DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sultenfuss et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0232526), Yeung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0140011), and Ullmann et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0026499).
Regarding Claim 1, Sultenfuss discloses an electronic device (Figure 3B, item 305), adapted to be electrically connected to a second electronic device (Figure 3B, item 330) through a connecting device (Figure 3B, item 365), the second electronic device comprising a second universal serial bus (USB) Type-C port (Figure 3B, item 330a; i.e., the USB-C port of multimode AC adaptor 330 that connects to the USB-C port 330a) and a second power delivery controller (paragraph 0072; i.e., multimode AC adaptor 330 may have USB-PD capability, which would indicate that it has a power delivery controller), wherein the electronic device comprises:
a first USB Type-C port (Figure 3B, item 310), electrically connected to the second USB Type-C port through the connecting device;
a first power delivery controller (paragraph 0073; i.e., an “embedded controller” located within mobile IHS 305), electrically connected to the first USB Type-C port, so that the first power delivery controller communicates with the second power delivery controller to generate transmission handshaking information through the first USB Type-C port, the connecting device, and the second USB Type-C port (Figure 4, items 435 and 440, paragraph 0074; i.e., IHS 305 requests a certain level of power [the “handshaking information”] from multimode AC adaptor 330 through connecting device 365);
an analysis module, electrically connected to the first power delivery controller, wherein the analysis module determines plural function types (Figure 4, items 435 and 440; i.e., either USB-PD power supply or high-power supply; the USB-PD option has further function sub-types that can be supported [e.g., 5V, 9V, 15V, or 20V – see paragraph 0074]) transmissible between the electronic device and the second electronic device according to the transmission handshaking information (paragraph 0080; i.e., the connecting device 365 notifies [the “transmission handshaking information”] the IHS 305 of the type of power it will receive [the “at least one function type”]; the component within the IHS 305 that receives this information, though not shown in the figure, is equivalent to the claimed “analysis module”).
Sultenfuss does not expressly disclose a reminder device, electrically connected to the analysis module and used for simultaneously indicating the plural function types that are transmission-supportable and transmission-unsupportable between the electronic device and the second electronic device;
wherein the function types are a combination of at least two of a power transmission function, a data transmission function, and an image transmission function;
wherein when the reminder device is a lighting device, different light signals in different colors are used to simultaneously indicate different function types; and when the reminder device is a sound device, different sounds are made to indicate different function types.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., USB functionality negotiation), Yeung teaches a reminder device (Figure 1, item 160), electrically connected to the analysis module (Figure 1, item 120) and used for simultaneously indicating the plural function types (Figure 1, items 144 and 146) that are transmission-supportable and transmission-unsupportable between the electronic device (Figure 1, item 102) and the second electronic device (Figure 1, item 130, paragraphs 0010-0011 and 0017-0023; i.e., when the LED indicators 160 indicate that only a lower speed data rate such as USB low speed is possible [“transmission-supportable”], it necessarily indicates that a higher speed data rate such as SuperSpeed or SuperSpeed+ is not possible [“transmission-unsupportable”]; using this logic, the LED indicators 160 “simultaneously” indicate that a certain function type [e.g., USB low speed] is transmission-supportable while indicating another function type [e.g., SuperSpeed] is transmission-unsupportable);
wherein when the reminder device is a lighting device, different light signals in different colors are used to indicate different function types (paragraphs 0018, 0022, and 0028); and when the reminder device is a sound device, different sounds are made to indicate different function types (paragraph 0058).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Yeung’s teachings of USB functionality negotiation with the teachings of Sultenfuss, for the purpose of allowing the user to instantly recognize and select the state of the connected USB devices. More specifically, the general teachings from Yeung (i.e., of showing and selecting the functionality of a connected USB device on a display) can be used in Sultenfuss because a user of IHS 305 will be able to quickly identify the type of power (i.e., USB-PD or high power) the IHS 305 is receiving. This can be useful in letting the user know what types of programs will run properly on the IHS 305.
