DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 14, 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsueh et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2020/0006334 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hsueh teaches an integrated circuit (100) comprising:
a first semiconductor device (¶¶ 0014-0015: 1st device region of fig. 19, equivalent to device 30 of fig. 1) having a first semiconductor region (¶ 0020: fins 64) extending in a first direction (fin-extending direction, e.g. A-A cutline of fig. 1) from a first source region to a first drain region (¶¶ 0029, 0031 & fig. 8A: 64 extends between pair of 65/80), and a first gate structure (¶ 0035: gate 97 in 1st device region) extending in a second direction (fig. 19: gate-extending direction, e.g. B-B cutline) over the first semiconductor region (figs. 11A-11C: 97 extends over 1st device region), the first semiconductor region above a first sub-fin region (¶ 0020 & fig. 19: 64 above fin portion 60);
a second semiconductor device (2nd device region of fig. 19) having a second semiconductor region (2nd fins 64) extending in the first direction from a second source region to a second drain region (fig. 8A: 2nd 64 extends between 2nd pair of 65/80), and a second gate structure (fig. 19: 97 in 2nd device region) extending in the second direction over the second semiconductor region (figs. 11A-11C, 19: 97 extends in B-B direction of 2nd device region), the second semiconductor region above a second sub-fin region (¶ 0020 & fig. 19: second 64 above second fin portion 60);
a dielectric fill (¶ 0022: dielectric isolation region 62) adjacent to the first sub-fin region and the second sub-fin region (figs. 17A-17B among others: 62 adjacent to first and second fin portions 60); and
a gate cut (¶ 0054: dielectric 140, formed in opening 141) between and separating the first gate structure and the second gate structure (figs. 17A, 19: 140/141 arranged between gates 97 in 1st and 2nd device regions), the gate cut comprising a dielectric material (¶ 0054: 140 comprises dielectric material) and having a height-to-width aspect ratio of at least 8:1 (¶ 0053: 141 has a height-to-width aspect ratio of 18:1), and the gate cut extending into the dielectric fill (figs. 17B, 19: 140/141 extends into 62), wherein the gate cut has a bottom surface above a bottom surface of the dielectric fill (fig. 18 among others: a portion of 140 includes a bottom surface extending to depth D6 and above a bottom surface of 62).
Regarding claim 2, Hsueh teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the gate cut has a height greater than 150 nm (¶ 0053: Depth D1=150nm to 250 nm), and height-to-width aspect ratio of at least 10:1 (¶ 0053: 18:1).
Regarding claim 3, Hsueh teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the gate cut has a height between about 150 nm and about 180 nm (¶ 0053).
Regarding claim 6, Hsueh teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the gate cut has a first width at a top surface of the first gate structure and the second gate structure (¶ 0053 & fig. 14A: width W5 of the etched opening 141 near the top of the metal gates 97), and a second width at a bottom surface of the first gate structure and the second gate structure (¶ 0053 & fig. 14A: width W6 of the etched opening 141 near the bottom of gates 97), the first width being at most 10% greater than the second width (¶ 0053 & fig. 14A: in at least one embodiment, W5 at top of 97 equal to W6 at bottom of 97, which lies within the claimed range of “at most 10% greater”).
Regarding claim 14, Hsueh teaches an integrated circuit comprising:
a first semiconductor device (¶¶ 0014-0015: 1st device region of fig. 19, equivalent to device 30 of fig. 1) having a first semiconductor region (¶ 0020: fins 64) extending in a first direction (fin-extending direction, e.g. A-A cutline of fig. 1) from a first source region to a first drain region (¶¶ 0029, 0031 & fig. 8A: 64 extends between pair of 65/80), and a first gate structure (¶ 0035: gate 97 in 1st device region) extending in a second direction (fig. 19: gate-extending direction, e.g. B-B cutline) over the first semiconductor region (figs. 11A-11C: 97 extends over 1st device region), the first semiconductor region above a first sub-fin region (¶ 0020 & fig. 19: 64 above fin portion 60);
a second semiconductor device (2nd device region of fig. 19) having a second semiconductor region (2nd fins 64) extending in the first direction from a second source region to a second drain region (fig. 8A: 2nd 64 extends between 2nd pair of 65/80), and a second gate structure (fig. 19: 97 in 2nd device region) extending in the second direction over the second semiconductor region (figs. 11A-11C, 19: 97 extends in B-B direction of 2nd device region), the second semiconductor region above a second sub-fin region (¶ 0020 & fig. 19: second 64 above second fin portion 60);
a dielectric fill (¶ 0022: dielectric isolation region 62) adjacent to the first sub-fin region and the second sub-fin region (figs. 17A-17B among others: 62 adjacent to first and second fin portions 60); and
a gate cut (¶ 0054: dielectric 140, formed in opening 141) between and separating the first gate structure and the second gate structure (figs. 17A, 19: 140/141 arranged between gates 97 in 1st and 2nd device regions), the gate cut comprising a dielectric material (¶ 0054: 140 comprises dielectric material) and having less than 2 nm of sidewall taper between a top surface of the first gate structure and the second gate structure and a bottom surface of the first gate structure and the second gate structure (¶ 0053 & fig. 14A: in at least one embodiment, W5 at top of gates 97 equal to W6 at bottom of gates 97, which meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “having less than 2 nm of sidewall taper”), and the gate cut extending into the dielectric fill (fig. 19: at least a portion of 140 extends into 62), wherein the gate cut has a bottom surface above a bottom surface of the dielectric fill (fig. 18: 140 includes a portion extending to depth D6 and above a bottom surface of 62).
