CTNF 17/957,698 CTNF 89745 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment This action is responsive to the reply filed on 08/27/2026 to the Office action mailed on 05/27/2026. In the reply, claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10 were amended and claim 9 was cancelled. No claims were added. Election/Restriction Applicant's affirmation of the election, without traverse, of Invention I, claims 1–10, made during the telephone conversation with Thomas Lane (Reg. No. 42,781) on 4/22/26, is acknowledged. Claims 11–30 remain withdrawn from further consideration under 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1–8 and 10–30 are pending. Claims 9, 31 and 32 are cancelled. Claims 11–30 are withdrawn. Claims 1–8 and 10 are examined in this action. Response to Arguments The rejection of claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the amendment making claim 4 depend from claim 2, which provides antecedent basis for "the heat sink." The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma is withdrawn in view of the amendment, which adds to claim 1 the subject matter of cancelled claim 9. Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 (Remarks, pp. 7–8) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The reversal-of-parts rationale previously applied to cancelled claim 9 ( In re Einstein ) is not relied upon in this action. The limitation reciting first and second blades rotating in opposite directions is addressed by Lee, as set forth below; Ma remains applied for the remaining features of claim 1. Claim Objections Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality: in the limitation "cause the base of the first fan to move based on the first temperature," the phrase "the base" should read "the first base," consistent with the earlier recitation of "a first fan having a first base" and with claims 2 and 6 as amended. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Ma (CN 110099546) and Ho (TW I775572 B) are published in Chinese. Page citations to Ma and Ho in this action are to the pages of the English translations of record. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 1 is r ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over M a (CN 110099546 — see attached translation) in view of Lee et al. (US 6,655,917 B1, hereinafter "Lee") . Re claim 1: Ma discloses an apparatus comprising: (local hot-spot elimination system for a data center server cabinet, FIG. 1; p. 16) a temperature sensor; (temperature sensors 13-1 to 13-N, FIG. 2; p. 16) a first fan having a first base and a first one or more blades; (a fan of radiating fan set 2, mounted on fan bracket 3, FIG. 1; p. 16) Ma further discloses processor circuitry (controller 10, FIG. 1; p. 16) that operates to: determine a first temperature based on an output of the temperature sensor; (controller 10 obtains the temperature signals of sensors 13-i in real time and compares them with upper and lower limit temperatures, p. 16) and cause the base of the first fan to move based on the first temperature; (when a server outlet temperature exceeds the upper limit, controller 10 rotates stepping motor 6 so that fan bracket 3 moves down along guide rails 5 to the overheated server, pp. 16–17). Ma does not expressly disclose a second fan having a second one or more blades; at least one memory; machine readable instructions; processor circuitry to execute operations corresponding to the machine readable instructions ; or processor circuitry to cause the first one or more blades to rotate in a first direction and the second one or more blades to rotate in a second direction, the first direction opposite the second direction. Lee teaches cooling an electronic system such as a computer with fan 1 and fan 2 arranged in series that begin rotating in opposite directions, fan 1 pushing cool air into the system and fan 2 pushing the air further into the system (FIG. 6; col. 4, ll. 26–38). Lee further teaches computer readable code configured to cause a computer to rotate a first set of blades in a first rotational direction and a second set of blades in a second rotational direction, including an embodiment in which the first set of blades is rotated in the opposite direction of the second set of blades (col. 6, ll. 46–66). The code is executed in a general purpose computing environment (col. 4, ll. 42–45) that includes processor 713 and main memory 715 (FIG. 7; col. 5, ll. 37–41). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ma to include a second fan having a second one or more blades arranged in series with the first fan, and to implement Ma's controller as processor circuitry executing machine readable instructions stored in at least one memory that cause the first one or more blades and the second one or more blades to rotate in opposite directions, as taught by Lee, in order to increase coolant pressure and flow without increasing the size of the coolant flow control units (Lee, col. 1, ll. 20–27; col. 4, ll. 15–25), consistent with Ma's stated aim of increasing the air output delivered to the overheated server (Ma, p. 15) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Lee, and further in view of Begun et al. (US 7,948,196 B2, hereinafter "Begun") . Re claim 2: Ma in view of Lee teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Ma further discloses that fan bracket 3 travels along guide rails 5 past the servers of the cabinet to the overheated server (FIG. 1; pp. 16–17). Ma does not expressly disclose further including a heat sink, the first base of the first fan moveable relative to the heat sink. Begun teaches server compute modules 46, each including a processor 74 on which a heat exchanger having fins is mounted, referred to as the processor heat sink (FIG. 11A; col. 11, ll. 50–66). