DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 12-14, and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pahlevaninezhad et al. (2022/0247204), Zhuang et al. (2019/0238088), and Vavilpalli et al. (2021/0211066).
Regarding independent claim 1, Pahlevaninezhad teaches an energy storage system (Figs. 7 and 37), comprising:
a plurality of converter modules (102’s) electrically coupled together to form an array, wherein the array is configured to output an AC signal, each converter module of the plurality of converter modules comprising:
a DC/DC converter (inside 116; aka 284, 286, 288 in Fig. 25) configured to electrically couple with a photovoltaic (PV) source (112) and configured to convert an input DC voltage from the PV source to a first DC converter output voltage ([0034], [0040]), wherein the DC/DC converter (Fig. 25) comprises:
a transformer (322),
a first DC/AC converter (284) coupled to the primary side of the transformer,
a second DC/AC converter (288), which is bidirectional, coupled to a secondary side of the transformer ([0034] teaches power flow between components), and
a third DC/AC converter (286), which is bidirectional, coupled to a side of the transformer ([0133]);
an energy source (114) electrically coupled with the DC/DC converter;
a power connection (Left of 108 in Fig. 37) configured to output an AC module voltage of the module;
a fourth DC/AC converter coupled to the second DC/AC converter of the DC/DC converter, and configured to convert the first DC converter output voltage to the AC module voltage ([0040]),
wherein the DC/DC converter is configured to electrically couple with the PV source through the first DC/AC converter, and the transformer is configured to (i) operate as an energy hub to receive energy from the PV source at the primary side through the first DC-AC converter and output energy to the energy source through the third DC-AC converter and at the secondary side to the power connection through the second DC-AC converter and (ii) transfer energy bidirectionally between the power connection and the energy source ([0133]); and
a local control device ([0033], “control module”; 316 in Fig. 25B) configured to control the DC/DC converter and the fourth DC/AC converter to selectively route energy (i) from the PV source to the energy source of the converter module or (ii) from the PV source to the power connection of the converter module ([0133]).
Pahlevaninezhad teaches examples of cascaded converter modules (i.e. Fig. 35) but fails to explicitly teach the claimed plurality of converter modules (like the ones in Fig. 37) electrically coupled together in a cascaded fashion configured to output an AC signal comprising a superposition of AC module voltages from the plurality of converter modules. Zhuang teaches a similar power distribution system (Fig. 3) to that of Pahlevaninezhad. Zhuang teaches a plurality of converter modules (i.e. 3 shown for each phase; very similar to the converter modules in Pahlevaninezhad) electrically coupled together in cascaded fashion to form an array that outputs an AC signal comprising a superposition of AC module voltages from the plurality of converter modules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Zhuang’s cascaded converter module configuration into Pahlevaninezhad’s invention for their circuit configuration in Fig. 37, since it involves a mere simple substitution of one configuration for another to perform the same function of outputting a combined AC signal to a load/grid to power the load/grid.
Pahlevaninezhad arguably fails to explicitly teach the second DC/AC converter being bidirectional, and also fails to teach the claimed energy buffer. Vavilpalli teaches a similar energy storage system (Fig. 5A) to that of Pahlevaninezhad. Vavilpalli teaches the idea of an energy buffer (C2) electrically coupled between an energy source (BATTERY-n) and a converter ((DC-DC)n), and also teaches the idea of the converter (510; similar to Pahlevaninezhad’s second DC/AC converter) being bidirectional ([0071]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an energy buffer between Pahlevaninezhad’s energy source (i.e. battery) and their third DC/AC converter, since Vavilpalli teaches a similar circuit configuration and it would allow for protection of the energy source against voltage transients in the circuit. It also would have been obvious to have Pahlevaninezhad’s second DC/AC converter being bidirectional to allow the power to flow throughout all elements in their system.
