DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/07/2026.
Claims 1-16 are still pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “electrical circuitry” in Line L3 but should read –an electrical circuitry--.
The balance of claims are objected to for being dependent upon an already objected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakai et al. (US 20110136295 A1-Sakai95) From IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Sakai95 discloses a semiconductor device (image device has been interpretated as a semiconductor device-Abstract L1) comprising:
one or more substrate layers (Substrate layers 61/62/63 of substrate 60-Fig 2D);
electrical circuitry in at least one of the one or more substrate layers (Photodiode 21 and transfer gate 23 have been interpretated as the electrical circuit in the substrate layer 63-Fig 2B); and
a cavity proximate to the electrical circuitry (Cavity 16 is close to electrical circuitry 21/23-Fig 2E),
wherein the cavity extends into at least a portion of the electrical circuitry (Cavity 16 extending into layer 63 of the electrical circuitry 21/23-Fig 2E).
Regarding claim 2, Sakai95 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Sakai95 further discloses a semiconductor device
further comprising a plurality of ion atoms proximate to the cavity (Hydrogen ion implementation having at least two ion atoms is done in the cavity 90 so a plurality of ion atoms proximate the cavity 90-Fig 4C).
Regarding claim 3, Sakai95 discloses all the elements of claim 2, as noted above.
Sakai95 further discloses a semiconductor device
wherein the plurality of ion atoms include a selected one or more of. helium, lithium, hydrogen, argon, nitrogen, oxygen, silicon, boron, carbon, argon, or neon atoms (Hydrogen ion implementation having at least two ion atoms is done in the cavity 90 so a plurality of ion atoms proximate the cavity 90-Fig 4C).
Regarding claim 4, Sakai95 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Sakai95 further discloses a semiconductor device
wherein the cavity is proximate to a dielectric layer (Cavity 90 proximate to dielectric layer 31, Dielectric layer 31 having an interlayer insulating film 33 so dielectric-Fig 4C, [0068]).
Regarding claim 5, Sakai95 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Sakai95 further discloses a semiconductor device
wherein the cavity is at least partially filled with implanted ions (Hydrogen ion implementation having at least two ion atoms is done in the cavity 90 so a plurality of ion atoms at least partially fills the cavity 90-Fig 4C).
Regarding claim 6, Sakai95 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Sakai95 further discloses a semiconductor device
wherein the electrical circuitry includes a selected one or more of:
a metal routing or
a portion of a transistor structure (Photodiode 21 and transfer gate 23 have been interpretated as the electrical circuit in the substrate layer 63 so the electrical circuitry 21/23 includes a portion of a transistor structure 23-Fig 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai et al. (US 20110136295 A1-Sakai95) from IDS, in view of Zou et al. (US20220037481 A1-Zou81) from IDS.
Regarding claim 7, Sakai95 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Sakai95 does not disclose a semiconductor device
wherein the cavity electrically isolates a first part of the electrical circuitry from a second part of the electrical circuitry.
Zou81 teaches a semiconductor device
wherein the cavity electrically isolates a first part of the electrical circuitry from a second part of the electrical circuitry (Cavity 170 separating the three left word lines 190 from the three right word lines so electrically separating a first part of the electrical circuitry 190 to a second part of the electrical circuitry 190-Examiner's annotated Fig 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device of Sakai95 as taught by Zou81for the purpose of avoiding deterioration in performance of the transistor caused by depth variation of the gate groove (Zou81:[0005]).
Regarding claim 8, Sakai95 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Sakai95 does not disclose a semiconductor device wherein the semiconductor device has
a first side and
a second side opposite the first side, and
wherein the cavity has a distance from the first side or the second side that is greater than 100 nm.
Zou81 teaches a semiconductor device wherein the semiconductor device has
a first side (Examiner's annotated Fig 10) and
a second side opposite the first side (Examiner's annotated Fig 10), and
wherein the cavity has a distance from the first side or the second side that is greater than 100 nm (the distance from second side is larger than the depth of the gate groove h, which is in average 137.5nm, so the distance is greater than 100nm-Fig 10, Fig 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device of Sakai95 as taught by Zou81for the purpose of avoiding deterioration in performance of the transistor caused by depth variation of the gate groove (Zou81:[0005]).
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amoroso et al. (US20220302284A1-Amoroso84) in view of Majhi et al. (US 20200168636 A1-Majhi36).
Regarding claim 9, Amoroso84 discloses a semiconductor device (integrated circuit-Abstract) comprising:
one or more substrate layers (Substrate layer 205-Fig 2);
a transistor structure within the one or more substrate layers (FinFET transistor within substrate 205-Fig 5F, [0012]) ,
wherein the transistor structure includes
a source (source255-Fig 2),
a channel (Channel 160-Fig 1C) , and
a drain (Drain 255-Fig 2); and
wherein a first location within the channel includes a material with a first crystalline structure or a first amorphous structure (ion implementation is done with an angle 145a, then 145b; after the both of the ion implantations, the left side of the silicon fin 160 of the substrate 105, so in the first location, has a first structure of silicon/silicon dioxide different, so having a first crystalline structure or first amorphous structure-Fig 4A, Fig 4B, [0030], [0005]), and
wherein a second location within the channel includes the material with a second crystalline structure or a second amorphous structure (ion implementation is done with an angle 145a, then 145b; after the ion implantations, the right side of the fin 160 of the substrate 105, so in the second location, has a second structure of silicon/silicon dioxide, so having a second crystalline structure or second amorphous structure-Fig 4A, Fig 4B, [0030], [0005]).
