DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of invention I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on June 27, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the method, apparatus and non-transitory computer-readable medium are not independent inventions but rather different facet of the same underlying invention. This is not found persuasive because while the three groups have overlapping scope, these inventions belong to different statutory categories (method, apparatus), which require different consideration and a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries). ind
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (EP0221184) in view of Azuma (US5683547) and McCord (US6586736), and evidenced by Stewart (US20050279934).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches a method of repairing a mask (sample) by forming material on the defect portion of the mask (page 1, field of technology, page 7 to page 8 embodiment 2) (a method of depositing material over a localized region of a sample). Sato teaches to position the sample on the sample stage 35 in the vacuum chamber 39 to be example by scanning of ion beam 32 (under a field of view of a charged particle beam column) (page 7 to page 8 embodiment 2, figure 2). Sato teaches to direct the compound vapor (deposition precursor gas) through a nozzle 22 (gas injection nozzle) into the chamber, wherein the nozzle outlet is at the location adjacent to the surface of the sample (deposition region) (page 7 to page 8 embodiment 2, figure 2). Sato teaches to form a thin film on defects by reaction between the compound vapor and ion beam (generating a charged particle beam with the charged practice beam column) and direct the charged particle beam within the deposition region of the sample (page 7 to page 8 embodiment 2, figure 2). Sato teaches the defect of the sample is repaired by scanning of the ion beam (scanning the charged particle beam across the deposition region of the sample to activate molecules of the deposition gas and deposit material on the sample within the deposition region). Sato’s compound vapor (deposition gas) is considered to have adhered to the sample surface in the deposition region as the compound vapor has been supplied to the surface.
Sato does not explicitly teach the charged particle beam is focused (focused ion beam). However, Azuma teaches a method of using a focused energy beam, ion or electron, to locally depositing material on a surface of a sample by inducing a reaction with a chemical vapor by the forced energy beam on a irradiating area (abstract, column 1 lines 8-25). Azuma further teaches to arrange a gas nozzle14 in a discoidal form right above the sample (figures 1-6, column 6 lines 15-45, column 10 lines 5-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the focused ion beam and arrange a gas nozzle14 in a discoidal form right above the sample as suggested by Azuma in the method of Sato as Azuma teaches the focused beam facilitate the local film formation by ion beam (column 1 lines 8-25) and such nozzle distribute the reactant gas in the deposition area uniformly (column 6 line 15-25, column 10 lines 20-26).
Sato in view of Azuma does not explicitly teach to apply a negative bias voltage to the gas injection nozzle. However, McCord teaches a method of generating an image of a sample with an electron beam apparatus (abstract). McCord teaches excess positive charge is being generated on the surface of the sample during the scanning of the electron beam (column 1 lines 25-30). Since Azuma teaches focused ion beam and electron beam and interchangeable for the deposition, it would be reasonably expected that Sato’s ion beam deposition process also creates similar effect and exceess positive charge on the surface of the sample. In addition, electrical charge being accumulated on the substate by charged particle beam (ion beam and/or electron beam) during the deposition is evidenced by Stewart (paragraph 0005). McCord teaches the charge to controlled by providing an electrode over the surface to be scanned, wherein the electrode has an opening though which a beam io incident particle may pass and strike the surface of the sample, a negative voltage is applied to the electrode such that at least one of the emitted parties (secondary electrons/ions) from the surface are repelled away from the electrode and towards the surface to cancel positive charge that has built up on the surface (column 1 lines 45-61). Since Azuma teaches the nozzle is in discoidal form with opening through which a beam of ion is pass and strike the surface of the sample and it is being placed right above the sample (see figures 1-6), it would be obvious to use the discoidal nozzle as the electrode and apply negative bias to the nozzle in light of the teaching of McCord. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the negative bias to the electrode (nozzle) as suggested by McCord in the method of Sato in view of Azuma because McCord teaches the negative charge on the electrode (nozzle) respells some of the secondary ions back to the surface of the sample so that the charge of the sample is controlled, which facilitates the image generation during sample scanning (column 1 lines 45-60).
Regarding claim 2, Sato teaches the particle beam column is ion beam column and the charged particle beam is ion beam (page 7 to page 8 embodiment 2, figure 2). Azuma teaches the particle beam column is focused ion beam column and the charged particle beam is focused ion beam (abstract, column 1 lines 8-25; column 5 lines 60-68, figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Azuma teaches the gas injection nozzle is positioned between a tip of the charged particle column and the sample (see figures 1-6, column 6 lines 7-40).
Regarding claim 4, Azuma teaches the gas injection nozzle includes a channel formed through a distal end of the nozzle that is aligned to allow the focused ion beam to pass through the channel to the sample (see thought hole 15, figures 2a and 2b).
Regarding claims 5-6, McCord teaches the predetermined voltage is selected to repel some of the charged ion emitted from the sample back toward the sample such that charged accumulated on the surface of the sample is controlled, which allow enough emitted particles to reach the detector and image generator such that the image may be analyzed (column 4 lines 40-55). Therefore, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the negative bias voltage in the process to yield the desired control of the sample surface charge, and allow enough emitted particles to reach the detector and image generator such that the image may be analyzed. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Regarding claim 7, Sato teaches the sample is semiconductor wafer (page 1 background technology, page 11 utilization possibility in industry).
Conclusion
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/ Examiner, Art Unit 1717