Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
With regards to claims 2, 9, and 16, the original disclosure does not show “waveguide”.
With regards to claim 3, 10, and 17, the original disclosure does not show “waveguide” nor does it show “nanowires”.
With regards to claims 5, 12, and 19, the claimed identification/applications of the “one or more components” are not identified within the original specification (i.e. GPU, digital-to-analog converter, amplifier, etc.).
With regards to claims 6, 13, and 20, the original disclosure does not show the heat spreader to comprise of “nanowires” nor a “semiconductor”.
Applicant claims in claims 4,11, and 18,” wherein said first cavity is formed using a standoff substrate(s).” Applicant’s written description is silent on the use of a stand-off substrate. In paragraph 52 applicant discloses, “Standoff interposers may be formed, for example, by bonding multiple interposers together by thermocompression bonding or another low-profile connection technique”. There is no mention of a standoff substrate. In paragraph 52 applicant distinguishes between forming a substrate cavity and using standoff interposers for component placement; between a substrate and an interposer. Also in paragraph 52, applicant discloses forming a standoff interposer to connect to a substrate. Therefore a standoff interposer is not the same as the disclosed substrate. Applicant’s drawings disclose a substrate comprising a cavity. They do not depict a standoff substrate. One example of a standoff substrate is layers with spacing components on a surface to create space between the layers. Applicant does not describe this in the written description nor depict this in the drawings. Applicant’s substrate is disclosed a single layer having a trench.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 21, 2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully notes that the record must be clear. While BRI is practiced the examiner cannot assume to know what the applicant means. GPU, digital-to-analog converter, amplifier are common in logic but not inherent. The written description must clearly define what is intended to be a part of the invention.
It appears that applicant is attempting to equate wiring with a waveguide. Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. A waveguide is structurally different from wiring. A waveguide is typically a hollow structure, unlike wiring. Waveguides rely on the confinement of an electromagnetic field. Wires rely on current flow through conductors. It would not be reasonable to view applicant’s written description as describing a waveguide.
Applicant discloses a redistribution layer in paragraphs 53-60. Interposers are disclosed in paragraphs 52-71. In light of the written description one of ordinary skill in the art would not view the interposer and associated redistribution layers as a waveguide. Applicant consistently describes wiring, which is distinct from a waveguide.
In light of the specification, applicant has not defined any wiring configuration as nanoscale (i.e. nanowires).
Applicant argues, “With regards to claims 2, 9, and 16, the original disclosure allegedly does not show "waveguide", this allegation is invalid because a waveguide, guides electromagnetic waves from one point to another, often used in telecommunications, radar systems, and photonics, etc. RDL disclosed in the specification guides electromagnetic waves from one point to another. “ The examiner respectfully disagrees. A waveguide is used to guide light of particular wavelengths. Redistribution layers are wiring which conducts electric current. A waveguide is not synonymous with a redistribution layer (RDL).
Applicant argues, “With regards to claim 3, 10, and 17, the original disclosure allegedly does not show "waveguide" nor does it show "nanowires", this allegation is invalid because a nanowire is an extremely thin, wire-like RDL that is conductive and guides electromagnetic waves from one point to another. Another word nanowire is the RDL disclosed in the specification that guides electromagnetic waves i.e. signals, etc., from one point to another.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. A redistribution layer (RDL) is not synonymous with nanowire. Redistribution layer thickness are measured in microns as well as nanometers.
Applicant argues, “With regards to claims 5, 12, and 19, the claimed identification/applications of the "one or more components" are allegedly not identified within the original specification (i.e. GPU, digit a I-to-analog converter, amplifier, etc.), this allegation is invalid because a component is a broad term that includes any component. The components stated in claim 5, 12, and 19 are some examples of a handful of what a component might be. “ The examiner respectfully disagrees. The written description discloses, “In a heterogeneous 2.5D/3D integration approach, a single chip consists of a number of circuitry blocks such as memory, logic, DSP, and RF, each separated into a smaller chip.” in paragraph 8.
With regards to claims 6, 13, and 20, the original disclosure does not allegedly show the heat spreader to comprise of "nanowires" nor a "semiconductor", this allegation is invalid because there is no limitation to the heat spreader material, it may comprise of any material. For example it may be silicon (a semiconductor), very conductive of heat or other metals such as nanowire material, nanowire material may be metal (i.e. copper) or semiconductor (i.e. silicon) very conducive of heat. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The purpose of the written description is to give the inventor space to define what is considered the invention. If applicant intends to use nanowires within the heat spreader the written description should describe it in such a way that enables one of ordinary skill in the art to make the invention. Applicant fails to do this.
