DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
2. The Amendments filed August 20th, 2026 in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/20/2026 are noted.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are noted.
3. Claims 1, 3, and 10 are amended; Claim 19 is canceled; Claims 1-18 and 20-21 remain pending; Claims 14-18 are withdrawn.
4. Claims 1-13 and 20-21 have been fully considered in examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Yedinak (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/0181480A1) (of record) in view of Chien (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0386132A1) (of record) and Su (U.S. PG Pub No US 2022/0223708 A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Yedinak teaches an integrated circuit (200) fig. 2 [0030], comprising:
first (left 232) fig. 2A [0031] and second (right 232) fig. 2A [0031] trenches in a semiconductor substrate (comprising 244) fig. 2A [0035];
a semiconductor mesa (234) fig. 2 [0031] between the first (left 232) and second (right 232) trenches;
a source region (comprising left 228 with bordering region of 244) fig. 2A [0034] having a first (p-type) [0034] conductivity type and a body region (bordering region of 244 of MOSFET) [0034] having an opposite second conductivity type (n-type MOSFET) [0034-0035] within the semiconductor mesa (234);
a trench shield (212) fig. 2A [0033] within the first trench (left 232);
a first liner (left 211) fig. 2A [0033] (dielectric material 211 lining trench 232) lining a (left/right) sidewall and a bottom (curved bottom portion) of the first trench (232);
a gate electrode (233) fig. 2A [0033] over the trench shield (212) between first (left) and second (right) sidewalls of the first trench (left 234);
a gate dielectric (214) fig. 2A [0033] on a sidewall of the first trench (left 232) between the gate electrode (233) and the body region (bordering region of 244 of MOSFET {0034]);
a pre-metal dielectric (PMD) layer (246) fig. 2A [0035] over the gate electrode (233);
a gate contact (236) fig. 2A [0032] through the PMD layer (246) that touches the gate electrode (233) between the first (left) and second (right) sidewalls; and
a trench shield contact (222) fig. 2E [0038] (shown in 2e-2e cross-sectional view of fig. 2) [0038] through the PMD layer (246) that touches the trench shield (212) between the first (left) and second (right) sidewalls (232); and
a source contact (227) fig. 2B [0036].
However, Yedinak does not explicitly disclose wherein the first liner (left 211) is a (thermal)-oxide first liner (material of 211 not specified [0033]),
a (plasma)-oxide liner within the first trench (left 232), the oxide first liner disposed between the (left/right) sidewall and the oxide liner and between the bottom and the oxide liner, the oxide liner disposed between the oxide first liner and the trench shield (212), the trench shield (212) located within the oxide liner;
a (thermal)-oxide insulator over the trench shield (212) and between the gate electrode (233) and the oxide liner, the thermal-oxide insulator forming an interface with the oxide liner,
a source contact (227) that extends through the source region (comprising 228) fig. 2B [0036] into the body region (bordering region of 244 of MOSFET) [0034].
With respect to the underlined terms “plasma oxide” and “thermal oxide” in the product claim above, it is noted that the terms “plasma” and “thermal” as claimed concern the specific method of production of the respective “oxide” materials, methods which do not impart a unique structure in the finished product. That is, the specific descriptors “plasma” and “thermal” have been considered as product-by-process limitation(s) which do not hold patentable significance in the context of the product claim(s). Therefore, the terms “plasma oxide” and “thermal oxide” have been considered to effectively mean the equivalent as only the term “oxide” when assessing the patentability of the product claims. (See MPEP 2113, I).
Chien teaches an integrated circuit (10) fig. 10 [0002-0005, 0055] wherein the first liner (left 104”) fig. 10 [0055] (104” lining portions of perimeters of trench 102 and shield 106) [0058] is an oxide liner (104”) (“isolation oxide” [0055]),
an oxide liner (108’) fig. 10 [0060] (“inter-poly oxide” [0060], lining portions of perimeters of 106” and 102) within the first trench (left 102), the (upper portions of) first liner (104”) disposed (horizontally) between the (left/right) sidewall (of trench 102) and the (lower portions of) oxide liner (108’) and (vertically) between the bottom (curved bottom of trench 102) and the oxide liner (108’) (see portions designated in annotated fig. 10 of Chien below), the (lower portions of) oxide liner (108’) disposed (horizontally) between the (upper portions of) oxide first liner (104”) and the trench shield (106) [0057], the (top portions of) trench shield (106) located (laterally) within the oxide liner (108’) (see portions designated in annotated fig. 10 of Chien below);
an oxide insulator (110) fig. 10 [0064] (“gate oxide” [0064]) over the trench shield (106”) fig. 10 [0060] and (vertically) between the gate electrode (112) fig. 10 [0064] and the oxide liner (left 108’), the oxide insulator (110) forming an interface with the oxide liner (108’).
