This Office action is in response to communications filed on 11/3/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the response filed, applicant argues, in substance:
a) In pages 7-8 of the response filed, applicant argues that Korycki et al. (US 20050008000 A1, hereinafter Korycki) fails to disclose the claimed limitations of provide, to the second client device, access to the collaborative session based on a permission level associated with the user of the second client device because Korycki does not disclose “checking a permission level for a user who has been invited to collaborate” and “Korycki only describes different permissions with respect to who can initiate a collaboration session, not to who can be invited to one.”
In response to argument (a), claim 1 recites “provide, […], access to the collaborative session based on a permission level associated with the user of the second client device” (underline for emphasis)
Here, the term “based on” is broad enough that it encompasses any system that provides access to a collaborative session on the basis of how a user is able to access the collaborative session depending on a permission level.
In Korycki, a user is able to access a collaboration session based on two different permission levels: “if both parties are subscribers, either party may initiate the collaboration. However, a non-subscriber will be able to collaborate only upon an explicit invitation by the EPC subscriber” (¶[0040]).
That is, if a user is a subscriber, the user has permission to initiate a collaboration session, and if the user is a non-subscriber, the user has permission to join a collaboration session by explicit invitation only. That is, if the user is not a subscriber and is not invited, the user will not be able to join the collaboration session. Therefore, joining a collaboration session is based on at least two permission levels determined by the status of a user (subscriber or non-subscriber).
Furthermore, the limitation “provide, to the second client device, access to the collaborative session based on a permission level associated with the user of the second client device” is broad enough that it further covers systems that set a single permission for multiple users, as that single permission would still be “associated with the user of the second client device”.
For example, a first hypothetical system might be designed in a way that denies all non-subscribers access to a session. Similarly, a second hypothetical system (completely independent from the first system) might be designed in a way that allows all non-subscribers access to a session.
Access to the session in both of those independent systems is based on a permission given to all non-subscribers, where in the first system the permission denies access to non-subscribers and in the second system the permission allows access to non-subscribers. The permission does not need to be explicit as long as an administrator of the systems has a choice to either allow or deny access to non-subscribers. Therefore, a system that allows access to non-subscribers by not setting a restriction (instead of by, for example, oversight) provides an implicit permission to all non-subscribers.
In Korycki it’s clear that allowing non-subscribers access to the system is not merely an oversight (such as by invertedly allowing access when access was not desired), but a feature of the system, see ¶[0040], “a non-subscriber will be able to collaborate only upon an explicit invitation by the EPC subscriber” implicitly giving non-subscribers permission to collaborate on a session when invited. In other words, a non-subscriber not invited to an ongoing session would not be able to collaborate in the ongoing session, but an invited non-subscriber can collaborate. The permission level for the non-subscriber is therefore implicitly set by the status (invited or not invited) of the non-subscriber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 14-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Korycki et al. (US 20050008000 A1, hereinafter Korycki).
