Claim Objections
Claim 1, line 25; claim 9, line 29; claim 17, line 24-25 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the first buffer air outlet and the second buffer air outlet is” should be - -the first buffer air outlet and the second buffer air outlet are- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18, line 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a higher pressure region” should be - - a high pressure region- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19, line 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: “higher pressure regions” should be - -a high pressure region - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9, 12-15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hipsky et al (US 20130174573 as referenced in OA dated 3/8/2023) in view of Suciu et al (US 20130098059 as referenced in OA dated 3/8/2023) and Munsell et al (US 20130192240 as referenced in OA dated 7/27/2023) and McCombs et al (US 3925980)
Annotated Figure 3 of Suciu
Annotated Figure 1 of McCombs
Regarding claim 1, Hipsky discloses an environmental control system (Figure 3) for an aircraft (Paragraph 0001) comprising:
a higher pressure tap (Figure 3; 34) to be associated with a higher pressure location (Figure 2; 134) in a main compressor section (Figure 1; 254, Paragraph 0024) associated with an aircraft engine (Figure 1; 210), and
a lower pressure tap (Figure 3; 32) to be associated with a lower pressure location (Figure 2; 132) in the main compressor section associated with the aircraft engine, said lower pressure location being at a lower pressure than said higher pressure location (Paragraph 0024);
the lower pressure tap communicating to a first passage (Figure 3; 36) leading to a combined outlet (Figure 3; 44), and having a second passage (The passage of Figure 3; 32 that feeds 54) leading into a compressor section (Figure 3; 54) of a turbocompressor (Figure 3; 42);
the higher pressure tap leading into a turbine section (Figure 3; 52) of the turbocompressor such that air in the higher pressure tap drives the turbine section to in turn drive the compressor section of the turbocompressor (Paragraph 0027);
a turbine outlet (The outlet of Figure 3; 52 that feeds 44) receiving an exhausted turbine airflow (The exhausted turbine airflow) exhausted from the turbine section;
a compressor outlet (The outlet of Figure 3; 54 that feeds 44) receiving an exhausted compressor airflow (The exhausted compressor airflow) exhausted from the compressor section;
the combined outlet receiving the exhausted turbine airflow from the turbine outlet and the exhausted compressor airflow from the compressor outlet, intermixing the exhausted turbine airflow and the exhausted compressor airflow to form a mixed airflow (The mixed airflow in Figure 3; 44), and passing the mixed airflow downstream to be delivered to the aircraft,
wherein the turbocompressor includes a housing (The housing of the turbocompressor) supporting the compressor section.
Hipsky does not disclose a first buffer air outlet communicating a first buffer airflow to an engine buffer air system, the first buffer air outlet in communication with the second passage leading into the compressor section of the turbocompressor; and
a second buffer air outlet communicating a second buffer airflow to the engine buffer air system, the second buffer air outlet located at the compressor outlet from the compressor section of the turbocompressor, wherein the second buffer air flow is of a pressure greater than a pressure of the first buffer airflow,
wherein the first buffer air outlet and the second buffer air outlet are within the housing with the second buffer air outlet being downstream of the compressor section.
However, Suciu teaches an environmental control system (Figure 3) for an aircraft (The aircraft having the aircraft cabin of Paragraph 0026) comprising:
a lower pressure tap (The tap feeding Figure 3; 98) to be associated with a lower pressure location (The location of the tap) in a main compressor section (Figure 1; 24) associated with an aircraft engine (Figure 1; 20);
a second buffer air outlet (Annotated Figure 3; labeled second outlet) communicating a second buffer airflow (The airflow in Figure 3; T from Annotated Figure 3; labeled second outlet) to an engine buffer air system (The system for cooling Figure 3; 38), the second buffer air outlet located at a compressor outlet (Annotated Figure 3; labeled compressor outlet) from a compressor section (Figure 3; 90) of a turbocompressor (Figure 3; 90 is a turbocompressor because it is driven by the turbine of the aircraft engine. Paragraph 0020, 0036)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky to include a second buffer air outlet communicating a second buffer airflow to the engine buffer air system, the second buffer air outlet located at the compressor outlet from the compressor section of the turbocompressor as taught by and suggested by Suciu in order to cool bearings (Paragraph 0025. The modification has the compressor outlet also feeding a bearing compartment).
