DETAILED ACTION
As per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
In responding to this Office action, the applicant is requested to include specific references (figures, paragraphs, lines, etc.) to the drawings/specification of the present application and/or the cited prior arts that clearly support any amendments/arguments presented in the response, to facilitate consideration of the amendments/arguments.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Withdrawn claims 18-20 will be examined as they appear to cover substantially similar subject matter with little extra search burden.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
The first sentence of the abstract should be omitted.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --DEVICE AND SYSTEM TO PROVIDE A RANDOM ACCESS MEMORY WITH A FERROELECTRIC RESISTIVE JUNCTION--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Der Sluis, US 20050269611 A1.
As to claim 1, Van Der Sluis discloses a memory device (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 11) comprising:
a memory cell (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 10) comprising: a transistor (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 6); a ferroelectric (FE) resistive junction structure (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 4 and Paras [0002] and [0003]) coupled to the transistor, the FE resistive junction structure comprising: a first electrode structure (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 3); a second electrode structure (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 5); and a layer of one of a FE oxide or a FE semiconductor between the first electrode structure and the second electrode structure (see Van Der Sluis Paras [0003] and [0006]).
As to claim 2, Van Der Sluis discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein
the transistor comprises a gate terminal, a first source or drain terminal, and a second source or drain terminal (see Van Der Sluis Fig 1 Ref 6), the memory device further comprising: a word line (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 30) coupled to the transistor via the gate terminal; a bit line (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 20) coupled to the FE resistive junction structure via the first electrode structure, wherein
the first source or drain region is coupled to the second electrode structure; and a select line (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 40) coupled to the transistor via the second source or drain region.
As to claim 8, Van Der Sluis discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein
the one of the FE oxide or the FE semiconductor is the FE semiconductor (see Van Der Sluis Paras [0003] and [0006]).
As to claim 9, Van Der Sluis discloses the memory device of claim 8, wherein
the FE semiconductor comprises indium (In) and selenium (Se) (see Van Der Sluis Para [0003]).
As to claim 18, Van Der Sluis discloses a system (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3) comprising:
a microprocessor (see Van Der Sluis Para [0031]; Applying voltages requires processing circuits. Integrated circuits are well known.). comprising circuitry to execute an instruction (see Van Der Sluis Para [0031]; Reading requires instructions.); a memory device (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 11) coupled to the microprocessor, the memory device comprising: a memory cell (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 10) comprising: a transistor (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 6); a ferroelectric (FE) resistive junction structure (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 4 and Paras [0002] and [0003]) coupled to the transistor, the FE resistive junction structure comprising: a first electrode structure (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 3); a second electrode structure (see Van Der Sluis Fig 3 Ref 5); and a layer of one of a FE oxide or a FE semiconductor between the first electrode structure and the second electrode structure (see Van Der Sluis Paras [0003] and [0006]).
As to claim 19, Van Der Sluis discloses the system of claim 18.
Claim 19 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 2.
All the limitations of claim 19 have already been disclosed by Van Der Sluis in claim 2 above.
As to claim 20, Van Der Sluis discloses the system of claim 18.
Claim 20 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 9.
All the limitations of claim 20 have already been disclosed by Van Der Sluis in claim 9 above.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schröder, US 20170256552 A1.
As to claim 1, Schröder discloses a memory device (see Schröder Para [0004]) comprising:
a memory cell (see Schröder Fig 8A) comprising: a transistor (see Schröder Para [0067); a ferroelectric (FE) resistive junction structure (see Schröder Para [0067]) coupled to the transistor, the FE resistive junction structure comprising: a first electrode structure (see Schröder Fig 8A Ref 103A); a second electrode structure (see Schröder Fig 8A Ref 101A); and a layer of one of a FE oxide or a FE semiconductor between the first electrode structure and the second electrode structure (see Schröder Fig 8A Ref 102 and Para [0015]).
As to claim 2, Schröder discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein
the transistor comprises a gate terminal, a first source or drain terminal, and a second source or drain terminal (see Schröder Fig 8A), the memory device further comprising: a word line (see Schröder Fig 8A Ref 804A) coupled to the transistor via the gate terminal; a bit line (see Schröder Fig 8A interconnect above Ref 103A) coupled to the FE resistive junction structure via the first electrode structure, wherein
the first source or drain region is coupled to the second electrode structure; and a select line (see Schröder Fig 8A Ref 805A) coupled to the transistor via the second source or drain region.
As to claim 3, Schröder discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein
the one of the FE oxide or the FE semiconductor is the FE oxide (see Schröder Para [0015]).
As to claim 4, Schröder discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein
the FE oxide comprises hafnium (Hf), oxygen (O), and one of silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), nitrogen (N), aluminum (Al), yttrium (Y), gadolinium (Gd), or lanthanum (La) (see Schröder Para [0015]).
