DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Specie B (Claims 8-14) in the reply filed on 11/28/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Chou (US 2018/0364567).
With respect to Claim 8, Chou discloses a method of forming an integrated circuit (paragraph 2), comprising: forming a sacrificial layer pattern (Figures 4- 6, 14b) over a conductive layer (Figure 6, 11, paragraph 22) located over a substrate (Figure 6, 10); forming dielectric spacers (Figure 6, 16a) on sidewalls of the sacrificial layer pattern (Figure 6, 14a) and removing the sacrificial layer between the dielectric spacers, thereby forming a spacer pattern (Figure 7, 16a); and transferring the spacer pattern to the conductive layer thereby forming a conductive pattern (Figure 10, 11a) .See Figures 4-10 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 22—36.
With respect to Claim 12, Chou discloses wherein forming dielectric spacers including forming a silicon oxide layer by atomic layer deposition. See paragraph 30.
With respect to Claim 13, Chou discloses wherein transferring the spacer pattern (Figure 7, 16a) includes removing a portion of an underlayer (Figures 1-7, 12) located between the sacrificial layer pattern (Figure 2, 14a) and the conductive layer (Figure 2, 11), and then transferring the spacer pattern to the underlayer (Figures 7-9).
With respect to Claim 14, Chou discloses wherein removing the portion of the underlayer (Figures 1-7, 12) includes removing an unprotected portion of the spacer pattern (Figures 8-9, 16a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al (US 2018/0364567) as applied to claims 8 and 12-14 above, and further in view of Hakey et al (US 2009/0231085).
Chou et al is relied upon as discussed above.
However, Chou et al does not disclose the conductive pattern includes a serpentine resistor or connecting the conductive pattern to a transistor that extends into the substrate.
Hakey at al disclose the use of lithography techniques to form serpentine resistors (Figure 3a) and their connection to transistors. See paragraphs 18-25.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use the lithography technique of Chou et al, for its known benefit in the art of forming serpentine resistors or connections to transistors, as disclosed by Hakey et al. As Hakey et al discloses the use of lithography to form serpentine resistors or connections to transistors, the use of a known lithography technique, for its benefit of forming serpentine resistors or connections to transistors would have been within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 9, the combined references make obvious wherein the conductive pattern includes serpentine resistor. See Figure 3a and paragraphs 18-25 of Hakey et al.
With respect to Claim 11, the combined references make obvious further connecting the conductive pattern to a transistor that extends into the substrate. See Figure 3a and paragraphs 18-25 of Hakey et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The cited prior art does not anticipate or make obvious inter alia “ wherein the conductive layer includes nichrome (NiCr), silicon-chromium (SiCr) or silicon-silicon carbide- chromium (SiCCr)”.
Conclusion
AGG
January 5, 2025
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812