300A1) and Han et al. (US20210305521A1).
Regarding claim 26, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display panel of claim 25, but Moon does not teach wherein the cathode is in contact with the at least one of the first and second planarization layers disposed around the transmittance portion.
In an analogous art, Chung teaches a cathode (223) is in contact with a planarization layer (117) disposed around a transmittance portion (TA). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel as modified by Han based on the teachings of Chung – such that the cathode is in contact with the at least one of the first and second planarization layers disposed around the transmittance portion – to prevent an arc from occurring at the edge of the pixel electrode. Han ‘521 [0189]. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., cathode, layer, transmittance portion) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Chung) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 28, Moon as modified by Han teaches the display apparatus of claim 27, but Moon does not teach wherein the cathode is in contact with the at least one of the first and second planarization layers disposed around the transmittance portion.
Chung teaches a cathode (223) is in contact with a planarization layer (117) disposed around a transmittance portion (TA). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon’s display panel as modified by Han based on the teachings of Chung – such that the cathode is in contact with the at least one of the first and second planarization layers disposed around the transmittance portion – to prevent an arc from occurring at the edge of the pixel electrode. Han ‘521 [0189]. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., cathode, layer, transmittance portion) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Chung) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891