DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The 09/19/2025 amendments of claims 1, 6 and 8 have been noted and entered.
The 09/19/2025 cancellation of claim 2 has been noted and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 5, filed 09/19/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the newly added amendments. The rejections of record have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 5-8, filed 09/19/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the newly added amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hao Qian et al, Effect of annealing on the characteristics of Au layers grown on the high-temperature deposited Ni50Fe50 layers, Volume 80, Issue 8, 2006, Pages 899-903, ISSN 0042-207X, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.vacuum.2005.11.072, (Qian).
New Grounds for Rejection
New grounds for rejection, prior art reference Hao Qian et al, Effect of annealing on the characteristics of Au layers grown on the high-temperature deposited Ni50Fe50 layers, Volume 80, Issue 8, 2006, Pages 899-903, ISSN 0042-207X, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.vacuum.2005.11.072, (Qian) appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, WO 2016080768 A1 (Lee) in view of Nojima, US 20150205189 A1 (Nojima) in further view of Jung et al, US 20190219875 A1 (Jung) in further view of Warke et al, US 20210221051 A1 (Warke) in further view of Umeki et al, JP 2009025555 A (Umeki) in further view of Hao Qian et al, Effect of annealing on the characteristics of Au layers grown on the high-temperature deposited Ni50Fe50 layers, Volume 80, Issue 8, 2006, Pages 899-903, ISSN 0042-207X, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.vacuum.2005.11.072, (Qian)
Regarding claim 1; Lee teaches a method of manufacturing a wavelength convertor, comprising: preparing a substrate (400) having a first surface; preparing a wavelength conversion layer (120) that converts a light of a first wavelength band into a light of a second wavelength band different from the light of the first wavelength band (see the specifications of Lee: “… The light emitted from the first light emitting device 110 may be wavelength-converted so that white light may be emitted from the first light emitting part 100. For example, when the first light emitting device 110 emits light having a peak wavelength of a blue light band, the first wavelength converter 120 may have light having a peak wavelength longer than blue light (for example, green light). , Red light or yellow light.”); preparing a bonding material including a metal fine particle (see the specifications of Lee “According to the present invention, by providing a light emitting device including a bonding layer containing a metal particle sintered body…”)
Lee does not teach forming a protective film protecting the first surface. However, Nojima teaches forming a protective film protecting the first surface. (see paragraph [0059] of the specifications of Nojima: “"[0059] Further, a film of aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3) is formed as a protective film 111 on all surfaces including the upper surface 12a of the substrate 12. The protective film 111 prevents oxidation of the substrate…”). Lee and Nojima are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing this application to modify Lee by introducing the protective film disclosed by Nojima to improve the protection of the surface of the substrate prolonging its life and protecting it from any damage due to environmental or chemical elements.
Lee in view of Nojima does not teach heating the protective film and the substrate to be equal to or higher than 200 ⁰C to drain the substrate of a gas. However, Jung teaches heating the protective film (310) and the substrate (110) to be equal to or higher than 200 ⁰C to drain the substrate of a gas (see paragraph [0240] of the specification of Jung: “[0240] Referring to FIG. 34, it can be seen that in the case of performing subsequent heat treatment at a temperature of 180° C., the amount of outgassing from the low refractive layers of the substrates prepared in accordance with Experimental Examples 3 and 7 is not much different from the amount of outgassing from the yellow photoresist film of the control substrate. On the contrary, in the case of performing subsequent heat treatment at a temperature of 230° C., the amount of outgassing from the low refractive layers of the substrates prepared in accordance with Experimental Examples 3 and 7 is even less than the amount of outgassing from the yellow photoresist film of the control substrate.”. Lee in view of Nojima and Jung are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee in view of Nojima by heating the protective film to outgas it as disclosed in Jung to avoid the deterioration side effects of trapped gas leading to a more durable and reliable device.
Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung does not teach reheating the substrate to be equal to or higher than 200 ⁰C to evaporate the first film. However, Warke teaches reheating the substrate to be equal to or higher than 200 ⁰C to evaporate the first film (133) (see paragraphs [0041] and [0047] of the specification of Warke). Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung and Warke are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung by introducing the film evaporation step as disclosed in Warke to improve the binding properties of the metal particles in the bonding layer leading to improved reliability of the device.
Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke does not teach reheating the substrate and the wavelength conversion layer and the bonding material to be equal or higher than 200 C However, Umeki teaches reheating the substrate and the wavelength conversion layer and the bonding material to be equal or higher than 200 C (see the specification of Umeki: “A conventional wavelength conversion element using a proton exchange waveguide and a wavelength conversion element obtained by bonding a substrate serving as a waveguide using an adhesive cannot be subjected to heat treatment at a high temperature (200 degrees or more) again. This is because the former causes re-diffusion of protons and the latter causes melting of the adhesive. Since the wavelength conversion element in which the substrates are bonded by direct bonding as in Example 1 can be subjected to heat treatment at a high temperature again, oxygen is recombined to the oxide compound substrate in which defects are generated, and propagation loss is small. Suitable for production of optical waveguide.). Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke and Umeki are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Wakre by using the reheating method disclosed in Umeki to reduce the propagation loss in the wavelength conversion layer leading to better efficiency of the device.
Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki does not teach wherein the heating comprises a baking treatment performed on the substrate and protective film. However, Qian teaches wherein the heating comprises a baking treatment performed on the substrate and protective film (see the Abstract, Introduction, and Experimental Procedure sections of Qian). Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki and Qian are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki by using the baking step of the protective film and the substrate as disclosed in Qian to improve the protective quality of the annealed protective film leading to a more reliable device.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, WO 2016080768 A1 (Lee) in view of Nojima, US 20150205189 A1 (Nojima) in further view of Jung et al, US 20190219875 A1 (Jung) in further view of Warke et al, US 20210221051 A1 (Warke) in further view of Umeki et al, JP 2009025555 A (Umeki) in further view of Hao Qian et al, Effect of annealing on the characteristics of Au layers grown on the high-temperature deposited Ni50Fe50 layers, Volume 80, Issue 8, 2006, Pages 899-903, ISSN 0042-207X, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.vacuum.2005.11.072, (Qian) in further view of Kusamori et al, US 20200365474 A1 (Kusamori).
Regarding claim 3; Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian does not teach wherein the protective film includes a first metal film containing a first substance which is a metal formed at the first surface, and a second metal film containing a second substance which is a metal laminated on the first metal film. However, Kusamori teaches wherein the protective film (see paragraph [0039] of the specifications of Kusamori) includes a first metal film containing a first substance which is a metal formed at the first surface (see paragraph [0040]-[0041] of the specification of Kusamori), and a second metal film containing a second substance which is a metal laminated on the first metal film (see paragraph [0040]-[0041] of the specification of Kusamori). Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian and Kusamori are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian by using the multilayer film composed of two different metals disclosed in Kusamori to improve the binding characteristics of the protective film.
Regarding claim 4; Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian in further view of Kusamori discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
However, Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian does not teach wherein the first substance is nickel (Ni), and the second substance is gold (Au). However, Kusamori teaches wherein the first substance is Nickel (Ni) (see paragraph [0041] of the specifications of Kusamori) and the second substance is gold (Au) (see paragraph [0040] of the specifications of Kusamori). Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian and Kusamori are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian by using the two metals disclosed in Kusamori to enhance the protection of the surface using the protective film leading to a more reliable device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, WO 2016080768 A1 (Lee) in view of Nojima, US 20150205189 A1 (Nojima) in further view of Jung et al, US 20190219875 A1 (Jung) in further view of Warke et al, US 20210221051 A1 (Warke) in further view of Umeki et al, JP 2009025555 A (Umeki) in further view of Hao Qian et al, Effect of annealing on the characteristics of Au layers grown on the high-temperature deposited Ni50Fe50 layers, Volume 80, Issue 8, 2006, Pages 899-903, ISSN 0042-207X, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.vacuum.2005.11.072, (Qian) in further view of Yoon et al, KR 20110078319 A (Yoon)
Regarding claim 5; Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian does not teach wherein the preparing the substrate includes forming the protective film on the first surface of the substrate by using an electroless plating method.
Yoon teaches wherein the preparing of the substrate includes forming the protective film on the first surface of the substrate by using an electroless plating method (see the specifications of Yoon: “In this case, the protective layer 120 may be formed by an electroless plating method, metal deposition, sputter or CVD, and at this time, between the Si-Al alloy substrate 101 and the metal material protective layer 120.”). Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian and Yoon are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian by using the electroless plating process disclosed in Yoon to simplify the device construction process leading to a more efficient production process.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, WO 2016080768 A1 (Lee) in view of Nojima, US 20150205189 A1 (Nojima) in further view of Jung et al, US 20190219875 A1 (Jung) in further view of Hajime, TW 202113774 A (Hajime) in further view of Hao Qian et al, Effect of annealing on the characteristics of Au layers grown on the high-temperature deposited Ni50Fe50 layers, Volume 80, Issue 8, 2006, Pages 899-903, ISSN 0042-207X, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.vacuum.2005.11.072, (Qian).