The only mention of nanometer scale wirings is in a discussion on Moore’s Law (¶8), and in citing an independent study which utilizes RDL’s with a 65nm design rule (¶13). However applicant does not describe the invention to be nanoscale.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s)1 under 102a1 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. According to broadest reasonable interpretation the second cavity is broadly defined in Fig. 5 as the space between top surface of 530 and bottom surface of 110 (¶26). The second cavity overlaps the first cavity 537. Applicant makes arguments directed to features 125 and 126. However, neither 125 nor 126 are cited in the rejection of claim 1. Therefore the rejection stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koopmans et al. (US 20150279828 A1; Koopmans).
Regarding claim 1, Koopmans discloses a system in package comprising: one or more component(s) (Fig. 5, 105/120; ¶9,26);one or more heat spreader(s) (Fig. 5, 110/115; ¶11-13,26); and one or more substrate(s) (Fig. 5, 530; ¶26) having cavity(ies), wherein said cavity(ies) including a first cavity (Fig. 5, 537; ¶26) and a second cavity (Fig. 5, between top surface of 530 and 110; ¶26); said one or more component(s) is/are disposed within said first cavity and exposed to said second cavity; said one or more component(s) is/are coupled to said one or more substrate(s) (clear from drawings); and said one or more component(s) and said one or more substrate(s) are attached to said one or more heat spreader(s) (clear from drawings).
Regarding claim 2, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 1, wherein one of said one or more component(s) (Fig. 5, 105/120; ¶9,26) is electrically and/or optically coupled to said one or more substrate(s) (Fig. 5, 530; ¶26) using a flip chip or a wire bond method or a waveguide.
Regarding claim 3, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 1, wherein said one or more substrate(s) (Fig. 5, 530; ¶26) comprises of waveguide(s) and/or nanowires. (Fig. 5, 115 CNT doped in thermal interface material; ¶12-13 115c can be the same TIM as 115a/115b)
Regarding claim 4, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 1, wherein said first cavity (Fig. 5, 537; ¶26) is formed using a standoff substrate(s). (Fig. 5, 530; ¶26)
Applicant does not define a standoff substrate in the written description. A standoff substrate comprises spacing components between layers.
Koopmans discloses bumps 540 that create space between the substrate and the interposer 120. Therefore, Koopmans discloses a standoff substrate.
Regarding claim 5, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 1, wherein one of said one or more component(s) (Fig. 5, 105/120; ¶9,26) is a power management/regulator or power device or security sub-circuit or tamper detect circuit or router or switch or antenna or radar or phased array or modem or baseband or transceiver or mm-wave subsystem or silicon-on- insulator or amplifier or Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) or capacitor or resistor or inductor or processor or memory or sensor or analog-to-digital converter or digital-to-analog converter or electrical- optical converter or optical-electrical converter or Light Emitting Diode (LED) or Application-Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) or Through- Silicon Via (TSV) or laser or analog circuit or digital circuit or Serializer/Deserializer (SerDes) or filter or Lens or Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) or magnet or waveguide or wire bond or epoxy mold compound (EMC) or under-fill material or heat-pipe or mirror or fan or bump or fiber or accelerator/co-processor or processor core or nanowire or Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS) or membrane or heat spreader or energy source or sensing material or piezoelectric or light source or touch screen or display or Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) or organic light-emitting diode (OLED) or battery or Electromagnetic Shield (EMI) coating.
Regarding claim 6, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 1, wherein one of said one or more heat spreader(s) (Fig. 5, 110/115; ¶11-13,26) comprises of nanowires (CNT) and/or semiconductor.
Regarding claim 7, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 1, wherein said second cavity (Fig. 5, between top surface of 530 and 110; ¶26) is attached to said one or more heat spreader(s). (Fig. 5, 110/115; ¶11-13,26)
Regarding claim 8, Koopmans discloses a system in package comprising: one or more component(s) (Fig. 5, 105/120; ¶9,26); and one or more heat spreader(s), (Fig. 5, 110/115; ¶11-13,26)
wherein said one or more heat spreader(s) including a first heat spreader (Fig. 5, 110; ¶9,26) and a second heat spreader (Fig. 5, 115a; ¶11-13,26); one or more substrate(s) (Fig. 5, 530; ¶26) having cavity(ies) (Fig. 5, 537; ¶11), wherein said one or more substrate(s) including a first cavity (Fig. 5, 537; ¶26) and a second cavity (Fig. 5, between top surface of 530 and 110; ¶26); said one or more component(s) (Fig. 5, 105/120; ¶9,26) is/are disposed within said first cavity; said one or more component(s) is/are coupled to said one or more substrate(s) (clear from drawing);said one or more component(s) and said one or more substrate(s) are attached to said first heat spreader (clear from drawing); and said second heat spreader is disposed within said second cavity (clear from drawing) and attached to said one or more component(s).
