DETAILED ACTION
All outstanding objections and rejections, except for those maintained below, are withdrawn in light of applicant's amendment filed on 1/13/2026.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant's amendment filed on 1/13/2026. In particular, original Claims 1 and 10 have been amended to recite a combination of limitations not previously presented. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “a moiety represented by
in formula 1-1” which renders the scope of the claim indefinite given that this appears to be an incompletely recited limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 10-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2015/0228914).
Regarding claim 1, Li et al discloses the following organic light emitting device ([0071] - Figure 1):
,
where the anode (104) corresponds to the recited first electrode; the cathode (120) corresponds to the recited second electrode and faces the first electrode; layers 106 to 110 correspond to the recited interlayer; and layer 108 is the recited emission layer. The interlayer (layers 106 to 110) is located between the first (104) and second (120) electrodes ([0071] - n.b. the cathode is misidentified as layer 112 instead of 120 in [0071]).
The light emitting layer (108) comprises the following compound ([0073] and Page 60):
,
where R1 to R4 are hydrogen ([0007]).
This compound corresponds to organometallic compound represented by Formula 1:
,
where
M is Pt;
ring CY2 is a C6 carbocyclic group;
ring CY4 is a C5 heterocyclic group;
ring CY33 is a C6 carbocyclic group;
X1 is N;
X2 is C; X4 is N;
X31 and X32 are C;
X33 and X34 are C(Z3) and X(Z4), respectively;
L1, L2, and L3 are single bonds;
n1, n2, and n3 are each one (1);
Z3 and Z4 are hydrogen; and
a1, a2, a4 and a32 are each zero (0).
The compound disclosed by the reference does not possess ring CY32 as recited in Formula 1. However, the compound is but one embodiment, and attention is directed to the following formula ([0037]):
,
where the structure:
corresponds to ([0045] and Page 25):
;
and the formula ([0045]):
,
corresponds to ([0045]):
.
Accordingly, the disclosure of reference encompasses an embodiment where ring CY33 in Formula 1 of the claims is present and the ring is a C6 carbocyclic ring where a32 is zero (0).
Furthermore, in the compound disclosed by the reference, CY1 does not correspond to one of Formulas CY1(1) to CY1(18). However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment and attention is directed to the following general formula ([0034]):
,
where L1 can be a heteroaryl ([0007]). The heteroaryl is exemplified as an imidazole ring in the following compound (Page 57):
.
The imidazole corresponds to Formula CY1(1):
,
where R11 is C6 carbocyclic group; and X1 is C.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following organic light emitting device:
,
where the first electrode is an anode; the second electrode is a cathode. The interlayer layer comprises a hole transport layer (106), i.e. hole transport region, located between the anode (104) and the light emitting layer (108); and an electron transport layer (110), i.e. an electron transport region, located between the cathode (120) and the light emitting layer (108).
Regarding claim 3, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the light emitting layer comprises the disclosed organometallic compound.
Regarding claim 4, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the organometallic compound emits light in the layer of about 400 nm to about 700 nm ([0032]). Given that the reference discloses that the organometallic compound is present in the light emitting layer, it is clear that the light emitting layer emits light in the range of about 400 to about 700 nm, overlapping the recited range of about 430 to about 480 nm.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 5, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the light emitting layer comprises a host compound and the disclosed organometallic compound ([0073]). Accordingly, it is clear that the organometallic compound is necessarily a dopant as recited in the present claims.
Regarding claim 7, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Given that the reference discloses an organic light emitting device, it is clear that the reference discloses an electronic apparatus as recited in the present claims.
Regarding claim 10, Li et al discloses the following organometallic compound (Page 60):
,
where R1 to R4 are hydrogen ([0007]).
This compound corresponds to organometallic compound represented by Formula 1:
,
where
M is Pt;
ring CY2 is a C6 carbocyclic group;
ring CY4 is a C5 heterocyclic group;
ring CY33 is a C6 carbocyclic group;
X1 is N;
X2 is C; X4 is N;
X31 and X32 are C;
X33 and X34 are C(Z3) and X(Z4), respectively;
L1, L2, and L3 are single bonds;
n1, n2, and n3 are each one (1);
Z3 and Z4 are hydrogen; and
a1, a2, a4 and a32 are each zero (0).
The compound disclosed by the reference does not possess ring CY32 as recited in Formula 1; however, the compound is but one embodiment, and attention is directed to the following formula ([0037]):
,
where the structure:
corresponds to ([0045] and Page 25):
;
and the formula ([0045]):
,
corresponds to ([0045]):
.
Accordingly, the disclosure of reference encompasses an embodiment where ring CY33 in Formula 1 of the claims is present and the ring is a C6 carbocyclic ring where a32 is zero (0).