Hipsky in view of Suciu does not teach a first buffer air outlet communicating a first buffer airflow to an engine buffer air system, the first buffer air outlet in communication with the second passage leading into the compressor section of the turbocompressor,
wherein the second buffer air flow is of a pressure greater than a pressure of the first buffer airflow,
wherein the first buffer air outlet and the second buffer air outlet are within the housing with the second buffer air outlet being downstream of the compressor section.
However, Munsell teaches a system (Figure 2) for an aircraft (Paragraph 0020) comprising:
a first buffer air outlet (Figure 2; 62) communicating a first buffer airflow (The airflow from Figure 2; 62 to any one of 76a-d) to an engine buffer air system (Figure 2; 76a-d), the first buffer air outlet in communication with a second passage (The passage with Figure 1; 44. Paragraph 0033) leading into a compressor section (Figure 1; 52) of a turbocompressor (Figure 1; 52 and 54 form a turbocompressor);
wherein a second buffer air flow (The airflow from Figure 2; 64) is of a pressure greater than a pressure of the first buffer airflow (Paragraph 0033 states the second buffer air flow has a greater pressure than a pressure of the first buffer airflow).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu to include a first buffer air outlet communicating a first buffer airflow to an engine buffer air system, the first buffer air outlet in communication with the second passage leading into the compressor section of the turbocompressor; wherein the second buffer air flow is of a pressure greater than a pressure of the first buffer airflow as taught by and suggested by Munsell in order to provide differing pressure supplies to the bearings (Paragraph 0033, The modification adds a first bearing outlet in communication with the second passage leading into the compressor section of the turbocompressor and a valve that regulates the airflows from the first and second buffer air outlets).
Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell does not teach wherein the first buffer air outlet and the second buffer air outlet are within the housing with the second buffer air outlet being downstream of the compressor section.
However, McCombs teaches a turbocompressor (Figure 1; 28, 30, 34, 36);
a compressor section (Figure 1; 28, 30) of a turbocompressor;
a turbine section (Figure 1; 34, 36) of a turbocompressor;
wherein a first air outlet (Annotated Figure 1; labeled first air outlet) and a second air outlet (Annotated Figure 1; labeled second air outlet) are within a housing (Figure 1; 20) with the second air outlet being downstream of the compressor section (The second air outlet is at least partially downstream of the compressor section).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell wherein the first air outlet (In the combined invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell, the first air outlet of McCombs is the first buffer air outlet) and the second air outlet (In the combined invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell, the second air outlet of McCombs is the second buffer air outlet) are within the housing with the second buffer air outlet being downstream of the compressor section as taught by and suggested by Munsell because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Munsell’s use of bleed ports upstream and downstream of a compressor section according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell’s environmental control system, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case to be able to supplying bleed air at different pressures, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the first buffer air outlet upstream of the compressor section, the second buffer air outlet downstream of the compressor section, and the first and second buffer air outlets within the housing).
Regarding claim 4, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs teach the invention as claimed.
Hipsky further discloses a check valve (Figure 3; 38) controlling a bypass airflow (The bypass airflow which passes through Figure 3; 38) from the lower pressure tap through the first passage between the lower pressure tap and the combined outlet.
Regarding claim 5, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs teach the invention as claimed.
Hipsky further discloses a first control valve (Figure 3; 40) is positioned on the higher pressure tap and is operable to control operation of the turbocompressor, wherein when the first control valve is in an open position (The open position of Figure 3; 44), a low pressure airflow (The low pressure air in Figure 3; 32) is drawn into the compressor section of the turbocompressor from the lower pressure tap (Paragraph 0028 and 0029), and when the first control valve is in a closed position (The closed position of Figure 3; 44), the low pressure airflow is not drawn through the compressor section of the turbocompressor and passes through the first passage (Paragraph 0028 and 0029).
Regarding claim 6, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs teach the invention as claimed.
Hipsky further discloses a second control valve (Figure 3; 50) controlling a common conduit airflow (The airflow through Figure 3; 37) to the aircraft.
Regarding claim 7, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs teach the invention as claimed.
Hipsky further discloses wherein the second control valve is positioned downstream of a second location (The location of Figure 3; 50) at which the first passage and the combined outlet intermix into a common conduit (Figure 3; 37).
