DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 10, 11, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (US 2020/0380238 A1) in view of Lillie et al. (US 2018/0211078 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zeng discloses a sensing device (Fig. 4), comprising:
a first substrate (unlabeled bottommost layer in Fig. 4);
a first sensing element (40), located on the first substrate;
a light-emitting element (combination of 20b and 20c), located on the first sensing element and comprising a light-emitting body (leftmost 20b in Fig. 4), a first pad (planar portion of 20c directly above 22 to the immediate right of the light-emitting) and a second pad (planar portion of 20c directly above 22 to the right of the first pad);
a light-shielding layer (combination of layers 52d, 52h, and 10), located between the light-emitting element and the first sensing element, and electrically connected to the light-emitting element (electrical connection via tapered section of component 20a);
a third electrode (middle 20a) electrically connected to the first pad of the light-emitting element; and
a fourth electrode (right 20a) electrically connected to the second pad of the light-emitting element,
wherein the third electrode and the fourth electrode are disposed between the light-shielding layer and the light-emitting element (see Fig. 4).
Zeng does not explicitly disclose the construction of the first sensing element in order to determine if it includes a first electrode, a second electrode, and a first sensing layer located therebetween.
Lillie, in the same field of endeavor, discloses forming sensing elements to comprise a first electrode (NAV_Z2 in Fig. 8), a second electrode (WOF_TX-), and a first sensing layer (NAV_Z3) located therebetween. Lillie discloses a benefit to such a configuration in that it allows for the formation of a hybrid sensing element which responds to both capacitive as well as optical inputs (Abstract of Lillie) which allows for more types of input. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date to use the sensing element configuration of Lillie for the first sensing element of Zeng for this benefit.
Regarding claim 2, Zeng further discloses wherein an orthographic projection of the first sensing element on the first substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the light-emitting element on the first substrate (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, as Applicant has not yet limited what may be considered a “light angle control layer”, leftmost planar section 20a shown in Fig. 4 may be considered a light angle control layer as a portion of the light reflects off the planar section (¶ 0049), this layer is located between the light-shielding layer and the light-emitting element, wherein the light-shielding layer and the light angle control layer are respectively electrically connected to the two pads of the light-emitting elements.
With regards to an orthographic projection of the first sensing layer of the first sensing element on the first substrate being completely overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light angle control layer on the first substrate, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the Application was filed to minimize the area of the individual sensing layers within the first sensing element to be significantly smaller than the area of the light angle control layer for the benefit of increasing the resolution of the sensor. Minimizing the individual sensing layers the be significantly smaller than the area of the light angle control layer will result in one of the individual sensing layers (corresponding to the first sensing layer) directly beneath the center of the light angle control layer to have an orthographic projection completely overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light angle control layer on the first substrate.
Regarding claim 6, Zeng further discloses wherein the sensing device comprises a second sensing element (layer 50; this layer is considered a sensing element as it is necessary for the sensor to function as reflected light must travel through this layer), located between the light-shielding layer and the fourth electrode.
Regarding claim 7, Zeng further discloses wherein an electrode of the second sensing element (52c) is electrically connected to the fourth electrode (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Zeng further discloses wherein an orthographic projection of the second sensing element on the first substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the first sensing element on the first substrate (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Zeng further discloses wherein the device further comprises a second sensing element (layer 22; this layer is considered a sensing element as it is necessary for the sensor to function as reflected light must travel through this layer), wherein the first sensing element and the second sensing element are located on different sides of the light-emitting element.
Regarding claim 11, Zeng further discloses wherein an orthographic projection of the second sensing element on the first substrate is outside an orthographic projection of the light-emitting element on the first substrate (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Zeng further discloses wherein the first sensing element is a fingerprint sensing element (¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 14, Zeng further discloses wherein the first pad and the second pad are disposed on the same side of the light-emitting body (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Zeng further discloses a flat layer (11 in Fig. 4) located between the light angle control layer and the light-shielding layer, wherein the light angle control layer extends from above the flat layer toward the light-shielding layer along a side wall of the flat layer close to a first side of the first sensing element (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Zeng further discloses wherein light rays enter the first sensing layer of the first sensing element through a lateral light-transmitting opening in the flat layer close to a second side of the first sensing element opposite to the first side (opening between portions of 10 shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Zeng further discloses wherein a second sensing layer (52g in Fig. 4) is sandwiched between an electrode of the second sensing element (52c) and the light angle control layer (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Zeng further discloses wherein an orthographic projection of a second sensing layer (a single 52a in Fig. 4) of the second sensing element on the first substrate is completely overlapped with an orthographic projection of the first sensing layer on the first substrate (taking the first sensing layer to be the entirety of the planar section of the first sensing element which extends from the top of NAV_Z3 to the bottom of NAV_Z3 in Fig. 8 of Lillie and horizontally extending to the lateral sidewalls of the first sensing element (i.e., it’s orthographic projection is equal to the orthographic projection of 40 in Fig. 4 of Zeng).