Furthermore, in the compound disclosed by the reference CY1 does not correspond to one of Formulas CY1(1) to CY1(18). However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment and attention is directed to the following general formula ([0034]):
,
where L1 can be a heteroaryl ([0007]). The heteroaryl is exemplified as an imidazole ring in the following compound (Page 57):
.
The imidazole corresponds to Formula CY1(1):
,
where R11 is C6 carbocyclic group; and X1 is C.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. In the compound disclosed by the reference ring CY1 is pyridine, and therefore, does not contain two (2) or more nitrogen atoms as recited in the present claims. However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment and attention is directed to the following general formula ([0034]):
,
where L1 can be a heteroaryl ([0007]). The heteroaryl is exemplified as a pyrazole ring in the following compounds (Page 56):
and
.
Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where ring CY1 contains two nitrogen atoms as recited in the present claim.
Regarding claim 12, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, ring CY4 is a pyridine group.
Regarding claim 14, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in the compound disclosed by the reference CY2 is:
,
corresponding to Formula CY2(1):
,
where X2 is C.
Regarding claim 15, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in the compound disclosed by the reference CY4 is:
,
corresponding to Formula CY4(1):
.
Regarding claim 16, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in the compound disclosed by the reference rings CY32 and CY33 are both benzene rings.
Regarding claim 17, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in the compound disclosed by the reference L1 and L3 are single bonds. L2 is not -O- or -S- as recited in the present claims. However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment and attention is directed to the following general formula ([0034]):
,
where Z2 corresponding to L2, can be O or S ([0034]). Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where L2 is O or S.
Regarding claim 18, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in Formula (1) of the claims a1, a2, a4, a32, a33 are zero (0). Given that the claims do not require R1, R2, R4, R32, and R3 to be present, the reference discloses a compound encompassed by the present claims.
Regarding claim 19, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following:
,
where V is carbon or nitrogen. Accordingly, in recited Formula (1-1) of the claims:
,
where Y31 to Y38 are C(Z31) to C(Z38), where Z31 to Z38 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 20, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Y31 to Y38 are C(Z31) to C(Z38), meeting provision (i) of the claims.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2015/0228914) as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 10-12, and 14-20 above, and in view of Ahn et al (US 2020/0168819).
The discussion with respect to Li et al as set forth in Paragraph 9 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 6, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. While the reference discloses that the light emitting layer, i.e. interlayer, comprises the disclosed organometallic compound, i.e. the recited first compound, and a host compound, i.e. the recited second compound, the reference does not disclose that the second compound is a p-deficient nitrogen containing C1-60 cyclic group as recited in the present claim.
Anh et al discloses an organic light emitting device where the light emitting layer, where the light emitting layer comprises a dopant and a host compound (Abstract, [0071], and [0127]). The host compound disclosed as ([0110] – Compound 1):
.
This compound includes one (1) p-deficiency nitrogen C3 cyclic group encompassed by the present claims. The reference discloses that because intermolecular attraction is reduced through steric hindrance caused by substituents having a large size and because the heterocyclic compound has a relatively high triplet energy, the heterocyclic compound is suitable as a phosphorescent host ([0111]). An electronic device, such as an organic light emitting device comprising the compound, possesses a low driving voltage, high efficiency, and a long lifespan ([0113]).
Given that both Li et al and Anh et al are drawn to organic light emitting device where the light emitting layer comprises host compound, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the host compound as taught by Anh et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such host compounds in the light emitting layer of the deice disclosed by Li et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2015/0228914) as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 10-12, and 14-20 above, and in view of Shin et al (US 2012/0049192).
The discussion with respect to Li et al as set forth in Paragraph 9 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 8, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. While the reference discloses a display device, the reference does not disclose that the display apparatus comprises a thin film transistor as recited in the present claims ([0066]).
Shin et al discloses a display apparatus comprising a thin film transistor (Abstract). The thin film transistor comprises a source electrode, a drain electrode and an active layer (Abstract). The transistor further comprises an organic light emitting device, where the first electrode of the organic light emitting device is connected to the drain electrode ([0048]). The reference discloses that the flat panel display apparatus comprising the thin film transistor easily provide uniform electrical characteristics and uniform display characteristics
Given that both Li et al and Shin et al are drawn to display devices comprising organic light emitting devices, and given that Li et al does not explicitly prohibit other device elements, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the thin film transistor as taught by Shin et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device disclosed by Li et al to include the thin film transistor disclosed by Shin et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2015/0228914) as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 10-12 , and 14-20 above, and in view of Kim et al (US 2014/0054555).
The discussion with respect to Li et al as set forth in Paragraph 9 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 9, Li et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. While the reference discloses a display device, the reference does not disclose that the display apparatus comprises a color filter as recited in present claims.
