DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 2021/0043616) in view of Kim (US 2015/0022508) and Shin (US 2005/0110723).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches A display device comprising: a first sub-pixel that emits a first color light (Fig. 3 sub-pixels RGB), the first sub-pixel comprising: a first anode pad electrode; a second anode pad electrode spaced apart from the first anode pad electrode in a plan view (Figs. 13-19, first anode pad being either RGB 410 and the second anode pad being any other RGB 410); a first cathode pad electrode spaced apart from the first anode pad electrode and the second anode pad electrode in a plan view (Figs. 13-19 cathode pad being 420); and a first light emitting element comprising: a first sub-light emitting element disposed on the first anode pad electrode and the first cathode pad electrode (either light-emitting element of RGB disposed on anode pad 410 and cathode pad 420) , and a second sub-light emitting element disposed on the second anode pad electrode and the first cathode pad electrode(any other of light-emitting element of RGB disposed on anode pad 410 and same cathode pad 420 as shown in Figs. 13,14, and 16-19); and
a second sub-pixel that emits a second color light excluding the first color light (any color of the RGB), wherein
an area of the first cathode pad electrode is larger than an area of the first anode pad electrode or an area of the second anode pad electrode (Figs. 13-19 show that cathode pad 420 is larger than anode pads 410). Although Jung teaches the limitations as discussed above, and it obvious the light emitting elements can emit light of the same color during different periods based on design choice, Jung does not explicitly teach the first sub-light emitting element and the second sub-light emitting element emit the first color light during different periods, and
the first sub-light emitting element and the second sub-light emitting element emit a same color light.
However in the field of manufacturing a display device Kim teaches display device where a first sub-light emitting element and the second sub-light emitting element emit the first color light during different periods([0057-0060] teach how the pixels are grouped together and how the pixel of the same group can emit light during different periods based on which transistor is connected as the driving transistor), and
the first sub-light emitting element and the second sub-light emitting element emit a same color light ([0064] teach that pixels of the same group can emit the same color) a second sub-pixel that emits a second color different from the first color light ([0023] teaches a light emitting group having a first light emitting element, a second light emitting element, a third light emitting element, and fourth light emitting element. [0064] teach the pixels of the same group can emit the same color. Since the display of Fig. 1 requires different pixels to present an image and pixels of the same group emit the same color then it is obvious that a second pixel group would be able to second color different from the first color.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Jung the method of driving as taught by Kim. This combination would improve the display quality for a user as taught by Kim [0012]. Although the combination teaches the limitations as discussed above, they fail to teach a first transistor that supplies a first driving current to the first sub- light emitting element in response to receiving a first emission control signal that is applied to a gate of the first transistor; and a second sub-pixel that emits
a second transistor that supplies a second driving current to the second sub-light emitting element in response to receiving a second emission control signal that is applied to a gate of the second transistor.
However in the field of manufacturing and driving a display panel, Shin teaches a first transistor that supplies a first driving current to the first sub- light emitting element in response to receiving a first emission control signal that is applied to a gate of the first transistor; and a second sub-pixel that emits
a second transistor that supplies a second driving current to the second sub-light emitting element in response to receiving a second emission control signal that is applied to a gate of the second transistor (Fig. 12 shows pixel units comprising a first light emitting element connected to emitting control signal EC_11 and second light emitting elements connected to emitting control signal EC_21. Where the current applied to the light emitting element depends on the color of the light emitting element. Fig. 15 shows the driving method of EC_11 and ED_21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Jung the method of driving as taught by Kim and the driving method as taught by Shin. This combination would improve the display quality for a user as taught by Kim [0012].
Regarding claim 2, Jung teaches wherein a length of the first cathode pad electrode in a direction is greater than a length of the first anode pad electrode in the direction or a length of the second anode pad electrode in the direction (Figs. 16 cathode pad 420GB or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420RG).
Regarding claim 3, Jung teaches wherein the second sub-pixel comprises:
a third anode pad electrode (Fig. 16 anode pad 410R or Fig. 17 anode pad 410B); a second cathode pad electrode spaced apart from the third anode pad electrode direction (Figs. 16 cathode pad 420R or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420B);
a second light emitting element disposed on the third anode pad electrode and the second cathode pad electrode(Fig. 16 and Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Jung teaches wherein an area of the first cathode pad electrode is larger than an area of the second cathode pad electrode(Figs. 16 cathode pad 420GB is larger than cathode pad 420R or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420RG is larger than cathode pad 420B).
Regarding claim 5, Jung teaches wherein a length of the first cathode pad electrode in a direction is greater than a length of the second cathode pad electrode in the direction(Figs. 16 cathode pad 420GB is larger than cathode pad 420R or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420RG is larger than cathode pad 420B).
Regarding claim 6, Jung teaches a third sub-pixel that emits a third color light different from the first color light of the first sub-pixel and the second color light of the second sub-pixel(Fig. 16 anode pad 410R or Fig. 17 anode pad 410B),
wherein the third sub-pixel comprises:
a fourth anode pad electrode(Fig. 16 anode pad 410R or Fig. 17 anode pad 410B);
a third cathode pad electrode spaced apart from the fourth anode pad electrode in a plan view(Figs. 16 cathode pad 420R or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420B);; and
a third light emitting element disposed on the fourth anode pad electrode and the third cathode pad electrode(Figs. 16 and 17).
Regarding claim 7, Jung teaches wherein an area of the first cathode pad electrode is larger than an area of the third cathode pad electrode(Figs. 16 cathode pad 420GB is larger than cathode pad 420R or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420RG is larger than cathode pad 420B).
Regarding claim 8, Jung teaches wherein a length of the first cathode pad electrode in a direction is greater than a length of the third cathode pad electrode in the direction(Figs. 16 cathode pad 420GB is larger than cathode pad 420R or Fig. 17 cathode pad 420RG is larger than cathode pad 420B).
Regarding claim 9, Jung teaches
the second light emitting element emits the second color light (Figs. 16-17 any one of RGB), and the third light emitting element emits the third color light (Fig. 16-17 any other one of RGB), however Kim teaches the first sub-light emitting element and the second sub-light emitting element emit the first color light([0064] teach that pixels of the same group can emit the same color).
Regarding claim 10, Jung teaches wherein
the first color light is red light, the second color light is green light, and the third color light is blue light (Figs. 13-19 RGB), and Kim teaches the first color light is red light, the second color light is green light, and the third color light is blue light ([0064]).
Conclusion
/ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621