DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment filed 6/22/2026.
Claims 1-9 and 11-25 are pending. Claim 10 has been canceled. Claims 4-5, 14-21 and 24 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 14, and 22 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 13 reciting “E-glass, S-glass, LD- glass, L2-glass, NER-glass, or Q-glass” lacks adequate written description. It is unclear what the abbreviation is supposed to be indicative of. The specification does not describe these glass material in more details. There is no clear written description for the particular material or product intended to be covered by the list. As best understood, there is no known standard composition for the listed material.
Claims 6-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 reciting “the diffusion layer has a first concentration at a surface of the substrate and a second concentration a distance away from the surface of the substrate” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what are the “first concentration” and “second concentration” referring to. Concentration of what? Furthermore, the diffusion layer is claimed as separate from the substrate. It is unclear how would the diffusion layer has a concentration “at a surface of the substrate” or “a distance away from the surface of the substrate” (understood to mean below surface of the substrate).
Claim 13 reciting “E-glass, S-glass, LD- glass, L2-glass, NER-glass, or Q-glass” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the abbreviation is supposed to be indicative of. It is unclear if the list of glass material is trademark product or has any standard formulation. Applicant’s disclosure does not specify what these glass material is intended to encompass. The claim scope is uncertain since the named glass cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product.
Other claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-9, 12-13, 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bai et al. US 2018/0324958 A1 (Bai).
In re claim 1, Bai discloses (e.g. FIG. 4) a core for an electronic package, comprising:
a substrate 11 with a first (bottom) surface and a second (top) surface opposite from the first surface, wherein the substrate comprises glass (¶ 87);
a via opening 17 through the substrate 11;
a diffusion layer 131 along the first (bottom) surface, the second (top) surface, and the via opening 17;
a conductive via (portion of 132+15 in via 17) in the via opening 17 and in contact with the diffusion layer 131 along the via opening; and
a conductive pad (top portion of 132+15 outside via 17) coupled to the conductive via (portion of 132,15 in via 17) and in contact (e.g. electrical or thermal contact) with the diffusion layer 131 along the first (bottom) surface of the substrate (see FIG. 4(e) annotated above, the top pad is in electrical and thermal contact with the diffusion layer 131 along the bottom surface), wherein the diffusion layer 131 extends laterally beyond the conductive pad along the first (bottom) surface of the substrate (see FIG. 4(e) annotated above, a portion of diffusion layer 131 along the bottom surface extends laterally beyond the top pad).
In an alternative interpretation, Bai teaches (see FIG. 6(d) above) a conductive pad (bottom portion of 15 outside via 17) coupled to the conductive via (portion of 132,15 in via 17) and in contact (e.g. electrical or thermal contact) with the diffusion layer 131 along the first (bottom) surface of the substrate (see FIG. 6(d) annotated above, the bottom pad is in electrical and thermal contact with the diffusion layer 131 along the bottom surface), wherein the diffusion layer 131 extends laterally beyond the conductive pad (bottom pad) along the first (bottom) surface of the substrate (in the structure shown in FIG. 6(d), the diffusion layer 131 extends laterally beyond the pad along the bottom surface).
In re claim 6, as best understood, Bai discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4 & 6) wherein the diffusion layer 131 has a first concentration at a surface of the substrate and a second concentration a distance away from the surface of the substrate, wherein the second concentration is less than the first concentration (layer 131 being formed by ion implantation, ¶ 91; the outer surface is naturally more concentrated due to diffusion; furthermore, an inner portion of substrate 11 is considered to be a part of the “diffusion layer” which is less concentrated than the implanted region 131).
In re claim 7, Bai discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4 & 6) the ion implantation depth can be 10-400 nm (¶ 91). As such, at any distance greater than 400 nm the concentration is less than the implanted region. The distance can be in the range of greater than 400 nm and less than 5µm from the surface of the substrate 11.
In re claim 8, Bai discloses (e.g. FIG. 4e) wherein the diffusion layer 131 is omitted from select portions of the first (bottom) surface and the second surface (131 is patterned).
In re claim 9, Bai discloses (e.g. FIG. 8-12) further comprising: a second via opening (e.g. 17 shown in FIG. 8b,10b,12b) through the substrate 10, wherein the second via opening 17 is not lined by the diffusion layer (opening 17 in FIG. 8b,10b,12b is not lined with layer 131 that is lining each individual board 10).
In re claim 12, Bai discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4 & 6) wherein a thickness of the substrate 11 is between approximately 50µm and approximately 1,000µm (holes in substrate drilled to a depth of about 200 µm, ¶ 146).
In re claim 13, as best understood, Bai discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4 & 6) wherein the substrate 11 comprises glass plate or glass fabric (¶ 87,145). No specific “E-glass, S-glass, LD- glass, L2-glass, NER-glass, or Q-glass” has been claimed that would distinguish over Bai’s glass substrate.