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the servers of Ma with processor heat sinks, as taught by Begun, in order to transfer heat from the processors to the cooling air flowing between the heat sink fins (Begun, col. 11, ll. 50–66). Because Ma's fan bracket 3 travels relative to the servers (Ma, pp. 16–17), the first base of the first fan is moveable relative to the heat sink in the modified apparatus. Re claim 3: Ma discloses temperature sensors 13-i fixed at the server air outlets (p. 16) but does not expressly disclose wherein the temperature sensor is in communication with the heat sink. Begun teaches positioning a thermal sensor where its temperature is closely correlated to the temperature of heat-generating components, preferably directly behind each processor, and externally coupling the thermal sensor to a heat sink (col. 4, ll. 32–44), including a thermal sensor coupled to a heatsink on the compute module motherboard (col. 15, ll. 24–25). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the temperature sensor of Ma in communication with the heat sink, as taught by Begun, so that the sensed temperature is closely correlated to the workload and temperature of the processor, and because a thermal sensor coupled to a heat sink can be added to a conventional motherboard configuration without customization (Begun, col. 4, ll. 32–44) . 07-21-aia AIA Claims 4 and 5 are r ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over M a in view of Lee, and further in view of Ho et al. (TW I775572 B — see attached translation, hereinafter "Ho") . Re claim 4: Ma in view of Lee teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Ma does not expressly disclose further including a heat sink, the first base of the first fan moveable relative to the heat sink (claim 2), or further including a tray to support the first fan, the tray including: a first frame; and a second frame, the second frame to carry the first frame, the first frame moveable relative to the second frame. Ho teaches a computer system in which fan 130 is moved by driving mechanism 140, under control of control module 160 according to temperature sensors T1–T6, to the heat source most in need of heat dissipation (FIGS. 1A–1B, 2A; pp. 28–30). Heat source 121 carries a finned heat sink relative to which fan 130 is moved (FIGS. 3A–3B, 4A; p. 30), and Ho describes processors cooled through a large aluminum heat sink (p. 28). Ho further teaches a tray to support the first fan (driving mechanism 140, on whose sliding seat 144 fan 130 is arranged, FIG. 1B; p. 29), the tray including: a first frame (sliding seat 144); and a second frame (screw rod 143a and guide rod 143b, mounted to inner wall 111 by bearing seats 142, FIG. 1B; pp. 29–30), the second frame to carry the first frame (sliding seat 144 is movably screwed to screw rod 143a and slidably connected to guide rod 143b, p. 29), the first frame moveable relative to the second frame (sliding seat 144 slides along screw rod 143a and guide rod 143b, pp. 29–30). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ma in view of Lee to include a heat sink relative to which the first base of the first fan is moveable, and a tray including the first frame and second frame, as taught by Ho, in order to direct the fan's airflow to the heat source that most needs heat dissipation (Ho, p. 28) while guiding and stabilizing the fan as it is moved (Ho, p. 30). Re claim 5: Ma in view of Lee and Ho teaches the apparatus of claim 4, as set forth above. Ho further teaches an actuator (motor 141, FIG. 1B; p. 29), wherein control module 160 drives screw rod 143a through motor 141 to slide sliding seat 144 and fan 130 (p. 29), i.e., the processor circuitry to cause the actuator to move the first frame. It would have been obvious to so control the actuator for the reasons given for claim 4 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Lee and Ho, and further in view of Pukari (US 10,890,014 B2) . Re claim 6: Ma in view of Lee and Ho teaches a heat sink relative to which the first base of the first fan is moveable, as set forth for claims 2 and 4 above. For claims 6 and 7, Ho's tray is mapped as follows: the first frame is the frame of fan 130, and the second frame is sliding seat 144, which carries fan 130 (FIG. 1B; p. 29). Ma, Lee and Ho do not expressly disclose the first frame moveable relative to the second frame (claim 4), or wherein the first frame includes a first magnet and the second frame includes a second magnet, the second magnet to couple with the first magnet when the first base of the first fan is at a first location relative to the heat sink. Pukari teaches a magnetic actuator having a semi hard magnet inside a magnetization coil and a hard magnet placed adjacent to it, wherein a change in the magnetization polarization of the semi hard magnet induces mechanical movement of the hard magnet between an open position and a close position (col. 2, ll. 29–39). In the close position the semi hard magnet and the hard magnet are attracted to each other, and that rest state is the lowest energy state to which the actuator relaxes (col. 8, ll. 28–45). