DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SEMICONDUCTOR DEVICE WITH A TEMPERATURE SENSING UNIT THAT INCLUDES A TEMPERATURE SENSING DIODE PORTION AND A RESISTANCE PORTION OF AN N TYPE ELECTRICALLY CONNECTED TO THE TEMPERATURE SENSING DIODE PORTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 7-17, and 21-22 are under consideration in this application.
Claims 5-6, and 18-20 have been canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicants’ IDS submitted on 9/30/25 and 9/29/22 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has/have been considered by the examiner and made of record.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 4 contain the same limitations and differ only in their dependency, both depend from claim 1 (claim 3 directly and claim 4 depends from claim 1 by way of claim 2), and due to the amendments made to claim 1, now apparently claim a combination of the embodiments of Figure 8B and 9B. There is no apparent support for such a combination in the specification as filed as the combination requires an anode resistance portion between the anode wiring and the plurality of diodes and also between the cathode side resistance portion and the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing portion.
Claim 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3 and 4: claim 3 and 4 contain the same limitations and both depend from claim 1 (claim 3 directly and claim 4 by way of claim 2) and require the anode side resistance portion is provided between the anode wiring and the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions and the cathode side resistance portion is provided between the cathode wiring and the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions. This is apparently the configuration shown in Figure 8B of the instant application. Which if annotated looks like:
Annotated Figure 1
However, claim 3 and 4 depend from claim 1 (claim 3 directly and claim 4 by way of claim 2), which as amended, requires the anode side resistance portion to be between the cathode side resistance portion and the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode. Such a position requires the anode side resistance portion to be to the right of the left most diode of the plurality of diodes. It is unclear how a resistance can be placed to meet the requirements of both claim 3 or 4 and claim 1.
For purposes of examination: the anode resistance of as claimed is considered to be placed in the position as claimed by claim 3 or claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda et al., JP 2001133330 A, hereafter Fukuda in view of Nagahama, JP 2004356174 A, hereafter Nagahama.
Note: paragraph numbers for Fukuda refer to those of the Espacenet translation provided with the office action of 4/24/25, and Nagahama paragraph numbers refer to the machine translation provided with the office action of 10/28/25.
Regarding independent claim 1, Fukuda discloses the following limitations:
A semiconductor device (Fukuda, Figure 1, [0019] discloses diodes 12a as a semiconductor device) comprising:
a temperature sensing unit (Fukuda, Figure 2, [0014] A temperature detecting diode 12, constituted of two diodes 12a and 12b and a resistance 13) provided above a front surface of a semiconductor substrate (Fukuda, Figure 3, show the device formed above semiconductor substrate 125), wherein
the temperature sensing unit includes a plurality temperature sensing diode portions (Fukuda, Figure 2, and [0014] disclose a temperature detecting diode (constituted of two diodes 12a and 12b), and [0030] discloses that three or more diode may be used) and at least an anode side resistance portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, resistance 13 is connected to the anode of diode 12a, and Figure 2, resistance 13, and [0030] discloses the resistive region “may be formed by extending it into both the P-type region and the N-type region,” where the resistance is an anode side resistance since it connects to the anode of the diode)
each of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions includes an anode portion and a cathode portion coupled to the anode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, shows the cathode of diode 12a connected to the anode of diode 12b, and Figure 2, [0014] A temperature detecting diode 12 (constituted of two diodes 12a and 12b), and the diodes contain N-type (cathode) region 122a and P-type (anode) region 121a),
the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions is are connected in series (Fukuda, Figure 2, [0014] two diodes 12a and 12b, and Figure 1 shows diodes 12a and 12b connected in series), with one of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions being a first temperature sensing diode portion in the series (Fukuda, Figure 1, where diode 12a is the first temperature sensing diode) and another one of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions being a last temperature sensing diode portion in the series (Fukuda, Figure 1, where diode 12b is the second temperature sensing diode),
the anode side resistance portion is electrically connected to the anode portion of the first temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, anode of diode 12a is connected to resistance 13, which is an anode side resistance because it is connected to the anode of diode 12a),
Fukuda fails to disclose the following limitations (parentheticals included for clarity):
(an anode side resistance portion) of an N type
a cathode side resistance of the N type
the cathode side resistance portion is electrically connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion
the anode side resistance portion is provided at a location between the cathode side resistance portion and the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion.
