DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 7-17, and 21 are under consideration in this application.
Claims 5-6, and 18-20 have been canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s IDS submitted on 9/30/25 and 9/29/22 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has/have been considered by the examiner and made of record.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda et al., JP 2001133330 A, hereafter Fukuda in view of Nagahama, JP 2004356174 A, hereafter Nagahama.
Note: paragraph numbers for Fukuda refer to those of the Espacenet translation provided with the office action of 4/24/25, and Nagahama paragraph numbers refer to the machine translation provided with the office action of 10/28/25.
Regarding independent claim 1, Fukuda discloses the following limitations:
A semiconductor device (Fukuda, Figure 1, [0019] disclose diodes 12a as a semiconductor device) comprising:
a temperature sensing unit (Fukuda, Figure 2, [0014] A temperature detecting diode (constituted of two diodes 12a and 12b) 12 and a resistance 13) provided above a front surface of a semiconductor substrate (Fukuda, Figure 3, show the device formed above semiconductor substrate 125), wherein
the temperature sensing unit includes a plurality temperature sensing diode portions (Fukuda, Figure 2, and [0014] disclose a temperature detecting diode (constituted of two diodes 12a and 12b), and [0030] discloses that three or more diode may be used) and at least an anode side resistance portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, resistance 13 is connected to the anode of diode 12a, and Figure 2, resistance 13, and [0030] discloses the resistive region “may be formed by extending it into both the P-type region and the N-type region,” where the resistance is an anode side resistance since it connects to the anode of the diode)
each of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions includes an anode portion and a cathode portion coupled to the anode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, shows the cathode of diode 12a connected to the anode of diode 12b, and Figure 2, [0014] A temperature detecting diode (constituted of two diodes 12a and 12b) 12, and the diodes contain N-type (cathode) region 122a and P-type (anode) region 121a),
the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions is are connected in series (Fukuda, Figure 2, [0014] two diodes 12a and 12b, and Figure 1 shows diodes 12a and 12b connected in series), with one of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions being a first temperature sensing diode portion in the series (Fukuda, Figure 1, where diode 12a is the first temperature sensing diode) and another one of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions being a last temperature sensing diode portion in the series (Fukuda, Figure 1, where diode 12b is the second temperature sensing diode),
the anode side resistance portion is electrically connected to the anode portion of the first temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, anode of diode 12a is connected to resistance 13, which is an anode side resistance because it is connected to the anode of diode 12a),
a sum of resistance values of the cathode portion of the temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, [0023] discloses ““It should be noted that the P-type regions 121a, 121b and the N-type regions 122a, 122b that form the diodes 12a, 12b also have resistance components, but the resistance value (total) of both is, for example, about 20 Ω or less”) and the cathode side resistance portion (Fukuda, [0023] “the resistance value of the above-mentioned resistance region 131 is several hundred Ω (for example, 500 Ω or more.”) is greater than a resistance value of the anode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, [0023] discloses ““It should be noted that the P-type regions 121a, 121b and the N-type regions 122a, 122b that form the diodes 12a, 12b also have resistance components, but the resistance value (total) of both is, for example, about 20 Ω or less”).
Fukuda fails to disclose the following limitations (parentheticals included for clarity):
(an anode side resistance portion) of an N type
a cathode side resistance of the N type
the cathode side resistance portion is electrically connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion
Regarding the limitation of “(an anode side resistance portion) of an N type,” Fukuda, in Figures 1 and 2, discloses a temperature sensing diode with a p-type resistance connected to the anode of the temperature sensing diode. Fukuda lacks teaching to connect an n-type resistance to the anode of the temperature sensing diode. Fukuda further discloses that the resistive region can be formed as n-type or p-type [0030]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that n-type resistance regions are known equivalents to p-type resistance regions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known equivalent element, an n-type resistive region, for another known equivalent element, a p-type resistive region, resulting in the predictable result of forming a resistive element.
Fukuda fails to disclose the following limitations:
a cathode side resistance of the N type
the cathode side resistance portion is electrically connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion
Nagahama in a temperature sensor discloses the following limitations:
a cathode side resistance (Nagahama, Figure 13, shows a temperature sensing diode with a resistor connected to the cathode and a second resistor connected to the anode, and in [0011] Nagahama discloses that the resistor can be attached to the anode or cathode of the diode and that “any configuration is possible”).
the cathode side resistance portion is electrically connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion (Nagahama, Figure 13 which shows a temperature sensing diode with a resistor connected to the cathode side of the diode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to have applied the teachings of Nagahama to the device of Fukuda and to therefore have also connected a resistor to the cathode of the temperature sensing diode because Nagahama discloses that the resistor can be connected to both the anode and the cathode of a temperature sensing diode and that a diode placed in either location will desirably increase sensitivity of the device.
