DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on December 4th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-11 remain pending in the application.
Specification
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.”. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are:
Paragraph 50-51 states that the heating building 1 is comprised of a heating device 11, as well as a process module 5 which comprises of an air building 2 with a fan 21. However, paragraph 84 reads as the air building and the heating building being separate. This contradiction in the specification also contradicts with what is being claimed in Claim 1.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the relationship between the heating building and the air building, which houses the fan, must be shown clearly in the drawings. Claim 1 states that the heating building houses the fan but the Figure 1-5 and 9 in the drawing shows them as separate and different components. This contradiction in the drawing contradicts with what is being claimed in Claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
In Claim 1: Starting Module
Reference is made to the Specification filed on 04/22/2022 for what each Generic Placeholder is interpreted as:
Interpretations:
Starting Module is referred to as a base module which can be a process chamber such as the germinating/kiln-drying units (Paragraph 21, 33, and Figure 1, Base Unit 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 10, In the present instance, claim 10 recites that one or more process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units is comprised of a plurality of process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the invention has one or more process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units, since the number of process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units is unclear.
Regarding Claim 11, In the present instance, claim 11 recites that one or more fresh air channels and one or more return air channels is comprised of a plurality of fresh air channels and a plurality of return air channels. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the invention has one or more fresh air channels and a plurality of return air channels, since the number of fresh air channels and a plurality of return air channels is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charles (US Patent No. 2500775) in view of Ravoet (FR Patent No. 590456).
Regarding Claim 1, Charles teaches a heating building for a malting plant, comprising a heating device (Figure 1 and Col 1 Line 4-7, Malting Plant with Heat source 3), at least one heat exchanger (Col 2 Line 22-27, Heat Exchanger), a central kiln-drying fan (Figure 1, Fan 1), the heating building being configured to be connectable to one or more process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units via one or more fresh air channels and one or more return air channels (Figure 1, Germinating drum or chamber 8 is connected to the Heat Source 3 and Fan 1 through Air Ducts with a fresh air Duct 9 and a recirculating duct 6).
Charles fails to teach that the heating building is disconnect able from the drying unit.
Ravoet teaches a malting apparatus (Paragraph and Figure 1, Malting Apparatus) where the heating building is detachably connected to a start module of a process chamber or germinating/kiln drying unit (Paragraph 5 and Figure 5, Drying boxes are independent and can be removed from the apparatus which includes furnace 5. This reads as the Drying unit is detachable from the heating source).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charles to incorporate a heating building that can be disconnected from the drying unit as stated in Ravoet. This installation methods allows for complete replacement of old kilning equipment (Paragraph 5, Drying Boxes).
Regarding Claim 2, Charles in view of Ravoet teaches that at least one heat exchanger (Charles: Col 2 Line 22-27, Heat Exchanger), the heating device (Charles: Figure 1 and Col 1 Line 4-7, Heat source 3) and the central kiln-drying fan (Charles: Figure 1, Fan 1) are configured to temperature-control fresh air and/or circulation air (Charles: Col 3 Line 20-41, the conditions in the malting process is temperature controlled using the Fan, the Heat Exchanger, and the Heat Source).
Regarding Claim 3, Charles in view of Ravoet teaches that the kiln-drying fan is configured to selectively conduct temperature-controlled air via the one or more fresh air channels to the at least one germinating/kiln-drying unit (Charles: Figure 1, Showcases Fan 1 drawing air from fresh air Duct 9 and into Chamber 8) and to selectively conduct the air back into the heating building via the one or more return air channels via the at least one heat exchanger or directly to the heating device (Charles: Figure 1, Air is drawn back into Fan 1 and heat source through recirculating duct 6).
Regarding Claim 10, Charles fails to teach that one or more process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units comprise a plurality of process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units, and the heating building is configured to be connectable to the plurality of process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units.
Ravoet teaches a malting apparatus (Paragraph and Figure 1, Malting Apparatus) where one or more process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units comprise a plurality of process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units, and the heating building is configured to be connectable to the plurality of process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units. (Paragraph 5 and Figure 5, Multiple Drying boxes are independent and can be removed from the apparatus which includes furnace 5. This reads as the Drying units are detachable from the heating source).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charles in view of Holtkamp to incorporate a heating building that can be disconnected from the drying unit as stated in Ravoet. This installation methods allows for complete replacement of old kilning equipment (Paragraph 5, Drying Boxes).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charles (US Patent No. 2500775) in view of Ravoet (FR Patent No. 590456) and further in view of Holtkamp (DE Patent No. 202008006186).
Regarding Claim 4, Charles fails to teach that at least one of up to seven process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units are connectable to the heating building, or a capacity level of grain germinated and kiln-dried in the malting plant with the heating device is adjustable from 16 t/batch and day to 56 t/batch and day by a number of process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units connected to the heating building.
Ravoet teaches a malting apparatus (Paragraph and Figure 1, Malting Apparatus) where at least one of up to seven process chambers or germinating/kiln- drying units are connectable to the heating building (Paragraph 5, Multiple Drying boxes as needed can be used in the apparatus),
Ravoet teaches the claimed invention except that the ranges do not match. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the workable ranges, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and modifying the number of drying units connected would allow for the needed malting production. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05-II.
Furthermore, since applicants have not disclosed that these modifications solve any stated problem or are for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs, these modifications are a matter of design choice. Absent a teaching as to criticality of germinating/kiln- drying units connected to the heating building is up to seven. This particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). MPEP 2144.05.
Charles in view of Ravoet fails to teach the capacity level of grain germinated and kiln-dried.
