Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai et al. (U S 2019/0115287, hereinafter Derai) in view of Boonyatee et al. (US 2019/0252256, hereinafter Boonyatee) and further in view of Perez et al. (US 6,965,157, hereinafter Perez).
With respect to claim 1, Derai discloses a method (Para 0160) comprising:
providing leadframes (14 of Fig. 2 – Para 0123); depositing a die (12) on a die attach pad of each leadframe (Para 0054 – die pad); attaching wire bonds (20) from the die to bonding surfaces of contacts of each leadframe (Para 0065 & 0158 – wire -bonding);
depositing a mold compound (16) overlying the leadframes (Fig. 2), the mold compound encapsulating each of the die and the wire bonds (16 encapsulates die 12 and wire bonds 20); ablating, via a laser (Para 0097; and 0109), the mold compound in an ablation pathway aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes (Fig. 11-13).
Derai does not explicitly disclose an array of leadframes and singulating the array of leadframes to form electronic device packages.
In an analogous art, Boonyatee discloses an array of leadframes (Fig. 1; Para 0005; 0012 – leadframes arranged in an array) and singulating the array of leadframes to form electronic device packages (Para 0011; 0013; and 0026). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai’s method by having Boonyatee’s disclosure in order to singulate adjacent, simultaneously assembled devices without forming burrs on the leads or lead tips.
Derai/Boonyatee does not explicitly disclose wherein each contact comprises at least one groove in a surface opposite the bonding surface.
In an analogous art, Perez discloses wherein each contact comprises at least one groove (Fig. 6 – groove on the back side of 40/16/42) in a surface opposite the bonding surface (grooves are on the back side whereas bonding is on the front side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee’s method by having Perez’s disclosure in order to provide a locking mechanism with other components of a semiconductor device.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Boonyatee/Perez in view of Sirinorakul et al. (US 2010/0311208, hereinafter Sirinorakul).
With respect to claim 2, Derai/Boonyatee/Perez does not explicitly disclose wherein prior to depositing a die on the die attach pad of each leadframe of the array of leadframes, the method further comprising performing a first etching process to form the die attach pad and the contacts in each leadframe of the array of leadframes.
In an analogous art, Sirinorakul discloses wherein prior to depositing a die on the die attach pad of each leadframe of the array of leadframes (Para 0007-0008), the method further comprising performing a first etching process to form the die attach pad and the contacts in each leadframe of the array of leadframes (Para 0040 & 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Perez’s method by having Sirinorakul’s disclosure in order to attach different components of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 3, Derai/Boonyatee does not explicitly disclose wherein performing a second etching process to form the grooves.
In an analogous art, Perez discloses wherein performing a second etching process to form the grooves (Col. 3; lines 36-42; Col. 4; lines 22-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee’s method by having Perez’s disclosure in order to manufacture and connect different components of a semiconductor device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Boonyatee/Perez in view of Godfrey (US 2020/0144786, hereinafter Godfrey).
With respect to claim 4 Derai/Boonyatee/Perez does not explicitly disclose wherein ablating the mold compound forms an angled side surface of the mold compound, the angled side surface extending from a first surface of the mold compound to the bonding surface of each of the contacts.
In an analogous art, Godfrey discloses wherein ablating the mold compound forms an angled side surface of the mold compound (Para 0046, Fig. 9B), the angled side surface extending from a first surface of the mold compound to the bonding surface of each of the contacts (Fig. 9B&D). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Perez’s method by having Godfrey’s disclosure in order to provide vias in a semiconductor device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Boonyatee/Perez in view of Song (KR 20150096756, hereinafter Song).
With respect to claim 6, Derai/Boonyatee/Perez does not explicitly disclose wherein ablating, via a laser, the mold compound in an ablation pathway aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes includes setting a frequency of the laser to approximately 25-35 kHz and a current to approximately 25-30 A.
In an analogous art, Song discloses wherein ablating, via a laser, the mold compound in an ablation pathway aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes includes setting a frequency of the laser to approximately 25-35 kHz (Para 0044 – 30 kHz) and a current to approximately 25-30 A (Para 0044 – 24-30A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Perez’s method by having Song’s disclosure in order to expedite the etching process.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Boonyatee/Perez/Song in view of Chen (CN 113795910, hereinafter Chen).
With respect to claim 7, Derai/Boonyatee/Perez/Song does not explicitly disclose wherein the laser ablates the mold compound for a duration of approximately 100-200 ns.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses wherein the laser ablates the mold compound for a duration of approximately 100-200 ns (Page 31, Para 02). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Perez/Song’s method by having Chen’s disclosure in order to achieve the optimal results during etching.
With respect to claim 8, Derai/Boonyatee/Perez/Song does not explicitly disclose wherein the laser ablates the mold compound to a depth of approximately 0.55-1.50 mm.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses wherein the laser ablates the mold compound to a depth of approximately 0.55-1.50 mm (Page 22, Para 01- 1mm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Perez/Song’s method by having Chen’s disclosure in order to achieve the optimal results during etching.
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey in view of Perez.