Regarding claim 1, Korycki discloses a system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium; a communications interface; and a processor communicatively coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium and the communications interface, the processor configured to execute processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium (¶[0002], "The present invention relates generally to a system and method for enhanced phone-based collaboration"; Fig. 1, the system includes computers connected to a network in order to realize described subject matter. In computers, a memory holds instructions that are processed by a processor to perform functions. Similarly, connection to networks is implemented by the processor communicating with an interface) to:
receive, from a first client device during a virtual meeting between a plurality of participants in real-time, a request to initiate a collaborative session with a second client device, the second client device participating in the virtual meeting (¶[0062], "User A (the subscriber) initiates a telephone call to user B (not a subscriber). This is a simplified and abstracted signaling that may take different forms in different telephony environments (PSTN, VoIP, PBX etc)"; ¶[0063], "User B answers the call"; ¶[0065], "During the telephone call, both parties agree to enhance the call with data collaboration features using standard web browsers on their PCs. User A, the subscriber loads the EPC web page into the browser. The browser could optionally authenticate user A as a subscriber or automate the step by passing pre-stored subscriber credentials in a way standard for web based personalized services");
determine a status associated with a user of the second client device (¶[0066], "Recognizing user A as a subscriber, the EPC Application invokes a ListCalls web service on the Call Tracking Application querying for calls currently in progress that involve user A"; two subsequent steps are then possible: when user B is not a subscriber: ¶[0075], "Since user B is not a subscriber, no credentials are passed and a public guest area is loaded into user B's browser. This web page offers a guest user a way to enhance a phone call with the service subscriber by obtaining guest user's telephone number (telephone number edit field and the "enhance call" button). Knowledge of one's own telephone number and the time window of the telephone call are the only prerequisites for a guest user to enter a data collaboration conference with a subscriber" and when user B is a subscriber ¶[0088], "In the event that both users are subscribers to the EPC service, the experience of both users is symmetrical and may be fully automated. Neither user needs to enter a telephone number as such information is already tracked by the EPC service" - recognizing the status inherent since in ¶[0088] the process is "fully automated");
determine, based on the status associated with the user of the second client device, identity information for the user (¶[0075], "Since user B is not a subscriber, no credentials are passed and a public guest area is loaded into user B's browser. This web page offers a guest user a way to enhance a phone call with the service subscriber by obtaining guest user's telephone number (telephone number edit field and the "enhance call" button). Knowledge of one's own telephone number and the time window of the telephone call are the only prerequisites for a guest user to enter a data collaboration conference with a subscriber"; ¶[0076], "User B enters his/her own telephone number TN_B and clicks "enhance" call button generating an HTTP POST message to the EPC Application with TN_B information" - or in the case that B is a subscriber: ¶[0088], "In the event that both users are subscribers to the EPC service, the experience of both users is symmetrical and may be fully automated. Neither user needs to enter a telephone number as such information is already tracked by the EPC service"; ¶[0091], " User B loads the main EPC web page providing authentication credentials either entered explicitly or automatically supplied by the web browser"); and
provide, to the second client device, access to the collaborative session (¶[0074], "When user A's participation in data conference is completed, user A informs user B over the telephone call that user B may enter a conference via the main EPC web page. Preferably the main EPC URL is easy to memorize and enter into a browser, e.g. epc.com. User B loads the main EPC page using a standard browser"; ¶[0078], "User B clicks the "enter conference" button"; ¶[0079], "The Data Collaboration Application returns Data Collaboration specific content including active content that loads into user B's browser realizing the start of participation in a data conference")
based on a permission level associated with the user of the second client device (¶[0040], "if both parties are subscribers, either party may initiate the collaboration. However, a non-subscriber will be able to collaborate only upon an explicit invitation by the EPC subscriber").
Regarding claim 2, Korycki discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions to determine the status associated with the user of the second client device further cause the processor to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: determine a profile associated with the user (); and
determine, based on the profile, the identity information for the user (¶[0088], "In the event that both users are subscribers to the EPC service, the experience of both users is symmetrical and may be fully automated. Neither user needs to enter a telephone number as such information is already tracked by the EPC service"; ¶[0091], " User B loads the main EPC web page providing authentication credentials either entered explicitly or automatically supplied by the web browser").
Regarding claim 3, Korycki discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the instructions to determine the status associated with the user of the second client device further cause the processor to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to determine that the second client device has access to an application associated with the collaborative session (¶[0091], "User B loads the main EPC web page"); and
the instructions cause the processor to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to transmit, to the second client device, access to the collaborative session (¶[0093], "EPC Application returns user B's personal web page"; ¶[0095], "The EPC Application returns confirmation web page with the "enter conference" button and invisible information including the Data Collaboration Application network address, the conference ID corresponding to the already created data conference and user B's full name to serve as conference participant identifier"; ¶[0097], "The Data Collaboration Application returns Data Collaboration-specific content including active content that loads into user B's browser realizing participation in a data conference").