Regarding claim 16, Hsueh teaches the integrated circuit of claim 14, wherein the first gate structure includes a first gate dielectric (¶ 0038 & fig. 19: portion of 96 in 1st device region) around the first semiconductor region (fig. 19: 96 disposed around 64 in 1st device region), and the second gate structure includes a second gate dielectric (fig. 19: portion of 96 in 2nd device region) around the second semiconductor region (fig. 19: 96 disposed around 64 in 2nd device region).
Regarding claim 18, Hsueh teaches the integrated circuit of claim 14, wherein the gate cut has a height-to-width aspect ratio of at least 5:1 (¶ 0053: opening 141 has a D1:W5 aspect ratio greater than 5:1).
Regarding claim 19, Hsueh teaches the integrated circuit of claim 14, wherein the gate cut has a first width at the top surface of the first gate structure and the second gate structure (¶ 0053 & fig. 14A: width W5 at top surface of gates 97), and a second width at the bottom surface of the first gate structure and the second gate structure (¶ 0053 & fig. 14A: width W6 at bottom surface of gates 97), the first width being at most 10% greater than the second width (¶ 0053: in at least one embodiment, W5-W6, which lies inside the claimed range of “at most 10%”).
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2023/0015372 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Hsueh teaches the integrated circuits of claims 1 and 14, comprising 1st and 2nd semiconductor regions (fig. 19 among others: 64 in 1st and 2nd device regions).
Hsueh does not teach wherein the first semiconductor region comprises a plurality of first semiconductor nanoribbons and the second semiconductor region comprises a plurality of second semiconductor nanoribbons.
Wu teaches an integrated circuit (¶ 0014: 200), wherein a first semiconductor region (¶ 0018: 204A, including multilayer structure ML) comprises a plurality of first semiconductor nanoribbons (¶ 0018, figs. 9B-9C: portion ML includes channel layers 206) and a second semiconductor region (¶ 0018: 204B/ML) comprises a plurality of second semiconductor nanoribbons (figs. 9B-9C: 204B includes channel layers 206).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the 1st and 2nd semiconductor regions of Hsueh with nanoribbons, as a means to improve electrostatic control of the channel regions, improving device performance.
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2023/0139399 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Hsueh teaches the integrated circuits of claims 1 and 16, wherein the first gate structure includes a first gate dielectric (¶ 0038 & fig. 19: portion of 96 in 1st device region) around the first semiconductor region (fig. 19: 96 disposed around 64 in 1st device region), and the second gate structure includes a second gate dielectric (fig. 19: portion of 96 in 2nd device region) around the second semiconductor region (fig. 19: 96 disposed around 64 in 2nd device region).
Hsueh does not teach wherein the first gate dielectric and the second gate dielectric are not present on any sidewall of the gate cut.
Zhou teaches an integrated circuit (¶ 0081 & figs. 13-14: 200), wherein a first gate structure (¶ 0100: replacement gate including conductor 150 and dielectric 152) includes a first gate dielectric (152) around a first semiconductor region (¶ 0095 & fig. 13: 152 disposed around nanosheets 210 in region 203), and a second gate structure (¶ 0100, 0129: replacement gate conductor 154 and dielectric 156) includes a second gate dielectric (156) around a second semiconductor region (¶ 0095 & fig. 13: 156 disposed around nanosheets 214 in region 205), wherein the first gate dielectric and the second gate dielectric are not present on any sidewall of a gate cut (fig. 13: 152 and 156 not present on sidewall of gate cut 180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the gate dielectric of Hsueh similar to that of Zhou, as a means to apply a tensile force to the gate structures (Zhou, ¶ 0002), improving mobility of minority carriers (Zhou, ¶ 0057) and corresponding device performance.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Wei et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2021/0280708 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Hsueh teaches the integrated circuits of claims 1 and 14.
Hsueh fails to teach a printed circuit board comprising the integrated circuits of claims 1 and 14.
Wei teaches a printed circuit board comprising integrated circuits (¶¶ 0017, 0108-0109 & figs. 10-11: 2303 comprises integrated circuits similar to that of Hsueh).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure a printed circuit board with the integrated circuits of Hsueh, as a means to provide a memory device (e.g., a DRAM or an SRAM device), a logic device (e.g., an AND, OR, NAND, or NOR gate), or any other suitable circuit element (Wei, ¶ 0099).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In particular, gate cut 140 of Hsueh includes at least one portion extending into dielectric fill 62 (fig. 19), and at least one portion with a bottom surface above a bottom surface of 62 (fig. 18).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xie et al. (US 2023/0095508 A1) teaches a gate cut (142) extending into dielectric fill 166, and including a bottom surface above a bottom surface of the dielectric fill (fig. 8C among others).
Wang et al. (US 2020/0006075 A1) teaches a gate cut (122d) extending into dielectric fill (106) and including a bottom surface above a bottom surface of the dielectric fill (fig. 18D: 122d cuts gate 110 and partially penetrates dielectric isolation 106).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 2818