Regarding claim 9, Hipsky discloses a turbine engine (Figure 1; 210) comprising:
a main compressor section (Figure 1; 254) where air is compressed and communicated to a combustion section (The section with Figure 1; 260) where the air is mixed with fuel (The fuel from the combustor. A combustor by definition includes the fuel injectors, see Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary and American Heritage Dictionary definition of combustor) and ignited to generate a high energy flow (The combustion flow generated by the combustor. see Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary and American Heritage Dictionary definition of gas turbine) that is expanded through a main turbine section (Figure 1; 262); and
an environmental control system (Figure 3) including:
a higher pressure tap (Figure 3; 34) associated with a higher compression location (Figure 2; 134) in the main compressor section, and
a lower pressure tap (Figure 3; 32) associated with a lower pressure location (Figure 2; 132) in the main compressor section, said lower pressure location being at a lower pressure than said higher pressure location (Paragraph 0024);
the lower pressure tap in communication with a first passage (Figure 3; 36) leading to a combined outlet (Figure 3; 44) and a second passage (The passage of Figure 3; 32 that feeds 54) leading into a compressor section (Figure 3; 54) of a turbocompressor (Figure 3; 42);
the higher pressure tap in communication with a turbine section (Figure 3; 52) coupled to the compressor section such that air from the higher pressure tap drives the turbine section and the compressor section of the turbocompressor (Paragraph 0027);
a turbine outlet (The outlet of Figure 3; 52 that feeds 44) receiving airflow exhausted from the turbine section of the turbocompressor;
a compressor outlet (The outlet of Figure 3; 54 that feeds 44) receiving airflow exhausted from the compressor section of the turbocompressor;
the combined outlet receiving the airflows from the turbine outlet and the compressor outlet, intermixing the airflows from the turbine outlet and the compressor outlet to form a mixed airflow (The mixed airflow in Figure 3; 44), and passing the mixed airflow downstream to be delivered to an aircraft (Figure 3; 152),
wherein the turbocompressor includes a housing (The housing of the turbocompressor) supporting the compressor section.
Hipsky does not disclose a first buffer air outlet communicating a first buffer airflow to an engine buffer air system, the first buffer air outlet in communication with the second passage leading into the compressor section of the turbocompressor; and
a second buffer air outlet communicating a second buffer airflow to the engine buffer air system, the second buffer air outlet located at the compressor outlet from the compressor section of the turbocompressor, wherein the second buffer air flow is of a pressure greater than a pressure of the first buffer airflow,
wherein the first buffer air outlet and the second buffer air outlet are within the housing with the second buffer air outlet being downstream of the compressor section.
However, Suciu teaches a turbine engine (figure 1; 20) comprising:
a main compressor section (Figure 1; 24) where air is compressed and communicated to a combustion section (Figure 1; 26) where the air is mixed with fuel and ignited to generate a high energy flow that is expanded through a main turbine section (Figure 1; 28. Paragraph 0020); and
an environmental control system (Figure 3) including:
a lower pressure tap (The tap feeding Figure 3; 98) associated with a lower pressure location (The location of the tap) in the main compressor section, said lower pressure location being at a lower pressure than said higher pressure location;
a second buffer air outlet (Annotated Figure 3; labeled second outlet) communicating a second buffer airflow (The airflow in Figure 3; T from Annotated Figure 3; labeled second outlet) to an engine buffer air system (The system for cooling Figure 3; 38), the second buffer air outlet located at a compressor outlet (Annotated Figure 3; labeled compressor outlet) from a compressor section (Figure 3; 90) of a turbocompressor (Figure 3; 90 is a turbocompressor because it is driven by the turbine of the aircraft engine. Paragraph 0020, 0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky to include a second buffer air outlet communicating a second buffer airflow to the engine buffer air system, the second buffer air outlet located at the compressor outlet from the compressor section of the turbocompressor as taught by and suggested by Suciu in order to cool bearings (Paragraph 0025. The modification has the compressor outlet also feeding a bearing compartment).
Hipsky in view of Suciu does not teach a first buffer air outlet communicating a first buffer airflow to an engine buffer air system, the first buffer air outlet in communication with the second passage leading into the compressor section of the turbocompressor,
wherein the second buffer air flow is of a pressure greater than a pressure of the first buffer airflow,
wherein the first buffer air outlet and the second buffer air outlet are within the housing with the second buffer air outlet being downstream of the compressor section.