[AltContent: textbox (Lower portion(s) of 108’ liner having claimed arrangement between 104” liner and 106” shield )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Upper portion(s) of 104” liner having claimed arrangement between sidewall(s) and bottom of 102 trench and 108’ liner)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (108’)]
Annotated fig. 10 of Chien
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of Yedinak such that the dielectric material(s) lining the trench [0055] and separating the source shield [0057] and gate electrode [0064] are formed of oxide materials because of the art recognized suitability of oxide-based dielectric materials [0052] for insulation/isolation [0055], and for reducing gate-to-drain capacitance and suppressing gate-to-source leakage current [0058, 0063], as taught by Chien. Further, [0024] and [0058] of Chien establish that the use of multiple oxide layers “well deposited” under “controlled” conditions improves semiconductor device performance [0004, 0058] by offering more control over the determinantal impacts of gate-to-drain capacitance [0058] and gate-to-source leakage current [0058].
However, Yedinak in view of Chien does not explicitly disclose a source contact (227) that extends through the source region (comprising 228) fig. 2B [0036] into the body region (bordering region of 244 of MOSFET) [0034].
Su teaches an integrated circuit (10) fig. 1A [0038] comprising a source contact (186) [0038] that extends through the source region (182) [0038] into the body region (170) [0038].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the integrated circuit of Yedinak in view of Chien such that the source contact is made to extend into the source and body regions rearranged according to Su [0038] in order to optimize chip area component performance [0006-0008] and improve the s/d contact-connection(s) [0038], as taught by Su.
Regarding claim 2, Yedinak in view of Chien and Su teaches the integrated circuit (200) fig. 2 [0030] of claim 1. Yedinak also teaches wherein the gate contact (236) fig. 2A [0032] and the trench shield contact (222) fig. 2E [0038] have a same depth (pass through a same depth) below a top surface of the semiconductor substrate (comprising 244) fig. 2A [0035].
Regarding claim 3, Yedinak in view of Chien and Su teaches the integrated circuit (200) fig. 2 [0030] of claim 1. Yedinak also teaches wherein the source contact (227) fig. 2B [0036] and the gate contact (236) fig. 2A [0032] have a same depth (pass through a same depth) below a top surface of the semiconductor substrate (comprising 244) fig. 2A [0035].
Regarding claim 4, Yedinak in view of Chien and Su teaches the integrated circuit (200) fig. 2 [0030] of claim 1. Yedinak also teaches wherein tops (peripheral surfaces) of the gate contact (236) fig. 2A [0032], the trench shield contact (222) fig. 2E [0038] and the source contact (227) fig. 2B [0036] are coplanar (all coplanar with top of 246 interfacing 204).
Regarding claim 5, Yedinak in view of Chien and Su teaches the integrated circuit (200) fig. 2 [0030] of claim 1. Yedinak also teaches wherein the PMD layer (246) fig. 2A [0035] comprises a planarized dielectric layer (246 is shown with a flat top and smoothed/rounded corners indicative of a planarization process).
Regarding claim 6, Yedinak in view of Chien and Su teaches the integrated circuit (200) fig. 2 [0030] of claim 5. Yedinak also teaches and further including interconnections (202, 204) fig. 2A [0031-0032] in a metal layer (“metallization”) [0031-0032] over the planarized dielectric layer (246), the interconnections (202, 204) having top surfaces that are coplanar.
Regarding claim 7, Yedinak in view of Chien and Su teaches the integrated circuit (200) fig. 2 [0030] of claim 1. Yedinak also teaches wherein the trench shield contact (222) fig. 2E [0038] electrically contacts the trench shield (212) fig. 2E [0033] between the first (left) and second (right) sidewalls.