Also in the same field of endeavor (e.g., USB functionality negotiation), Ullman teaches wherein the function types are a combination of at least two of a power transmission function, a data transmission function (Figure 5A; i.e., email, fax, USB are all types of “data transmission functions”), and an image transmission function (Figure 5A, paragraph 0030; i.e., scanning is a type of “image transmission function”; data and image transmission can occur between the computer 201 and printer 207 [Figure 2]); and
different light signals in different colors are used to simultaneously indicate different function types (Figure 5A, paragraphs 0032, 0034, 0039, and 0044; i.e., the color key shows different light signals with different colors for the various functions that are simultaneously supported by the printer 207 on the configuration ring; in the example shown in Figure 5A, USB is shown with a white background and is therefore unsupported, while the “Scan To”, “Copy”, and “Fax” functions have grey backgrounds which indicates that they are supported; the configuration ring is on a “lighting device” because the type of display 202 [Figure 2] described in the reference is typically an LED display [see paragraph 0060, stating that the computer may be a laptop or a tablet], with the individual LEDs making up the claimed “lighting device”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ullman’s teachings of USB functionality negotiation with the teachings of Sultenfuss, for the purpose of enhancing the capabilities of the computer system. More specifically, by allowing additional functional types to be supported, the electronic device would provide additional utility and convenience for the user.
Regarding Claim 2, Sultenfuss discloses wherein the analysis module is built in the first power delivery controller (paragraph 0073; i.e., the “analysis module” is not explicitly shown in the figures but an “embedded controller” is said to perform the handshaking/negotiation procedure; it would have been within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to have built the analysis module into the embedded controller, for the purpose of reducing the amount of hardware required in the IHS 305; see also In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 [CCPA 1950] [holding that it would be obvious to rearrange parts of an invention if the modification would not have modified the operation of the device]).
Regarding Claim 3, Sultenfuss discloses a processor (Figure 1, item 101, paragraph 0025), electrically connected to the first power delivery controller, wherein the analysis module is built in the processor (paragraph 0073; i.e., the “analysis module” is not explicitly shown in the figures but an “embedded controller” is said to perform the handshaking/negotiation procedure; it would have been within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to have built the analysis module into the processor 101, for the purpose of reducing the amount of hardware required in the IHS 305; see also In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 [CCPA 1950] [holding that it would be obvious to rearrange parts of an invention if the modification would not have modified the operation of the device]).
Regarding Claim 6, Sultenfuss discloses wherein the electronic device is a primary electronic device, and the second electronic device is a secondary electronic device (paragraph 0071; i.e., it is unclear what constitutes a “primary” or a “secondary” device; therefore, the IHS 305 could be a “primary” device, while the multimode AC adaptor 330 could be a “secondary” device, or vice versa).
Regarding Claim 7, Sultenfuss discloses wherein the electronic device is a secondary electronic device, and the second electronic device is a primary electronic device (paragraph 0071; i.e., it is unclear what constitutes a “primary” or a “secondary” device; therefore, the IHS 305 could be a “primary” device, while the multimode AC adaptor 330 could be a “secondary” device, or vice versa).
Regarding Claim 8, Sultenfuss discloses a connecting device (Figure 3B, item 365), adapted to be electrically connected to a first electronic device (Figure 3B, item 305) and a second electronic device (Figure 3B, item 330), the first electronic device comprising a first universal serial bus (USB) Type-C port (Figure 3B, item 310) and a first power delivery controller (paragraph 0073; i.e., an “embedded controller” located within mobile IHS 305), and the second electronic device comprising a second USB Type-C port (Figure 3B, item 330a; i.e., the USB-C port of multimode AC adaptor 330 that connects to the USB-C port 330a) and a second power delivery controller (paragraph 0072; i.e., multimode AC adaptor 330 may have USB-PD capability, which would indicate that it has a power delivery controller), wherein the connecting device comprises:
a first USB Type-C connector (Figure 3B, item 320), connected to the first USB Type-C port;
a second USB Type-C connector (Figure 3B, item 330a), connected to the second USB Type-C port;
a transmission line (Figure 3B, item 340), electrically connected to the first USB Type-C connector and the second USB Type-C connector, so that the first power delivery controller communicates with the second power delivery controller to generate transmission handshaking information through the first USB Type-C port, the first USB Type-C connector, the transmission line, the second USB Type-C connector, and the second USB Type-C port (Figure 4, items 435 and 440, paragraph 0074; i.e., IHS 305 requests a certain level of power [the “handshaking information”] from multimode AC adaptor 330 through connecting device 365); and
a control chip (Figure 3B, item 325), electrically connected to the transmission line, to receive the transmission handshaking information and determine plural function types (Figure 4, items 435 and 440; i.e., either USB-PD power supply or high-power supply; the USB-PD option has further function sub-types that can be supported [e.g., 5V, 9V, 15V, or 20V – see paragraph 0074]) transmissible between the first electronic device and the second electronic device according to the transmission handshaking information (paragraph 0080; i.e., the connecting device 365 notifies [the “transmission handshaking information”] the IHS 305 of the type of power it will receive [the “at least one function type”]; the component within the IHS 305 that receives this information, though not shown in the figure, is equivalent to the claimed “analysis module”).