However, Munsell teaches a turbine engine (Figure 1; 20) comprising:
a first buffer air outlet (Figure 2; 62) communicating a first buffer airflow (The airflow from Figure 2; 62 to any one of 76a-d) to an engine buffer air system (Figure 2; 76a-d), the first buffer air outlet in communication with a second passage (The passage with Figure 1; 44. Paragraph 0033) leading into a compressor section (Figure 1; 52) of a turbocompressor (Figure 1; 52 and 54 form a turbocompressor);
wherein a second buffer air flow (The airflow from Figure 2; 64) is of a pressure greater than a pressure of the first buffer airflow (Paragraph 0033 states the second buffer air flow has a greater pressure than a pressure of the first buffer airflow)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu to include a first buffer air outlet communicating a first buffer airflow to an engine buffer air system, the first buffer air outlet in communication with the second passage leading into the compressor section of the turbocompressor; wherein the second buffer air flow is of a pressure greater than a pressure of the first buffer airflow as taught by and suggested by Munsell in order to provide differing pressure supplies to the bearings (Paragraph 0033, The modification adds a first bearing outlet in communication with the second passage leading into the compressor section of the turbocompressor and a valve that regulates the airflows from the first and second buffer air outlets).
Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell does not teach wherein the first buffer air outlet and the second buffer air outlet are within the housing with the second buffer air outlet being downstream of the compressor section.
However, McCombs teaches a turbocompressor (Figure 1; 28, 30, 34, 36);
a compressor section (Figure 1; 28, 30) of a turbocompressor;
a turbine section (Figure 1; 34, 36) of a turbocompressor;
wherein a first air outlet (Annotated Figure 1; labeled first air outlet) and a second air outlet (Annotated Figure 1; labeled second air outlet) are within a housing (Figure 1; 20) with the second air outlet being downstream of the compressor section (The second air outlet is at least partially downstream of the compressor section).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell wherein the first air outlet (In the combined invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell, the first air outlet of McCombs is the first buffer air outlet) and the second air outlet (In the combined invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell, the second air outlet of McCombs is the second buffer air outlet) are within the housing with the second buffer air outlet being downstream of the compressor section as taught by and suggested by Munsell because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Munsell’s use of bleed ports upstream and downstream of a compressor section according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell’s environmental control system, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case to be able to supplying bleed air at different pressures, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the first buffer air outlet upstream of the compressor section, the second buffer air outlet downstream of the compressor section, and the first and second buffer air outlets within the housing).
Regarding claim 12, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs teach the invention as claimed.
Hipsky further discloses a check valve (Figure 3; 38) controlling a low pressure airflow (The low pressure airflow from the lower pressure tap) from the lower pressure tap through the first passage between the lower pressure tap and the combined outlet.
Regarding claim 13, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs teach the invention as claimed.
Hipsky further discloses a first control valve (Figure 3; 40) is positioned on the higher pressure tap and is operable to control operation of the turbocompressor, wherein when the first control valve is in an open position (The open position of Figure 3; 44), the low pressure airflow is drawn into the compressor section of the turbocompressor from the lower pressure tap (Paragraph 0028 and 0029), and when the first control valve is in a closed position (The closed position of Figure 3; 44), the low pressure airflow is not drawn through the compressor section of the turbocompressor and passes through the first passage (Paragraph 0028 and 0029).
Regarding claim 14, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs teach the invention as claimed.
Hipsky further discloses a second control valve (Figure 3; 50) operable to control a common conduit airflow (The airflow through Figure 3; 37) to the aircraft.
Regarding claim 15, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs teach the invention as claimed.
Hipsky further discloses wherein the second control valve is positioned downstream of a location (The location of Figure 3; 50) at which the first passage and the combined outlet intermix into a common conduit (Figure 3; 37).
