Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-25 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 07, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation, “The apparatus, further comprising, a hole drilled from the first side of the cooling plate to the second side of the cooling plate…”, in ll. 1-3, which recites both an apparatus and a process of using the apparatus. When both an apparatus and method are claimed in the same claim, it is unclear whether infringement occurs when the apparatus is constructed or when the apparatus is used. Therefore the scope of the claim is indefinite. See MPEP 2173.05(p). Claim 3 is rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 2. Dependent claim 3 does not rectify the indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsieh et al. (US 2019/0252294 A1, Pub. Date Aug. 15, 2019, hereinafter Hsieh).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hsieh, teaches:
An apparatus comprising (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [0030]-[0031], & [0047]: cooling device 100):
a cooling plate having a first side and a second side opposite the first side (Figs. 4-5; [0050] & [0053]: first plate 18a has two sides (implied by thickness B and its coupling to the second plate 118b));
a backing plate having a first side and a second side opposite the first side (Figs. 4-5; [0050] & [0053]: discloses a second plate 118b coupled to the first plate);
a cavity between the cooling plate and the backing plate (Figs. 4-5; [Abstract] & [0050]: discloses a cavity 121 located between the two plates), wherein the second side of the cooling plate and the first side of the backing plate are coupled to each other, wherein the coupling forms an airtight coupling that completely surrounds the cavity (Fig. 6; [0050] & [0054]: discloses that the edges of the plates are coupled to form a “sealed assembly” or are “hermetically sealed” (airtight), figured further illustrates item 120’ with edges coupled); and a manifold within the cooling plate (Figs. 5, 8, & 13; [0051], [0056], [0060]: cavity 121 contains protruding features 126a/126b (fins/channels) and the opening 123 constitute a manifold structure for distributing the phase change material (PCM) or facilitating capillary flow).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Hsieh, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [0030]-[0031], & [0047]), further comprising a hole drilled from the first side of the cooling plate to the second side of the cooling plate (Figs. 3 & 25; [0087]-[0088] & [0091]: discloses an opening 123 (hole) located in the first plate 118a (cooling plate), where drilled is a process limitation, the structure opening 123 anticipates the product regardless of the method of manufacture), wherein the hole connects with a portion of the cavity (Figs. 3 & 25; [0049] & [0091]: discloses that the opening 123 is used to introduce the PCM into the cavity 121, thereby connecting the exterior to the cavity), and wherein the hole does not intersect the manifold (Figs. 5 & 25; [0058], [0060], & [0089]: discloses opening 123 (fill port) connects to the open volume of the cavity 121 (void space) to allow fluid filling (PCM to enter), distinct from the protruding features 126a/126b, which constitute the manifold structure, does not interest or cut through the protruding features, doing so would obstruct the fill path or damage the heat transfer structure).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Hsieh, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [0030]-[0031], [0047], [0050], [0091], & [Claim 13]), wherein the cooling plate includes a selected one or more of: copper, silver, aluminum, graphene, gold, or brass ([0037], [0041], [0050], & [0073]: discloses).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh, in view of Gradinger et al. (US 2022/0142016 A1, Pub. Date May 5, 2022, hereinafter Gradinger).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Hsieh, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 2 (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [0030]-[0031], [0047] & [0091]), on the first side of the cooling plate ([0054], [0087], [0089], & [0091]: discloses the first plate 118a (cooling plate) having an opening 123 on the first side),
Hsieh, is silent in regard to:
further comprising a gasket, wherein the gasket surrounds the hole.
However, Gradinger, further teaches:
further comprising a gasket ([0020]: teaches the use of O-rings or seals (gaskets) on fluid openings in a cooling house), wherein the gasket surrounds the hole ([0020]: teaches that the O-rings or seals are used for the inlet opening and the outlet opening, which would require the gasket to surround the hole to function as a seal, preventing leakage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cooling device of Hsieh by incorporating the gasket (O-ring/seal) structure taught by Gradinger at the fill hole (opening 123) to prevent leakage during connection or operation, where the purpose of the opening in Hsieh is to handle a fluid (liquid PCM), Gradinger recognizes that fluid openings require effective sealing mechanisms like O-rings, utilizing a gasket, such as an O-ring around a fluid port is a standard, well-known engineering technique to ensure a hermetic seal between a plate and a connector, like Hsieh’s tube 166, or a plug, and adding a gasket around Hsieh’s opening would yield the predictable result of improving the seal reliability and preventing PCM leakage, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Hsieh, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [0030]-[0031], [0034], [0047] & [0091]), wherein the semiconductor device is thermally coupled with the cooling plate ([0046], [0049]-[0050], [0058], & [Claim 1]: discloses that the semiconductor device 100 is thermally coupled to the cooling plate (second plate 118b) via a TIM 116).