Regarding claim 6; Lee teaches a method of manufacturing a wavelength convertor, comprising: preparing a substrate (400); preparing a wavelength conversion layer (120) that converts a light of a first wavelength band into a light of a second wavelength band different from the light of the first wavelength band (see the specifications of Lee: “… The light emitted from the first light emitting device 110 may be wavelength-converted so that white light may be emitted from the first light emitting part 100. For example, when the first light emitting device 110 emits light having a peak wavelength of a blue light band, the first wavelength converter 120 may have light having a peak wavelength longer than blue light (for example, green light). , Red light or yellow light.”); preparing a bonding material containing a metal fine particle (see the specifications of Lee “"According to the present invention, by providing a light emitting device including a bonding layer containing a metal particle sintered body…”); and bonding, by metal sintering, the wavelength conversion layer (120) and the substrate (400), wherein the metal sintering bonds the protective film and the wavelength conversion layer (see the specifications of Lee “"According to the present invention, by providing a light emitting device including a bonding layer containing a metal particle sintered body…”).
Lee does not teach a protective film containing a first substance that protects the first surface. However, Nojima teaches a protective film containing a first substance that protects the first surface (see paragraph [0059] of the specifications of Nojima: “"[0059] Further, a film of aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3) is formed as a protective film 111 on all surfaces including the upper surface 12a of the substrate 12. The protective film 111 prevents oxidation of the substrate…”). Lee and Nojima are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee by using the protective film disclosed by Nojima to improve the protection of the surface of the substrate prolonging its life and protecting it from any damage due to environmental or chemical elements.
Lee in view of Nojima does not teach heating the protective film and the substrate to drain the substrate of a gas. However, Jung teaches heating the protective film and the substrate to drain the substrate of a gas (see paragraph [0240] of the specification of Jung: “[0240] Referring to FIG. 34, it can be seen that in the case of performing subsequent heat treatment at a temperature of 180° C., the amount of outgassing from the low refractive layers of the substrates prepared in accordance with Experimental Examples 3 and 7 is not much different from the amount of outgassing from the yellow photoresist film of the control substrate. On the contrary, in the case of performing subsequent heat treatment at a temperature of 230° C., the amount of outgassing from the low refractive layers of the substrates prepared in accordance with Experimental Examples 3 and 7 is even less than the amount of outgassing from the yellow photoresist film of the control substrate.”. Lee in view of Nojima and Jung are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee in view of Nojima by heating the protective film to outgas it as disclosed in Jung to avoid the deterioration side effects of trapped gas leading to a more durable and reliable device.
Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung does not teach removing, by plasma cleaning, foreign matter different from the first substance attached to a surface of the protective film opposite to the substrate. However, Hajime teaches removing, by plasma cleaning, foreign matter different from the first substance attached to a surface of the protective film opposite to the substrate (see the specification of Hajime: “In wafer bonding, in addition to the above, after flattening the bonding surface of each substrate using chemical mechanical polishing (CMP), etc., the bonding surface can be cleaned by plasma treatment in a vacuum”). Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung and Hajime are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung by using the Plasma cleaning procedure disclosed in Hajime to improve the bonding of the different layers of the device.
Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Hajime does not teach wherein the heating comprises a baking treatment performed on the substrate and protective film. However, Qian teaches wherein the heating comprises a baking treatment performed on the substrate and protective film (see the Abstract, Introduction, and Experimental Procedure sections of Qian). Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Hajime and Qian are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Hajime by using the baking step of the protective film and the substrate as disclosed in Qian to improve the protective quality of the annealed protective film leading to a more reliable device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, WO 2016080768 A1 (Lee) in view of Nojima, US 20150205189 A1 (Nojima) in further view of Jung et al, US 20190219875 A1 (Jung) in further view of Warke et al, US 20210221051 A1 (Warke) in further view of Umeki et al, JP 2009025555 A (Umeki) in further view of Hao Qian et al, Effect of annealing on the characteristics of Au layers grown on the high-temperature deposited Ni50Fe50 layers, Volume 80, Issue 8, 2006, Pages 899-903, ISSN 0042-207X, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.vacuum.2005.11.072, (Qian) in further view of Akeda et al, JP 2017116719 A (Akeda)
Regarding claim 7; Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian does not teach wherein the metal fine particle is a nano silver particle. However, Akeda teaches wherein the metal fine particle is a nano silver particle (see the specifications of Akeda: “As described above, since the bonding portion 42d is formed by sintering silver nanoparticles…”). Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian and Akeda are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian by using the silver nano particles disclosed in Akeda to improve the thermal conductivity of the bonding layer leading to better thermal management of the heat in the device.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, WO 2016080768 A1 (Lee) in view of Nojima, US 20150205189 A1 (Nojima) in further view of Jung et al, US 20190219875 A1 (Jung) in further view of Warke et al, US 20210221051 A1 (Warke) in further view of Umeki et al, JP 2009025555 A (Umeki) in further view of Hao Qian et al, Effect of annealing on the characteristics of Au layers grown on the high-temperature deposited Ni50Fe50 layers, Volume 80, Issue 8, 2006, Pages 899-903, ISSN 0042-207X, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.vacuum.2005.11.072, (Qian) in further view of Kusamori et al, US 20200365474 A1 (Kusamori) in further view of Motonobu, JP 2007180564 A (Motonobu).
Regarding claim 8; Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian in further view of Kusamori discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
However, Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian does not disclose a first metal film and a second metal film. However, Kusamori teaches a first metal film and a second metal film (see paragraphs [0040] – [0047] of Kusamori). Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian and Kusamori are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian by using the two metal films disclosed in Kusamori to improve the bonding properties of the films leading to better protection of the device which leads in turn to improved reliability and longevity of the device.
Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian in further view of Kusamori does not teach the heating the substrate further comprising: oxidizing a surface on the second metal film, wherein the oxidization forms an oxide film on a surface of the protective film.
However, Motonobu teaches the heating the substrate further comprising: oxidizing a surface on the second metal film, wherein the oxidization forms an oxide film on a surface of the protective film (see the specification of Motonobu: “For example, a hydrogen permeable film made of palladium (Pd) allows hydrogen gas to permeate at a high temperature, so that hydrogen atoms in the nitride compound semiconductor layer are released into the heat treatment atmosphere, and the surface of the nitride compound semiconductor layer is oxidized.”). Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Kusamori and Motonobu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing this application to modify Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian in further view of Kusamori by using the hydrogen gas releasing layer disclosed in Motonobu to catalyze the oxidation of a film on the surface of the second film to improve the insulation of the film from the environment and thus lead to better protection of the device and improved reliability and longevity.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, WO 2016080768 A1 (Lee) in view of Nojima, US 20150205189 A1 (Nojima) in further view of Jung et al, US 20190219875 A1 (Jung) in further view of Warke et al, US 20210221051 A1 (Warke) in further view of Umeki et al, JP 2009025555 A (Umeki) in further view of Hao Qian et al, Effect of annealing on the characteristics of Au layers grown on the high-temperature deposited Ni50Fe50 layers, Volume 80, Issue 8, 2006, Pages 899-903, ISSN 0042-207X, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.vacuum.2005.11.072, (Qian) in further view of Kusamori et al, US 20200365474 A1 (Kusamori) in further view of Motonobu, JP 2007180564 A (Motonobu) in further view of Hajime, TW 202113774 A (Hajime).
Regarding claim 9; Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian in further view of Kusamori in further view of Motonobu discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
However, Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian in further view of Kusamori in further view of Motonobu does not teach further comprising cleaning the surface of the protective film with a plasma cleaning treatment. However, Hajime teaches further comprising cleaning the surface of the protective film with a plasma cleaning treatment (see the specification of Hajime: “In wafer bonding, in addition to the above, after flattening the bonding surface of each substrate using chemical mechanical polishing (CMP), etc., the bonding surface can be cleaned by plasma treatment in a vacuum”). Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian in further view of Kusamori in further view of Motonobu and Hajime are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee in view of Nojima in further view of Jung in further view of Warke in further view of Umeki in further view of Qian in further view of Kusamori in further view of Motonobu by using the plasma cleaning procedure disclosed in Hajime to improve the bonding of the different layers of the device leading to a more reliable device.
Conclusion
/MOATAZ KHALIFA/Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815