Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai et al. (US 2019/0115287, hereinafter Derai) in view of Bin Mohd Arshad (US 2012/0306065, hereinafter Bin Mohd).
With respect to claim 1, Derai discloses a method (Para 0160) comprising:
providing leadframes (14 of Fig. 2 – Para 0123); depositing a die (12) on a die attach pad of each leadframe (Para 0054 – die pad); attaching wire bonds (20) from the die to bonding surfaces of contacts of each leadframe (Para 0065 & 0158 – wire -bonding);
depositing a mold compound (16) overlying the leadframes (Fig. 2), the mold compound encapsulating each of the die and the wire bonds (16 encapsulates die 12 and wire bonds 20); ablating, via a laser (Para 0097; and 0109), the mold compound in an ablation pathway aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes (Fig. 11-13).
Derai does not explicitly disclose an array of leadframes and singulating the array of leadframes to form electronic device packages, wherein each contact comprises at least one groove in a surface opposite the bonding surface and the grooves are exposed from the electronic device packages.
In an analogous art, Bin Mohd discloses an array of leadframes and singulating the array of leadframes to form electronic device packages (Para 0003 &0020 -
discrete devices are singulated from the leadframe strip by cutting through the encapsulation compound and the plated metal segments with a saw), wherein each contact comprises at least one groove in a surface opposite the bonding surface (422 of Fig. 3C – Para 0026-0027) and the grooves are exposed from the electronic device packages (Para 0019; 0031). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai’s method by having Bin Mohd’s disclosure in order to provide a locking mechanism with other components of a semiconductor device.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Bin Mohd in view of Sirinorakul et al. (US 2010/0311208, hereinafter Sirinorakul).
With respect to claim 2, Derai/Bin Mohd does not explicitly disclose wherein prior to depositing a die on the die attach pad of each leadframe of the array of leadframes, the method further comprising performing a first etching process to form the die attach pad and the contacts in each leadframe of the array of leadframes.
In an analogous art, Sirinorakul discloses wherein prior to depositing a die on the die attach pad of each leadframe of the array of leadframes (Para 0007-0008), the method further comprising performing a first etching process to form the die attach pad and the contacts in each leadframe of the array of leadframes (Para 0040 & 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Bin Mohd’s method by having Sirinorakul’s disclosure in order to attach different components of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 3, Derai does not explicitly disclose wherein performing a second etching process to form the grooves.
In an analogous art, Bin Mohd discloses wherein performing a second etching process to form the grooves (Para 0016-0017). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai’s method by having Bin Moh’s disclosure in order to manufacture and connect different components of a semiconductor device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Bin Mohd in view of Godfrey (US 2020/0144786, hereinafter Godfrey).
With respect to claim 4 Derai/Bin Mohd does not explicitly disclose wherein ablating the mold compound forms an angled side surface of the mold compound, the angled side surface extending from a first surface of the mold compound to the bonding surface of each of the contacts.
In an analogous art, Godfrey discloses wherein ablating the mold compound forms an angled side surface of the mold compound (Para 0046, Fig. 9B), the angled side surface extending from a first surface of the mold compound to the bonding surface of each of the contacts (Fig. 9B&D). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Bin Mohd’s method by having Godfrey’s disclosure in order to provide vias in a semiconductor device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Bin Mohd in view of Song (KR 20150096756, hereinafter Song).
With respect to claim 6, Derai/Bin Mohd does not explicitly disclose wherein ablating, via a laser, the mold compound in an ablation pathway aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes includes setting a frequency of the laser to approximately 25-35 kHz and a current to approximately 25-30 A.
In an analogous art, Song discloses wherein ablating, via a laser, the mold compound in an ablation pathway aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes includes setting a frequency of the laser to approximately 25-35 kHz (Para 0044 – 30 kHz) and a current to approximately 25-30 A (Para 0044 – 24-30A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Bin Mohd’s method by having Song’s disclosure in order to expedite the etching process.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Bin Mohd/Song in view of Chen (CN 113795910, hereinafter Chen).
With respect to claim 7, Derai/Bin Mohd/Song does not explicitly disclose wherein the laser ablates the mold compound for a duration of approximately 100-200 ns.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses wherein the laser ablates the mold compound for a duration of approximately 100-200 ns (Page 31, Para 02). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Bin Mohd/Song’s method by having Chen’s disclosure in order to achieve the optimal results during etching.
With respect to claim 8, Derai/Bin Mohd/Song does not explicitly disclose wherein the laser ablates the mold compound to a depth of approximately 0.55-1.50 mm.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses wherein the laser ablates the mold compound to a depth of approximately 0.55-1.50 mm (Page 22, Para 01- 1mm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Bin Mohd/Song’s method by having Chen’s disclosure in order to achieve the optimal results during etching.
Claims 9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey in view of Bin Mohd
With respect to claim 9, Derai discloses a method of fabricating a no-lead integrated circuit (Para 0063 and 0111) comprising: providing leadframes (14 of Fig. 2 – Para 0123); depositing a die (12) on a die attach pad of each leadframe (Para 0054 – die pad); attaching wire bonds (20) from the die to bonding surfaces of contacts of each leadframe (Para 0065 & 0158 – wire -bonding); depositing a mold compound (16) overlying the leadframes (Fig. 2), the mold compound encapsulating each of the die and the wire bonds (16 encapsulates die 12 and wire bonds 20); ablating, via a laser (Para 0097; and 0109), the mold compound in an ablation pathway (Fig. 11-13).