As to claim 6, Schröder discloses the memory device of claim 3, wherein
the FE resistive junction structure further comprises a first dielectric layer between the FE oxide and the first electrode structure (see Schröder Fig 9A Ref 901A and Para [0016]).
As to claim 7, Schröder discloses the memory device of claim 6, wherein
the FE resistive junction structure further comprises a second dielectric layer between the FE oxide and the second electrode structure (see Schröder Fig 9A Ref 901A and Para [0016]).
As to claim 18, Schröder discloses a system (see Schröder Para [0003]) comprising:
a microprocessor (see Schröder Para [0010]; Applying voltages requires processing circuits. Integrated circuits are well known.). comprising circuitry to execute an instruction (see Schröder Para [0012]; Reading requires instructions.); a memory device (see Schröder Para [0004] coupled to the microprocessor, the memory device comprising: a memory cell (see Schröder Fig 8A) comprising: a transistor (see Schröder Para [0067]); a ferroelectric (FE) resistive junction structure (see Schröder Para [0067]) coupled to the transistor, the FE resistive junction structure comprising: a first electrode structure (see Schröder Fig 8A Ref 103A); a second electrode structure (see Schröder Fig 8A Ref 101A); and a layer of one of a FE oxide or a FE semiconductor between the first electrode structure and the second electrode structure (see Schröder Fig 8A Ref 102 and Para [0015]).
As to claim 19, Schröder discloses the system of claim 18.
Claim 19 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 2.
All the limitations of claim 19 have already been disclosed by Schröder in claim 2 above.
As to claim 20, Schröder discloses the system of claim 18.
Claim 20 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 4.
All the limitations of claim 20 have already been disclosed by Schröder in claim 4 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Der Sluis, US 20050269611 A1.
As to claim 10, Van Der Sluis discloses the memory device of claim 9, wherein
a thickness of one of the first electrode structure or the second electrode structure is in a particular range (see Van Der Sluis Paras [0003] and [0029]), and wherein a thickness of the FE semiconductor is in another particular range (see Van Der Sluis Paras [0003] and [0029]).
Van Der Sluis does not appear to explicitly disclose a range of 5 nanometers (nm) to 30 nm, and a range of 3 nm to 70 nm.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that the ranges disclosed are similar to the ranges claimed (see MPEP 2144.05.I). The broadest of the language of limitation does not disclose criticality of claimed ranges, and the disclosure of Van Der Sluis makes the claimed range obvious (see MPEP 716.02(d).II).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schröder, US 20170256552 A1, in view of Chang, US 20200286984 A1.
As to claim 5, Schröder discloses the memory device of claim 4, wherein
a thickness of one of the first electrode structure or the second electrode structure is in a particular range, and wherein a thickness of the FE oxide is another particular range (see Schröder Para [0057]).
Schröder does not appear to disclose equal to or less than 0.5 nm.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that the ranges disclosed are similar to the ranges claimed (see MPEP 2144.05.I). The broadest of the language of limitation does not disclose criticality of claimed ranges, and the disclosure of Schröder makes the claimed range obvious (see MPEP 716.02(d).II).
Schröder does not appear to disclose a range of 5 nanometers (nm) to 30 nm.
Chang discloses a range of 5 nanometers (nm) to 30 nm (see Chang Para [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that a memory device, as disclosed by Schröder , may implement particular electrode thickness, as disclosed by Chang. The inventions are well known variants of memory devices implementing ferroelectric elements, and the combination of known inventions which produces predictable results is obvious and not patentable. Further evidence to the obviousness of their combination is Chang’s attempt to reduce voltage transients (see Chang Para [0018]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Der Sluis, US 20050269611 A1, in view of Liu, US 20170301385 A1.
As to claim 11, Van Der Sluis discloses the memory device of claim 8, wherein
the FE resistive junction structure further comprises contact with the electrode.
Van Der Sluis does not appear to explicitly disclose a first dielectric layer between the FE semiconductor and the first electrode structure.
Liu discloses a first dielectric layer between the FE semiconductor and the first electrode structure (see Liu Fig 1 Ref 150 and Para [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that a memory device, as disclosed by Van Der Sluis, may implement particular dielectric structures, as disclosed by Liu. The inventions are well known variants of memory devices implementing ferroelectric elements, and the combination of known inventions which produces predictable results is obvious and not patentable. Further evidence to the obviousness of their combination is Liu’s attempt to engineer the on/off ratio of the device (see Liu Para [0085]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior are does not appear to disclose (as recited in claim 12):
the FE resistive junction structure further comprises a second dielectric layer between the FE semiconductor and the second electrode structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park, US 20230022629 A1 discloses a ferroelectric resistive junction structure.
Loh, US 20210358533 A1 discloses indium and selenium.
Haratipour, US 20200395460 A1 discloses a thickness of the FE oxide.
/JEROME LEBOEUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 - 05/29/2026