DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed February 12, 2026 have been entered and considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1A (Fig. 2), Species 2A (Fig. 10), claims 1-17, and 19-20 in the reply filed on June 20, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 18 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 20, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20190206979 A1), in view of Kim (EP 3588243 A1), and Park (KR 20170007587 A). Kim (EP 3588243 A1) will hereby be referred to as Kim ‘243.
Regarding claim 1, Han et al. teaches:
A display device comprising:
a display panel [paragraph [0025], Fig. 1] that includes:
a display area [AA, paragraph [0026-0028], Fig. 1] with pixels therein for displaying an image;
a non-display area [NA, paragraph [0027], [0029], Fig. 1] including at least one hole [paragraph [0032], [0040], [0060] Fig. 3];
a conductive pattern [170, paragraph [0062-0064], [0080], Fig. 1-4] between the pixels in the display area [AA, paragraph [0040], Fig. 1-4], and overlapping the at least one hole [paragraph [0080-0082], Fig. 4]; and
a first pad electrode [210, paragraph [0068], Fig. 3] overlapping the at least one hole in the non-display area [NA, paragraph [0029], Fig. 1-4] in a plan view;
a third pad electrode [E2, paragraph [0067-0068], Fig. 3] on the first pad electrode [210, Fig. 3]; and
a second pad electrode [220, paragraph [0067-0068], Fig. 3] between the first pad electrode [210, Fig. 3] and the third pad electrode [E2, Fig. 3];
wherein the conductive pattern [170, Fig. 1-4] contacts the third pad electrode [E2, Fig. 1-4].
Han et al. does not teach:
a housing for accommodating the display panel therein, and electrically connected to the conductive pattern through the at least one hole.
Kim ‘243 teaches:
a housing [HP, paragraph [0045], [0047-0048], Fig. 1A-1B] for accommodating the display panel [DP, paragraph [0045-0048], Fig. 1A-5] therein, and electrically connected to the conductive pattern [110, paragraph [0084], [0109-0110], Fig. 5] through the at least one hole [AH1/AH2, paragraph [0109-0110], Fig. 2-3, 5].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘243 into the teachings of Han et al. to include a housing for accommodating the display panel therein, and electrically connected to the conductive pattern through the at least one hole, for the purpose of storing the display panel and connecting features within the device.
Han et al. and Kim ‘243 do not teach:
A connection member between the display panel and the housing,
wherein an upper surface of the connection member contacts the first pad electrode through the at least one hole and a lower surface of the connection member contacts the housing.
Park et al. teaches:
A connection member [315a, 315b, paragraph [0051-0052], [0054-0055], [0068-0071], [0080-0083], [0091], [0095], Fig. 5-8] between the display panel [210, paragraph [0034-0035], [0042], [0053], [0065], Fig. 5-8] and the housing [300, paragraph [0049-0054], [0066-0070], [0080-0083], Fig. 5-8],
wherein an upper surface of the connection member [315a, 315b, Fig. 5-8] contacts the first pad electrode [M1, M2, paragraph [0051], [0054-0055], [0058-0059], [0066], [0069-0071], [0074], [0077], [0080-0082], [0085], [0088-0090], Fig. 5-8] through the at least one hole [Corresponds to location of M1, M2, Fig. 5-8] and a lower surface of the connection member [315a, 315b, Fig. 5-8] contacts the housing [300, Fig. 5-8].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park et al. into the teachings of Han et al. and Kim ‘243 to include a connection member between the display panel and the housing, wherein an upper surface of the connection member contacts the first pad electrode through the at least one hole and a lower surface of the connection member contacts the housing, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device, according to the lightning rod principle, static electricity transmitted from the outside of the case can be concentratedly transmitted to the first and second metal protrusions, the static electricity transferred from the outside to the inside of the case may not be transmitted to the driving elements included in the display module.
Regarding claim 5, Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park teach the display device of claim 1.
Han et al. further teaches:
the housing includes a housing groove accommodating the display panel, and the display panel is a rollable display panel. [paragraph [0025-0026], Fig. 1]
It should be noted that a rollable display panel is a known limitation in the art and is not new. Kim ‘243 also discloses a rollable display panel in Figs. 1A-26.
Regarding claim 10, Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park teach the display device of claim 1.
Han et al. further teaches:
wherein the pixels [paragraph [0026], Fig. 1-4] are spaced apart from each other in a matrix format [Fig. 2], and
wherein the conductive pattern [170, paragraph [0056], [0060], Fig. 3] has a mesh shape surrounding each of the pixels [Fig. 2-3].
Regarding claim 11, Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park teach the display device of claim 1.
Han et al. further teaches:
wherein the pixels are spaced apart from each other in a matrix format [Fig. 2], and
wherein the conductive pattern [170, paragraph [0063-0064], Fig. 1-3] surrounds two or more of the pixels.
Regarding claim 12, Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park teach the display device of claim 1.
Han et al. further teaches:
wherein pad parts [DP, paragraph [0029], [0031], Fig. 1] are in the non-display area [NA, Fig. 1-4], and
wherein the at least one hole [CP, Fig. 1-3] is respectively formed between the pad parts [DP, Fig. 1].