Regarding claim 4, Korycki discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions to determine the status associated with the user of the second client device further cause the processor to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: determine that there is not a profile associated with the user (¶[0075], "Since user B is not a subscriber, no credentials are passed and a public guest area is loaded into user B's browser. This web page offers a guest user a way to enhance a phone call with the service subscriber by obtaining guest user's telephone number (telephone number edit field and the "enhance call" button). Knowledge of one's own telephone number and the time window of the telephone call are the only prerequisites for a guest user to enter a data collaboration conference with a subscriber"; ); and
transmit, to the second client device, a contact request for the second client device (¶[0076], "User B enters his/her own telephone number TN_B and clicks "enhance" call button generating an HTTP POST message to the EPC Application with TN_B information - see Fig. 4, elements 14-15, a request for the TN_B information is transmitted to User B browser).
Regarding claim 5, Korycki discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the processor is configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: receive, from the second client device, the identity information for the user responsive to the contact request (¶[0076], "User B enters his/her own telephone number TN_B and clicks "enhance" call button generating an HTTP POST message to the EPC Application with TN_B information - receiving: Fig. 4, element 15); and
transmit, to the second client device based on the identity information, access to the collaborative session (¶[0079], "The Data Collaboration Application returns Data Collaboration specific content including active content that loads into user B's browser realizing the start of participation in a data conference").
Regarding claim 6, Korycki discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the processor is configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to establish a virtual meeting having a plurality of participants, wherein the plurality of participants comprises the first client device and the second client device (Fig. 1, two devices for two participants); and
the instructions to receive, from the first client device, the request to initiate the collaborative session with the second client device cause the processor to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: receive, from the first client device, a request to share collaborative content with the plurality of participants during the virtual meeting (¶[0069], "User A clicks on the "enhance call" button, which generates an HTTP POST message to the EPC Application"); and
share the collaborative content with the plurality of participants during the virtual meeting (¶[0073], "The Data Collaboration Application returns Data Collaboration specific content including active content that loads into user A's browser realizing start of his/her participation in a data conference"; ¶[0079], "With the conference established, while still talking on the phone, user A and user B can now engage in data collaboration as implemented by the Data Collaboration Application (e.g. white boarding, app sharing, gaming etc.)").
Regarding claim 7, Korycki discloses a method (¶[0002], "The present invention relates generally to a system and method for enhanced phone-based collaboration") comprising:
receiving, from a first client device during a virtual meeting between a plurality of participants in real-time, a request to initiate a collaborative session with a second client device, the second client device participating in the virtual meeting (¶[0062], "User A (the subscriber) initiates a telephone call to user B (not a subscriber). This is a simplified and abstracted signaling that may take different forms in different telephony environments (PSTN, VoIP, PBX etc)"; ¶[0063], "User B answers the call"; ¶[0065], "During the telephone call, both parties agree to enhance the call with data collaboration features using standard web browsers on their PCs. User A, the subscriber loads the EPC web page into the browser. The browser could optionally authenticate user A as a subscriber or automate the step by passing pre-stored subscriber credentials in a way standard for web based personalized services");
determining, by a video conference provider, a status associated with a user of the second client device (¶[0066], "Recognizing user A as a subscriber, the EPC Application invokes a ListCalls web service on the Call Tracking Application querying for calls currently in progress that involve user A"; two subsequent steps are then possible: when user B is not a subscriber: ¶[0075], "Since user B is not a subscriber, no credentials are passed and a public guest area is loaded into user B's browser. This web page offers a guest user a way to enhance a phone call with the service subscriber by obtaining guest user's telephone number (telephone number edit field and the "enhance call" button). Knowledge of one's own telephone number and the time window of the telephone call are the only prerequisites for a guest user to enter a data collaboration conference with a subscriber" and when user B is a subscriber ¶[0088], "In the event that both users are subscribers to the EPC service, the experience of both users is symmetrical and may be fully automated. Neither user needs to enter a telephone number as such information is already tracked by the EPC service" - recognizing the status inherent since in ¶[0088] the process is "fully automated");