Regarding claim 17, Hipsky discloses an environmental control system (Figure 3) for an aircraft (Paragraph 0001) comprising:
a higher pressure tap (Figure 3; 34) to be associated with a higher compression location (Figure 2; 134) in a main compressor section (Figure 1; 254, Paragraph 0024) associated with an aircraft engine (Figure 1; 210), and
a lower pressure tap (Figure 3; 32) to be associated with a lower pressure location (Figure 2; 132) in the main compressor section associated with the aircraft engine, said lower pressure location being at a lower pressure than said higher pressure location (Paragraph 0024);
the lower pressure tap communicating to a first passage (Figure 3; 36) leading to a combined outlet (Figure 3; 44), and having a second passage (The passage of Figure 3; 32 that feeds 54) leading into a compressor section (Figure 3; 54) of a turbocompressor (Figure 3; 42);
the higher pressure tap leading into a turbine section (Figure 3; 52) of the turbocompressor such that air in the higher pressure tap drives the turbine section to in turn drive the compressor section of the turbocompressor (Paragraph 0027);
a turbine outlet (The outlet of Figure 3; 52 that feeds 44) receiving an exhausted turbine airflow (The exhausted turbine airflow) exhausted from the turbine section;
a compressor outlet (The outlet of Figure 3; 54 that feeds 44) receiving an exhausted compressor airflow (The exhausted compressor airflow) exhausted from the compressor section;
the combined outlet receiving the exhausted turbine airflow from the turbine outlet and the exhausted compressor airflow from the compressor outlet, intermixing into a mixed airflow (The mixed airflow in Figure 3; 44), and passing the mixed airflow downstream to be delivered to an aircraft;
a housing (The housing of the turbocompressor as shown in Figure 2) supporting the compressor section,
a check valve (Figure 3; 38) controlling a bypass airflow (The bypass airflow which passes through Figure 3; 38) from the lower pressure tap through the first passage between the lower pressure tap and the combined outlet;
a first control valve (Figure 3; 40) positioned on the higher pressure tap and is operable to control operation of the turbocompressor, wherein when the first control valve is in an open position (The open position of Figure 3; 44), a low pressure airflow (The low pressure air in Figure 3; 32) is drawn into the compressor section of the turbocompressor from the lower pressure tap (Paragraph 0028 and 0029), and when the first control valve is in a closed position (The closed position of Figure 3; 44), the lower pressure airflow is not drawn through the compressor section of the turbocompressor and passes through the first passage (Paragraph 0028 and 0029); and
a second control valve (Figure 3; 50) positioned downstream of a location (The location of Figure 3; 50) at which the first passage and the combined outlet intermix into a common conduit (Figure 3; 37) operable to control airflow through the common conduit to an aircraft system (Figure 3; 152).
Hipsky does not disclose a first buffer air outlet communicating a first buffer airflow to an engine buffer air system, the first buffer air outlet in communication with the second passage leading into the compressor section of the turbocompressor; and
a second buffer air outlet communicating a second buffer airflow to the engine buffer air system, the second buffer air outlet located at the compressor outlet from the compressor section of the turbocompressor, wherein the second buffer air flow is of a pressure greater than a pressure of the first buffer airflow;
and the first buffer air outlet and the second buffer air outlet are within the housing, with the second buffer air outlet being downstream of the compressor section of the turbocompressor.
However, Suciu teaches an environmental control system (Figure 3) for an aircraft (The aircraft having the aircraft cabin of Paragraph 0026) comprising:
a lower pressure tap (The tap feeding Figure 3; 98) to be associated with a lower compression location (The location of the tap) in a main compressor section (Figure 1; 24) associated with an aircraft engine (Figure 1; 20);
a second buffer air outlet (Annotated Figure 3; labeled second outlet) communicating a second buffer airflow (The airflow in Figure 3; T from Annotated Figure 3; labeled second outlet) to an engine buffer air system (The system for cooling Figure 3; 38), the second buffer air outlet located at a compressor outlet (Annotated Figure 3; labeled compressor outlet) from a compressor section (Figure 3; 90) of a turbocompressor (Figure 3; 90 is a turbocompressor because it is driven by the turbine of the aircraft engine. Paragraph 0020, 0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky to include a second buffer air outlet communicating a second buffer airflow to the engine buffer air system, the second buffer air outlet located at the compressor outlet from the compressor section of the turbocompressor as taught by and suggested by Suciu in order to cool bearings (Paragraph 0025. The modification has the compressor outlet also feeding a bearing compartment).
