DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant’s communication filed 14 April 2026. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 11-18 remain withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-18 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 December 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Remarks, filed 14 April 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 8-9 under 35 USC §102(a)(2) and claims 3, 5-7, 10, and 19-20 under 35 USC §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cho et al. in view of Bae (in the revised rejection of claim 1) and Chindra et al. in view of Bae (in the revised rejection of claim 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 20140069694 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cho et al., in view of Bae (WO 2005101929 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bae.
Regarding claim 1, Cho et al. teaches a package substrate, comprising:
a core (110) (Fig. 6, paragraph 52: substrate 110);
a pad (120) over the core (110) (Fig. 6, paragraph 52: circuit pattern 120);
a solder resist (130) over the pad (120) (Fig. 6, paragraph 52: solder resist 130);
an opening into the solder resist (130) to expose a portion of the pad (120) (Fig 6: opening in solder resist 130 in which plating layers 140, 150, and 160 are formed); and
a surface finish (140, 150, 160) over the pad (120) and within the opening (Fig. 6, paragraph 52: plating layers 140, 150, and 160 are formed on pad 120 where the solder resist 130 is opened).
Cho et al. does not teach that the surface finish has a lateral width the same as a lateral width of the pad. Bae does teach that the surface finish has a lateral width the same as a lateral width of the pad (see Bae Fig. 1 and page 7, lines 19-24: the surface finish 5 is formed in the same pattern as the conductor pad 2, i.e. with the same width as conductor pad 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the pad and surface finish of Cho et al. with the same width as taught by Bae because such a change would constitute a mere change of shape and a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 2, Cho et al. in view of Bae teaches the package substrate of claim 1, wherein the surface finish (140, 150, 160) extends up sidewalls of the opening (Fig. 6, paragraphs 52 and 55: the finish layers 140, 150, and 160 are formed in the opening of resist 130 such that they partially extend up the wall of the opening in resist 130).
Regarding claim 4, Cho et al. in view of Bae teaches the package substrate of claim 1, wherein the surface finish comprises nickel (140), palladium (150), and gold (160) (paragraph 60: nickel layer 140, palladium layer 150, and gold layer 160).
Regarding claim 8, Cho et al. in view of Bae teaches the package substrate of claim 1, wherein the pad (120) is a solder resist defined pad (Fig. 6: the boundaries of the pad 120 are formed by the solder resist 130).
Regarding claim 9, Cho et al. in view of Bae teaches the package substrate of claim 1, wherein the pad (120) is metal defined pad (paragraph 70: the pad 120 is copper).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. in view of Bae, in further view of Chinda et al. (DE 102006012322 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chinda et al.
Regarding claim 3, Cho et al. in view of Bae teaches package substrate of claim 1, but does not teach that the surface finish extends up an entire length of the sidewalls of the opening.
Chinda et al. does teach that the surface finish extends up an entire length of the sidewalls of the opening (see Figs. 7 and 18 of Chinda et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the surface finish of Cho et al. in view of Bae such that it extends up the sidewalls of the opening as taught by Chinda et al. because a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. in view of Bae, in further view of Zhang et al. (US 20130320547 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zhang et al.
Regarding claim 5, Cho et al. in view of Bae teaches the package substrate of claim 1, but does not teach that the surface finish is plated with an electrolytic process.
Zhang et al. does teach that the surface finish may be plated with an electrolytic process (see Zhang et al. paragraphs 25-26 and 32-33: Ni-Pd-Au films may be advantageously formed by an electrolytic plating process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the surface finish of Cho et al. in view of Bae from an electrolytic process as taught by Zhang et al. because the electrolytic process of Zhang et al. is known in the art for forming conductive plating layers with higher purity and better conductivity.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. in view of Bae, in further view of Kawano et al. (US 20200343293 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kawano et al.
Regarding claim 6, Cho et al. in view of Bae teaches the package substrate of claim 1, but does not teach an adhesion promoting layer over the pad.
Kawano et al. does teach an adhesion promoting layer (51) over the pad (31) (Kawano et al. paragraph 50: nitrogen and silicon bonded in intermediate region 51 to promote adhesion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an adhesion promoting layer as taught by Kawano et al. over the pad of Cho et al. in view of Bae because the adhesion promoting layer of Kawano et al. improves adhesion between conductor layers (Kawano et al. paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 7, Cho et al. in view of Bae and Kawano et al. teaches the package substrate of claim 6, wherein the adhesion promoting layer comprises silicon and nitrogen (Kawano et al. paragraph 50: nitrogen and silicon bonded in intermediate region 51 to promote adhesion).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. in view of Bae in further view of LeClair (US 20220071009 A1), hereinafter referred to as LeClair.
Regarding claim 10, Cho et al. teaches the package substrate of claim 1, but does not teach that the core comprises a borosilicate glass or a fused silica glass.
LeClair does teach that the core may comprise a borosilicate glass or a fused silica glass (LeClair paragraph 67: borosilicate glass may be used for electronic substrates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the core of Cho et al. in view of Bae from a borosilicate glass as taught by LeClair because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416."
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinda et al in view of Bae.
Regarding claim 19, Chinda et al. teaches electronic system, comprising: a board (100); a package substrate coupled to the board (130) (page 7, paragraph 11), wherein the package substrate comprises: a core (120) (page 7, paragraph 11); a pad (110) over the core (120) (page 7, third-to-last paragraph); a solder resist (102) over the pad (110), wherein an opening through the solder resist (102) exposes a portion of the pad (110) (page 7, third-to-last paragraph); and a die (201) coupled to the package substrate (page 8, paragraph 5). Chinda et al. does not teach a surface finish over the pad within the opening, the surface finish having a lateral width the same as a lateral width of the pad.
Bae does teach a surface finish (5) over the pad (2) within the opening, the surface finish (5) having a lateral width the same as a lateral width of the pad (2) (see Bae Fig. 1 and page 7, lines 19-24: the surface finish 5 is formed in the same pattern as the conductor pad 2, i.e. with the same width as conductor pad 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a pad and surface finish with the same width as taught by Bae because such a change would constitute a mere change of shape and a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinda et al in view of Bae in further view of Cho et al.
Regarding claim 20, Chinda et al. in view of Bae teaches the electronic system of claim 19, but does not teach that the surface finish comprises nickel, palladium, and gold.
Cho et al. does teach that the surface finish comprises nickel (140), palladium (150), and gold (160) (paragraph 60: nickel layer 140, palladium layer 150, and gold layer 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the surface finish of Chinda et al. in view of Bae from nickel, palladium, and gold as taught by Cho et al. because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN B FREAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847