Sultenfuss does not expressly disclose a reminder device, electrically connected to the control chip, wherein the reminder device is a lighting device or a sound device used for simultaneously indicating the plural function types that are transmission-supportable and transmission-unsupportable between the electronic device and the second electronic device; and
wherein when the reminder device is the lighting device, different light signals in different colors are used to simultaneously indicate different function types; and when the reminder device is the sound device, different sounds are made to indicate different function types.
In the same field of endeavor, Yeung teaches a reminder device (Figure 1, item 160), electrically connected to a control chip (Figure 1, item 120), wherein the reminder device is a lighting device or a sound device used for simultaneously indicating the plural function types that are transmission-supportable and transmission-unsupportable between the electronic device (Figure 1, item 102) and the second electronic device (Figure 1, item 130, paragraphs 0010-0011 and 0017-0023; i.e., when the LED indicators 160 indicate that only a lower speed data rate such as USB low speed is possible [“transmission-supportable”], it necessarily indicates that a higher speed data rate such as SuperSpeed or SuperSpeed+ is not possible [“transmission-unsupportable”]; using this logic, the LED indicators 160 “simultaneously” indicate that a certain function type [e.g., USB low speed] is transmission-supportable while indicating another function type [e.g., SuperSpeed] is transmission-unsupportable);
wherein when the reminder device is the lighting device, different light signals in different colors are used to indicate different function types (paragraphs 0018, 0022, and 0028); and when the reminder device is the sound device, different sounds are made to indicate different function types (paragraph 0058).
Also in the same field of endeavor, Ullman teaches wherein the function types are a combination of at least two of a power transmission function, a data transmission function (Figure 5A; i.e., email, fax, USB are all types of “data transmission functions”), and an image transmission function (Figure 5A, paragraph 0030; i.e., scanning is a type of “image transmission function”; data and image transmission can occur between the computer 201 and printer 207 [Figure 2]); and
different light signals in different colors are used to simultaneously indicate different function types (Figure 5A, paragraphs 0032, 0034, 0039, and 0044; i.e., the color key shows different light signals with different colors for the various functions that are simultaneously supported by the printer 207 on the configuration ring; in the example shown in Figure 5A, USB is shown with a white background and is therefore unsupported, while the “Scan To”, “Copy”, and “Fax” functions have grey backgrounds which indicates that they are supported; the configuration ring is on a “lighting device” because the type of display 202 [Figure 2] described in the reference is typically an LED display [see paragraph 0060, stating that the computer may be a laptop or a tablet], with the individual LEDs making up the claimed “lighting device”).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 11, Sultenfuss discloses wherein the function type is a power transmission function (paragraph 0072; i.e., USB power delivery functions), a data transmission function, an image transmission function, or any combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 12, Sultenfuss discloses a connecting device (Figure 3B, item 365), adapted to be electrically connected to a first electronic device (Figure 3B, item 305) and a second electronic device (Figure 3B, item 330), the first electronic device comprising a first universal serial bus (USB) Type-C port (Figure 3B, item 310) and a first power delivery controller (paragraph 0073; i.e., an “embedded controller” located within mobile IHS 305), and the second electronic device comprising a second USB Type-C port (Figure 3B, item 330a; i.e., the USB-C port of multimode AC adaptor 330 that connects to the USB-C port 330a) and a second power delivery controller (paragraph 0072; i.e., multimode AC adaptor 330 may have USB-PD capability, which would indicate that it has a power delivery controller), wherein the connecting device comprises:
a first USB Type-C connector (Figure 3B, item 320), connected to the first USB Type-C port;
a second USB Type-C connector (Figure 3B, item 330a), connected to the second USB Type-C port;