It would have further been obvious to have used an n-type resistive region because Fukuda discloses that the resistive region can be formed as n-type or p-type [0030]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that n-type resistance regions and p-type resistance regions are known equivalents making the selection of a n-type or p-type resistive region a design choice, either an n-type resistive region or p-type resistive region will result in the predictable result of forming a resistive element, making the selection of an n-type region obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein
the anode side resistance portion and the cathode side resistance portion are polysilicon of the N type (Fukuda, [0022] discloses “polycrystalline silicon resistor region 131” and [0030] discloses that the resistor can be N-type) .
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein
the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions connected in series (Fukuda, Figure 1, diode 12a and diode 12b are in series) further includes:
an anode wiring (Fukuda, Figure 1, wire from terminal 14a to resistance 13) electrically connected to the anode portion of the first temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, diode 12a); and
a cathode wiring (Fukuda, Figure 1, wire from the cathode of diode 12b to terminal 14b) electrically connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, diode 12b), and
the anode side resistance portion is provided between the anode wiring and the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions connected in series (Fukuda, Figure 1, wire from terminal 14a to resistance 13, which is an anode side resistance for diode 12a), and
the cathode side resistance portion is provided between the cathode wiring and the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions connected in series (The combination of Fukuda and Nagahama teach to connect multiple temperature sensing diodes in series with anode and cathode side resistors. In this configuration the wire of Fukuda in Figure 1 would connect from 14b to the cathode resistor of the diode 12b).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions connected in series (Fukuda, Figure 1, diode 12a and diode 12b are in series) further includes:
an anode wiring (Fukuda, Figure 1, wire from terminal 14a to resistor 13) electrically connected to the anode portion of the first temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, diode 12a); and
a cathode wiring (Fukuda, Figure 1, wire from the cathode of diode 12b to terminal 14b) electrically connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, diode 12b),
the anode side resistance portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, resistance 13) is provided between the anode wiring and the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions connected in series (Fukuda, shown in Figure 1, anode wiring goes from 14a to resistor 13, which is connected to the anode of diode 12a, which is in series with diode 12b) and
and the cathode side resistance portion is provided between the cathode wiring and the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions connected in series (The combination of Fukuda and Nagahama disclose a resistance connected to the cathode of diode 12b, placing it between the wiring from 14b to 12b and the series of diodes 12a, and 12b)
Regarding independent claim 7, The Fukuda discloses the following limitations:
A semiconductor device (Fukuda, Figure 1, [0019] disclose diodes 12a as a semiconductor device) comprising:
a temperature sensing unit (Fukuda, Figure 2, [0014] A temperature detecting diode (constituted of two diodes 12a and 12b) 12 and a resistance 13) provided above a front surface of a semiconductor substrate (Fukuda, Figure 3, show the device formed above semiconductor substrate 125), wherein
the temperature sensing unit includes a plurality temperature sensing diode portions (Fukuda, Figure 2, and [0014] disclose a temperature detecting diode (constituted of two diodes 12a and 12b), and [0030] discloses that three or more diode may be used) and one or more resistance portions (Fukuda, Figure 1, resistance 13 is connected to the anode of diode 12a, and Figure 2, resistance 13, and [0030] discloses the resistive region “may be formed by extending it into both the P-type region and the N-type region,” where the resistance is an anode side resistance since it connects to the anode of the diode),
each of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions includes an anode portion and a cathode portion coupled to the anode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, shows the cathode of diode 12a connected to the anode of diode 12b, and Figure 2, [0014] A temperature detecting diode (constituted of two diodes 12a and 12b) 12, and the diodes contain N-type (cathode) region 122a and P-type (anode) region 121a),
the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions is are connected in series (Fukuda, Figure 2, [0014] two diodes 12a and 12b, and Figure 1 shows diodes 12a and 12b connected in series), with one of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions being a first temperature sensing diode portion in the series (Fukuda, Figure 1, where diode 12a is the first temperature sensing diode) and another one of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions being a last temperature sensing diode portion in the series (Fukuda, Figure 1, where diode 12b is the second temperature sensing diode),
Fukuda fails to disclose the following limitations:
(resistance portions) of an N type
each of the one or more resistance portions is electrically connected to the cathode portion of a corresponding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions and to the anode portion of a next succeeding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions succeeding the corresponding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions in the series,
Regarding the limitation of “(one or more resistance portions) of an of an N type,” Fukuda discloses a temperature sensing diode with a p-type resistance connected to the anode of the temperature sensing diode. Fukuda lacks teaching to connect an n-type resistance to the anode of the temperature sensing diode. Fukuda further discloses that the resistive region can be formed as n-type or p-type [0030]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that n-type resistance regions are known equivalents to p-type resistance regions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known equivalent element, an n-type resistive region, for another known equivalent element, a p-type resistive region, resulting in the predictable result of forming a resistive element.
