DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-10, 14, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. US 2022/0028800.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a stiffener (e.g., 20f, Figs. 8-10; [50]-[54]; [32], [24]) comprising:
an inner perimeter (e.g., inner perimeter of 20f comprising a tetragonal shape, Fig. 8) comprising a polygonal shape that surrounds at least one dimension of an integrated circuit (e.g., 30, Fig. 8) coupled to a substrate (e.g., 10, Figs. 8-10), the inner perimeter comprising:
sides of the polygonal shape creating a set of boundaries (e.g., sides of the tetragonal shape of the inner perimeter creating a set of boundaries; see the annotated Fig. 8 below); and
at least one recess formed into at least one boundary of the set of boundaries (e.g., recess(es) into at least one boundary discussed above; see the annotated Fig. 8 below); and
an outer perimeter (e.g., outer perimeter of 20f, Fig. 8) that extends further outward from the integrated circuit than the inner perimeter.
Annotated Fig. 8 of Chen
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the stiffener of claim 1, further comprising material (e.g., material of 20f; Fig. 8, [24]) that: extends between the inner perimeter and the outer perimeter; and provides structural support to the substrate to impede the substrate or the integrated circuit from warping (e.g., [54]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the stiffener of claim 1, wherein the set of boundaries comprises at least four linear boundaries that collectively form the inner perimeter (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 8 above).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the stiffener of claim 1, wherein: the at least one recess comprises a certain number of recesses (e.g., two recesses; see the annotated Fig. 8 above); and the set of boundaries comprises a different number of linear boundaries (e.g., four linear boundaries; see the annotated Fig. 8 above) that is equivalent to double the certain number of recesses.
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches the stiffener of claim 1, wherein the set of boundaries are arranged in a symmetrical configuration (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 8 above).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the stiffener of claim 1, wherein the at least one recess comprises: a first recess (e.g., a recess; see the annotated Fig. 8 above) formed into a first linear boundary (e.g., a linear boundary including the recess; see the annotated Fig. 8 above) included in the set of boundaries; and a second recess (e.g., another recess; see the annotated Fig. 8 above) formed into a second linear boundary (e.g., another linear boundary including the another recess; see the annotated Fig. 8 above) that is included in the set of boundaries and positioned opposite the first linear boundary.
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the stiffener of claim 9, wherein the first recess and the second recess are offset from one another relative to a symmetry axis that bisects the inner perimeter (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 8 above).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches an apparatus (e.g., 1e, Figs. 8-10; [50]-[54]; [32], [24]) comprising:
a substrate (e.g., 10, Figs. 8-10);
an integrated circuit (e.g., 30, Fig. 8) coupled to the substrate; and
a stiffener (e.g., 20f, Figs. 8-10) that surrounds at least one dimension of the integrated circuit, the stiffener comprising:
an inner perimeter (e.g., inner perimeter of 20f comprising a tetragonal shape, Fig. 8) comprising a polygonal shape that includes:
sides of the polygonal shape creating a set of boundaries (e.g., sides of the tetragonal shape of the inner perimeter creating a set of boundaries; see the annotated Fig. 8 above); and
at least one recess formed into at least one boundary of the set of boundaries (e.g., recess(es) into at least one boundary discussed above; see the annotated Fig. 8 above); and
an outer perimeter (e.g., outer perimeter of 20f, Fig. 8) that extends further outward from the integrated circuit than the inner perimeter.
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the stiffener further comprises material (e.g., material of 20f; Fig. 8, [24]) that: extends between the inner perimeter and the outer perimeter; and provides structural support to the substrate to impede the substrate or the integrated circuit from warping (e.g., [54]).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the set of boundaries comprises at least four linear boundaries that collectively form the inner perimeter (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 8 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 6 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on September 10, 2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as stated above.
Applicant appears to argue that Chen does not disclose the recesses formed into the boundary (see page 7 of the Applicant's response of September 10, 2025).
However, as stated above in the main body of the rejection and reiterated as follows, Chen teaches at least one recess formed into at least one boundary (e.g., recess(es) into at least one boundary (created by the sides of the tetragonal shape of the inner perimeter); see the annotated Fig. 8 above).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a) . Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a) .
If applicant should desire to file an amendment, entry of a proposed amendment after final rejection cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made earlier. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing a good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
/BO B JANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 November 29, 2025