Regarding claim 9, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 8, wherein one of said one or more component(s) (Fig. 5, 105/120; ¶9,26) is electrically and/or optically coupled to said one or more substrate(s) (Fig. 5, 530; ¶26) using a flip chip or a wire bond method or a waveguide.
Regarding claim 10, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 8, wherein said one or more substrate(s) (Fig. 5, 530; ¶26) comprises of waveguide(s) and/or nanowires. (Fig. 5, 115c; ¶11-13,26 CNT)
Regarding claim 11, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 8, wherein said first cavity (Fig. 5, 537; ¶26) is formed using a standoff substrate(s). (Fig. 5, 530; ¶26)
Regarding claim 12, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 8, wherein one of said one or more component(s) (Fig. 5, 105/120; ¶9,26) is a power management/regulator or power device or security sub-circuit or tamper detect circuit or router or switch or antenna or radar or phased array or modem or baseband or transceiver or mm-wave subsystem or silicon-on- insulator or amplifier or Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) or capacitor or resistor or inductor or processor or memory or sensor or analog-to-digital converter or digital-to-analog converter or electrical- optical converter or optical-electrical converter or Light Emitting Diode (LED) or Application-Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) or Through- Silicon Via (TSV) or laser or analog circuit or digital circuit or Serializer/Deserializer (SerDes) or filter or Lens or Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) or magnet or waveguide or wire bond or epoxy mold compound (EMC) or under-fill material or heat-pipe or mirror or fan or bump or fiber or accelerator/co-processor or processor core or nanowire or Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS) or membrane or heat spreader or energy source or sensing material or piezoelectric or light source or touch screen or display or Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) or organic light-emitting diode (OLED) or battery or Electromagnetic Shield (EMI) coating.
Regarding claim 13, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 8, wherein one of said one or more heat spreader(s) (Fig. 5, 110/115; ¶11-13,26) comprises of nanowires and/or semiconductor.
Regarding claim 14, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 8, wherein said second cavity (Fig. 5, between top surface of 530 and 110; ¶26) is attached to said one or more heat spreader(s). (Fig. 5, 110/115; ¶11-13,26)
Regarding claim 15, Koopmans discloses a system in package comprising: one or more component(s) (Fig. 5, 105/120; ¶9,26);one or more heat spreader(s) (Fig. 5, 110/115; ¶11-13,26); and one or more substrate(s) having cavity(ies), said one or more substrate(s) (Fig. 5, 530; ¶26) including a first cavity (Fig. 5, 537; ¶26) and a second cavity (Fig. 5, between top surface of 530 and 110; ¶26); said one or more component(s) is/are disposed within said first cavity and exposed to said second cavity; said one or more component(s) is/are coupled to said one or more substrate(s); and said one or more heat spreader(s) (Fig. 5, 115C; ¶11-13) is/are disposed within said first cavity and attached to said one or more component(s).
Regarding claim 16, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 15, wherein one of said one or more component(s) (Fig. 5, 105/120; ¶9,26) is electrically and/or optically coupled to said one or more substrate(s) (Fig. 5, 530; ¶26) using a flip chip or a wire bond method or a waveguide.
Regarding claim 17, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 15, wherein said one or more substrate(s) (Fig. 5, 530; ¶26) comprises of waveguide(s) and/or nanowires. (Fig. 5, 115C; ¶11-13 CNT)
The substrate comprises an interface material in the cavity made with carbon nanotubes.
Regarding claim 18, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 15, wherein said first cavity (Fig. 5, 537; ¶26) is formed using a standoff substrate(s). (Fig. 5, 530; ¶26)
Regarding claim 19, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 15, wherein one of said one or more component(s) (Fig. 5, 105/120; ¶9,26) is a power management/regulator or power device, security sub-circuit or tamper detect circuit or router or switch or antenna or radar or phased array or modem or baseband or transceiver or mm-wave subsystem or silicon-on- insulator or amplifier or Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) or capacitor or resistor or inductor or processor or memory or sensor or analog-to-digital converter or digital-to-analog converter or electrical- optical converter or optical-electrical converter or Light Emitting Diode (LED) or Application-Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) or Through- Silicon Via (TSV) or laser or analog circuit or digital circuit or Serializer/Deserializer (SerDes) or filter or Lens or Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) or magnet or waveguide or wire bond or epoxy mold compound (EMC) or under-fill material or heat-pipe or mirror or fan or bump or fiber or accelerator/co-processor or processor core or nanowire or Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS) or membrane or heat spreader or energy source or sensing material or piezoelectric or light source or touch screen or display or Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) or organic light-emitting diode (OLED) or battery or Electromagnetic Shield (EMI) coating.
Regarding claim 20, Koopmans discloses the system in package according to claim 15, wherein said one or more heat spreader(s) (Fig. 5, 110/115; ¶11-13,26) comprises of nanowires (CNT) and/or semiconductor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAWRENCE C TYNES JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2899