Regarding claim 8, Yedinak in view of Chien and Su teaches the integrated circuit (200) fig. 2 [0030] of claim 7. Yedinak also teaches wherein the trench shield (212) fig. 2A [0033] has a first portion (see annotated fig. 2E below) with a top surface (top of boxed “1st portion” below) at a first depth below a top surface of the semiconductor substrate (comprising 244) fig. 2E [0035], and has a second portion (see annotated fig. 2E below) having a top surface at a second depth (immediately) below the top surface of the semiconductor substrate (244), wherein the first depth is greater than the second depth (top of 1st portion deeper than top of 2nd portion) and the trench shield contact (222) fig. 2E [0038] (shown in 2e-2e cross-sectional view of fig. 2) [0038] touches the trench shield (212) fig. 2E [0033] along the second portion of the trench shield (212) (see annotated fig. 2E of Yedinak below).
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (2nd portion)][AltContent: textbox (Top-level of substrate 244)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st portion)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector]
Annotated fig. 2E of Yedinak designating first and second portions
Regarding claim 9, Yedinak in view of Chien and Su teaches the integrated circuit (200) fig. 2 [0030] of claim 1. Yedinak also teaches wherein the gate contact (236) fig. 2A [0032] and the trench shield contact (222) fig. 2E [0038] (shown in 2e-2e cross-sectional view of fig. 2) [0038] have a same depth (pass through a same depth) below a surface of a pre-metal dielectric (PMD) layer (246) fig. 2A [0035] over the semiconductor substrate (comprising 244) fig. 2A [0035].
Regarding claim 10, Yedinak teaches a semiconductor device (200) fig. 2 [0030], comprising:
a trench (232) fig. 2A [0031] located in a semiconductor layer (comprising 244) fig. 2A [0035];
a polysilicon gate electrode (233) fig. 2A [0032-0033] within the trench (232) fig. 2A [0033] and having a first (upper) portion in contact with a pre-metal dielectric (PMD) layer (246) fig. 2A [0035];
a polysilicon shield (212) fig. 2A [0033] within the trench (232) and having a first portion in contact with the PMD layer (246) and a second portion spaced apart from the PMD layer (246) by the polysilicon gate electrode (233);
a first liner (left 211) fig. 2A [0033] (dielectric material 211 lining trench 232) lining a (left/right) sidewall and a bottom (curved bottom portion) of the first trench (232);
a gate contact (236) fig. 2A [0032] extending from a top surface of the PMD layer (246) to the polysilicon gate electrode (233);
a source region (comprising left 228 with bordering region of 244) fig. 2A [0034] and a body region (bordering region of 244 of MOSFET) [0034] adjacent to the trench (232);
a source contact (227) fig. 2B [0036]; and
a trench shield contact (222) fig. 2E [0038] (shown in 2e-2e cross-sectional view of fig. 2) [0038] extending from the top surface of the PMD layer (246) to the first portion of the polysilicon shield (see fig. 2E perspective).
However, Yedinak does not explicitly disclose wherein the first liner (left 211) is a (thermal)-oxide first liner (material of 211 not specified [0033]),
a (plasma)-oxide liner within the trench (left 232) and a/the (thermal)-oxide first liner (left 211) (material of 211 not specified [0033]), the oxide first liner disposed between the (left/right) sidewall and the oxide liner and between the bottom and the oxide liner, the oxide liner disposed between the oxide first liner and the polysilicon shield (212), the trench shield (212) located within the oxide liner;
a (thermal)-oxide insulator over the trench shield (212) and between the gate electrode (233) and the oxide liner, the thermal-oxide insulator forming an interface with the oxide liner,
a source contact (227) extending through the source region (comprising 228) fig. 2B [0036] into the body region (bordering region of 244 of MOSFET) [0034].
With respect to the underlined terms “plasma oxide” and “thermal oxide” in the product claim above, it is noted that the terms “plasma” and “thermal” as claimed concern the specific method of production of the respective “oxide” materials, methods which do not impart a unique structure in the finished product. That is, the specific descriptors “plasma” and “thermal” have been considered as product-by-process limitation(s) which do not hold patentable significance in the context of the product claim(s). Therefore, the terms “plasma oxide” and “thermal oxide” have been considered to effectively mean the equivalent as only the term “oxide” when assessing the patentability of the product claims. (See MPEP 2113, I).