In re claim 22, Bai discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4-12) a computing system, comprising:
a board (e.g. bottom board 10 in FIG. 8d,10f,12f);
a package substrate (upper board 10) coupled to the board, wherein the package substrate comprises:
a core 11 (FIG. 4), wherein the core comprises glass (¶ 87);
via openings 17 through the core 11 (¶ 88);
a diffusion layer 131 that extends into surfaces 12 of the core 11 including a top surface, a bottom surface, and sidewall surfaces 19 of the via openings 17;
a conductive via (portion of 132+15 in via 17) in one of the via openings 17 and in contact with the diffusion layer 131 along the one of the via openings; and
a conductive pad (portion of 132+15 outside via 17, see FIG. 4e annotated below showing the structure flipped up-side down) coupled to the conductive via (portion of 132,15 in via 17) and in contact (e.g. electrical or thermal contact) with the diffusion layer 131 along the top surface of the core (see FIG. 4(e) annotated below showing the structure flipped up-side down, the bottom pad is in electrical and thermal contact with the diffusion layer 131 along the top surface), wherein the diffusion layer 131 extends laterally beyond the conductive pad along the top surface of the core (see FIG. 4(e) below above showing the structure flipped up-side down, a portion of diffusion layer 131 along the top surface extends laterally beyond the bottom pad); and
a die coupled to the package substrate (no particular die claimed to distinguish over the board being applied to flexible chip technology, ¶ 116,135).
In an alternative interpretation, Bai teaches (see FIG. 6(d) below) a conductive pad (top portion of 15 outside via 17) coupled to the conductive via (portion of 132,15 in via 17) and in contact (e.g. electrical or thermal contact) with the diffusion layer 131 along the top surface of the core (see FIG. 6(d) annotated below, the top pad is in electrical and thermal contact with the diffusion layer 131 along the top surface), wherein the diffusion layer 131 extends laterally beyond the conductive pad (top pad) along the top surface of the core (in the structure shown in FIG. 6(d), the diffusion layer 131 extends laterally beyond the pad along the top surface).
In re claim 25, Bai discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4 & 6) wherein a thickness of the diffusion layer 131 is up to approximately 5µm (¶ 91).
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-13, 22-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sowwan et al. US 2023/0378047 A1 (Sowwan).
In re claim 1, Sowwan discloses (e.g. FIGs. 3 & 10-14) a core for an electronic package, comprising:
a substrate 302 with a first (top) surface and a second (bottom) surface opposite from the first surface, wherein the substrate comprises glass (¶ 35);
a via opening (303 or 1003) through the substrate 302;
a diffusion layer (316,1018, and/or 1440; no specific “diffusion layer” claimed that would structurally distinguish over any one or more of layers 316,1018,1440) along the first (top) surface, the second (bottom) surface, and the via opening 303,1003;
a conductive via 1444 (FIG. 14F) in the via opening 303,1003 and in contact (can be direct physical contact or indirect thermal contact) with the diffusion layer 316,1018,1440 along the via opening; and
a conductive pad (portion of 1444 outside via opening, see FIG. 14F annotated above) coupled to the conductive via and in contact (can be direct physical contact or indirect thermal contact) with the diffusion layer 316,1018,1440 along the first (top) surface of the substrate 302, wherein the diffusion layer 316,1018,1440 extends laterally beyond the conductive pad along the first (top) surface of the substrate (diffusion layer 316 and 1018 are laterally beyond the pad along the top surface; 1440 is laterally beyond the pad in the structure shown in FIG. 14F).
In re claim 2, Sowwan discloses (e.g. FIG. 14A-14H) wherein the diffusion layer 316,1018,1140 comprises boron (boron nitride in 1018, ¶ 77) and oxygen (oxygen in epoxy of 1018, ¶ 77; or hydrolysable group in 316, ¶ 69; or oxides in 1440, ¶ 107).
In re claim 3, Sowwan discloses (e.g. FIG. 14A-14H) wherein the diffusion layer 316,1018,1140 has a dielectric constant that is lower than a dielectric constant of a bulk of the substrate (e.g. semiconductor 1026 in bulk of the substrate has a higher dielectric constant than, e.g. epoxy+silica of layer 1018, ¶ 77).
In re claim 6, as best understood, Sowwan discloses (e.g. FIGs. 14A) wherein the diffusion layer 316,1018,1140 has a first concentration at a surface of the substrate (concentration of material in 1140, ¶ 107; as best understood, the surface constitutes by outermost surface of 1140) and a second concentration a distance away from the surface of the substrate (e.g. concentration of material in 1140 at a distance at surface of 1018 that is under 1440 is zero), wherein the second concentration is less than the first concentration (e.g. concentration of material in 1140 at a distance that is under 1440 is zero).
In re claim 7, Sowwan discloses (e.g. FIG. 14A) wherein the distance away from the surface of the substrate is approximately 5µm or less (e.g. distance at surface of 1018 under 1440 is equal to thickness of 1440, which is 10-300 nm, ¶ 107).
