DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 116, as shown in Fig. 2A, for example. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 6, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0284656 to Rinck et al.
Regarding claim 1, Rinck et al. teach a semiconductor die, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (108) having a circuit (¶[0024]) formed therein;
one or more metal layers (121, 122, 123, 124) on the semiconductor substrate, the one or more metal layers coupled to the circuit;
a metal interface structure (M4) on the one or more metal layers, in which the metal interface structure has opposite first and second surfaces, and the first surface faces the one or more metal layers; and
a dissolvable metal layer (210) on the second surface.
Regarding claim 2, Rinck et al. teach a semiconductor die, wherein the metal interface structure includes a bond pad (¶[0015]).
Regarding claim 3, Rinck et al. teach a semiconductor die, wherein the dissolvable metal layer includes cobalt (¶[0019]).
Regarding claim 6, Rinck et al. teach a semiconductor die, wherein the metal interface structure includes a non-noble metal (¶[0025]) capable of forming an alloy with tin.
Regarding claim 21, Rinck et al. teach a method, comprising:
forming circuitry (¶[0024]) in a semiconductor substrate (108);
forming one or more metal layers (121, 122, 123, 124) on the semiconductor substrate, the one or more metal layers coupled to the circuitry;
forming a metal interface structure (M4) on the one or more metal layers, in which the metal interface structure has opposite first and second surfaces, and the first surface faces and is coupled to the one or more metal layers; and
depositing a dissolvable metal layer (210) on the second surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinck et al.
Regarding claim 4, Rinck et al. do not teach a semiconductor die, wherein the metal interface structure includes platinum. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use platinum since it is a known material that is well suited for the intended use.
Regarding claim 5, Rinck et al. do not teach a semiconductor die, wherein the metal interface structure includes a noble metal selected from the group consisting of ruthenium, rhodium, palladium, osmium, and iridium. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use ruthenium, rhodium, palladium, osmium, or iridium since they are known materials that are well suited for the intended use.
Regarding claim 11, Rinck et al. do not teach a semiconductor die, wherein the dissolvable metal layer has a thickness of less than 5 kilo Angstroms. Rinck et al. do not teach the preferred thickness of the dissolvable metal layer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrive at the optimal thickness of the dissolvable metal layer through routine experimentation.
Claims 12 – 20 are allowed.
Claims 7 – 10, 22, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest an electronic device as recited in claim 12, including “an alloy metal interconnect coupled between the metal interface structure and the solder layer, the alloy metal interconnect including an alloy of solder and cobalt.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0266149 to Xu et al. teach a semiconductor die comprising a substrate, one or more metal layers and a metal interface. Xu et al. do not teach a dissolvable metal layer on the second surface of the metal interface.
DOUGLAS W. OWENS, Esq.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/DOUGLAS W OWENS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897