RCE
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In particular, independent claim 1 is rejected since line 5 requires “…the attachment hub configured to releasably receive an accessory”. However, claim 7 claims “the accessory is a brush head having a plurality of bristles”. It is not clear whether the claim is an adapter that is configured to attach to a cleaning accessory or cleaning tool with an adapter and an accessory.
Claims 2-9 are rejected for their dependency on claim 1.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1, 7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent (6,032,313) to Tsang.
Regarding independent claim 1, Tsang discloses a body portion (154); a plurality of leg members (167) extending from the body portion (154) and being configured to releasably retain the adapter (166’) on a drive hub (151) of a powered brush (168) (capable of retaining the adapter on a power brush (1) (See Col. 8 lines 10-20 and FIG. 2-2);
and an attachment hub (163) on the body portion (154), the attachment hub (163) being configured to releasably receive an accessory (165);
the adapter (166’) is configured to transmit rotation and /or oscillation from the drive hub (151) of the powered brush (168) to the accessory (165) (See Col. 8 lines 5- 20).
Regarding claim 7, Tsang discloses that the accessory (165) is a brush head having a plurality of bristles (See FIG. 2-2).
Regarding independent claim 22, Tsang discloses a body portion (154);
at least one coupling member (167) extending from the body portion (154) and being configured to releasably retain the adapter (166’) on a drive hub (151) of a powered brush (168) (See Col. 8 lines 10-20 and FIG. 2-2); and
an attachment hub (163) on the body portion (154), the attachment hub (163) being configured to releasably receive an accessory (165) so as to allow for selective coupling and decoupling of the accessory (165) to the body portion (154) without destruction of the accessory (165) (See Col. 8 lines 5- 20).
Claims 1, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication (2005/0278876) to Roth et al.
.Regarding independent claim 1, Roth et al. discloses a body portion (43); a plurality of leg members (56) extending from the body portion (43) and being configured to releasably retain the adapter (See FIG. 7) on a drive hub (28) of a powered brush (10) (capable of retaining the adapter on a power brush (10) (See paragraphs [0014]-[0017] and See FIGS. 3-4);
and an attachment hub (32) on the body portion (43), the attachment hub (32) being configured to releasably receive an accessory (18);
the adapter (See FIG. 7) is configured to transmit rotation and /or oscillation from the drive hub (28) of the powered brush (10) to the accessory (18) (See paragraphs [0014]-[0017]).
Regarding claim 8, Roth et al. discloses a plurality of drive legs (46) extending from the body portion (43), in alternating arrangement with the plurality of leg members (56); wherein the plurality of drive legs (46) are configured to transfer rotational energy of the drive hub of the powered brush to the adapter (capable of transferring power of the drive hub (28)).
Regarding claim 9, Roth et al. discloses that the drive legs (46) are tapered (See FIG. 4).
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent U.S. Patent (6,032,313) to Tsang.
Regarding claim 6, Tsang is silent the hub are hexagonal in shape; however, absent criticality in the specification at paragraph [0023], it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the shape of the adapter (FIG. 2-2) in order to fit a different drive hub (168) since a change in shape requires routine skill for one of ordinary skill in the art and would have been obvious to optimize the invention for different attachments.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 112 have been considered but the rejection is maintained. Applicant's arguments filed on January 27, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot since the Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
.
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723