Nagahama in a temperature sensor discloses the following limitations:
a cathode side resistance (Nagahama, Figure 1(B) shows a function added diode 1, which contains a low-density resistor 3 connected to the cathode of a diode 2)
the cathode side resistance portion is electrically connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion (Nagahama, Figure 1(B) shows a function added diode 1, which contains a low-density resistor 3 connected to the cathode of a diode 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to have applied the teachings Nagahama to the device of Fukuda and to therefore have replaced the diodes of Fukuda with the function-added diodes as taught by Nagahama because Nagahama discloses that function-added diodes which include a resistor added to the diode increases the sensitivity of the temperature sensing diode (Nagahama, “a low-concentration resistor having a negative temperature characteristic in which a resistance value of a diode increases as the temperature decreases. A diode with a function that is configured by adding is used. By doing so, the temperature dependence of the low-concentration resistance is further added to the temperature characteristics of the PN junction voltage of the diode, so the fluctuation range of the output voltage with respect to temperature becomes larger than that of the conventional diode, and the sensitivity of the semiconductor temperature sensor is improves.”
Having substituted the function-added diode of Nagahama into the device of Fukuda would result in a diode chain that looks like:
Annotated Figure 2
The limitation requiring “the anode side resistance portion is provided at a location between the cathode side resistance portion and the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion” is met as shown by the resistor to the left of the anode of the first temperature sensing diode in the above annotated figure. Since this resistance is connected to the anode of the first temperature sensing diode it is an anode resistance.
Fukuda and Nagahama fail to specifically disclose the following limitations (parentheticals included for clarity):
(an anode side resistance portion) of an N type
a cathode side resistance of the N type
Fukuda, in Figures 1 and 2, discloses a temperature sensing diode with a p-type resistance connected to the anode of the temperature sensing diode. Fukuda lacks teaching to connect an n-type resistance to the anode of the temperature sensing diode. Fukuda further discloses that the resistive region can be formed as n-type or p-type [0030]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that n-type resistance regions are known equivalents to p-type resistance regions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known equivalent element, an n-type resistive region, for another known equivalent element, a p-type resistive region, resulting in the predictable result of forming a resistive element.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein
the anode side resistance portion and the cathode side resistance portion are polysilicon of the N type (Fukuda, [0022] discloses “polycrystalline silicon resistor region 131” and [0030] discloses that the resistor can be N-type).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein
the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions connected in series (Fukuda, Figure 1, diode 12a and diode 12b are in series) further includes:
an anode wiring (Fukuda, Figure 1, wire from terminal 14a to resistance 13) electrically connected to the anode portion of the first temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, diode 12a); and
a cathode wiring (Fukuda, Figure 1, wire from the cathode of diode 12b to terminal 14b) electrically connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, diode 12b), and
the anode side resistance portion is provided between the anode wiring and the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions connected in series (Fukuda, Figure 1, wire from terminal 14a to resistance 13, which is an anode side resistance for diode 12a), and
the cathode side resistance portion is provided between the cathode wiring and the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions connected in series (The combination of Fukuda and Nagahama as noted above teach to connect multiple temperature sensing diodes in series with cathode side resistors. In this configuration the wire of Fukuda in Figure 1 would connect from 14b to the cathode resistor of the diode 12b).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions connected in series (Fukuda, Figure 1, diode 12a and diode 12b are in series) further includes:
an anode wiring (Fukuda, Figure 1, wire from terminal 14a to resistor 13) electrically connected to the anode portion of the first temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, diode 12a); and
a cathode wiring (Fukuda, Figure 1, wire from the cathode of diode 12b to terminal 14b) electrically connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, diode 12b),
the anode side resistance portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, resistance 13) is provided between the anode wiring and the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions connected in series (Fukuda, shown in Figure 1, anode wiring goes from 14a to resistor 13, which is connected to the anode of diode 12a, which is in series with diode 12b) and
