DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-9, 11, 13, and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yen (US Pub. 2014/0239465).
Regarding claim 8, in FIGs. 1A-1C and 4A, Yen discloses a semiconductor package, comprising: a semiconductor die (111, paragraph [0034]); a conductive member (electrical connection connecting 115 to 111; paragraph [0034]) coupled to the semiconductor die and extending away from the semiconductor die; and a multi-layer package substrate including: a first horizontal metal layer (120, paragraph [0033]) to provide a ground connection; a second horizontal metal layer (140, paragraph [0036]) above (or overlapping) the first horizontal metal layer, the conductive member above (or overlapping) a plane along a top surface of the second horizontal member (conductive member is above a top surface of the second horizontal member when a top of the package is interpreted as being on the 110 side); vertical members (451/452, paragraph [0049]) coupling to the first and second horizontal metal layers; and a mold compound (130, paragraph [00354]) contacting portions of the second horizontal metal layer (e.g. see FIG. 1B), wherein: the first horizontal metal layer forms a conductive strip (115) coupled to the conductive member and capable of guiding an electromagnetic wave away from the conductive member; the first and second horizontal metal layers and the vertical members form a transition member (a portion of 150r near 151) coupled to the conductive strip, having a flared shape, and capable of guiding the electromagnetic wave away from the conductive strip, the first and second horizontal metal layers and the vertical members form a waveguide (an intermediate portion of 150r) coupled to the transition member, having a rectangular prism shape in a top cross-sectional view of the semiconductor package, and capable of guiding the electromagnetic wave away from the transition member, the first and second horizontal metal layers and the vertical members form a horn antenna (remainder of 150r) coupled to the waveguide and capable of directing the electromagnetic wave from the waveguide to a predetermined direction.
Regarding claim 9, in FIGs. 1A-1C and 4A, Yen discloses that the transition member comprises a first end coupled to the conductive strip and a second end coupled to the waveguide, the first end narrower than the second end.
Regarding claim 11, in FIGs. 1A-1C and 4A, Yen discloses that the vertical members include monolithic vertical members (each 451 and 452 is a single piece) that form parts of the transition member, the waveguide, and the horn antenna.
Regarding claim 13, in FIGs. 1A-1C and 4A, Yen discloses that the mold compound contacts portions of the first horizontal metal layer and the vertical members (e.g. see FIG. 1B).
Regarding claim 22, in FIGs. 1A-1C, 4A, and 4B, Yen discloses that a distal end of the horn antenna includes an orifice (150a, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 23, in FIGs. 1A-1C and 4A, Yen discloses a semiconductor package, comprising: a semiconductor die (111); a conductive member (electrical connection connecting 115 to 111; paragraph [0034]) coupled to the semiconductor die; and a multi-layer package substrate including: a first horizontal metal layer (120, paragraph [0033]) to provide a ground connection; a second horizontal metal layer (140, paragraph [0036]) above (or overlapping) the first horizontal metal layer; vertical members (451/452) coupling to the first and second horizontal metal layers; and a mold compound (130) contacting the conductive member, the first and second horizontal metal layers and the vertical members (e.g. see FIG. 1B), wherein a portion of the first horizontal metal layer and a portion of the second horizontal metal layer is part of a horn antenna (portion of 150r), and wherein the conductive member is above (or overlapping) a plane along a top surface of the second horizontal metal layer (conductive member is above a top surface of the second horizontal member when a top of the package is interpreted as being on the 110 side).
Regarding claim 24, in FIGs. 1A-1C and 4A, Yen discloses that the first horizontal metal layer, the second horizontal metal layer, and the vertical members together form a structure including a conductive strip (115) coupled to the conductive member, a transition member coupled (a portion of 150r near 151) to the conductive strip, a waveguide (an intermediate portion of 150r) coupled to the transition member, and the horn antenna (remainder of 150r) coupled to the waveguide.
Regarding claim 25, in FIGs. 1A-1C and 4A, Yen discloses that the horn antenna and the transition member include a trapezoidal shape in a top cross-sectional view of the semiconductor package.
Regarding claim 26, in FIGs. 1A-1C and 4A, Yen discloses that the waveguide includes a prism shape in the top cross-sectional view of the semiconductor package.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen (US Pub. 2014/0239465) in view of Hsu (US Pub. No. 2019/0164916).