Nagahama in a temperature sensor discloses the following limitations:
each of the one or more resistance portions is electrically connected to the cathode portion of a corresponding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions (Nagahama, Figure 1B, shows a temperature sensing diode with a resistor connected to the cathode, and in [0011] Nagahama discloses that the resistor can be attached to the anode or cathode of the diode and that “any configuration is possible” and Figure 13 shows multiple resistor used with a temperature sensing diode) and to the anode portion (Nagahama, Figure 1A, shows a temperature sensing diode with a resistor connected to the anode) of a next succeeding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions succeeding the corresponding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions in the series.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to have applied the teachings of Nagahama to attach a resistor to the cathode of a diode in a temperature sensor to the device of Fukuda because Nagahama teaches that when a resistor is added to the temperature sensing diode “the temperature characteristics of the PN junction voltage of the diode are further added to the temperature dependence of the low-density resistance, so that the fluctuation range of the output voltage with respect to the temperature is larger than that of the conventional diode, and the sensitivity of the semiconductor temperature sensor is reduced. improves.” When a resistor is attached to each cathode of a diode in series the limitation of “of a next succeeding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions succeeding the corresponding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions in the series” would necessarily be met because the end of the resistor not attached to the cathode must attach to the anode of the next diode in the series of diodes to have the diodes connected in series.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama disclose the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the cathode side resistance portion is provided to be coupled to the cathode portion of the last temperature sending diode portion in the series. (The combination of Fukuda and Nagahama as applied to claim 1 above teach a cathode resistive portion between the cathode wiring and the diode, this would place a cathode resistive portion connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the anode portions (Fukuda, Figure 2, diode 12a, P-type region 121a) and the cathode portions (Fukuda, Figure 2, diode 12a, N-type region 122a) portions of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions are arrayed on a surface parallel to the front surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fukuda, Figure 3, and [0019] shows the P-type and N-type regions are parallel to the surface of semiconductor substrate 125).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein
the anode side resistance portion is provided at a location between the cathode side resistance portion and the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion.
The combination or Fukuda and Nagahama teach the anode side resistance portion is electrically connected to the anode portion of the first temperature sensing diode portion, and the cathode side resistance portion is electrically connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion, in this configuration the cathode portion of the temperature sensing diode are between the cathode side resistance and the anode side resistance.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda and Nagahama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dahlström et al, US 20180190753 A1, hereafter Dahlström.
Regarding claim 10, Fukuda and Nagahama fail to disclose the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a doping concentration of the anode side resistance portion and the cathode side resistance portion is greater than or equal to 1E18 cm-3 and less than 1E20 cm-3.
Dahlström discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a doping concentration of the anode side resistance portion and the cathode side resistance portion is greater than or equal to 1E18 cm-3 and less than 1E20 cm-3 (Dahlström, [0028] discloses the doping to form a resistor is typically 1E15 to 1E20 cm-3 )
Fukuda and Nagahama disclose the invention as claimed lacking only in not disclosing the doping concentration of the resistor. Dahlström discloses a range of doping concentration that can be used when making resistors. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the teachings of Dahlström with the device of Fukuda and Nagahama and the results would have been predictable. Such a combination would have been no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. Also note that the claimed range is entirely within the range disclosed by Dahlström and MPEP 2144.05 I states that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda and Nagahama as applied above to claim 1 above, and further in view of Osawa, US 20230420454 A1, hereafter Osawa.
Regarding claim 11, Fukuda and Nagahama fail to discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a doping concentration of each of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions is greater than or equal to 1E18 cm-3 and less than 1E20 cm-3.
Osawa discloses the following limitations in a temperature sensing diode:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a doping concentration of each of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portion is greater than or equal to 1E18 cm-3 and less than 1E20 cm-3 (Figure 10, a cross-sectional view of the temperature sensing diode and [0103] discloses a dopant concentrations in regions 44P and 45P that are greater than or equal to 1×1018 cm−3 and less than or equal to 1×1020 cm−3 ).
Fukuda and Nagahama disclose a temperature sensor lacking only in not disclosing the doping concentration level for the p-type and n-type materials of the diodes. Osawa discloses the doping concentrations for p-type and n-type material used to make diodes in a temperature sensor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the temperature sensor diode dopant concentrations taught by Osawa in the temperature sensor device of Fukuda and Nagahama such a combination would be no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Claim 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda and Nagahama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Osawa, US 20230420454 A1, hereafter Osawa and Dahlström et al, US 20180190753 A1, hereafter Dahlström.