Chien teaches an integrated circuit (10) fig. 10 [0002-0005, 0055] comprising
an oxide liner (108’) fig. 10 [0060] (“inter-poly oxide” [0060]) within the first trench (left 102) and a/the first oxide liner (left 104”) fig. 10 [0055] (104” is an “isolation oxide” [0055] lining trench 102 and shield 106 [0058]), the (upper portions of) first liner (104”) disposed (horizontally) between the (left/right) sidewall (of trench 102) and the (lower portions of) oxide liner (108’) and (vertically) between the bottom (curved bottom of trench 102) and the oxide liner (108’) (see portions designated in annotated fig. 10 of Chien below), the (lower portions of) oxide liner (108’) disposed (horizontally) between the (upper portions of) oxide first liner (104”) and the trench shield (106) [0057] (see portions designated in annotated fig. 10 of Chien below), the trench shield (106) located (partially, laterally) within the oxide liner (108’);
an oxide insulator (110) fig. 10 [0064] (“gate oxide” [0064]) over the polysilicon shield (106”) fig. 10 [0060] (“shield polysilicon” [0060]) and between the polysilicon gate electrode (112) fig. 10 [0064] (“polysilicon gate” [0064]) and the oxide liner (left 108’), the oxide insulator (110) forming an interface with the oxide liner (108’).
[AltContent: textbox (Lower portion(s) of 108’ liner having claimed arrangement between 104” liner and 106” shield )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Upper portion(s) of 104” liner having claimed arrangement between sidewall(s) and bottom of 102 trench and 108’ liner)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (108’)]
Annotated fig. 10 of Chien
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of Yedinak such that the dielectric material(s) lining the trench [0055] and separating the source shield [0057] and gate electrode [0064] are formed of oxide materials because of the art recognized suitability of oxide-based dielectric materials [0052] for insulation/isolation [0055], and for reducing gate-to-drain capacitance and suppressing gate-to-source leakage current [0058, 0063], as taught by Chien. Further, [0024] and [0058] of Chien establish that the use of multiple oxide layers “well deposited” under “controlled” conditions improves semiconductor device performance [0004, 0058] by offering more control over the determinantal impacts of gate-to-drain capacitance [0058] and gate-to-source leakage current [0058].
However, Yedinak in view of Chien does not explicitly disclose a source contact (227) extending through the source region (comprising 228) fig. 2B [0036] into the body region (bordering region of 244 of MOSFET) [0034].
Su teaches an integrated circuit (10) fig. 1A [0038] comprising a source contact (186) [0038] extending through the source region (182) [0038] into the body region (170) [0038].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the integrated circuit of Yedinak in view of Chien such that the source contact is made to extend into the source and body regions rearranged according to Su [0038] in order to optimize chip area component performance [0006-0008] and improve the s/d contact-connection(s) [0038], as taught by Su.
Regarding claim 11, Yedinak in view of Chien and Su teaches the semiconductor device (200) fig. 2 [0030] of claim 10. Yedinak also teaches wherein a top surface of the gate contact (236) fig. 2A [0032] is coplanar with a top surface of the shield contact (222) fig. 2E [0038] (shown in 2e-2e cross-sectional view of fig. 2) [0038].
Regarding claim 12, Yedinak in view of Chien and Su teaches the semiconductor device (200) fig. 2 [0030] of claim 10. Yedinak also teaches wherein the gate contact (236) fig. 2A [0032] is electrically connected to a first metal layer (202) fig. 2A [0031-0032] over the PMD layer (246) fig. 2A [0035], and the shield contact (222) fig. 2E [0038] (shown in 2e-2e cross-sectional view of fig. 2) [0038] is electrically connected to a different second metal layer (204) fig. 2A [0031-0032] over the PMD layer (246), the first metal layer (202) being coplanar with the second metal layer (204) (see fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 13, Yedinak in view of Chien and Su teaches the semiconductor device (200) fig. 2 [0030] of claim 10. Yedinak also teaches further comprising a source contact (227) fig. 2B [0036] extending from the top surface of the PMD layer (246) fig. 2B [0035] to the semiconductor layer (comprising 244) fig. 2B [0035] adjacent the trench (232) fig. 2A [0031], wherein a top surface of the source contact (227) is coplanar with top surfaces of the gate contact (236) fig. 2A [0032] and the shield contact (222) fig. 2E [0038] (all coplanar with top of 246 interfacing 204).
Regarding claim 20, Yedinak in view of Chien and Su teaches the integrated circuit (200) fig. 2 [0030] of claim 10. Yedinak also teaches wherein the source contact (227) fig. 2B [0036] and the gate contact (236) fig. 2A [0032] extend a same depth (pass through a same depth) below the top surface of the PMD layer (246) fig. 2A [0035].
