DETAILED ACTION
Amendment, received 2/9/2026, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0107850 A1), hereafter referred to as Xu, in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0288118 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee.
As to claim 16, Xu discloses a display device (fig 1), comprising:
a display panel (fig 1) including a through-hole (O), an optical area (figs 28-29, area including CRD3, DAM1, CRD2 and CRD1) having a rough pattern (rough pattern in CRD3, DAM1, CRD2 and CRD1) including a mountain and a valley around the through-hole (fig 29, mountain/valley regions in CRD3 and CRD1), and a display area (AA) where a subpixel ([0053]) is positioned outside the optical area (CRD3, DAM1, CRD2 and CRD1); and
an optical electronic device ([0090]) positioned to at least partially overlap with the through-hole ([0090]), wherein the rough pattern includes:
an outer side rough pattern positioned adjacent to the through-hole (CRD1); and
an inner side rough pattern positioned adjacent to the display area (CRD3), outside the outer side rough pattern,
wherein the valley in the inner side rough pattern is deeper than the valley in the outer side rough pattern (valley in CRD3 is deeper than valley in CRD1),
wherein at least one inter-layer insulating film included in the mountain positioned in the inner side rough pattern is not included in the mountain positioned in the outer side rough pattern (fig 29, IT included in mountain in pattern CRD3 is not included in CRD1; [0214]).
Xu does not disclose an align mark positioned between the through-hole and the display area, and
wherein a metal pattern and the align mark are positioned on a same layer.
Nonetheless, Lee discloses a similar display device including an optical area and a display area wherein an align mark is positioned between the hole area of the optical area and the display area (fig 11, align mark AM between AA and CA), and
wherein a metal pattern and the align mark are positioned on a same layer (metal pattern HSL3 and align mark AM are positioned on a same layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the metal pattern and align mark of Lee in the display device of Xu since this will ensure that the modules are properly aligned and touch sensing capability is enacted.
As to claim 20, Xu in view of Lee disclose the display device of claim 16 (paragraphs above).
Xu further discloses wherein the display panel includes a substrate (fig 4, BS) and two or more inter-layer insulation films (102, 103) positioned on the substrate (BS) to cover different electrodes (CE1, GT), and
wherein the at least one inter-layer insulating film (IT) is at least one of the two or more inter-layer insulation films ([0214]) included in the mountain positioned in the inner side rough pattern (CRD3) but is not included in the mountain positioned in the outer side rough pattern (CRD1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 and 21 are allowed.
Claims 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest wherein the display panel further includes an align mark positioned between the through-hole and the display area, and wherein the metal pattern and the align mark are positioned on a same layer, as well as, wherein the metal pattern positioned in a valley of the rough pattern, as recited in claims 1 and 21; or wherein the metal pattern is positioned on a bottom surface of the valley positioned in the outer side rough pattern, as recited in claim 17 and dependent claim 19. Dependent claims 2-13 are allowable because of their dependence from claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US2022/0158129A1; US2023/0422588A1; US2022/0199946A1; US 2024/0107850A1; US2020/0313102A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 2/18/2026