and the cathode side resistance portion is provided between the cathode wiring and the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions connected in series (The combination of Fukuda and Nagahama disclose a resistance connected to the cathode of diode 12b, placing it between the wiring from 14b to 12b and the series of diodes 12a, and 12b)
Regarding independent claim 7, Fukuda discloses the following limitations:
A semiconductor device (Fukuda, Figure 1 and [0019] disclose diodes 12a as a semiconductor device) comprising:
a temperature sensing unit (Fukuda, Figure 2, [0014] A temperature detecting diode (constituted of two diodes 12a and 12b) 12 and a resistance 13) provided above a front surface of a semiconductor substrate (Fukuda, Figure 3, show the device formed above semiconductor substrate 125), wherein
the temperature sensing unit includes a plurality temperature sensing diode portions (Fukuda, Figure 2, and [0014] disclose a temperature detecting diode (constituted of two diodes 12a and 12b), and [0030] discloses that three or more diode may be used) and a resistance portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, resistance 13 is connected to the anode of diode 12a, and Figure 2, resistance 13, and [0030] discloses the resistive region “may be formed by extending it into both the P-type region and the N-type region,” where the resistance is an anode side resistance since it connects to the anode of the diode),
each of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions includes an anode portion and a cathode portion coupled to the anode portion (Fukuda, Figure 1, shows the cathode of diode 12a connected to the anode of diode 12b, and Figure 2, [0014] A temperature detecting diode (constituted of two diodes 12a and 12b) 12, and the diodes contain N-type (cathode) region 122a and P-type (anode) region 121a),
the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions is are connected in series (Fukuda, Figure 2, [0014] two diodes 12a and 12b, and Figure 1 shows diodes 12a and 12b connected in series), with one of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions being a first temperature sensing diode portion in the series (Fukuda, Figure 1, where diode 12a is the first temperature sensing diode) and another one of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portions being a last temperature sensing diode portion in the series (Fukuda, Figure 1, where diode 12b is the second temperature sensing diode)
Fukuda fails to disclose the following limitations:
(resistance portions) of an N type
a plurality (of resistance portions)
each of the plurality of resistance portions is electrically connected to the cathode portion of a corresponding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions and to the anode portion of a next succeeding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions succeeding the corresponding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions in the series.
Nagahama in a temperature sensor discloses the following limitations:
a plurality (of resistance portions) (Nagahama, Figure 1(B) shows a function added diode 1, which contains a low-density resistor 3 connected to the cathode of a diode 2)
each of the plurality of resistance portions is electrically connected to the cathode portion of a corresponding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions (Nagahama, Figure 1(B) shows a function added diode 1, which contains a low-density resistor 3 connected to the cathode of a diode 2) and to the anode portion (Nagahama, Figure 1A, shows a temperature sensing diode with a resistor connected to the anode) of a next succeeding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions succeeding the corresponding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions in the series.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to have applied the teachings Nagahama to the device of Fukuda and to therefore have replaced the diodes of Fukuda with the function-added diodes as taught in Figure 1B of Nagahama because Nagahama discloses that function-added diodes which include a resistor added to the diode increases the sensitivity of the temperature sensing diode (Nagahama, “a low-concentration resistor having a negative temperature characteristic in which a resistance value of a diode increases as the temperature decreases. A diode with a function that is configured by adding is used. By doing so, the temperature dependence of the low-concentration resistance is further added to the temperature characteristics of the PN junction voltage of the diode, so the fluctuation range of the output voltage with respect to temperature becomes larger than that of the conventional diode, and the sensitivity of the semiconductor temperature sensor is improves.” Such a configuration is shown in annotated figure 2 above, and would result in the limitation of “and to the anode portion of a next succeeding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions succeeding the corresponding one of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions in the series” being necessarily be met because the end of the resistor not attached to the cathode must attach to the anode of the next diode in the series of diodes to have the diodes connected in series.
