DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 & 11-18 in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claim limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claims 1 & 16:
a first portion of an interconnect line comprising a first conducting line segment and a second conducting line segment separated by an isolating layer; and a second portion of the interconnect line comprising a third conducting line segment vertically stacked over at least a portion of the first conducting line segment and at least a portion of the second conducting line segment (note bolded portions).
Claims 2 & 17:
the third conducting line segment in the second portion of the interconnect line electrically connects the first conducting line segment and the second conducting line segment in the first portion of the interconnect line.
Claim 8:
wherein at least one of the first via and the second via are coupled to at least a portion of an active device structure.
The Examiner suggests that applicants map said claim features to a specific drawing to help resolve the ambiguity.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: There appears to be reference numerals in the specification that do not have corresponding description in the drawings (e.g. Vx, Mx, V(x-1) and more).
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 & 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 & 16 recite the limitation “a first portion of an interconnect line comprising a first conducting line segment and a second conducting line segment separated by an isolating layer; and a second portion of the interconnect line comprising a third conducting line segment vertically stacked over at least a portion of the first conducting line segment and at least a portion of the second conducting line segment (note bolded portions). The limitations raises ambiguity as it is unclear what specific structural features (e.g. in Fig. 1A, Fig. 2A and/or Fig. 3A) the claim limitations are referring to. The Examiner suggests that applicants map said claim features to a specific drawing to help resolve the ambiguity.
Claims 2-8 and 17-18 are rejected for being dependent on claims 1 & 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
As best understood, claims 1-8 & 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YEW et al. (US Pub. 2023/0069830).
Regarding claim 1, YEW teaches a semiconductor structure comprising:
a first portion of an interconnect line comprising a first conducting line segment and a second conducting line segment separated by an isolating layer (portion of dielectric layer 130, see Fig. 1B below); and
a second portion of the interconnect line comprising a third conducting line segment vertically stacked over at least a portion of the first conducting line segment and at least a portion of the second conducting line segment (see Fig. 1B below and note the annotations).
Regarding claim 2, YEW teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the third conducting line segment in the second portion of the interconnect line electrically connects the first conducting line segment and the second conducting line segment in the first portion of the interconnect line (Fig. 1B above).
Regarding claim 3, YEW teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the first portion of the interconnect line and the second portion of the interconnect line are part of a same interconnect level of an interconnect structure (Fig. 1B above).
Regarding claim 4, YEW teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the interconnect line provides at least a portion of a front side power distribution network.
Regarding claim 5, YEW teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the interconnect line provides at least a portion of a back side power distribution network (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 6, YEW teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the first conducting line segment is connected to a first via and the second conducting line segment is connected to a second via (see Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 7, YEW teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 6, wherein at least one of the first via and the second via are coupled to at least one additional interconnect line 120 (Fig, 1B and Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 8, YEW teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 6, wherein at least one of the first via and the second via are coupled to at least a portion of an active device structure (it is understood that the first and the second vias are connected to an active device in YEW’s semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 11, YEW teaches an interconnect structure comprising:
a stacked interconnect line, the stacked interconnect line comprising a first portion comprising two or more conducting line segments separated by an isolating layer (portion of dielectric layer 136) and a second portion vertically stacked over the first portion (see Fig. 1B below); and
one or more vias connecting the stacked interconnect line with an additional structure (see Fig. 1B below).
Regarding claim 12, YEW teaches the interconnect structure of claim 11, wherein the additional structure 120 comprises an additional interconnect line (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 13, YEW teaches the interconnect structure of claim 12, wherein the stacked interconnect line is in a first line level of the interconnect structure and the additional interconnect line is in a second line level of the interconnect structure (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 14, YEW teaches the interconnect structure of claim 11, wherein the additional structure comprises an active device structure (Para [0014, wherein YEW teaches the presence of substrate comprising active device).
Regarding claim 15, YEW teaches the interconnect structure of claim 14, wherein the active device structure comprises one or more transistors (Para [0014]).
Regarding claim 16, YEW teaches an integrated circuit comprising:
a semiconductor structure comprising:
a first portion of an interconnect line comprising a first conducting line segment and a second conducting line segment separated by an isolating layer (portion of 136, see annotations in Fig. 1B below & Fig. 2C) ; and
a second portion of the interconnect line comprising a third conducting line segment vertically stacked over at least a portion of the first conducting line segment and at least a portion of the second conducting line segment (see Fig. 1B below).
Regarding claim 17, YEW teaches the integrated circuit of claim 16, wherein the third conducting line segment in the second portion of the interconnect line electrically connects the first conducting line segment and the second conducting line segment in the first portion of the interconnect line (see Fig. 1B above).
Regarding claim 18, YEW teaches the integrated circuit of claim 16, wherein the first portion of the interconnect line and the second portion of the interconnect line are part of a same interconnect level of an interconnect structure (Fig. 1B).
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818