Pahlevaninezhad also fails to explicitly teach the third DC/AC converter (286) being coupled to the secondary side of the transformer (and not the first, as shown in Fig. 25C). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the third DC/AC converter (286) to the secondary side of the transformer, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (and the invention would perform the exact same way with the third DC/AC converter on the secondary side). In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Pahlevaninezhad fails to explicitly teach a plurality of arrays of converter modules as claimed. Vavilpalli teaches (Fig. 5A) the idea of a plurality of arrays (n arrays inside phase R shown in Fig. 5A), each having its own AC output signal (via each of the n DC/AC inverters in the R-phase of 510), its own plurality of converter modules electrically coupled together in a cascaded fashion, and each AC output signal comprises a superposition of AC module voltages from their plurality of converter modules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a plurality of arrays into Pahlevaninezhad’s invention, since Vavilpalli teaches the idea and it would allow for redundant AC output power in their energy storage system.
Regarding claim 12, Zhuang teaches (Fig. 2) the DC-DC converters of the converter modules of each array (A, B, or C) are connected in a daisy chain arrangement.
Regarding claim 13, similar to the rejection of claims 6 and 7 above, Vavilpalli teaches the system comprising a second instance of arrays (i.e. phase Y or B in Fig. 5A) comprising fourth, fifth, and sixth arrays. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a second instance of arrays into Pahlevaninezhad’s invention to be able to supply different phases of AC power to the system.
Regarding claim 14, Vavilpalli teaches the idea of replacing the PV source(s) with a wind source (Fig. 3B; [0024], [0059], [0069], [0183], claim 9). Therefore, it would be obvious for the Pahlevaninezhad/Vavilpalli combination to teach the power connection of the first converter module of each of the first, second, and third plurality of converter modules being electrically coupled to a wind source.
Regarding claims 24 and 26, Zhuang teaches a master control device configured to communicate with/instruct a local control device to route the energy from the PV source throughout the system ([0070]; the various controllers in communication with each other).
Regarding claim 25, Pahlevaninezhad teaches the transformer being configured to receive energy from or provide energy to an entity according to a state of at least one of: the PV source, the energy source, a DC bus, the power connection or a fuel cell. ([0034])
Regarding claim 27, Vavilpalli teaches a control system that comprises a master control device and the local control device, wherein the control system is configured to monitor energy flows throughout the system (including Pahlevaninezhad’s transformer). (Vavilpalli’s Figs. 8, 10, 12 and [0173]-[0189])
Regarding claim 28, Pahlevaninezhad teaches the DC/DC converter (Fig. 25) comprising:
a first sub-converter (284) coupled to the transformer (322) and configured to convert the DC input voltage from the PV source (Solar) to a first AC voltage, wherein the transformer is arranged to transform the first AC voltage into a second AC voltage; and
a second sub-converter (288) coupled to the transformer and configured to convert the second AC voltage into the DC converter output voltage.
Regarding claim 29, Pahlevaninezhad teaches the DC/DC converter comprising a third sub-converter (286) coupled to the transformer and configured to convert a third AC voltage from the transformer into an additional DC converter output voltage (to the battery).
Regarding claim 30, the Pahlevaninezhad/Vavilpalli combination teaches the energy buffer (of Vavilpalli) being coupled to the third sub-converter (286 of Pahlevaninezhad) of the DC/DC converter (and the energy source/battery).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s assertions. The Examiner still believes that moving the third DC-AC converter and energy store to the secondary side of the transformer in Pahlevaninezhad is a mere rearrangement of parts and the invention would operate the exact same as if it were on the primary side of the transformer. Another patent reference (Batson et al. – 6,400,043), shows an example of what the Examiner is referring to. Batson teaches a similar circuit arrangement (Fig. 1) to that of Pahlevaninezhad. Batson teaches a main power source (at 76; similar to Pahlevaninezhad’s PV source), an energy source (40), and a power connection (connected to load, 70), wherein a DC-AC converter (20) and the energy source are connected on the secondary side of the transformer (60), and operates in the same way as Pahlevaninezhad (Col. 3, lines 10-64 of Batson).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Batson et al. (6,400,043), which teaches a similar circuit configuration to that of Pahlevaninezhad, wherein the third DC-AC converter is connected on the secondary side of the transformer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DMP
5/12/2026
/DANIEL KESSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836