determining, by the video conference provider, identity information for the user based on the status associated with the user of the second client device (¶[0075], "Since user B is not a subscriber, no credentials are passed and a public guest area is loaded into user B's browser. This web page offers a guest user a way to enhance a phone call with the service subscriber by obtaining guest user's telephone number (telephone number edit field and the "enhance call" button). Knowledge of one's own telephone number and the time window of the telephone call are the only prerequisites for a guest user to enter a data collaboration conference with a subscriber"; ¶[0076], "User B enters his/her own telephone number TN_B and clicks "enhance" call button generating an HTTP POST message to the EPC Application with TN_B information" - or in the case that B is a subscriber: ¶[0088], "In the event that both users are subscribers to the EPC service, the experience of both users is symmetrical and may be fully automated. Neither user needs to enter a telephone number as such information is already tracked by the EPC service"; ¶[0091], " User B loads the main EPC web page providing authentication credentials either entered explicitly or automatically supplied by the web browser"); and
providing, by the video conference provider, access to the collaborative session to the second client device (¶[0074], "When user A's participation in data conference is completed, user A informs user B over the telephone call that user B may enter a conference via the main EPC web page. Preferably the main EPC URL is easy to memorize and enter into a browser, e.g. epc.com. User B loads the main EPC page using a standard browser"; ¶[0078], "User B clicks the "enter conference" button"; ¶[0079], "The Data Collaboration Application returns Data Collaboration specific content including active content that loads into user B's browser realizing the start of participation in a data conference")
based on a permission level associated with the user of the second client device (¶[0040], "if both parties are subscribers, either party may initiate the collaboration. However, a non-subscriber will be able to collaborate only upon an explicit invitation by the EPC subscriber").
Regarding claim 8, Korycki discloses the method of claim 7, wherein determining the status associated with the user of the second client device further comprises: determining, by the video conference provider, a profile associated with the user (¶[0088], "In the event that both users are subscribers to the EPC service, the experience of both users is symmetrical and may be fully automated. Neither user needs to enter a telephone number as such information is already tracked by the EPC service"; ¶[0091], " User B loads the main EPC web page providing authentication credentials either entered explicitly or automatically supplied by the web browser");
determining, based on the profile, the identity information for the user (¶[0091], " User B loads the main EPC web page providing authentication credentials either entered explicitly or automatically supplied by the web browser"; ¶[0092], "Recognizing User B as subscriber");
determining, by the video conference provider, that the second client device has access to an application associated with the collaborative session (¶[0091], "User B loads the main EPC web page"); and
transmitting, by the video conference provider, access to the collaborative session (¶[0093], "EPC Application returns user B's personal web page"; ¶[0079], "The Data Collaboration Application returns Data Collaboration specific content including active content that loads into user B's browser realizing the start of participation in a data conference").
Regarding claim 9, Korycki discloses the method of claim 7, wherein determining the status associated with the user of the second client device comprises: determining, by the video conference provider, a lack of a profile associated with the user (¶[0075], "Since user B is not a subscriber, no credentials are passed and a public guest area is loaded into user B's browser. This web page offers a guest user a way to enhance a phone call with the service subscriber by obtaining guest user's telephone number (telephone number edit field and the "enhance call" button). Knowledge of one's own telephone number and the time window of the telephone call are the only prerequisites for a guest user to enter a data collaboration conference with a subscriber"; ); and
transmitting, by the video conference provider, a contact request based on the lack of the profile associated with the user (¶[0076], "User B enters his/her own telephone number TN_B and clicks "enhance" call button generating an HTTP POST message to the EPC Application with TN_B information - see Fig. 4, elements 14-15, a request for the TN_B information is transmitted to User B browser).
Regarding claim 10, Korycki discloses the method of claim 7, wherein determining the status associated with the user of the second client device further comprises determining, by the video conference provider, that the second client device does not have access to an application associated with the collaborative session (¶[0040], "a non-subscriber will be able to collaborate only upon an explicit invitation by the EPC subscriber. In particular, during the phone conversation the EPC subscriber will invite the non-subscriber to collaborate and provide instructions on how to the non-subscriber can join collaboration session using an off-the-shelf Internet browser"); and
the method comprises: transmitting, to the second client device, a prompt to access the application to the second client device (¶[0040], "For example, the EPC subscriber will provide the non-subscriber with a guest page URL over the phone, or by an e-mail message, etc. (such as www.serviceprovider.com/epcguest)"; ¶[0075], "Since user B is not a subscriber, no credentials are passed and a public guest area is loaded into user B's browser. This web page offers a guest user a way to enhance a phone call with the service subscriber by obtaining guest user's telephone number" - see Fig. 4, element 14).
