Election/Restrictions
Claims 6 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01 December 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 17 and dependents thereof are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “an injection actuator” and “a suction actuator” in claim 7 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification fails to provide corresponding structure for an injection actuator and suction actuator. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an injection actuator, a suction actuator, and a detector in claim 7.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The actuators do not have written description and are indefinite as rejected above. The corresponding structure for a detector may include a sensor ([[0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 12-13, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoshino (US 2002/0198436).
Regarding claim 1, Hoshino discloses a catheter, comprising:
a tubular body (21, figure 1) configured to be inserted into a living body (device of Hoshino capable of being inserted into the body),
wherein the tubular body has a lumen (22) within the tubular body, the lumen held in fluid communication with an injection port (24, [0030]) defined in a distal end of the tubular body (figure 1) and a suction port (23, figure 1, [0030]) near a proximal end of the tubular body (figure 1), and
wherein the suction port is closed when the injection port is open, and the injection port is closed when the suction port is open ([0033], [0038-0039]).
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Hoshino discloses wherein the tubular body has a one-way valve (41) disposed in the tubular body that allows a fluid to flow in a direction from out of the lumen ([0033], [0038-0039]), and wherein the suction port has an opening capable of being selectively opened and closed ([0038-0039]).
Regarding claim 3 and 13, Hoshino discloses wherein the tubular body includes a first tube (21) having the injection port and the suction port and a second tube (16) rotatable or longitudinally slidable with respect to the first tube ([0036]), wherein the second tube is disposed in the first tube (figure 1), or the first tube is disposed in the second tube, and wherein the second tube has a fluid communication port (50) that is brought selectively into and out of fluid communication with the suction port when the second tube is rotated or longitudinally slid with respect to the first tube ([0036]).
Regarding claim 7, Hoshino discloses a catheter system comprising:
a catheter (21 and 15), the catheter comprising:
a tubular body (21, figure 1) configured to be inserted into a living body (device of Hoshino capable of being inserted into the body),
wherein the tubular body has a lumen (22) within the tubular body, the lumen held in fluid communication with an injection port (24, [0030]) defined in a distal end of the tubular body (figure 1) and a suction port (23, figure 1, [0030]) near a proximal end of the tubular body (figure 1), and
wherein the suction port is closed when the injection port is open, and the injection port is closed when the suction port is open ([0033], [0038-0039]).
an injection actuator (13) for supplying a fluid to the injection port through the lumen in the tubular body ([0029], [0038-0039]);
a suction actuator (13) for drawing in a fluid from the suction port through the lumen in the tubular body ([0029], [0038-0039]);
a detector (18) for detecting an intracranial pressure of the living body (detectors are generally able to perform the intended use of detecting pressure in the body); and
a controller (12 and 11, [0029]) for controlling the injection actuator and the suction actuator,
wherein the controller alternately controls the injection actuator and the suction actuator in order to keep the intracranial pressure detected by the detector within a first range ([0029, [0038-0039]).
Regarding claim 8, Hoshino discloses a detector (18), wherein the detector is capable of measuring a pressure of a cerebrospinal fluid of the living body (detectors are capable of performing the intended use of measuring pressure of a CSF in the body).
Regarding claim 17, Hoshino discloses a catheter system comprising:
a catheter (21 and 15), the catheter comprising:
a tubular body (21, figure 1) configured to be inserted into a living body (device of Hoshino capable of being inserted into the body),
wherein the tubular body has a lumen (22) within the tubular body, the lumen held in fluid communication with an injection port (24, [0030]) defined in a distal end of the tubular body (figure 1) and a suction port (23, figure 1, [0030]) near a proximal end of the tubular body (figure 1), and
wherein the suction port is closed when the injection port is open, and the injection port is closed when the suction port is open ([0033], [0038-0039]).
an injection actuator (13) for supplying a fluid to the injection port through the lumen in the tubular body ([0029], [0038-0039]);
a suction actuator (13) for drawing in a fluid from the suction port through the lumen in the tubular body ([0029], [0038-0039]);
a detector (18) for detecting an intracranial pressure of the living body (detectors are generally able to perform the intended use of detecting pressure in the body).
Regarding claim 18, Hoshino discloses further comprising: a controller (12 and 11, [0029]) that alternately controls the injection actuator and the suction actuator in order to keep the intracranial pressure detected by the detector within a first range ([0029, [0038-0039], device capable of the intended use of keeping intracranial pressure within range).
Regarding claim 19, Hoshino discloses wherein the detector measures a pressure ([0029]) of a cerebrospinal fluid of the living body (capable of performing the intended use of measuring CSF).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino (US 2002/0198436) in view of Frassica (US 5989230).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Hoshino do not disclose wherein the one-way valve is disposed in a distal end portion of the second tube.
Frassica discloses a catheter for implant in the body and teaches wherein a one-way valve (370 and 371, col 20, lines 40-55), is disposed in a distal end portion of the second tube (362).
Frassica provides a valve to control the movement of material through the catheter (col 20, lines 40-55). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Hoshino with the valve of Frassica in order to control the movement of material through the catheter.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino (US 2002/0198436).
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Hoshino does not teach wherein the suction port comprises a plurality of ports.
However, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) MPEP 2144. In this case, the duplication of the port of suction port into multiple ports has no patentable significance since duplication of the ports would lead to more fluid communication that is expected and not new. This duplication would expectedly increase the amount of fluid communicated. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Hoshino to include multiple ports on the suction port in order to communicate more fluid.
Claims 9-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino (US 2002/0198436) in view of Tremblay (US 5704352).
Regarding claims 9-11, Hoshino does not teach wherein the detector measures oxygen concentration of a cerebrospinal fluid of the living body (claim 9), the controller has a temperature controller for controlling a temperature of the fluid supplied to the injection port (claim 10), a sensor for measuring oxygen concentration of the fluid supplied to the injection port and oxygen concentration of the fluid drawn in from the suction port, wherein the controller calculates an oxygen consumption rate on a basis of values measured by the sensor (claim 11).
Tremblay discloses a biosensor for monitoring physiological conditions of a patient and teaches a detector measures oxygen concentration (col 7, lines 35-45) of a cerebrospinal fluid of the living body (device capable of measuring oxygen in fluid in the body), the controller has a temperature controller for controlling a temperature of the fluid (col 3, lines 60-65), a sensor for measuring oxygen concentration of the fluid (col 7, lines 35-45), wherein the controller calculates an oxygen consumption rate on a basis of values measured by the sensor ((col 7, lines 35-45)). When combined with the device of Hoshino, the resulting device would be able to measure oxygen and temperature in the suction port or injection port.
Tremblay provides a biosensor in order to reduce infections and patient discomfort while measuring data on the body (col 3, lines 40-51). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Hoshino by substituting the sensor with the biosensor of Tremblay in order to reduce infections and reduce patient discomfort while obtaining useful data on the body.
Regarding claim 20, Hoshino does not teach wherein the detector measures oxygen concentration of a cerebrospinal fluid of the living body.
Tremblay discloses a biosensor for monitoring physiological conditions of a patient and teaches a detector measures oxygen concentration (col 7, lines 35-45) of a cerebrospinal fluid of the living body (device capable of measuring oxygen in fluid in the body).
Tremblay provides a biosensor in order to reduce infections and patient discomfort while measuring data on the body (col 3, lines 40-51). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Hoshino by substituting the sensor with the biosensor of Tremblay in order to reduce infections and reduce patient discomfort while obtaining useful data on the body.
Conclusion
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781