DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on September 29, 2022, March 1, 2023, October 16, 2025 and November 18, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-14 and 23-25) in the reply filed on January 23, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 12-14 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Jimarez et al (US 6,734,368; hereinafter Jimarez).
Regarding claim 1, Jimarez discloses a back plate (12) comprising: a ceramic substrate (16; dielectric; column 3 lines 28-39) having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (see figure 1); and metal (18; copper) coupled to the ceramic substrate (16), at least a portion of the metal (18) disposed between planes defined by the first and second surfaces of the ceramic substrate (see figure 1.
Regarding claim 2, Jimarez discloses the back plate (12), wherein the ceramic substrate (16) includes sintered alumina (dielectric; column 3 lines 28-39).
Regarding claim 3, Jimarez discloses the back plate (12), wherein there is no adhesive between the ceramic substrate (16) and the metal (18).
Regarding claim 4, Jimarez discloses the back plate (12), wherein the metal (18) is adjacent the second surface of the ceramic substrate (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Jimarez discloses the back plate (12), wherein the metal (18) is to cover the second surface of the ceramic substrate (16).
Regarding claim 7, Jimarez discloses the back plate (12), wherein the ceramic substrate (16) includes a hole (30) extending therethrough.
Regarding claim 8, Jimarez discloses the back plate (12), wherein the metal (18) is to extend through the hole (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Jimarez discloses the back plate (12), wherein the metal (18) is to extend along a wall of the hole (30) to define a smaller hole extending therethrough (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Jimarez discloses the back plate (12), wherein the metal (18) is embedded within the ceramic substrate (16), the metal (18) surrounding the hole (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Jimarez discloses the back plate (12), wherein the metal (18; copper) includes at least one of a metal wire, a wire mesh, or a metal strip (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Jimarez discloses the back plate (12), wherein a melting point of the metal (18; copper) is higher than a sintering temperature of a material included in the ceramic substrate (dielectric).
Regarding claim 23, Jimenez discloses a method comprising: sintering particles of a ceramic material (dielectric; column 3 lines 28-39) to define a ceramic substrate (16); and coupling metal (18) to the ceramic substrate without an adhesive (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 24, Jimenez discloses the method, wherein the coupling of the metal (18; copper) to the ceramic substrate (16) includes arranging the metal within the particles before the sintering (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 25, Jimenez discloses the method, wherein the coupling of the metal (18) to the ceramic substrate (16) includes :positioning the ceramic substrate (16) within a die cast mold; and casting the metal (18) within spaces within the die cast mold surrounding the ceramic substrate (see figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claims 6, 10 and 11 are:
Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest in combination with the other claimed limitations the back plate, wherein the metal is to cover lateral surfaces of the ceramic substrate, the lateral surfaces to extend between the first and second surfaces of the ceramic substrate.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest in combination with the other claimed limitations the back plate, wherein the smaller hole is threaded.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest in combination with the other claimed limitations the back plate, wherein the ceramic substrate includes an opening extending through the ceramic substrate, the metal not extending through the opening.
These limitations are found in claims 6, 10 and 11, and are neither disclosed nor taught by the prior art of record, alone or in combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Morioka et al (US 8,841,558), Maeda et al (US 8,138,428), En et al (US 7,535,095 and US 8,030,577), Toyoshima et al (US 6,774,314) and Nishiwaki et al (US 6,512,186) disclose a back plate.
March 21, 2025
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841