Regarding claim 11, Korycki discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, from the second client device, a notification that the second client device accepted the prompt to access the application (¶[0040], "For example, the EPC subscriber will provide the non-subscriber with a guest page URL over the phone, or by an e-mail message, etc. (such as www.serviceprovider.com/epcguest)"; ¶[0074], "User B loads the main EPC page using a standard browser" - Fig. 4, element 13, a notification is sent from user B to the EPC app when the user accepts the invitation); and
transmitting, responsive to the notification, access to the collaborative session (¶[0093], "EPC Application returns user B's personal web page"; ¶[0079], "The Data Collaboration Application returns Data Collaboration specific content including active content that loads into user B's browser realizing the start of participation in a data conference").
Regarding claim 14, Korycki discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the collaborative session is hosted by an application (¶[0025], "The EPC service according to the present invention enables users, which participate in a phone call; to enrich their communication with a variety of PC based applications" on a server, see Fig. 1), and
wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the video conference provider, that the second client device has accessed the collaborative session via the application (¶[0091], "User B loads the main EPC web page"); and
providing a notification in the application that the second client device has accessed the collaborative session (¶[0093], "EPC Application returns user B's personal web page"; ¶[0095], "The EPC Application returns confirmation web page with the "enter conference" button and invisible information including the Data Collaboration Application network address, the conference ID corresponding to the already created data conference and user B's full name to serve as conference participant identifier"; ¶[0097], "The Data Collaboration Application returns Data Collaboration-specific content including active content that loads into user B's browser realizing participation in a data conference").
Regarding claim 15, Korycki discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising processor-executable instructions configured to cause one or more processors (¶[0002], "The present invention relates generally to a system and method for enhanced phone-based collaboration"; Fig. 1, the system includes computers connected to a network in order to realize described subject matter. In computers, a memory holds instructions that are processed by a processor to perform functions. Similarly, connection to networks is implemented by the processor communicating with an interface) to:
receive, from a first client device during a virtual meeting between a plurality of participants in real-time, a request to initiate a collaborative session with a second client device, the second client device participating in the virtual meeting (¶[0062], "User A (the subscriber) initiates a telephone call to user B (not a subscriber). This is a simplified and abstracted signaling that may take different forms in different telephony environments (PSTN, VoIP, PBX etc)"; ¶[0063], "User B answers the call"; ¶[0065], "During the telephone call, both parties agree to enhance the call with data collaboration features using standard web browsers on their PCs. User A, the subscriber loads the EPC web page into the browser. The browser could optionally authenticate user A as a subscriber or automate the step by passing pre-stored subscriber credentials in a way standard for web based personalized services");
determine a status associated with a user of the second client device (¶[0066], "Recognizing user A as a subscriber, the EPC Application invokes a ListCalls web service on the Call Tracking Application querying for calls currently in progress that involve user A"; two subsequent steps are then possible: when user B is not a subscriber: ¶[0075], "Since user B is not a subscriber, no credentials are passed and a public guest area is loaded into user B's browser. This web page offers a guest user a way to enhance a phone call with the service subscriber by obtaining guest user's telephone number (telephone number edit field and the "enhance call" button). Knowledge of one's own telephone number and the time window of the telephone call are the only prerequisites for a guest user to enter a data collaboration conference with a subscriber" and when user B is a subscriber ¶[0088], "In the event that both users are subscribers to the EPC service, the experience of both users is symmetrical and may be fully automated. Neither user needs to enter a telephone number as such information is already tracked by the EPC service" - recognizing the status inherent since in ¶[0088] the process is "fully automated");
determine, based on the status associated with the user of the second client device, identity information for the user (¶[0075], "Since user B is not a subscriber, no credentials are passed and a public guest area is loaded into user B's browser. This web page offers a guest user a way to enhance a phone call with the service subscriber by obtaining guest user's telephone number (telephone number edit field and the "enhance call" button). Knowledge of one's own telephone number and the time window of the telephone call are the only prerequisites for a guest user to enter a data collaboration conference with a subscriber"; ¶[0076], "User B enters his/her own telephone number TN_B and clicks "enhance" call button generating an HTTP POST message to the EPC Application with TN_B information" - or in the case that B is a subscriber: ¶[0088], "In the event that both users are subscribers to the EPC service, the experience of both users is symmetrical and may be fully automated. Neither user needs to enter a telephone number as such information is already tracked by the EPC service"; ¶[0091], " User B loads the main EPC web page providing authentication credentials either entered explicitly or automatically supplied by the web browser"); and
provide, to the second client device, access to the collaborative session ()
based on a permission level associated with the user of the second client device ().