Regarding the limitation of “(one or more resistance portions) of an of an N type,” Fukuda discloses a temperature sensing diode with a p-type resistance connected to the anode of the temperature sensing diode. Fukuda lacks teaching to connect an n-type resistance to the anode of the temperature sensing diode. Fukuda further discloses that the resistive region can be formed as n-type or p-type [0030]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that n-type resistance regions are known equivalents to p-type resistance regions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known equivalent element, an n-type resistive region, for another known equivalent element, a p-type resistive region, resulting in the predictable result of forming a resistive element.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama disclose the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the cathode side resistance portion is provided to be coupled to the cathode portion of the last temperature sending diode portion in the series. (The combination of Fukuda and Nagahama as applied to claim 1 above teach a cathode resistive portion between the cathode wiring and the diode, this would place a cathode resistive portion connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the anode portions (Fukuda, Figure 2, diode 12a, P-type region 121a) and the cathode portions (Fukuda, Figure 2, diode 12a, N-type region 122a) portions of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions are arrayed on a surface parallel to the front surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fukuda, Figure 3, and [0019] shows the P-type and N-type regions are parallel to the surface of semiconductor substrate 125).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein
a sum of resistance values of the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, [0023] discloses ""It should be noted that the P-type regions 121a, 121b and the N-type regions 122a, 122b that form the diodes 12a, 12b also have resistance components, but the resistance value (total) of both is, for example, about 20 Ω or less") and the cathode side resistance portion (Fukuda, [0023] "the resistance value of the above-mentioned resistance region 131 is several hundred Ω (for example, 500 Ω or more.") is greater than a resistance value of the anode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion (Fukuda, [0023] discloses ""It should be noted that the P-type regions 121a, 121b and the N-type regions 122a, 122b that form the diodes 12a, 12b also have resistance components, but the resistance value (total) of both is, for example, about 20 Ω or less").
Regarding claim 22 Fukuda and Nagahama disclose the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 7, further comprising at least one additional resistance portion electrically connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion (In the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama, as seen in annotated Figure 2, any other, not labeled resistance portion, can be the additional resistance portion since all of the resistance portions are connected in series and therefore are all electrically connected to the cathode portion of the last temperature sensing diode portion).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda and Nagahama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dahlström et al, US 20180190753 A1, hereafter Dahlström.
Regarding claim 10, Fukuda and Nagahama fail to disclose the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a doping concentration of the anode side resistance portion and the cathode side resistance portion is greater than or equal to 1E18 cm-3 and less than 1E20 cm-3.
Dahlström discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a doping concentration of the anode side resistance portion and the cathode side resistance portion is greater than or equal to 1E18 cm-3 and less than 1E20 cm-3 (Dahlström, [0028] discloses the doping to form a resistor is typically 1E15 to 1E20 cm-3 )
Fukuda and Nagahama disclose the invention as claimed lacking only in not disclosing the doping concentration of the resistor. Dahlström discloses a range of doping concentration that can be used when making resistors. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the teachings of Dahlström with the device of Fukuda and Nagahama and the results would have been predictable. Such a combination would have been no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. Also note that the claimed range is entirely within the range disclosed by Dahlström and MPEP 2144.05 I states that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda and Nagahama as applied above to claim 1 above, and further in view of Osawa, US 20230420454 A1, hereafter Osawa.
Regarding claim 11, Fukuda and Nagahama fail to discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a doping concentration of each of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions is greater than or equal to 1E18 cm-3 and less than 1E20 cm-3.
