DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III, claims 17-20, and withdrawing claims 1-16, in the reply filed on January 11, 2026, is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,239,348. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 17-20, Patent ’348 [Claims 9-16] discloses the limitations of the claims, including
forming a GaAs base region;
forming an InGaP emitter region;
forming a GaAs emitter cap region;
forming an emitter base stack, wherein the emitter base stack comprises the GaAs emitter cap region, the InGaP emitter region, and the GaAs base region; and
forming a collector region,
wherein:
the transistor is a NPN heterojunction bipolar transistor;
the InGaP emitter region comprises one of: an ordered phase or disordered phase or mixed phase;
the InGaP emitter region is lattice matched or near latticed matched to GaAs; and
the GaAs base region is wafer bonded to the collector region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama et al. (U.S. Pub. 2004/0262634) [Hereafter “Murayama”] in view of Mishra et al. (U.S. Pub. 2008/0296617) [Hereafter “Mishra”].
Regarding claim 17, Murayama [Figs.4-6] discloses a method of manufacturing a transistor, the method comprising:
forming a GaAs base region [133] [Para.46];
forming an InGaP emitter region [134] [Para.46];
forming a GaAs emitter cap region [141] [Para.47];
forming an emitter base stack [130], wherein the emitter base stack comprises the GaAs emitter cap region, the InGaP emitter region, and the GaAs base region [Figs.4-6]; and
forming a collector region,
wherein:
the transistor is a NPN heterojunction bipolar transistor [Fig.4];
the InGaP emitter region comprises one of: an ordered phase or disordered phase or mixed phase [Paras.19,62];
the InGaP emitter region is lattice matched or near latticed matched to GaAs [Para.49 discloses crystal growth of the laminated layers].
Murayama fails to explicitly disclose the GaAs base region is wafer bonded to the collector region. However, Mishra [Fig.2] [Paras.38,42] discloses the base region [212] is wafer bonded to the collector region [204]. It would have been obvious to include wherein the base region is wafer bonded to the collector region, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 18-19, Murayama and Mishra disclose wafer bonding the collector region to the GaAs base region. Murayama fails to explicitly disclose
the collector region comprising a GaN collector region;
collector region comprising a SiC collector region.
However, Mishra [Fig.2] discloses wherein
the collector region comprising a GaN collector region [20];
collector region comprising a SiC collector region [214].
It would have been obvious to include the materials for the collector region as claimed, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 20, Murayama fails to explicitly disclose wherein the GaAs base region to the InGaP emitter region has a conduction band offset less than 0.2 eV. However, Marayama discloses the need to elleviate a conduction band offset to obtain an efficient HBT. It would have been obvious to provide wherein the GaAs base region to the InGaP emitter region has a conduction band offset less than 0.2 eV, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art is considered analogous art and discloses at least some of the claimed subject matter of the current invention.
/BAC H AU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898