DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 12/08/2025, in which claim 1 was amended, claims 2-5, 12-23 were withdrawn, claims 24-25 were cancelled, has been entered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to foreign application KR10-2021-0131133 filed on 10/01/2021. The foreign application is not in English. The certified copy of the foreign priority application KR10-2021-0131133, an English translation of the non-English language foreign application KR10-2021-0131133 and a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 have been received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US Pub. 20200337161) and Ahn et al. (US Pub. 20200160761).
Regarding claim 1, Choi et al. discloses in Fig. 5-Fig. 8, Fig. 11, paragraph [0043]-[0046], [0055]-[0057] a display apparatus [DM-b] or [DM-c] comprising:
a display panel [DP] comprising a main display area [DA], auxiliary display areas [BA] disposed on edges of the main display area [DA], and a panel corner area connecting adjacent auxiliary display areas [BA];
a cover window [WD] connected to a first surface of the display panel [DP]; and
a guide film [PL1 or PL2] connected to a second surface of the display panel [DP],
a protective film [SP], wherein the guide film [PL1 or PL2] is between the protective film [SP] and the display panel [DP].
Choi et al. fails to disclose
the auxiliary display areas being round;
the guide film comprising:
a central area;
a first side area extended to a first edge of the central area;
a second side area extended to a second edge intersecting the first edge of the central area; and
a corner area connecting the first side area to the second side area and exposing at least a part of the panel corner area.
Ahn et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7, Fig. 8
the auxiliary display areas [DA2] being round;
the guide film [50] comprising:
a central area;
a first side area extended to a first edge of the central area;
a second side area extended to a second edge intersecting the first edge of the central area; and
a corner area connecting the first side area to the second side area and exposing at least a part of the panel corner area [DA3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ahn et al. into the method of Choi et al. to include the auxiliary display areas being round; the guide film comprising: a central area; a first side area extended to a first edge of the central area; a second side area extended to a second edge intersecting the first edge of the central area; and a corner area connecting the first side area to the second side area and exposing at least a part of the panel corner area. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable configuration of the auxiliary display areas and the guide film to provide a display device including a curved display area to increase a screen-to-body ratio of the display device [paragraph [0002], [0004] of Ahn et al.].
Alternatively,
Regarding claim 1, Ahn et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 7, Fig. 8, Fig. 14 a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel [10] comprising a main display area [DA1], auxiliary display areas [DA2] disposed on edges of the main display area [DA1], the auxiliary display areas [DA2] being round, and a panel corner area [DA3] connecting adjacent auxiliary display areas [DA2];
a cover window [30] connected to a first surface of the display panel [10]; and
a guide film [50] connected to a second surface of the display panel [10], the guide film [50] comprising:
a central area;
a first side area extended to a first edge of the central area;
a second side area extended to a second edge intersecting the first edge of the central area; and
a corner area connecting the first side area to the second side area and exposing at least a part of the panel corner area [DA3].
Ahn et al. fails to disclose
a protective film, wherein the guide film is between the protective film and the display panel.
Choi et al. discloses in Fig. 5-Fig. 8
a protective film [SP], wherein the guide film [PL1 or PL2] is between the protective film [SP] and the display panel [DP].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi et al. into the method of Ahn et al. to include a protective film, wherein the guide film is between the protective film and the display panel. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ahn et al. in the above manner for the purpose of supporting or protecting the display panel [paragraph [0055] of Choi et al.].
Regarding claim 6, Choi et al. discloses in Fig. 5, paragraph [0046], [0055]
a film adhesive member [PL2] disposed between the guide film [PL1] and the second surface of the display panel [DP].
Ahn et al. further discloses in paragraph [0091]
a film adhesive member disposed between the guide film [50] and the second surface of the display panel [10][“In order to easily remove the adhesive sheet 50, an attachment side of the adhesive sheet 50 may include an adhesive of which viscosity is deteriorated when ultraviolet (“UV”) or heat is applied thereto”].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US Pub. 20200337161) and Ahn et al. (US Pub. 20200160761) as applied to claim 6 above and in view of Yamada et al. (US Pub. 20090087655)
Regarding claim 7, Choi et al. and Ahn et al. fails to disclose
wherein the guide film comprises an acrylic resin, and the film adhesive member comprises a silicone-based resin.