Regarding claim 19, Zeng discloses a sensing device (Fig. 4), comprising:
a first substrate (unlabeled bottommost layer in Fig. 4);
a first sensing element (40), located on the first substrate;
a light-emitting element (combination of 20b and 20c), located on the first sensing element;
a light-shielding layer (combination of layers 52d, 52h, and 10), located between the light-emitting element and the first sensing element, and electrically connected to the light-emitting element (electrical connection via tapered section of component 20a);
wherein the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting body (leftmost 20b in Fig. 4), a first pad (planar portion of 20c directly above 22 to the immediate right of the light-emitting) and a second pad (planar portion of 20c directly above 22 to the right of the first pad)
Zeng does not explicitly disclose the construction of the first sensing element in order to determine if it includes a first electrode, a second electrode, and a first sensing layer located therebetween.
Lillie, in the same field of endeavor, discloses forming sensing elements to comprise a first electrode (NAV_Z2 in Fig. 8), a second electrode (WOF_TX-), and a first sensing layer (NAV_Z3) located therebetween. Lillie discloses a benefit to such a configuration in that it allows for the formation of a hybrid sensing element which responds to both capacitive as well as optical inputs (Abstract of Lillie) which allows for more types of input. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date to use the sensing element configuration of Lillie for the first sensing element of Zeng for this benefit.
With regards to an orthographic projection of the first sensing layer of the first sensing element on the first substrate being completely overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light-emitting body on the first substrate, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the Application was filed to minimize the area of the individual sensing layers within the first sensing element to be significantly smaller than the area of the light-emitting body for the benefit of increasing the resolution of the sensor. Minimizing the individual sensing layers the be significantly smaller than the area of the light emitting body will result in one of the individual sensing layers (corresponding to the first sensing layer) directly beneath the center of the light emitting body to have an orthographic projection completely overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light emitting body on the first substrate.
Regarding claim 20, Zeng further discloses wherein the sensing device comprises a second sensing element (layer 50; this layer is considered a sensing element as it is necessary for the sensor to function as reflected light must travel through this layer), located between the light-emitting layer and the first sensing element, wherein an orthographic projection of a second sensing layer (52c directly beneath the light-emitting body) of the second sensing element on the first substrate is completely overlapped with the orthographic projection of the light-emitting body on the first substate (see Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng in view of Lillie as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwak et al. (US 2020/0212267 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Zeng does not disclose that the light-emitting element emits invisible light.
However, emitting invisible light and the corresponding function was known in the art (¶ 0154 of Kwak, invisible light emission combined with a wavelength conversion element to emit visible light to the user). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date to have substituted the known element of invisible light emission as taught by Kwak for zero emission of invisible light of Zeng and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. (see MPEP § 2143(I)(B)).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng in view of Lillie as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2021/0326556 A1).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Zeng further discloses wherein the device further comprises a second sensing element (layer 22; this layer is considered a sensing element as it is necessary for the sensor to function as reflected light must travel through this layer), wherein the first sensing element and the second sensing element are located on different sides of the light-emitting element.
Zeng does not disclose that the second sensing element is an organic photodiode.
Sun, in the same field of endeavor, discloses using organic photodiodes as sensing elements (¶ 0038 and Fig. 3 of Sun) which is connected to circuitry closer to the substrate (see Fig. 3). There was a benefit to using organic photodiodes as such in that provides a sensing element closer to the top surface of the device, increasing the accuracy of the sensor by minimizing the distance light needs to travel to be sensed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date to place an organic photodiode in the second sensing element of Zeng (a portion of which is above the light-emitting element) and connected to circuitry closer to the substrate (i.e., the first sensing element) for this benefit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Zeng does not disclose a third and fourth electrode as claimed. This argument is not persuasive as Zeng discloses these electrodes as discussed in the rejection above.
Applicant further argues that Lillie does not disclose the third and fourth electrodes. This argument is not persuasive as Lillie is not relied upon for disclosing these electrodes.
Applicant further argues that the previously cited prior art does not disclose the newly added claims 17-18. This argument is not persuasive as the limitations of these claims are obvious over the previously cited art, as discussed in the rejections above.
Applicant further argues that the prior art does not disclose the entirety of new claims 19-20. This argument is not persuasive as the entirety of claims 19 and 20 are either taught by or obvious over the combination of Zeng in view of Lillie, as discussed in the rejections above.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A CULBERT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2815