Derai does not explicitly disclose an array of leadframes; and the mold compound was aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes and ablation is performed to form angled side surfaces of the mold compound; and singulating the array of leadframes to form the no-lead integrated circuit.
In an analogous art, Boonyatee discloses an array of leadframes (Fig. 1; Para 0005; 0012 – leadframes arranged in an array) and singulating the array of leadframes to form the no-lead integrated circuit (Para 0010-0011). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai’s method system by having Boonyatee’s disclosure in order to singulate adjacent, simultaneously assembled devices without forming burrs on the leads or lead tips.
Derai/Boonyatee does not explicitly disclose that the mold compound was aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes and ablation is performed to form angled side surfaces of the mold compound.
In an analogous art, Godfrey discloses that the mold compound was aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes and ablation is performed to form angled side surfaces of the mold compound (Para 0046 – Fig. 9A-B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee’s method by having Godfrey’s disclosure in order to provide vias in a semiconductor device.
Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey does not explicitly disclose wherein each contact comprises at least one groove in a surface opposite the bonding surface and the grooves are exposed from the no-lead integrated circuit.
In an analogous art, Bin Mohd discloses wherein each contact comprises at least one groove in a surface opposite the bonding surface (422 of Fig. 3C – Para 0026-0027) and the grooves are exposed from the no-lead integrated circuit (Para 0019; 0031). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey’s method by having Bin Mohd’s disclosure in order to provide a locking mechanism with other components of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 12, Derai/Boonyatee does not explicitly disclose wherein the angled side surface extend from a first surface of the mold compound to the bonding surface of each of the contacts.
In an analogous art, Godfrey discloses wherein the angled side surface extend from a first surface of the mold compound to the bonding surface of each of the contacts (Fig. 9B&D). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee’s method by having Godfrey’s disclosure in order to provide vias in a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 14, Derai discloses wherein the no-lead integrated circuit is a quad flat no-lead integrated circuit or a small outline no-lead integrated circuit (Para 0048; 0063).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Bin Mohd in view of Sirinorakul et al. (US 2010/0311208, hereinafter Sirinorakul).
With respect to claim 10, Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Bin Mohd does not explicitly disclose wherein prior to depositing a die on the die attach pad of each leadframe of the array of leadframes, the method further comprising performing a first etching process to form the die attach pad and the contacts in each leadframe of the array of leadframes.
In an analogous art, Sirinorakul discloses wherein prior to depositing a die on the die attach pad of each leadframe of the array of leadframes (Para 0007-0008), the method further comprising performing a first etching process to form the die attach pad and the contacts in each leadframe of the array of leadframes (Para 0040 & 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Bin Mohd’s method by having Sirinorakul’s disclosure in order to attach different components of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 11, Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey does not explicitly disclose wherein performing a second etching process to form the grooves.
In an analogous art, Bin Mohd discloses wherein performing a second etching process to form the grooves (Para 0016-0017). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey’s method by having Bin Mohd’s disclosure in order to manufacture and connect different components of a semiconductor device.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Bin Mohd in view of Song (KR 20150096756, hereinafter Song).
With respect to claim 15, Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Bin Mohd does not explicitly disclose wherein ablating, via a laser, the mold compound in an ablation pathway aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes includes setting a frequency of the laser to approximately 25-35 kHz and a current to approximately 25-30 A.
In an analogous art, Song discloses wherein ablating, via a laser, the mold compound in an ablation pathway aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes includes setting a frequency of the laser to approximately 25-35 kHz (Para 0044 – 30 kHz) and a current to approximately 25-30 A (Para 0044 – 24-30A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Bin Mohd’s method by having Song’s disclosure in order to expedite the etching process.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Bin Mohd/Song in view of Chen (CN 113795910, hereinafter Chen).
With respect to claim 16, Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Bin Mohd/Song does not explicitly disclose wherein the laser ablates the mold compound for a duration of approximately 100-200 ns.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses wherein the laser ablates the mold compound for a duration of approximately 100-200 ns (Page 31, Para 02). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Bin Mohd/Song’s method by having Chen’s disclosure in order to achieve the optimal results during etching.
With respect to claim 17, Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Bin Mohd/Song does not explicitly disclose wherein the laser ablates the mold compound to a depth of approximately 0.55-1.50 mm.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses wherein the laser ablates the mold compound to a depth of approximately 0.55-1.50 mm (Page 22, Para 01- 1mm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Bin Mohd/Song’s method by having Chen’s disclosure in order to achieve the optimal results during etching.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 &13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 5 & 13, none of the prior art on record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitation including “wherein ablating the mold compound to form the angled side surface forms an extruded contact, where the extruded contact extends from the angled side surface of the mold compound in a range of approximately 100 to 300 um” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Response to Arguments
Based on new ground of rejection, applicant’s arguments filed on 04/01/2026 are moot.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899