Osawa discloses the following limitations in a temperature sensing diode:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a doping concentration of each of the plurality of the temperature sensing diode portion is greater than or equal to 1E18 cm-3 and less than 1E20 cm-3 (Figure 10, a cross-sectional view of the temperature sensing diode and [0103] discloses a dopant concentrations in regions 44P and 45P that are greater than or equal to 1×1018 cm−3 and less than or equal to 1×1020 cm−3 ).
Fukuda and Nagahama disclose a temperature sensor lacking only in not disclosing the doping concentration level for the p-type and n-type materials of the diodes. Osawa discloses the doping concentrations for p-type and n-type material used to make diodes in a temperature sensor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the temperature sensor diode dopant concentrations taught by Osawa in the temperature sensor device of Fukuda and Nagahama such a combination would be no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Claim 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda and Nagahama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Osawa, US 20230420454 A1, hereafter Osawa and Dahlström et al, US 20180190753 A1, hereafter Dahlström.
Regarding claim 12, Fukuda and Nagahama fail to disclose the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a doping concentration of the anode side resistance portion and the cathode side resistance portion is equal to or less than a doping concentration of the cathode portion of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions.
Osawa and Dahlström disclose the following limitations:
Dahlström discloses that resistors with doping concentration of 1E15 to 1E20 cm-3
Osawa disclose that doping concentrations for the cathode portions of a temperature sensing diode of 1×1018 cm−3 and less than or equal to 1×1020 cm−3
Dahlström discloses that resistors with doping concentration of 1E15 to 1E20 cm-3
Fukuda and Nagahama teaches the invention as claimed lacking to teach the doping concentrations of the regions, and therefore does not teach if the doping concentration of the resistor is less than or equal to the doping concentration of the cathode portion. Osawa and Dahlström disclose concentration ranges for resistors and cathode regions in temperature sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the temperature sensor diode dopant concentrations taught by Osawa and the resistor doping concentration as taught by Dahlström in the temperature sensor device of Fukuda such a combination would be no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. Since the range for the doping concentration of the cathode region is totally within the range for the resistor, the combination discloses doping concentrations where the doping concentration of the resistor is less than or equal to the doping concentration of the cathode portion.
Regarding claim 13, Fukuda, Nagahama, Osawa and Dahlström discloses the following limitations:
The semiconductor device according to claim 12, wherein the doping concentration of the anode side resistance portion and the cathode side resistance portion is the same as the doping concentration of the cathode portions of the plurality of temperature sensing diode portions (The combination of Osawa and Dahlström disclose overlapping regions for the doping concentrations and therefore tach equal doping concentrations. Doing so would also simplify the device since only one only one doping or deposition step would be necessary.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Independent claim 14 is allowable because the closest prior art does not appear to disclose, alone or in combination, the limitations of:
Regarding independent claim 14, the prior art of record fails to disclose a temperature sensing device with at least one resistance portion and a plurality of temperature sensing diodes that are on an insulating layer, that is on a metal layer, that is on an insulating layer. The closest prior art of record is Nishimura, US 20150001579 A1. Nishimura discloses temperature sensing diodes and capacitors located on top of a capacitor. Nishimura fails to disclose an insulating/metal/insulating isolating structure under the plurality of diodes and a resistive region. The other prior art of record fails to remedy this deficiency.
The claims of the application at hand that depend from allowable claims are allowable because they respectively depend, directly or indirectly, from the allowable claims of the application at hand. Therefore, the dependent claims in question incorporate the allowable limitations of the claims from which they depend.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 7-13 and 21-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive because the combination of Fukuda and Nagahama, as modified to address the amendments, show the claimed features as explained in the above rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rehak et al., CS 243676 B1, the Figure, discloses the use of a series of diodes and resistors used as a temperature sensor.
Ozoe et al., US 7800195 B2, discloses temperature sensors formed on capacitors.
Otaguro, US 20240191011 A1, discloses a temperature sensing diode with a resistor on either the anode or the cathode.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDA J. FLECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812