DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “ a first sub-pixel that emits a first color light……a second sub-pixel that emits a second color excluding the first color light”. The limitation “excluding the first color light” can reasonably be interpreted as the second sub-pixel will emit a second color light at a time different from the first sub-pixel emitting the first color or can reasonably be interpreted as the second sub-pixel will emit a second color light different from the first color light. Throughout the Applicant’s specification it is disclosed that the display a first sub-pixel, second sub-pixel, and a third sub-pixel that emit light different from each other. Therefore for examination purposes the limitation “excluding the first color light” will be interpreted as emitting a color light different from the first color light.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 2021/0043616) in view of Kim (US 2015/0022508).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches A display device comprising: a first sub-pixel that emits a first color light (Fig. 3 sub-pixels RGB), the first sub-pixel comprising: a first anode pad electrode; a second anode pad electrode spaced apart from the first anode pad electrode in a plan view (Figs. 13-19, first anode pad being either RGB 410 and the second anode pad being any other RGB 410); a first cathode pad electrode spaced apart from the first anode pad electrode and the second anode pad electrode in a plan view (Figs. 13-19 cathode pad being 420); and a first light emitting element comprising: a first sub-light emitting element disposed on the first anode pad electrode and the first cathode pad electrode (either light-emitting element of RGB disposed on anode pad 410 and cathode pad 420) , and a second sub-light emitting element disposed on the second anode pad electrode and the first cathode pad electrode(any other of light-emitting element of RGB disposed on anode pad 410 and same cathode pad 420 as shown in Figs. 13,14, and 16-19); and
a second sub-pixel that emits a second color light excluding the first color light (any color of the RGB), wherein
an area of the first cathode pad electrode is larger than an area of the first anode pad electrode or an area of the second anode pad electrode (Figs. 13-19 show that cathode pad 420 is larger than anode pads 410). Although Jung teaches the limitations as discussed above, and it obvious the light emitting elements can emit light of the same color during different periods based on design choice, Jung does not explicitly teach the first sub-light emitting element and the second sub-light emitting element emit the first color light during different periods, and
the first sub-light emitting element and the second sub-light emitting element emit a same color light.
However in the field of manufacturing a display device Kim teaches display device where a first sub-light emitting element and the second sub-light emitting element emit the first color light during different periods([0057-0060] teach how the pixels are grouped together and how the pixel of the same group can emit light during different periods based on which transistor is connected as the driving transistor), and
the first sub-light emitting element and the second sub-light emitting element emit a same color light ([0064] teach that pixels of the same group can emit the same color).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Jung the method of driving as taught by Kim. This combination would improve the display quality for a user as taught by Kim [0012].
Regarding claim 2, Jung teaches wherein a length of the first cathode pad electrode in a direction is greater than a length of the first anode pad electrode in the direction or a length of the second anode pad electrode in the direction (Figs. 16 cathode pad 420GB or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420RG).
Regarding claim 3, Jung teaches wherein the second sub-pixel comprises:
a third anode pad electrode (Fig. 16 anode pad 410R or Fig. 17 anode pad 410B); a second cathode pad electrode spaced apart from the third anode pad electrode direction (Figs. 16 cathode pad 420R or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420B);
a second light emitting element disposed on the third anode pad electrode and the second cathode pad electrode(Fig. 16 and Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Jung teaches wherein an area of the first cathode pad electrode is larger than an area of the second cathode pad electrode(Figs. 16 cathode pad 420GB is larger than cathode pad 420R or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420RG is larger than cathode pad 420B).
Regarding claim 5, Jung teaches wherein a length of the first cathode pad electrode in a direction is greater than a length of the second cathode pad electrode in the direction(Figs. 16 cathode pad 420GB is larger than cathode pad 420R or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420RG is larger than cathode pad 420B).