Hsieh, is silent in regard to:
further comprising a semiconductor device within the cavity,
However, Gradinger, further teaches:
further comprising a semiconductor device within the cavity (Figs. 1, 3, & 5; [0003]-[0004], [0015]-[0016], [0040], [0046] & [0048]-[0049]: teaches a semiconductor module (semiconductor device) comprising cooling structures, ribs 18, that are inserted within the cooling housing 13 (cavity)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cooling device of Hsieh to arrange the semiconductor device (or its heat-dissipating structures) within the cavity as taught by Gradinger, placing the semiconductor device’s thermal structures within the cavity eliminates thermal resistance caused by the plate thickness and external interfaces, enhancing heat transfer (direct cooling), integrating the module into the housing allows for a reliable and compact arrangement, where a POSITA looking to improve the cooling efficiency of Hsieh’s PCM cooler would look to Gradinger’s direct cooling method to allow the PCM to directly contact the heat-generating surface inside the cavity, rather than conducting heat through the second plate 118b of Hsieh, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Hsieh, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 4 (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [0030]-[0031], [0034], [0047] & [0091]),
Hsieh, is silent in regard to:
wherein the semiconductor device is coupled with the first side of the backing plate.
However, Gradinger, further teaches:
wherein the semiconductor device is coupled with the first side of the backing plate (Figs. 3 & 5; [0003], [0016], & [0048]-[0049]: teaches a direct cooling configuration where the semiconductor module 11 (semiconductor device) and its cooling ribs 18 are accommodated within the cooling housing 13 (cavity), effectively coupling the device with the first side (inner side) of the plate structure, constitutes receptacle plate 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Hsieh to couple the semiconductor device with the first side (inner side) of the backing plate, as taught by Gradinger, where Gradinger teaches that for optimum cooling, the structures should be in direct contact with the fluid, thus coupling the device to the first side (inside) eliminates the thermal resistance caused by the thickness of the backing plate and the extra layer of Thermal Interface Material (TIM) in Hsieh’s mounting, Gradinger further teaches that integrating the module into the housing (internal coupling) allows for a compact arrangement that is reliable, and which would be desirable for Hsieh’s goal of packaging semiconductor devices, the combination yields predictable results (KSR) of a cooling apparatus where the PCM (Hsieh) directly contacts the semiconductor device’s surface inside the cavity, enhancing the cooling efficiency.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Hsieh, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 5 (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [0030]-[0031], [0034], [0047] & [0091]), includes one or more electrical connectors that are electrically coupled with the semiconductor device (Fig. 1; [0035], [0037], [0039]-[0043], [0078], [0086], [0092]-[0093], & [0097]-[0098]: discloses that the semiconductor package structure includes connectors 104 (electrical connectors) on the exterior side to electrically couple the semiconductor device to a PCB)
Hsieh, is silent in regard to:
wherein the second side of the backing plate
However, Gradinger, further teaches:
wherein the second side of the backing plate (Figs. 1 & 5; [0003], [0009], [0011], [0040], & [0046]: discloses a semiconductor module 11 with a base plate 12 (backing plate) having a first side with cooling ribs 18 in the cavity and a second side attached to the substrate 22 and semiconductor device, the second side is the exterior side opposite the cooling ribs, as illustrated in Fig. 1, which also demonstrates pins/connectors extending from the second side (substrate 22 side) of the semiconductor module 11)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the electrical connectors taught by Hsieh (or the pins shown in Gradinger) on the second side of Gradinger’s backing plate assembly to provide the necessary electrical connectivity to the semiconductor device, while Gradinger focuses on the internal cooling mechanics, the device requires external electrical connections to function, Hsieh provides a standard solution arranging connectors on the side of the package opposite the cooling interface (or on the same side, dependent on the configuration, but externally accessible) to couple with a semiconductor device, thus the combination of Gradinger’s backing plate configuration and Hsieh’s teaching of connectors would yield predictable results (KSR).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh, in view of Gradinger, and further in view of Winer et al. (US5923086, Pat. Date Jul. 13, 1999, hereinafter Winer).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Hsieh, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 5 (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [0030]-[0031], [0034], [0041]-[0043], [0047], [0086], & [0091]-[0093]),
Hsieh, is silent in regard to:
on the first side of the backing plate.