Regarding claim 16, Korycki discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the processor-executable instructions to determine the status of the second client device further cause the one or more processors to: determine whether there is a profile associated with the user (¶[0088], "In the event that both users are subscribers to the EPC service, the experience of both users is symmetrical and may be fully automated. Neither user needs to enter a telephone number as such information is already tracked by the EPC service"; ¶[0091], " User B loads the main EPC web page providing authentication credentials either entered explicitly or automatically supplied by the web browser"); and
determine whether the second client device has access to an application associated with the collaborative session (¶[0091], " User B loads the main EPC web page providing authentication credentials either entered explicitly or automatically supplied by the web browser"; ¶[0092], "Recognizing User B as subscriber").
Regarding claim 17, Korycki discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the processor-executable instructions to determine whether there is the profile associated with the user further cause the one or more processors to: determine the profile associated with the user (¶[0088], "In the event that both users are subscribers to the EPC service, the experience of both users is symmetrical and may be fully automated. Neither user needs to enter a telephone number as such information is already tracked by the EPC service"; ¶[0091], " User B loads the main EPC web page providing authentication credentials either entered explicitly or automatically supplied by the web browser"); and
determine, based on the profile associated with the user, the identity information for the user (¶[0091], "User B loads the main EPC web page providing authentication credentials either entered explicitly or automatically supplied by the web browser"; ¶[0092], "Recognizing User B as subscriber").
Regarding claim 18, Korycki discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the processor-executable instructions to determine whether the second client device has access to the application associated with the collaborative session further cause the one or more processors to: determine that the second client device does not have access to the application associated with the collaborative session (¶[0075], "Since user B is not a subscriber, no credentials are passed and a public guest area is loaded into user B's browser. This web page offers a guest user a way to enhance a phone call with the service subscriber by obtaining guest user's telephone number (telephone number edit field and the "enhance call" button). Knowledge of one's own telephone number and the time window of the telephone call are the only prerequisites for a guest user to enter a data collaboration conference with a subscriber"; ); and
transmit, to the second client device, a prompt to access the application associated with the collaborative session (¶[0076], "User B enters his/her own telephone number TN_B and clicks "enhance" call button generating an HTTP POST message to the EPC Application with TN_B information - see Fig. 4, elements 14-15, a request for the TN_B information is transmitted to User B browser).
Regarding claim 20, Korycki discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: responsive to the second client device accessing the collaborative session, generate a notification of the second client device within the collaborative session (¶[0096], "User B clicks the "enter conference" button generating HTTP POST to the Data Collaboration Application with conference ID and user B name in it"; ¶[0097], "The Data Collaboration Application returns Data Collaboration-specific content including active content that loads into user B's browser realizing participation in a data conference").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korycki (US 20050008000 A1) in view of Ashkenazi et al. (US 20210397402 A1, hereinafter Ashkenazi).
Regarding claim 12, Korycki discloses the method of claim 7.
Korycki does not disclose receiving, by the video conference provider, a permission level associated with the second client device for the collaborative session.