Holtkamp teaches a malting apparatus (Figure 1, Malting Apparatus) where a capacity level of grain germinated and kiln-dried in the malting plant with a heating device is adjustable from 16 t/batch and day to 56 t/batch and day by a number of process chambers or germinating/kiln-drying units connected to the heating building (Paragraph 48, Malt production is up to 100,000 t/a).
Holtkamp teaches the claimed invention except that the ranges do not match. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the workable ranges, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and modifying the capacity level of grain germinated and kiln-dried would allow for needed malting production. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05-II.
Furthermore, since applicants have not disclosed that these modifications solve any stated problem or are for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs, these modifications are a matter of design choice. Absent a teaching as to criticality the capacity level of grain germinated and kiln-dried is between 16 t/batch and day to 56 t/batch and day. This particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 5, Charles in view of Ravoet fails to teach that the heat exchanger is outside the heating building.
Holtkamp teaches a malting apparatus (Figure 1, Malting Apparatus) where the at least one heat exchanger is arranged outside the heating building (Figure 1, Heat Exchangers 7, 10 and 12 are not located within any compartments or buildings).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charles in view of Ravoet to incorporate a heat exchanger as stated in Holtkamp. The Cross-flow glass tube heat exchangers used help with heat recovery which helps reduce fuel consumption (Paragraph 11, Heat Recovery).
Regarding Claim 6, Charles in view of Ravoet fails to teach a malting apparatus with a heat exchanger.
Holtkamp teaches a malting apparatus (Figure 1, Malting Apparatus) where the at least one heat exchanger is configured for heat recovery (Paragraph 11, Cross-flow glass tube heat exchangers is used for heat Recovery).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charles in view of Ravoet to incorporate a heat exchanger as stated in Holtkamp. The Cross-flow glass tube heat exchangers used help with heat recovery which helps reduce fuel consumption (Paragraph 11, Heat Recovery).
Claim 7-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charles (US Patent No. 2500775) in view of Ravoet (FR Patent No. 590456) and further in view of Graff (DE Patent No. 1078518).
Regarding Claim 7, Charles in view of Ravoet fails to teach that where the heating device comprises a gas burner and/or heating coil and/or a boiler and/or geothermal energy and/or a heat pump and/or a solar system.
Graff teaches a malting plant (Paragraph 1, Malting Plant) where the heating device comprises a gas burner and/or heating coil and/or a boiler and/or geothermal energy and/or a heat pump and/or a solar system (Paragraph 8, Burner 47 can be fueled by gas).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charles in view of Ravoet to incorporate a gas burner as stated in Graff . The gas burners heat the air during the drying step of the malting process (Paragraph 8, Burners).
Regarding Claim 8, Charles in view of Ravoet fails to teach that the heating building further comprising an air building for each connected process chamber or germinating/kiln-drying unit, wherein the heat exchanger and/or a germinating fan is/are arranged in the respective air building and wherein the heating device is arranged in the heating building
Graff teaches a malting plant (Paragraph 1, Malting Plant) where the heating building further comprising an air building for each connected process chamber or germinating/kiln-drying unit (Graff: Figure 1, Blower chamber 35 is connected to Chamber 19 which is the germinating/kiln-drying unit), wherein the heat exchanger and/or a germinating fan is/are arranged in the respective air building and wherein the heating device is arranged in the heating building (Graff: Figure 1, Blower 33 is in Blower chamber 35. Figure 1, Burners 47 is in Base 17).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charles in view of Ravoet to incorporate the arrangement of the heat exchanger, heating building, air building, and heating device as stated in Graff. The courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Furthermore, since applicants have not disclosed that these modifications solve any stated problem or are for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs, these modifications are a matter of design choice. Absent a teaching as to criticality of this particular arrangement, since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. (MPEP § 2144.04-VI-C.).
Regarding Claim 9, Charles in view of Ravoet and Graff teaches that the heating building further comprises, for each connected process chamber or germinating/kiln-drying unit, an air channel connecting the air building with a respective connected process chamber or germinating/kiln-drying unit (Charles: Figure 1, Chamber 8 and Connects to Fan 1 and air conditioner 2 through duct 4), and the air channel is externally mounted and configured to convey exhaust air from the process chamber or germinating/kiln-drying unit to the germinating fan (Charles: Figure 1, External mounted recirculating air duct 6 introduces air to the fan 1 from the chamber 8 air outlet 5) and/or to convey hot air from the heating device into the process chamber or germinating/kiln-drying unit (Charles: Figure 1, Air blows from Heating Source 3 to Chamber 78 through externally mounted duct 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 4th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, page 7-8 , that Graff, Holtkamp, and Raveot cannot be combined due to structurally differences. However, "The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference.... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art." In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981).
Applicants argues, Page 8-9, that there is no implied teaching that the heating building is detachable from the germinating and drying units. This limitation is taught by Raveot and one cannot show non obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references (MPEP 2145(IV)). Furthermore, Applicants argues against obvious modification of Graff, Holtkamp, and Raveot yet fails to provide evidence as to why.
Applicants argues, Page 9, that Holtkamp only describes components of a malting plant and does not teach a heating building. However, the heating building is taught by Graff. One cannot show non obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references (MPEP 2145(IV)).
Applicants argues, Page 10, that Raveot does not teach that the germinating and drying units are detachable from the heating building in the way the claimed invention claims. However, Claim 1 fails to provide details on how the heating building and the germinating and drying units are connected and disconnected. There is no structure that points to how that connection is achieved.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMZEH HICHAM AMIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761