a transmission line (Figure 3B, item 340), electrically connected to the first USB Type-C connector and the second USB Type-C connector, so that the first power delivery controller communicates with the second power delivery controller to generate transmission handshaking information through the first USB Type-C port, the first USB Type-C connector, the transmission line, the second USB Type-C connector, and the second USB Type-C port (Figure 4, items 435 and 440, paragraph 0074; i.e., IHS 305 requests a certain level of power [the “handshaking information”] from multimode AC adaptor 330 through connecting device 365); and
a control chip (Figure 3B, item 325), electrically connected to the transmission line, to receive the transmission handshaking information and determine plural function types (Figure 4, items 435 and 440; i.e., either USB-PD power supply or high-power supply; the USB-PD option has further function sub-types that can be supported [e.g., 5V, 9V, 15V, or 20V – see paragraph 0074]) transmissible between the first electronic device and the second electronic device according to the transmission handshaking information (paragraph 0080; i.e., the connecting device 365 notifies [the “transmission handshaking information”] the IHS 305 of the type of power it will receive [the “at least one function type”]; the component within the IHS 305 that receives this information, though not shown in the figure, is equivalent to the claimed “analysis module”).
Sultenfuss does not expressly disclose wherein the control chip is to determine plural functions that are transmissible and transmission-unsupportable between the electronic device and the second electronic device;
wherein the function types are a combination of at least two of a power transmission function, a data transmission function, and an image transmission function; and
wherein when the reminder device is a lighting device, different light signals in different colors are used to simultaneously indicate different function types; and when the reminder device is a sound device, speeches are directly used to broadcast the function types that are supportable or unsupportable.
In the same field of endeavor, Yeung teaches wherein the control chip (Figure 1, item 120) is to determine plural functions (Figure 1, items 144 and 146) that are transmissible and transmission-unsupportable between the electronic device (Figure 1, item 102) and the second electronic device (Figure 1, item 130, paragraphs 0010-0011 and 0017-0023; i.e., when the LED indicators 160 indicate that only a lower speed data rate such as USB low speed is possible [“transmission-supportable”], it necessarily indicates that a higher speed data rate such as SuperSpeed or SuperSpeed+ is not possible [“transmission-unsupportable”]);
wherein when the reminder device is a lighting device, different light signals in different colors are used to indicate different function types (paragraphs 0018, 0022, and 0028); and when the reminder device is a sound device, speeches are directly used to broadcast the function types that are supportable or unsupportable (paragraph 0058; i.e., although Yeung does not explicitly state that speeches are used to indicate the supported transfer speed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the audio signal in the form of speech, for the purpose of allowing the user to know even faster what type of data rate is supported by the devices).
Also in the same field of endeavor, Ullman teaches wherein the function types are a combination of at least two of a power transmission function, a data transmission function (Figure 5A; i.e., email, fax, USB are all types of “data transmission functions”), and an image transmission function (Figure 5A, paragraph 0030; i.e., scanning is a type of “image transmission function”; data and image transmission can occur between the computer 201 and printer 207 [Figure 2]); and
different light signals in different colors are used to simultaneously indicate different function types (Figure 5A, paragraphs 0032, 0034, 0039, and 0044; i.e., the color key shows different light signals with different colors for the various functions that are simultaneously supported by the printer 207 on the configuration ring; in the example shown in Figure 5A, USB is shown with a white background and is therefore unsupported, while the “Scan To”, “Copy”, and “Fax” functions have grey backgrounds which indicates that they are supported; the configuration ring is on a “lighting device” because the type of display 202 [Figure 2] described in the reference is typically an LED display [see paragraph 0060, stating that the computer may be a laptop or a tablet], with the individual LEDs making up the claimed “lighting device”).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because each reference discloses methods for USB power delivery negotiation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL M ZAMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175