Kim ‘555 discloses that a conventional organic light emitting display device includes a substrate, a thin film transistor (TFT) formed on the substrate, and a color filter ([0010]). In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a color filter in the organic light emitting display device disclosed by Kim ‘523, as doing so would amount to nothing more than use of an element for its intended use, in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected results.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-7, 10-17, and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/117,650 (published as US PGPub 2024/0023425). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons given below.
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/117,650 recites an organic light emitting device comprising first and second electrodes and an interlayer, identical to that recited in instant claim 1. Furthermore, claim 1 of the copending application recites that the interlayer comprises a compound represented by Formula 1, identical to that recited in instant claim 1. The difference between the compound recited in claim 1 of the copending application and claim 1 of the instant application is that claim 1 of the instant application requires that
corresponds to one of formulas CY1(1) to CY1(18). However, claim 13 of the co-pending application recites that CY1 corresponds to one of CY1(1), CY1(2), etc., identical to CY1(1), CY1(2), etc. recited in instant claim 1.Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one CY1(1), CY1(2), etc. recited in claim 13 of the copending application as ring CY1 in claim 1 of the co-pending application, and thereby obtain the compound recited in claim 1 of the instant application with a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, it is noted that:
Claim 2 of the copending application recited subject matter identical to instant claim 2.
Claim 3 of the copending application recited subject matter identical to instant claim 3.
Claim 4 of the copending application recited subject matter identical to instant claim 4.
Claim 5 of the copending application recited subject matter identical to instant claim 5.
Claim 6 of the copending application recited subject matter identical to instant claim 7.
Claim 7 of the copending application recited subject matter identical to instant claim 8.
Claim 10 of copending Application No. 18/117,650 recites a compound represented by Formula 1, identical to that recited in instant claim 10. The difference between the compound recited in claim 10 of the copending application and claim 10 of the instant application is that claim 10 of the instant application requires that
corresponds to one of formulas CY1(1) to CY1(18). However, claim 13 of the co-pending application recites that CY1 corresponds to one of CY1(1), CY1(2), etc., identical to CY1(1), CY1(2), etc. recited in instant claim 10. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one CY1(1), CY1(2), etc. recited in claim 13 of the copending application as ring CY1 in claim 10 of the co-pending application, and thereby obtain the compound recited in claim 10 of the instant application with a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, it is noted that:
Claim 11 of the copending application encompasses the subject matter recited in instant claim 11.
Claim 12 of the copending application encompasses the subject matter recited in instant claim 12.
Claim 14 of the copending application encompasses the subject matter recited in instant claim 14.
Claim 15 of the copending application encompasses the subject matter recited in instant claim 15.
Claim 16 of the copending application encompasses the subject matter recited in instant claim 16.
Claim 17 of the copending application encompasses the subject matter recited in instant claim 17.
Claim 19 of the copending application encompasses the subject matter recited in instant claim 18.
Claim 20 of the copending application encompasses the subject matter recited in instant claim 19.
Claim 20 of the copending application encompasses the subject matter recited in instant claim 20.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As evidence of unexpected results, Applicants point to the comparison of Comparative Examples 1 to 4 to Inventive Examples 1 to 12, see Table 2 Paragraph [00822] of the as-filed Specification. However, it is noted that this comparison is not a proper side-by-side comparison for the following reasons. Comparative Examples 1 to 4 utilize Dopant Compounds CE1 to CE4 in combination with the host compound ETH2. The inventive examples utilize Dopant Compounds 3, 26, 33, 73, 87, 100, 122, 138, 176, 33/DFD1, and 73/DFD2 in combination with a mixed host material comprising a combination of electron and host transport host compounds, e.g. ETH2/HTH29 and ETH68/HTH41, and none of the inventive examples utilize same single electron transport host compound utilized in the comparative examples, i.e. ETH2. Given that the inventive and comparative examples differ in both the dopant and the host compounds, Table 2 does not provide proper side-by-side comparable data with respect to claim 1 drawn to an organic light emitting device or the organometallic compound recited in claim 10. A proper side-by-side comparison would be one where the inventive and comparative examples differ only in one aspect.
Applicants argue that as amended, Li et al does not disclose a compound where L2 is a single bond, -C(R1a)(R1b)-, etc., and where CY1 corresponds to one of Formulas CY1(1) to CY1(18). However, as discussed in the rejections above, in the disclosed compound:
L2 is a single bond.
While in the compound above CY1 does not correspond to one of Formulas CY1(1) to CY1(18), the reference discloses the following general formula ([0034]):
,
where L1 can be a heteroaryl ([0007]). The heteroaryl is exemplified as an imidazole ring in the following compound (Page 57):
.
The imidazole corresponds to Formula CY1(1):
,
where R11 is C6 carbocyclic group; and X1 is C.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786