Hipsky in view of Suciu does not teach a first buffer air outlet communicating a first buffer airflow to an engine buffer air system, the first buffer air outlet in communication with the second passage leading into the compressor section of the turbocompressor;
wherein the second buffer air flow is of a pressure greater than a pressure of the first buffer airflow,
the first buffer air outlet and the second buffer air outlet are within the housing, with the second buffer air outlet being downstream of the compressor section of the turbocompressor.
However, Munsell teaches a system (Figure 2) for an aircraft (Paragraph 0020) comprising:
a first buffer air outlet (Figure 2; 62) communicating a first buffer airflow (The airflow from Figure 2; 62 to any one of 76a-d) to an engine buffer air system (Figure 2; 76a-d), the first buffer air outlet in communication with a second passage (The passage with Figure 1; 44. Paragraph 0033) leading into a compressor section (Figure 1; 52) of a turbocompressor (Figure 1; 52 and 54 form a turbocompressor);
wherein a second buffer air flow (The airflow from Figure 2; 64) is of a pressure greater than a pressure of the first buffer airflow (Paragraph 0033 states the second buffer air flow has a greater pressure than a pressure of the first buffer airflow).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu to include a first buffer air outlet communicating a first buffer airflow to an engine buffer air system, the first buffer air outlet in communication with the second passage leading into the compressor section of the turbocompressor; wherein the second buffer air flow is of a pressure greater than a pressure of the first buffer airflo as taught by and suggested by Munsell in order to provide differing pressure supplies to the bearings (Paragraph 0033, The modification adds a first bearing outlet in communication with the second passage leading into the compressor section of the turbocompressor and a valve that regulates the airflows from the first and second buffer air outlets).
Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell does not teach the first buffer air outlet and the second buffer air outlet are within the housing, with the second buffer air outlet being downstream of the compressor section of the turbocompressor
However, McCombs teaches a turbocompressor (Figure 1; 28, 30, 34, 36);
a compressor section (Figure 1; 28, 30) of a turbocompressor;
a turbine section (Figure 1; 34, 36) of a turbocompressor;
wherein a first air outlet (Annotated Figure 1; labeled first air outlet) and a second air outlet (Annotated Figure 1; labeled second air outlet) are within a housing (Figure 1; 20) with the second air outlet being downstream of the compressor section (The second air outlet is at least partially downstream of the compressor section).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell wherein the first air outlet (In the combined invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell, the first air outlet of McCombs is the first buffer air outlet) and the second air outlet (In the combined invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell, the second air outlet of McCombs is the second buffer air outlet) are within the housing with the second buffer air outlet being downstream of the compressor section as taught by and suggested by Munsell because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Munsell’s use of bleed ports upstream and downstream of a compressor section according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell’s environmental control system, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case to be able to supplying bleed air at different pressures, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the first buffer air outlet upstream of the compressor section, the second buffer air outlet downstream of the compressor section, and the first and second buffer air outlets within the housing).
Claim(s) 8, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs as applied to claim 7, 15 above, and further in view of Mackin et al (US 20130187007 as referenced in OA dated 3/8/2023).
Regarding claim 8, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs teach the invention as claimed.
Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs does not teach a heat exchanger within the common conduit after the second control valve, the heat exchanger cooling the common conduit airflow through the common conduit.
However, Mackin teaches an environmental control system (Figure 4) for an aircraft (Paragraph 0001) comprising:
a higher pressure tap (Figure 2; 266 as applied to Figure 4) to be associated with a higher pressure location (The location of Figure 2; 266 as applied to Figure 4. Paragraph 0038) in a main compressor section (Figure 2; 210, 212 as applied to Figure 4) associated with an aircraft engine (Figure 2; 200 as applied to Figure 4), and
a lower pressure tap (Figure 2; 238 as applied to Figure 4) to be associated with a lower pressure location (The location of Figure 2; 238 as applied to Figure 4. Paragraph 0032) in the main compressor section associated with the aircraft engine, said lower pressure location being at a lower pressure than said higher pressure location (Paragraph 0040);
the lower pressure tap communicating to a second passage (Figure 2; 240 as applied to Figure 4) leading into a compressor section (Figure 4; 232) of a turbocompressor (Figure 2; 230 as applied to Figure 4);
the higher pressure tap leading into a turbine section (Figure 4; 234) of the turbocompressor such that air in the higher pressure tap drives the turbine section to in turn drive the compressor section of the turbocompressor (Paragraph 0038);
a turbine outlet (Figure 4; 270) receiving an exhausted turbine airflow (The exhausted turbine airflow) exhausted from the turbine section;
a compressor outlet (Figure 4; 242) receiving an exhausted compressor airflow (The exhausted air outlet) exhausted from the compressor section;
a heat exchanger (The heat exchanger of Figure 3; 250. Paragraph 0036, 0063) within a common conduit (The conduit with Figure 2; 252) after a second control valve (Figure 2; 252 as applied to Figure 4), the heat exchanger cooling a common conduit airflow (The airflow through the common conduit) through the common conduit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs to include a heat exchanger within the common conduit after the second control valve, the heat exchanger cooling the common conduit airflow through the common conduit as taught by and suggested by Mackin in order to condition the bleed air to at least a cabin temperature (Paragraph 0064. The modification has Figure 3; 152 of Hipsky being an ECS with a heat exchanger).
