Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 8841769).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses an interconnect structure, comprising:
a diffusion barrier layer (22) disposed on exterior surfaces of an opening (14) in a dielectric layer (12), a top surface of the diffusion barrier layer (22) being below a top surface of the opening (14) [Figs. 10 and 25];
a liner layer (23) disposed on a bottom surface and sidewalls of the diffusion barrier layer [Fig. 23];
a spacer layer (16) disposed on the top surface of the diffusion barrier layer and the liner layer and exposed sidewalls of the opening [Fig. 25];
an interconnect metal (24) disposed on the liner layer and the spacer layer, wherein a top surface at outer ends of the interconnect metal (24) is coplanar with a top surface of the spacer layer (16); [Fig. 25]; and
a metal cap (40) disposed on the interconnect metal [Fig. 25].
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses a top surface of the liner layer (23) is coplanar with the top surface of the diffusion barrier layer (22) [Fig. 25].
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses wherein a top surface of the interconnect metal (24) is coplanar with a top surface of the dielectric layer (12) [Fig. 25].
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses a dielectric cap (32) disposed on the dielectric layer (12) and over the metal cap (24) [Fig. 25].
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses wherein the diffusion barrier layer (22) comprises a material selected from the group consisting of tantalum, tantalum nitride, titanium, titanium nitride, tungsten nitride and combinations thereof [col. 6, lines 66-67].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 8841769) in view of Chen et al. (US 2019/0371656).
Regarding claims 6-8, Park does not disclose: wherein the liner layer comprises ruthenium and the metal cap comprises cobalt, and wherein the interconnect metal comprises copper.
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Chen teaches wherein the liner layer (120) comprises ruthenium [paragraph 0025] and the metal cap comprises cobalt [paragraph 0034].
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches wherein the interconnect metal (150) comprises copper [paragraph 0031].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Park by including a metal cap, a liner layer comprising ruthenium, a metal cap comprising cobalt, and an interconnect metal comprising copper as taught by Chen because it helps to yield higher-performance processors [paragraph 0002]. In addition, the court has held that it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any of the embodiments applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In the instance case, Park discloses a different embodiment in Figure 25 that teaches all the limitations as recited in claim 1. See rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Jose R Diaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815