Regarding claim 21, Yedinak in view of Chien and Su teaches the integrated circuit (200) fig. 2 [0030] of claim 10. Yedinak also teaches wherein the source region (comprising left 228 with bordering region of 244) fig. 2A [0034] is n-type (n-well for P-channel mostfet [0019]) and the body region (bordering region of 244 of MOSFET) [0034] is p-type (when optionally p-channel mosfet [0019, 0034]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments concerning the particular significance of the terms “plasma oxide” and “thermal oxide” when distinguishing over the teachings of Chien, for example, “By contrast, Chien deliberately uses thermal oxidation for the conformal trench isolation oxide 104 on the trench sidewalls and bottom ( [0027]) and describes the shield as partially surrounded by that isolation oxide ( [0056]). Chien therefore provides no teaching or motivation to make Yedinak's trench liner a plasma oxide. At minimum, Chien arguably teaches away from that substitution by reserving thermal oxide for the trench liner and plasma HDPCVD oxide for the top gap-fill. The void-free deposition rationale thus does not support the proposed modification…” – these arguments are rendered largely moot by the product-by-product argument introduced in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of independent claims 1 and 10 above, repeated below:
With respect to the underlined terms “plasma oxide” and “thermal oxide” in the product claim above, it is noted that the terms “plasma” and “thermal” as claimed concern the specific method of production of the respective “oxide” materials, methods which do not impart a unique structure in the finished product. That is, the specific descriptors “plasma” and “thermal” have been considered as product-by-process limitation(s) which do not hold patentable significance in the context of the product claim(s). Therefore, the terms “plasma oxide” and “thermal oxide” have been considered to effectively mean the equivalent as only the term “oxide” when assessing the patentability of the product claims. (See MPEP 2113, I).
That is, “… the claimed thermal-oxide-insulator/plasma-oxide-liner interface” and Applicant’s arguments directed thereto are found to be insignificant when assessing the patentability of product claims 1 and 10, because the terms “thermal oxide” and “plasma oxide” concern the particular method of formation of the oxide layers; these terms describe deposition processes which do not impart a distinct structure in the final product. Regardless of Chien’s clear disclosure of both ‘thermal’ and ‘plasma’ oxide materials in the claimed arrangement – these terms do not hold patentable weight for distinction in the context of device claims 1 and 10. Likewise, Applicant’s arguments concerning the significance of the various processes by which the oxide materials are formed are therefore rendered irrelevant and moot.
Further, with respect to Applicant’s other arguments, such as “Thus, Chien's IPO 108' lies over the [[thermal]] isolation oxide and shield; it does not conformally line the trench sidewalls and bottom or function as the trench liner surrounding the shield” – it is noted that it is visually apparent in fig. 10 of Chien that oxide layer 108’ directly borders/lines portions of the perimeters of both of the sidewalls of trench 102 and shield 106; therefore, oxide layer 108’ is reasonable to consider as an oxide liner. Secondly, it noted that ‘... conformally line the trench sidewalls and bottom’ is not a claimed requirement of the claimed [[plasma]]-oxide liner.
Moreover, Applicant’s argument(s) concerning the legitimacy of modifications of Yedinak by Chien and Su, such as, “Nor has the Office articulated a reason why a person of ordinary skill would have selected Yedinak's trench-implemented diode/resistor device and combined it with Chien's distinct split-gate oxide process and Su's source/body contact arrangement while preserving the claimed two-liner and interface structure” lack support in that they do not evidence any specific teaching away from the proposed combination using the disclosures of Yedinak, Chien, or Su. On the contrary, as was noted in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection above, “…[0024] and [0058] of Chien establish that the use of multiple oxide layers “well deposited” under “controlled” conditions improves semiconductor device performance [0004, 0058] by offering more control over the determinantal impacts of gate-to-drain capacitance [0058] and gate-to-source leakage current [0058]…”.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are considered insufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-13 and 20-21 as being unpatentable over Yedinak (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/0181480A1) (of record) in view of Chien (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0386132A1) (of record) and Su (U.S. PG Pub No US 2022/0223708 A1) (of record) on several grounds, particularly: the product-by-process argument concerning the limitation(s) “thermal” and “plasma”, as set forth above (see also MPEP 2113, I), and Applicant’s assertions regarding secondary reference Chien being specifically contrary to the express teachings of Chien.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Burke (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/0045206A1) (of record) and Yang (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0312710A) (of record) teach other examples of trench shielded transistors with plasma oxide trench liners interfacing thermal oxide gate oxides.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 11/02/2026