Regarding claim 16, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs teach the invention as claimed.
Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs does not teach a heat exchanger within the combined conduit after the second control valve, the heat exchanger cooling the common conduit airflow through the common conduit.
However, Mackin teaches a turbine engine (Figure 2; 200 as applied to Figure 4) comprising:
a main compressor section (Figure 2; 210 and 212 as applied to Figure 4) where air is compressed and communicated to a combustion section (The combustor having at least Figure 2; 214 as applied to Figure 4) where the air is mixed with fuel and ignited to generate a high energy flow that is expanded through a turbine section (Figure 2; 222, 220 as applied to Figure 4. Paragraph 0030, 0031. See Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary of gas turbine); and
an environmental control system (Figure 4; 402) including:
a higher pressure tap (Figure 2; 266 as applied to Figure 4) associated with a higher compression location (The location of Figure 2; 266 as applied to Figure 4. Paragraph 0038) in the main compressor section, and
a lower pressure tap (Figure 2; 238 as applied to Figure 4) associated with a lower pressure location (The location of Figure 2; 238 as applied to Figure 4. Paragraph 0032) in the main compressor section, said lower pressure location being at a lower pressure than said higher pressure location (Paragraph 0040);
the lower pressure tap communicating to a second passage (Figure 2; 240 as applied to Figure 4) leading into a compressor section (Figure 4; 232) of a turbocompressor (Figure 2; 230 as applied to Figure 4);
the higher pressure tap leading into a turbine section (Figure 4; 234) of the turbocompressor such that air in the higher pressure tap drives the turbine section to in turn drive the compressor section of the turbocompressor (Paragraph 0038);
a turbine outlet (Figure 4; 270) receiving an exhausted turbine airflow (The exhausted turbine airflow) exhausted from the turbine section;
a compressor outlet (Figure 4; 242) receiving an exhausted compressor airflow (The exhausted air outlet) exhausted from the compressor section;
a heat exchanger (The heat exchanger of Figure 3; 250. Paragraph 0036, 0063) within a combined conduit (The conduit with Figure 2; 252) after a second control valve (Figure 2; 252 as applied to Figure 4), the heat exchanger cooling a common conduit airflow (The airflow through the common conduit) through the common conduit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs to include a heat exchanger within the common conduit after the second control valve, the heat exchanger cooling the common conduit airflow through the common conduit as taught by and suggested by Mackin in order to condition the bleed air to at least a cabin temperature (Paragraph 0064. The modification has Figure 3; 152 of Hipsky being an ECS with a heat exchanger).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs as applied to claim 1, 9 above, and further in view of Glahn et al (US 20130192239 as referenced in OA dated 9/22/2025)
Regarding claim 18, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs teaches the invention as claimed.
Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs does not teach wherein the first buffer airflow is communicated to a bearing compartment within a lower pressure region of the aircraft engine and the second buffer airflow is communicated to a bearing compartment located within a high pressure region of the aircraft engine, the lower pressure region being at a lower pressure than the high pressure region.