Yamada et al. discloses in Fig. 1, paragraph [0060]-[0066]
wherein the guide film [3d] comprises an acrylic resin, and the film adhesive member [3a and 3c] comprises a silicone-based resin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yamada et al. into the method of Choi et al. and Ahn et al. to include wherein the guide film comprises an acrylic resin, and the film adhesive member comprises a silicone-based resin. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi et al. and Ahn et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable material of a repeelable mounting sheet so that a bonding process free from bubbles is achieved without the necessity of using a special facility [paragraph [0010], [0064]-[0066] of Yamada et al.].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US Pub. 20200337161) and Ahn et al. (US Pub. 20200160761) as applied to claim 6 above and in view of Suzuki et al. (US Pub. 20130220511)
Regarding claim 8, Choi et al. and Ahn et al. fails to disclose
wherein the guide film and the film adhesive member comprise a same material-based resin.
Suzuki et al. discloses in Fig. 1, paragraph [0027], [0030]
wherein the guide film [110] and the film adhesive member [120] comprise a same material-based resin [acrylic resin, silicone resin].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yamada et al. into the method of Choi et al. and Ahn et al. to include wherein the guide film and the film adhesive member comprise a same material-based resin. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi et al. and Ahn et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable material of the guide film and the film adhesive member. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US Pub. 20200337161) and Ahn et al. (US Pub. 20200160761) as applied to claim 6 above and in view of Won (US Pub. 20200401185) and Yamada et al. (US Pub. 20090087655)
Regarding claims 9-11, Choi et al. and Ahn et al. fails to disclose
wherein the display panel further comprises an impact absorbing layer disposed on the second surface of the display panel;
wherein the impact absorbing layer and the film adhesive member comprise a same material-based resin;
wherein the impact absorbing layer and the film adhesive member comprise different material-based resins.
Won et al. discloses in Fig. 22-24, paragraph [0089]
wherein the display panel further comprises an impact absorbing layer [PF1 and PF2] disposed on the second surface of the display panel [100].
Yamada et al. discloses in Fig. 10, Fig. 11, paragraph [0058], [0060], [0069]
wherein the display panel [6] further comprises an impact absorbing layer [4] disposed on the second surface of the display panel [6];
wherein the impact absorbing layer [4] and the film adhesive member [3d] comprise a same material-based resin [acryl-based][Fig. 11, paragraph [0064], [0069]];
wherein the impact absorbing layer [4] and the film adhesive member [3c or 3d] comprise different material-based resins [urethane based vs. silicone resin or acrylic resin][Fig. 10, Fig. 11, paragraph [0060], [0069]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yamada et al. and Won into the method of Choi et al. and Ahn et al. to include wherein the display panel further comprises an impact absorbing layer disposed on the second surface of the display panel; wherein the impact absorbing layer and the film adhesive member comprise a same material-based resin; wherein the impact absorbing layer and the film adhesive member comprise different material-based resins. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi et al. and Ahn et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing a protective film to protect the display panel from various impacts and deformations [paragraph [0069] of Yamada et al. and paragraph [0089] of Won].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6-11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
In addition, Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 7 that “the only time adhesive sheet 50 is attached to display panel 10 is during the lamination process,” Examiner respectfully disagrees because Fig. 10 and paragraph [0091] were not cited in the rejection. Further, Ahn discloses in paragraph [0101] that “After lamination is carried out, the adhesive sheet 50 may be removed”. Therefore, the adhesive sheet 50 is not necessarily removed. The newly cited reference Choi et al. suggests that the adhesive sheet 50 is not removed after lamination thus reduce process steps. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art discloses similar materials, devices and methods.
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893