Amoroso84 does not explicitly disclose a semiconductor device
wherein the first crystalline structure or the first amorphous structure is different than the second crystalline structure or the second amorphous structure.
Majhi36 teaches a semiconductor device
wherein the first crystalline structure or the first amorphous structure is different than the second crystalline structure or the second amorphous structure (the first crystalline or the first amorphous structure 297/298 is different than second crystalline structure or the second amorphous structure 299 after two or more angled ion implantations-Fig 3F, Fig 3G, [0065] L10-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device of Amoroso84, as taught by Majhi36 for the purpose of enabling the fabrication of higher effective widths for a transistor for a scaled (reduced) projected area. Accordingly, the drive strength and performance of such transistors may be improved (Majhi36:[0029]).
Regarding claim 10, Amoroso84 and Mahji36 combination discloses all the elements of claim 9, as noted above.
Amoroso84 further discloses a semiconductor device
further comprising a plurality of ions proximate to the second crystalline structure (ion implementation is done with an angle 145a, then 145b; after the first ion implantation, the side of the fin 160 of the substrate 105 facing the ion implementation 145a, so in the first location, has some oxygen ions in the first location so proximate to the second crystalline structure -Fig 4A, Fig 4B, [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Amoroso84 and Mahji36 combination discloses all the elements of claim 10, as noted above.
Amoroso84 further discloses a semiconductor device
wherein the plurality of ions include a selected one or more of: include a selected one or more of: helium, lithium, hydrogen, argon, nitrogen, oxygen, silicon, boron, carbon, argon, or neon ions (Oxygen ions-[0006]).
Regarding claim 12, Amoroso84 and Mahji36 combination discloses all the elements of claim 9, as noted above.
Amoroso84 further discloses a semiconductor device
wherein the second crystalline structure or the second amorphous structure is formed using a focused ion beam ([0005]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amoroso et al. (US20220302284A1-Amoroso84) in view of Majhi et al. (US 20200168636 A1-Majhi36), and further in view of Zani et al. (US 20070045534 A1-Zani34).
Regarding claim 13, Amoroso84 and Mahji36 combination discloses all the elements of claim 9, as noted above.
Amoroso84 and Mahji36 combination does not disclose a semiconductor device
wherein the second crystalline structure or the second amorphous structure alters a timing of the transistor structure.
Zani34 teaches a semiconductor device
wherein the second crystalline structure or the second amorphous structure alters a timing of the transistor structure (beam implementation can reduce stray capacitance and improves operating frequency so timing by reducing junction capacitance-[0155] L6-8, L9-19, [0156] L3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device of Amoroso84 in view of Majhi36, as taught by Zani34 for the purpose of reducing stray capacitance and improves the operating frequency (Zani34:[0155] L9-19).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amoroso et al. (US20220302284A1-Amoroso84) in view of Majhi et al. (US 20200168636 A1-Majhi36), and further in view of Zou et al. (US20220037481 A1-Zou81).
Regarding claim 14, Amoroso84 and Mahji36 combination discloses all the elements of claim 9, as noted above.
Amoroso84 and Mahji36 combination does not disclose a semiconductor device
wherein the second crystalline structure or the second amorphous structure alters a threshold voltage (Vt) of the transistor structure.
Zou81 teaches a semiconductor device
wherein the second crystalline structure or the second amorphous structure alters a threshold voltage (Vt) of the transistor structure (beam implementation can control the density of moveable charges so enhances the threshold voltage, so altering the threshold voltage-[0036] L 4-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device of Amoroso84 in view of Majhi36, as taught by Zou81 for the purpose of avoiding deterioration of performance of the semiconductor structure caused by variation in the depth h of the gate groove (Zou81:[0036]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amoroso et al. (US20220302284A1-Amoroso84) in view of Majhi et al. (US 20200168636 A1-Majhi36), and further in view of Sakai et al. (US 20110136295 A1-Sakai95) from IDS.
Regarding claim 15, Amoroso84 and Mahji36 combination discloses all the elements of claim 9, as noted above.
Amoroso84 and Mahji36 combination does not disclose a semiconductor device further comprising:
a first plurality of metal layers on a first side of the transistor structure; and
a second plurality of metal layers on a second side of the transistor structure opposite the first side of the transistor structure.
Sakai95 teaches a semiconductor device further comprising:
a first plurality of metal layers on a first side of the transistor structure (Wiring 131 on the vertical right sidewall of transistor structure 1-Fig 6); and
a second plurality of metal layers on a second side of the transistor structure opposite the first side of the transistor structure (Wiring 131 on the vertical Left sidewall of transistor structure 1, Left vertical sidewall being opposite to right vertical sidewall-Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device of Amoroso84 in view of Majhi36, as taught by Sakai95 for the purpose of improving the metal contamination level, so that the level of dark current/white spots can be improve (Sakai95: [0132]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sakai et al. (US-20100184246-A1-Sakai46) teaches a semiconductor device comprising a subtract (60-Fig 2D), an electrical circuitry (21/23-Fig 2B), a cavity extending into a portion of the electrical circuitry (Fig 2E), with hydrogen ion implantation (Fig 4A).
Huang et al. (US-20200411365-A1-Huang65) teaches a semiconductor device comprising a fin treated with angled ion implantation, wherein a first location within the fin includes a material with a material with a first crystalline structure or a first amorphous structure, and wherein a second location within the channel includes the material with a second crystalline structure or a second amorphous structure, and wherein the first crystalline structure or the first amorphous structure is different than the second crystalline structure or the second amorphous structure (Fig 2L, Fig 3B).
NATHALIE R. FAYETTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/NATHALIE R FAYETTE/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 02/10/2026
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812