Regarding claim 12, Fukuda and Nagahama fail to disclose the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a doping concentration of the anode side resistance portion and the cathode side resistance portion is equal to or less than a doping concentration of the cathode portion of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions.
Osawa and Dahlström disclose the following limitations:
Dahlström discloses that resistors with doping concentration of 1E15 to 1E20 cm-3
Osawa disclose that doping concentrations for the cathode portions of a temperature sensing diode of 1×1018 cm−3 and less than or equal to 1×1020 cm−3
Dahlström discloses that resistors with doping concentration of 1E15 to 1E20 cm-3
Fukuda and Nagahama teaches the invention as claimed lacking to teach the doping concentrations of the regions, and therefore does not teach if the doping concentration of the resistor is less than or equal to the doping concentration of the cathode portion. Osawa and Dahlström disclose concentration ranges for resistors and cathode regions in temperature sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the temperature sensor diode dopant concentrations taught by Osawa and the resistor doping concentration as taught by Dahlström in the temperature sensor device of Fukuda such a combination would be no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. Since the range for the doping concentration of the cathode region is totally within the range for the resistor, the combination discloses doping concentrations where the doping concentration of the resistor is less than or equal to the doping concentration of the cathode portion.
Regarding claim 13, Fukuda, Nagahama, Osawa and Dahlström discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 12, wherein the doping concentration of the anode side resistance portion and the cathode side resistance portion is the same as the doping concentration of the cathode portions of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions (The combination of Osawa and Dahlström disclose overlapping regions for the doping concentrations and therefore tach equal doping concentrations. Doing so would also simplify the device since only one only one doping or deposition step would be necessary.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Independent claim 14 is allowable because the closest prior art does not appear to disclose, alone or in combination, the limitations of:
Regarding independent claim 14, the prior art of record fails to disclose a temperature sensing device with at least one resistance portion and a plurality of temperature sensing diodes that are on an insulating layer, that is on a metal layer, that is on an insulating layer. The closest prior art of record is Nishimura, US 20150001579 A1. Nishimura discloses temperature sensing diodes and capacitors located on top of a capacitor. Nishimura fails to disclose an insulating/metal/insulating isolating structure under the plurality of diodes and a resistive region. The other prior art of record fails to remedy this deficiency.
The claims of the application at hand that depend from allowable claims are allowable because they respectively depend, directly or indirectly, from the allowable claims of the application at hand. Therefore, the dependent claims in question incorporate the allowable limitations of the claims from which they depend.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 12/18/25, with respect to the 36 U.S.C. §112 rejections to claims 7 and 21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. §112 rejections of claims 7 and 21 have been withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 7 and 21 are sufficient to overcome the rejections of claims 7 and 21.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/25 regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that Fukuda fails to show an N-type resistor is not persuasive because a “reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art.” See MPEP 2123 I. There is no requirement that a reference show all combinations that it discloses.
Applicant’s argument that Nagahama only show a single resistor is not persuasive because in Figure 13 shows a resistor on both the anode and the cathode side of the temperature sensing diode. Applicant’s argument that Nagahama resistor is the internal resistance of diode 2 is not persuasive because Nagahama discloses “As shown in FIG. 1, the function-added diode 1 is a Poly-Si diode in which a low-concentration resistor 3 is added to one of the anode side and the cathode side of the Poly-Si diode 2. (A) shows an example in which the low-concentration resistor 3 is added to the anode, and (b) shows an example in which the low-concentration resistor 3 is added to the cathode side, and any configuration is possible.” (Nagahama, [0011]). Furthermore in [0005] Nagahama discloses that his invention uses “a diode with a function that is configured by adding a low-concentration resistor.” The argument that the resistor is internal is not persuasive since this is a resistance that has been added to the diode, and in Figure 13 there are resistors on both the anode and the cathode of the diode.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicants’ argument that one of ordinary skill would not use multiple resistors is not persuasive in view of the teachings of Nagahama to use more than one resistor. Nagahama discloses that adding a resistor to a temperature sensing results in “the temperature characteristics of the PN junction voltage of the diode are further added to the temperature dependence of the low-density resistance, so that the fluctuation range of the output voltage with respect to the temperature is larger than that of the conventional diode, and the sensitivity of the semiconductor temperature sensor is reduced. improves.”
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Nagahama discloses that resistors in Figure 1 can be added to the anode or cathode and that “any configuration is possible” and in Figure 13 teaches that resistors can be used on both sides of the diode. The argument that adding more resistors increases the complexity of device is not persuasive because adding additional resistors can provide advantages that outweigh the negative effects such as increased sensitivity, increased flexibility in design and/or layout. The argument that complexity is the only concern is not persuasive because complexity is not the only consideration when designing and fabricating devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kiep at al., US 20190025132 A1, discloses a temperature sensor using a string of diode.
/LINDA J. FLECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812