Ashkenazi discloses receiving, by the video conference provider, a permission level associated with the second client device for the collaborative session (¶[0008], "A method for providing a remote interactive experience via a digital platform is provided. The method may include receiving instructions from a host device to configure a virtual room. The virtual room may be configured to be accessible to a plurality of participant devices. The method may also include receiving, from the host device, a present command. The present command preferably instructs for the plurality of participant devices to attend a presentation of—i.e. to view—a virtual room conducted by the host device"; ¶[0010], "The instructions may include a selection of one or more interaction apps for inclusion in the canvas. The interaction apps may be selected from a set of interaction apps"; ¶[0011], "The one or more participant devices may be associated with a level of access to the interaction apps. The level of access may be based at least in part on the instructions. The level of access may include a set of rules that define, for each of the one or more participant devices which interaction apps are included in the canvas, which interaction apps the plurality of participant devices are permissioned to control, and/or a level of permission of the plurality of participant devices to modify an interaction app").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Korycki in view of Ashkenazi for receiving, by the video conference provider, a permission level associated with the second client device for the collaborative session.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enable "digital interaction methods tailored to the needs of" the specific service provided by participants or service providers (Ashkenazi, ¶[0036]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 19, Korycki discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
Korycki does not disclose receive a permission level associated with the second client device.
Ashkenazi discloses receive a permission level associated with the second client device (¶[0008], "A method for providing a remote interactive experience via a digital platform is provided. The method may include receiving instructions from a host device to configure a virtual room. The virtual room may be configured to be accessible to a plurality of participant devices. The method may also include receiving, from the host device, a present command. The present command preferably instructs for the plurality of participant devices to attend a presentation of—i.e. to view—a virtual room conducted by the host device"; ¶[0010], "The instructions may include a selection of one or more interaction apps for inclusion in the canvas. The interaction apps may be selected from a set of interaction apps"; ¶[0011], "The one or more participant devices may be associated with a level of access to the interaction apps. The level of access may be based at least in part on the instructions. The level of access may include a set of rules that define, for each of the one or more participant devices which interaction apps are included in the canvas, which interaction apps the plurality of participant devices are permissioned to control, and/or a level of permission of the plurality of participant devices to modify an interaction app").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Korycki in view of Ashkenazi to receive a permission level associated with the second client device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enable "digital interaction methods tailored to the needs of" the specific service provided by participants or service providers (Ashkenazi, ¶[0036]-[0048]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korycki (US 20050008000 A1) in view of Huang et al. (US 9992241 B1, hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 13, Korycki discloses the method of claim 7.
Korycki does not disclose establishing, by a video conference provider, a chat channel comprising two or more participants, wherein the two or more participants comprise the first client device and the second client device; and wherein receiving, from the first client device, the request to access the collaborative session further comprises sharing collaborative content within the chat channel.
Huang discloses establishing, by a video conference provider, a chat channel comprising two or more participants (col. 3, lines 38-58, "environment 100 includes a unified communications service 125 that provides a set of services, including services such as a unified voice service 130 and an online collaboration service 140 to a set of users, e.g., user 101, user 105 and user 110 [...] The online collaboration service 140 allows users to join online collaboration sessions, which are joint sessions of users where actions of each participating user, such as generating audio/video input"; col. 5, lines 37-38, "Live video from their UCS-enabled device will be displayed to the other users in the session"),
wherein the two or more participants comprise the first client device and the second client device (Fig. 2, and col. 4, lines 42-46, each user is an independent user with their own device); and
wherein receiving, from the first client device, the request to access the collaborative session further comprises sharing collaborative content within the chat channel (col. 5, lines 39-41, "Invite user service 245 enables users to invite (via, e.g., UCS app notification, chat message and/or email) additional users to join the online collaboration session").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Korycki in view of Huang for establishing, by a video conference provider, a chat channel comprising two or more participants, wherein the two or more participants comprise the first client device and the second client device; and wherein receiving, from the first client device, the request to access the collaborative session further comprises sharing collaborative content within the chat channel.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide a convenient and efficient manner for users to transition into online collaboration sessions (Huang, suggested as the problem that is solved, col. 1, lines 20-25).
Conclusion
/BORIS D GRIJALVA LOBOS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446