However, Gradinger, further teaches:
on the first side of the backing plate (Fig. 1; [0046] & [0049]: teaches mounting the semiconductor module 11 directly to the receptable plate 14 (backing plate) such that the device protrudes into the cavity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cooling apparatus of Hsieh to couple the semiconductor device with the first side (inner side) of the backing plate, as taught by Gradinger, and combining Gradinger’s teaching of mounting the device to the backing plate with Winer’s teaching of using a socket for mounting, where it would be obvious to place the socket on the first side (mounting side) of the backing plate to receive the device, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Hsieh, in combination with Gradinger, are silent in regard to:
wherein the semiconductor device is electrically coupled with a socket
However, Winer, further teaches:
wherein the semiconductor device is electrically coupled with a socket (Figs. 3 & 5; [Abstract], [Col. 3, ll. 44-57], [Col. 6, ll. 12-21]: teaches a socket 305 or socket 505 used to electrically couple and mount a packaged semiconductor device (C4 package 303/503) for operation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cooling apparatus of Hsieh and Gradinger by incorporating the socket taught by Winer on the backing plate, to improve interchangeability and repair, where Winer demonstrates the utility of sockets allowing a device to be operated and tested without permanent bonding, that would allow a semiconductor module to be easily replaced or upgraded without discarding the entire cooling assembly, and replacing a permanent electrical/mechanical connection (weld/solder) with a removable mechanical connection (socket), is a simple substitution of known elements that would yield predictable results (KSR) of a modular, repairable cooling system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh, in view of Gradinger, and further in view of Grassmann et al. (US 2018/0040537 A1, Pub. Date Feb. 8, 2018, hereinafter Grassmann).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Hsieh, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 4 (Figs. 3 & 15; [Abstract], [0030]-[0031], [0034], [0047], [0065], & [0091]),
Hsieh, in combination with Gradinger, are silent in regard to:
further comprising a spacer between the semiconductor device and the second side of the cooling plate.
However, Grassmann, further teaches:
further comprising a spacer between the semiconductor device and the second side of the cooling plate (Figs. 1 & 3; [0017], [0052]-[0053], [0057], & [0060]: discloses a spacer body 130 arranged between the semiconductor chip 102 and the cooling channel/plate 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cooling apparatus of Hsieh by incorporating the spacer body taught by Grassmann between the semiconductor and the cooling plate, for height compensation improvement, Grassmann teaches that the spacer body simultaneously balances the height differences between various components, critical in multi-chip modules where chips may have different heights, for thermal mass enhancement, where the spacer body is made of a thermally highly conductive material such as copper, that promotes heat removal, providing a thermal buffer that a thin adhesive layer may lack, therefore adding a spacer would improve mechanical fit and thermal capacitance, yielding predictable results (KSR) in the art of electronic packaging.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh, in view of Grassmann.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Hsieh, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [0030]-[0031], [0047] & [0091]),
Hsieh, is silent in regard to:
wherein the cooling plate further comprises an input port and an output port coupled with the manifold.
However, Grassmann, further teaches:
wherein the cooling plate further comprises an input port (Figs. 3 & 4; [0063]: teaches coolant inlets 171 (input ports) which are part of a tubing structure 156 attached to the cooling plate) and an output port (Figs. 3 & 4; [063]: teaches coolant outlets 173 (output ports), also part of a tubing structure 156 attached to the cooling plate, for draining the coolant) coupled with the manifold (Fig. 3; [0061]-[0063]: teaches that the tubing structure (ports) provides fluid communication with the cooling channels 104 (manifold) within the cooling plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cooling plate of Hsieh to include the input and output ports taught by Grassmann, to allow for active circulation of a coolant (liquid or gas), to enhance heat removal capacity compared to a static PCM alone, which Hsieh focuses on, providing distinct input and output ports, as opposed to Hsieh’s single opening, is a standard engineering practice to facilitate efficient filling and venting (preventing airlocks) during the manufacturing process, thus, substituting a single fill hole with standard inlet/outlet ports to enable fluid flow or improved fluid management would yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Hsieh, teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1 (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [0030]-[0031], [0041]-[0043], [0047] & [0091]),
Hsieh, is silent in regard to:
wherein the first side of the cooling plate include markings that are related to a layout of one or more areas of a semiconductor device.
However, Grassmann, further teaches:
wherein the first side of the cooling plate (Fig. 1; [0034]-[0036] & [0054]: discloses the upper main surface (first side) of the first cooling plate 120) include markings (Fig. 1; [0054]: teaches that this surface includes an electrically conductive wiring structure 143 (markings), where a patterned metal layer constitutes markings on the surface) that are related to a layout of one or more areas of a semiconductor device (Fig. 1; [0054]: states that this structure is configured to connect to the pads 141 (layout areas) of the semiconductor chips 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cooling plate of Hsieh to include the markings (wiring structure 143) taught by Grassmann, to allow for the manufacture of a highly compact and lightweight package, where Grassmann teaches that providing the wiring structure directly on the cooling plate (dielectric coated metal or ceramic), and direct alignment, where applying markings (such as circuit traces) directly to the cooling plate ensures precise alignment and connection to the layout of one or more areas (bond pads) of the semiconductor device, facilitating the cooling architecture desired in Hsieh, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koyama et al. (US2022/0084905A1) discloses a semiconductor device including a cooler for cooling semiconductor elements.
/HUGO NAVARRO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 01/21/2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 1/23/2026