With respect to claim 9, Derai discloses a method of fabricating a no-lead integrated circuit (Para 0063 and 0111) comprising: providing leadframes (14 of Fig. 2 – Para 0123); depositing a die (12) on a die attach pad of each leadframe (Para 0054 – die pad); attaching wire bonds (20) from the die to bonding surfaces of contacts of each leadframe (Para 0065 & 0158 – wire -bonding); depositing a mold compound (16) overlying the leadframes (Fig. 2), the mold compound encapsulating each of the die and the wire bonds (16 encapsulates die 12 and wire bonds 20); ablating, via a laser (Para 0097; and 0109), the mold compound in an ablation pathway (Fig. 11-13).
Derai does not explicitly disclose an array of leadframes; and the mold compound was aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes and ablation is performed to form angled side surfaces of the mold compound; and singulating the array of leadframes to form the no-lead integrated circuit.
In an analogous art, Boonyatee discloses an array of leadframes (Fig. 1; Para 0005; 0012 – leadframes arranged in an array) and singulating the array of leadframes to form the no-lead integrated circuit (Para 0010-0011). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai’s method system by having Boonyatee’s disclosure in order to singulate adjacent, simultaneously assembled devices without forming burrs on the leads or lead tips.
Derai/Boonyatee does not explicitly disclose that the mold compound was aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes and ablation is performed to form angled side surfaces of the mold compound.
In an analogous art, Godfrey discloses that the mold compound was aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes and ablation is performed to form angled side surfaces of the mold compound (Para 0046 – Fig. 9A-B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee’s method by having Godfrey’s disclosure in order to provide vias in a semiconductor device.
Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey does not explicitly disclose wherein each contact comprises at least one groove in a surface opposite the bonding surface.
In an analogous art, Perez discloses wherein each contact comprises at least one groove (Fig. 6 – groove on the back side of 40/16/42) in a surface opposite the bonding surface (grooves are on the back side whereas bonding is on the front side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey’s method by having Perez’s disclosure in order to provide a locking mechanism with other components of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 12, Derai/Boonyatee does not explicitly disclose wherein ablating the mold compound forms an angled side surface of the mold compound, the angled side surface extending from a first surface of the mold compound to the bonding surface of each of the contacts.
In an analogous art, Godfrey discloses wherein ablating the mold compound forms an angled side surface of the mold compound (Para 0046, Fig. 9B), the angled side surface extending from a first surface of the mold compound to the bonding surface of each of the contacts (Fig. 9B&D). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Perez’s method by having Godfrey’s disclosure in order to provide vias in a semiconductor device.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Perez in view of Sirinorakul et al. (US 2010/0311208, hereinafter Sirinorakul).
With respect to claim 10, Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Perez does not explicitly disclose wherein prior to depositing a die on the die attach pad of each leadframe of the array of leadframes, the method further comprising performing a first etching process to form the die attach pad and the contacts in each leadframe of the array of leadframes.
In an analogous art, Sirinorakul discloses wherein prior to depositing a die on the die attach pad of each leadframe of the array of leadframes (Para 0007-0008), the method further comprising performing a first etching process to form the die attach pad and the contacts in each leadframe of the array of leadframes (Para 0040 & 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Perez’s method by having Sirinorakul’s disclosure in order to attach different components of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 11, Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey does not explicitly disclose wherein performing a second etching process to form the grooves.
In an analogous art, Perez discloses wherein performing a second etching process to form the grooves (Col. 3; lines 36-42; Col. 4; lines 22-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey’s method by having Perez’s disclosure in order to manufacture and connect different components of a semiconductor device.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Perez in view of Song (KR 20150096756, hereinafter Song).
With respect to claim 15, Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Perez does not explicitly disclose wherein ablating, via a laser, the mold compound in an ablation pathway aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes includes setting a frequency of the laser to approximately 25-35 kHz and a current to approximately 25-30 A.
In an analogous art, Song discloses wherein ablating, via a laser, the mold compound in an ablation pathway aligned between adjacent contacts of adjacent leadframes includes setting a frequency of the laser to approximately 25-35 kHz (Para 0044 – 30 kHz) and a current to approximately 25-30 A (Para 0044 – 24-30A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Perez’s method by having Song’s disclosure in order to expedite the etching process.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Perez/Song in view of Chen (CN 113795910, hereinafter Chen).
With respect to claim 16, Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Perez/Song does not explicitly disclose wherein the laser ablates the mold compound for a duration of approximately 100-200 ns.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses wherein the laser ablates the mold compound for a duration of approximately 100-200 ns (Page 31, Para 02). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Perez/Song’s method by having Chen’s disclosure in order to achieve the optimal results during etching.
With respect to claim 17, Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Perez/Song does not explicitly disclose wherein the laser ablates the mold compound to a depth of approximately 0.55-1.50 mm.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses wherein the laser ablates the mold compound to a depth of approximately 0.55-1.50 mm (Page 22, Para 01- 1mm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Derai/Boonyatee/Godfrey/Perez/Song’s method by having Chen’s disclosure in order to achieve the optimal results during etching.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 &13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 5 & 13, none of the prior art on record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitation including “wherein ablating the mold compound to form the angled side surface forms an extruded contact, where the extruded contact extends from the angled side surface of the mold compound in a range of approximately 100 to 300 um” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Claim 14 is objected because of it’s dependency on claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Based on new ground of rejection, applicant’s arguments filed on 09/16/2025 are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899