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first frame with a first magnet and the second frame with a second magnet that couple with each other at a first location, making the frames moveable relative to each other, as taught by Pukari, because Pukari's actuator maintains a state without consuming electricity and is smaller and less costly than motor and gear assemblies (Pukari, col. 2, ll. 9–21; col. 3, ll. 22–30). Re claim 7: Pukari further teaches a processing module configured to control a power source to power the magnetization coil to change the magnetization polarization of the semi hard magnet, inducing mechanical movement of the hard magnet (col. 3, ll. 1–16), the change in polarization causing the hard magnet to be repelled (col. 9, ll. 36–45). With the first magnet as the semi hard magnet and the second magnet as the hard magnet, the combination teaches wherein the processor circuitry is to cause a polarity of the first magnet to be adjusted to cause the second frame to move. It would have been obvious to so control the magnets for the reasons given for claim 6 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Lee, and further in view of Masuo (US 9,739,291 B2) . Re claim 8: Ma in view of Lee teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Ma and Lee do not expressly disclose the second fan having a second base that is moveable relative to the first fan. Masuo teaches a counter-rotating axial fan for a server computer in which a first fan element and a second fan element, each having its own motor, impeller and housing, are coupled in series by a clamping element, the second impeller rotating in a direction opposite the first impeller (col. 1, ll. 28–37; col. 2, ll. 4–16). The coupling is arranged so that one fan housing can move relative to the other fan (col. 7, ll. 10–25). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ma in view of Lee so that the second fan has a second base (housing) that is moveable relative to the first fan, as taught by Masuo, in order to reduce vibration generated by the first and second motors, which in a server computer can adversely affect the hard disk drive (Masuo, col. 1, ll. 38–49; col. 2, ll. 17–27) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Lee, and further in view of Thao et al. (US 2019/0024953 A1, hereinafter "Thao") . Re claim 10: Ma in view of Lee teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Ma and Lee do not expressly disclose wherein the processor circuitry is to: determine a rotational speed of at least one of the first one or more blades or the second one or more blades; and cause an alert to be output based on the rotational speed. Thao teaches a controller that receives a fan speed (tachometer) signal back from each of two attached fans (¶0039), monitors the fan speed, and generates an alert to a user if the fan speed is outside a predetermined operating range (¶0009). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the processor circuitry of Ma in view of Lee to determine the rotational speed of at least one of the first or second one or more blades and to cause an alert to be output based on that speed, as taught by Thao, in order to alert a user when a fan operates outside its predetermined operating range (Thao, ¶0009) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : US 2018/0108339 - is considered pertinent because this application describes dynamic positioning of fans to reduce noise. US 2017/0115707 - is considered pertinent because this application describes heat dissipation system and electronic device using the system. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ZHENGFU J FENG whose telephone number is (571)272-2949. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 900am-530pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached at (571) 272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000./ZHENGFU J FENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835 November 7, 2026 Application/Control Number: 17/957,698 Page 2 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 17/957,698 Page 3 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 17/957,698 Page 4 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 17/957,698 Page 5 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 17/957,698 Page 6 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 17/957,698 Page 7 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 17/957,698 Page 8 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 17/957,698 Page 9 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 17/957,698 Page 10 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 17/957,698 Page 11 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 17/957,698 Page 12 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 17/957,698 Page 13 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 17/957,698 Page 14 Art Unit: 2841