Regarding claim 1, in FIGs. 1A-1C and 4A, Yen discloses a semiconductor package, comprising: a semiconductor die (111, paragraph [0034]); a conductive member (electrical connection connecting 115 to 111; paragraph [0034]) coupled to the semiconductor die; and a multi-layer package substrate including: a first horizontal metal layer (120, paragraph [0033]) to provide a ground connection; a second horizontal metal layer (140, paragraph [0036]) above the first horizontal metal layer; vertical members (451/452, paragraph [0049]) coupling to the first and second horizontal metal layers; and a mold compound (130, paragraph [00354]) covering the first and second horizontal metal layers and the vertical members, wherein the first horizontal metal layer, the second horizontal metal layer, and the vertical members together form a structure including a conductive strip (115, paragraph [0033]) coupled to the conductive member, a transition member (a portion of 150r near 151) coupled to the conductive strip, a waveguide (an intermediate portion of 150r) coupled to the transition member, and a horn antenna coupled to the waveguide (remaining portion of 150r).
Yen appears not to explicitly disclose that the conductive strip, the conductive member, the waveguide, and the horn antenna are arranged along a common axis.
The art however well recognized a conductive strip, a conductive member, a waveguide, and a horn antenna being arranged along a common axis to be suitable for use as a semiconductor package layout. See, for example, Hsu, FIGs. 1A-1B; z-axis, conductive strip (conductor connected to 15 in FIG. 1B), a conductive member (15), waveguide (portion of 11/12 near W0), horn antenna (remaining portion of 11/12).
According to well-established patent law precedents (see, for example, M.P.E.P. § 2144.07), therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have formed the conductive strip, the conductive member, the waveguide, and the horn antenna such that they are arranged along a common axis for its recognized suitability as a semiconductor package layout.
Regarding claim 2, in FIGs. 1A-1C and 4A, Yen discloses that the transition member has a flared shape that has a first end and a second end narrower than the first end, the second end coupled to the conductive strip and the first end coupled to the waveguide.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yen and Hsu appears not to explicitly disclose that the conductive strip, the transition member, the waveguide, and the horn antenna are impedance matched.
However, the art well recognized that impedance matching of components of an RF system is desirable at least to maximize power transfer from source to load and/or to minimize reflections.
To maximize power transfer from source to load and/or to minimize reflections it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form the conductive strip, the transition member, the waveguide, and the horn antenna such that they are impedance matched.
Regarding claim 4, in FIGs. 1A-1C and 4A, Yen discloses that the vertical members include first and second monolithic vertical members (each of 451 and 452 is a single piece) that form parts of the transition member, the waveguide, and the horn antenna.
Regarding claim 6, in FIGs. 1A-1C and 4A, Yen discloses that the waveguide is a rectangular prism.
Regarding claim 7, in FIGs. 1A-1C and 4A, Yen discloses the horn antenna including a trapezoidal shape in a top cross-sectional view of the semiconductor package.
Regarding claim 21, in FIGs. 1A-1C, 4A, and 4B, Yen discloses that a distal end of the horn antenna includes an orifice (150a, paragraph [0037]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen (US Pub. 2014/0239465).
Regarding claim 10, Yen appears not to explicitly disclose that the conductive strip, the transition member, the waveguide, and the horn antenna are impedance matched.
However, the art well recognized that impedance matching of components of an RF system is desirable at least to maximize power transfer from source to load and/or to minimize reflections.
To maximize power transfer from source to load and/or to minimize reflections it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form the conductive strip, the transition member, the waveguide, and the horn antenna such that they are impedance matched.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen (US Pub. 2014/0239465) in view of Yamamoto (US Pub. No. 2001/0008775).
Regarding claim 27, Yen appears not to explicitly disclose the semiconductor package is a quad flat no lead (QFN) package.
However, Yamamoto discloses that a QFN package has an advantage of reduced real state since the lead is inside the package when viewed from above (paragraph [0005]).
To reduce the real estate required by the semiconductor package it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to from the Yen disclosed semiconductor package as a QFN package.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the various amendments are not disclosed by the cited references. This argument is not persuasive. Please see the claim rejections above.
Conclusion
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891