In re claim 8, Sowwan discloses (e.g. FIG. 14G) wherein the diffusion layer 1440 is omitted from select portions of the first surface and the second surface (1440 etched from surfaces).
In re claim 9, Sowwan discloses (FIG. 3 & 14) a via opening 303 (FIG. 3) in glass substrate 302 with diffusion layer 316,1018, and further comprising: a second via opening 1003 (FIG. 14A) through the substrate 302, wherein the second via opening 1003 is not lined by the diffusion layer 316,1018.
In re claim 12, Sowwan discloses (e.g. FIGs. 3 & 14) wherein a thickness of the substrate 302 is between approximately 50µm and approximately 1,000µm (¶ 36).
In re claim 13, as best understood, Sowwan discloses (e.g. FIG. 3) wherein the substrate 302 comprises glass or borosilicate glass (¶ 35). No specific “E-glass, S-glass, LD- glass, L2-glass, NER-glass, or Q-glass” has been claimed that would distinguish over Sowwan’s glass substrate.
In re claim 22, Sowwan discloses (e.g. FIGs. 3, 10-14 & 18) a computing system (no particular computing system claimed to distinguish over DRAM used in high performance computing taught by Sowwan, ¶ 133), comprising:
a board (a bottom 1602 shown in FIG. 18);
a package substrate (an upper 1602 in FIG. 18) coupled to the board, wherein the package substrate comprises:
a core 302, wherein the core comprises glass (¶ 35);
via openings (303 or 1003) through the core 302;
a diffusion layer (316,1018, and/or 1440; no specific “diffusion layer” claimed that would structurally distinguish over any one or more of layers 316,1018,1440) that extends into surfaces of the core including a top surface, a bottom surface, and sidewall surfaces of the via openings 303,1003;
a conductive via 1444 (FIG. 14F) in one of the via openings 303,1003 and in contact (can be direct physical contact or indirect thermal contact) with the diffusion layer 316,1018,1440 along the one of the via openings; and
a conductive pad (portion of 1444 outside via opening, see FIG. 14F annotated above) coupled to the conductive via and in contact (can be direct physical contact or indirect thermal contact) with the diffusion layer 316,1018,1440 along the top surface of the core 302, wherein the diffusion layer 316,1018,1440 extends laterally beyond the conductive pad along the top surface of the core (diffusion layer 316 and 1018 are laterally beyond the pad along the top surface; 1440 is laterally beyond the pad in the structure shown in FIG. 14F); and
a die 1026 coupled to the package substrate 1602.
In re claim 23, Sowwan discloses (e.g. FIG. 14A-14H) wherein the diffusion layer 316,1018,1140 comprises boron (boron nitride in 1018, ¶ 77) and oxygen (oxygen in epoxy of 1018, ¶ 77; or hydrolysable group in 316, ¶ 69; or oxides in 1440, ¶ 107).
In re claim 25, Sowwan discloses (e.g. FIG. 14A-14H) wherein a thickness of the diffusion layer 1140 is up to approximately 5µm (10-300 nm, ¶ 107).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai or Sowwan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maekewa et al. US 2019/0259696 A1 (Maekawa).
In re claim 11, Bai teaches (FIG. 4) the claimed invention including a via opening 17 in substrate 11. Sowwan also discloses via openings 303,1003 in substrate. Bai and Sowwan do not explicitly disclose the via opening has tapered sidewalls.
However, Maekewa discloses (FIGs. 58-59) a core substrate 12 having via openings 20, wherein the via openings have tapered sidewalls (¶ 293). Tapered sidewalls is known to improve layer coating and filling as is well-known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Bai’s via opening 17 or Sowwan’s via opening 303,1003 with tapered sidewalls to improve coating and filling characteristics of layers formed subsequently in the via opening.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
No argument or claim amendment has been submitted that would address the outstanding 35 USC 112(a) and 112(b) rejections. Therefore, these rejections remains for reasons set forth previously.
Regarding Bai, Applicant argues the ion implant layer 131 is not extending laterally beyond the circuit pattern layer 16 along the top surface of the substrate 10 (Remark, pages 8-9).
This is not persuasive. In one interpretation, Bai teaches in FIG. 4e a narrower top circuit layer 161 and a wider circuit region layer 16. As such, the diffusion layer 131 on the bottom surface extends laterally beyond the narrower top pad formed by the top portion of 132+15 outside of the via opening. Note top and bottom surfaces can be flipped when the structure shown in FIG. 4e is flipped up-side.
In an alternative interpretation, Bai teaches a structure shown in FIG. 6(d) wherein the diffusion layer 131 is not yet removed and thus extends laterally beyond the conductive pad corresponding to portion of 15 outside the via opening. See FIG. 6(d) below.
No arguments are presented for rejections over Sowwan. Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-13, 22-23 and 25 are rejected over Sowwan as applied above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896