However, Glahn teaches wherein a first buffer airflow (The airflow from Figure 5; 264A, Paragraph 0062) is communicated to a bearing compartment within a lower pressure region (Paragraph 0059) of an aircraft engine (Figure 5; 20) and a second buffer airflow (The airflow from Figure 5; 266B, Paragraph 0062) is communicated to a bearing compartment located within a high pressure region (Paragraph 0059) of the aircraft engine, the lower pressure region being at a lower pressure than the high pressure region (Paragraph 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs wherein the first buffer airflow is communicated to a bearing compartment within a lower pressure region of the aircraft engine and the second buffer airflow is communicated to a bearing compartment located within a high pressure region of the aircraft engine, the lower pressure region being at a lower pressure than the high pressure region as taught by and suggested by Glahn in order to minimize supply temperature and performance impact to the aircraft engine (Paragraph 0062, the modification has the first buffer airflow feeding a low pressure region of the aircraft engine and the second buffer airflow feeding a high pressure region of the aircraft engine).
Regarding claim 19, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs teaches the invention as claimed.
Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs does not teach wherein the first buffer airflow is communicated to a bearing compartment within a lower pressure region of the aircraft engine and the second buffer airflow is communicated to a bearing compartment located within a high pressure region of the aircraft engine, the lower pressure region being at a lower pressure than the high pressure region.
However, Glahn teaches wherein a first buffer airflow (The airflow from Figure 5; 264A, Paragraph 0062) is communicated to a bearing compartment within a lower pressure region (Paragraph 0059) of an aircraft engine (Figure 5; 20) and a second buffer airflow (The airflow from Figure 5; 266B, Paragraph 0062) is communicated to a bearing compartment located within a high pressure region (Paragraph 0059) of the aircraft engine, the lower pressure region being at a lower pressure than the high pressure region (Paragraph 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs wherein the first buffer airflow is communicated to a bearing compartment within a lower pressure region of the aircraft engine and the second buffer airflow is communicated to a bearing compartment located within a high pressure region of the aircraft engine, the lower pressure region being at a lower pressure than the high pressure region as taught by and suggested by Glahn in order to minimize supply temperature and performance impact to the aircraft engine (Paragraph 0062, the modification has the first buffer airflow feeding a low pressure region of the aircraft engine and the second buffer airflow feeding a high pressure region of the aircraft engine).
Regarding claim 20, Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs and Glahn teaches the invention as claimed.
Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs does not teach wherein the lower pressure region comprises at least one of a fan section and a low pressure turbine section of the main turbine section.
However, Glahn teaches wherein the lower pressure region comprises at least one of a fan section (Figure 1; 22. Paragraph 0059 states the low pressure region is front or rear bearing compartments with Figure 1 showing the front bearing compartment of 38-1 is in the fan section) and a low pressure turbine section (The section of Figure 1; 46) of the main turbine section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Hipsky in view of Suciu and Munsell and McCombs wherein the lower pressure region comprises at least one of a fan section and a low pressure turbine section of the main turbine section as taught by and suggested by Glahn in order to minimize supply temperature and performance impact to the aircraft engine (Paragraph 0062, this is the same modification as claim 19).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Davis (US 5287694 as referenced in OA dated 8/1/2024) states in column 3, line 36-41 that a conventional pump is a compressor
Barbizet (US 20120324924 as referenced in OA dated 8/1/2024) states in Paragraph 0020 that a pump is a compressor
Anema (US 20090232642 as referenced in OA dated 8/1/2024) states in Paragraph 0018 that impellers are part of compressors
Leck (US 20060242985 as referenced in OA dated 8/1/2024) states in Paragraph 0029 that compressors typically include impellers
Moussa (US 20020146320 as referenced in OA dated 8/1/2024) states in Paragraph 0002 that compressors generally include impellers
Merry et al (US 20140186158 as referenced in OA dated 3/8/2023) states in Paragraph 0002 that typically in gas turbine engines the compressor compresses air, the combustor mixes the compressed air with fuel and combusts this mixture which is expanded in the turbine
Snape et al (US 20140165588 as referenced in OA dated 3/8/2023) states in Paragraph 0001 that typically in gas turbine engines the compressor compresses air, the combustor mixes the compressed air with fuel and combusts this mixture which is expanded in the turbine
Cloft et al (US 20140165589 as referenced in OA dated 3/8/2023) states in Paragraph 0002 that typically in gas turbine engines the compressor compresses air, the combustor mixes the compressed air with fuel and combusts this mixture which is expanded in the turbine
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741