Regarding claim 6, Jung teaches a third sub-pixel that emits a third color light different from the first color light of the first sub-pixel and the second color light of the second sub-pixel(Fig. 16 anode pad 410R or Fig. 17 anode pad 410B),
wherein the third sub-pixel comprises:
a fourth anode pad electrode(Fig. 16 anode pad 410R or Fig. 17 anode pad 410B);
a third cathode pad electrode spaced apart from the fourth anode pad electrode in a plan view(Figs. 16 cathode pad 420R or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420B);; and
a third light emitting element disposed on the fourth anode pad electrode and the third cathode pad electrode(Figs. 16 and 17).
Regarding claim 7, Jung teaches wherein an area of the first cathode pad electrode is larger than an area of the third cathode pad electrode(Figs. 16 cathode pad 420GB is larger than cathode pad 420R or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420RG is larger than cathode pad 420B).
Regarding claim 8, Jung teaches wherein a length of the first cathode pad electrode in a direction is greater than a length of the third cathode pad electrode in the direction(Figs. 16 cathode pad 420GB is larger than cathode pad 420R or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420RG is larger than cathode pad 420B).
Regarding claim 9, Jung teaches
the second light emitting element emits the second color light (Figs. 16-17 any one of RGB), and the third light emitting element emits the third color light (Fig. 16-17 any other one of RGB), however Kim teaches the first sub-light emitting element and the second sub-light emitting element emit the first color light([0064] teach that pixels of the same group can emit the same color).
Regarding claim 10, Jung teaches wherein
the first color light is red light, the second color light is green light, and the third color light is blue light (Figs. 13-19 RGB), and Kim teaches the first color light is red light, the second color light is green light, and the third color light is blue light ([0064]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remarks submitted the Applicant has argued the combination fails to teach the amended limitations of claim 1. Specifically the Applicant has argued Jung or Kim do not teach “a first light emitting element comprising: a first sub-light emitting element disposed on the first anode pad electrode and the first cathode pad electrode, and a second sub-light emitting element disposed on the second anode pad electrode and the first cathode pad electrode; and a second sub-pixel that emits a second color light excluding the first color light, wherein an area of the first cathode pad electrode is larger than an area of the first anode pad electrode or an area of the second anode pad electrode, the first sub-light emitting element and the second sub-light emitting element emit the first color light during different periods, and the first sub-light emitting element and the second sub-light emitting element emit a same color light." Because they do not teach does not teach or suggest to reducing an amount of heat generated by a first sub-light emitting element and an amount of heat generated by a second sub-light emitting element, which makes it possible to lower the temperature of the first sub-light emitting element and the temperature of the second sub-light emitting element. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., to reducing an amount of heat generated by a first sub-light emitting element and an amount of heat generated by a second sub-light emitting element, which makes it possible to lower the temperature of the first sub-light emitting element and the temperature of the second sub-light emitting element.) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
With reference to the Office Action above, Jung teaches a method of manufacturing a display apparatus having light emitting elements. In the plan view of Figs. 13-19, Jung discloses a first light emitting element comprising: a first sub-light emitting element disposed on the first anode pad electrode (anode pad being 410) and the first cathode pad electrode (cathode pad being 420) , and a second sub-light emitting element disposed on the second anode pad electrode (anode pad 410 of a different color) and the first cathode pad electrode (cathode pad being 420). In Figs.16-17 of Jung it is seen where two light emitting elements are disposed on the same cathode pad electrode 420 while each have their respective anode pad electrode410. Jung goes on teach a second sub-pixel that emits a second color light excluding the first color light ,based the reasons given above in the office action in that “excluding the first color of light” being interpreted as emitting a different color of light ,which is shown in Figs. 14, and 16-17 by having a another light emitting element not sharing the cathode pad electrode. Also as seen in Figs. 14 and 16-17 Jung, teaches wherein an area of the first cathode pad electrode is larger than an area of the first anode pad electrode or an area of the second anode pad electrode by having anode 420 be larger than anodes 410.
Furthermore Kim also teaches a second sub-pixel that emits a second color light excluding the first color light [0064].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621