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20190206979 A1), in view of Kim ‘243 (EP 3588243 A1), and Park (KR 20170007587 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (JP 2006135299 A). Kim et al. (JP 2006135299 A) will hereby be referred to as Kim ‘299.
Regarding claim 2, Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park teach the display device of claim 1.
Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park do not teach:
wherein the conductive pattern includes a transparent electrode material.
Kim ‘299 teaches:
wherein the conductive pattern [32, paragraph [0016], Fig. 9] includes a transparent electrode material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘299 into the teachings of Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park to include wherein the conductive pattern includes a transparent electrode material, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device without blocking light.
Regarding claim 3, Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park teach the display device of claim 1.
Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park do not teach:
wherein the conductive pattern includes a conductive polymer material.
Kim ‘299 teaches:
wherein the conductive pattern [32, paragraph [0016], Fig. 9] includes a conductive polymer material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘299 into the teachings of Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park to include wherein the conductive pattern includes a conductive polymer material, for the purpose of improving flexibility, reducing weight, simplifying manufacturing, and improving electrical conductivity and durability.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20190206979 A1), in view of Kim ‘243 (EP 3588243 A1), and Park (KR 20170007587 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20050139922 A1). Kim et al. (US 20050139922 A1) will hereby be referred to as Kim ‘922.
Regarding claim 4, Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park teach the display device of claim 1.
Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park do not teach:
a black matrix pattern between the pixels in the display area,
wherein the conductive pattern overlaps the black matrix pattern in a plan view.
Kim ‘922 teaches:
a black matrix pattern [134, paragraph [0036], Fig. 3, 4F] between the pixels [P, paragraph [0036], Fig. 3, 4F] in the display area,
wherein the conductive pattern [136, paragraph [0047], Fig. 4G] overlaps the black matrix pattern [134, Fig. 4G] in a plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘922 into the teachings of Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park to include a black matrix pattern between the pixels in the display area, wherein the conductive pattern overlaps the black matrix pattern in a plan view, for the purpose of reducing light leakage, and electrically connecting features within the device.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20190206979 A1), in view of Kim ‘243 (EP 3588243 A1), and Park (KR 20170007587 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20210167328 A1). Kim et al. (US 20210167328 A1) will hereby be referred to as Kim ‘328.
Regarding claim 8, Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park teach the display device of claim 1.
Han et al., Kim ‘243 and Park do not teach:
wherein the connection member is a paste including a conductive material.
Kim ‘328 teaches:
wherein the connection member [170, paragraph [0089-0091, Fig. 4A] is a paste including a conductive material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘328 into the teachings of Han et al., Kim ‘243, and Park to include wherein the connection member is a paste including a conductive material, for the purpose of improving adhesion, improving conductivity, and lowering resistance.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20190206979 A1), in view of Kim ‘243 (EP 3588243 A1), Park (KR 20170007587 A), and Kim ‘922 (US 20050139922 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Terada et al. (WO 2018207417 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Han et al., Kim ‘243, Park and Kim ‘922 teach the display device of claim 4.
Han et al. further teaches:
a base layer [100, paragraph [0026-0029], Fig. 1-4]
Han et al., Kim ‘243, Park and Kim ‘922
a color conversion layer on the base layer in the display area and including at least one type of color conversion particle,
wherein the black matrix pattern is at both sides of the color conversion layer.
Terada et al. teaches:
a color conversion layer [132, paragraph [0016], [0021], Fig. 2] on the base layer [21, paragraph [0014-0015], Fig. 2] in the display area and including at least one type of color conversion particle [paragraph [0054], Fig. 2],
wherein the black matrix pattern [12, paragraph [0016], Fig. 2] is at both sides of the color conversion layer [132, paragraph [0021] Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Terada et al. into the teachings of Han et al., Kim ‘243, Park and Kim ‘922 to include a color conversion layer on the base layer in the display area and including at least one type of color conversion particle, wherein the black matrix pattern is at both sides of the color conversion layer, for the purpose of converting wavelengths to desired color, improving luminance and reducing light leaking.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20190206979 A1), in view of Kim ‘243 (EP 3588243 A1), Park (KR 20170007587 A), Kim ‘922 (US 20050139922 A1), and Terada et al. (WO 2018207417 A1) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 5053298 A).
Regarding claim 17, Han et al., Kim ‘243, Park, Kim ‘922 and Terada et al. teach the display device of claim 16.
Han et al., Kim ‘243, Park, Kim ‘922 and Terada et al. do not teach:
a planarization layer covering the color conversion layer and the conductive pattern; and
a color filter layer on the planarization layer and including a color filter corresponding to a color of the color conversion particle.
Park et al. teaches:
a planarization layer [37, Col. 3, Lines 29-35, Fig. 3D] covering the color conversion layer [32, 33, 34, Fig. 3D] and the conductive pattern [35, Col. 3, Lines 18-28 and 36-39, Fig. 3D]; and
a color filter layer [38, 43, 49, Col. 3, Lines 29-34; Col. 3, Lines 55-67 to Col. 4, Lines 1-3; Col. 4, Lines 29-3, Fig. 3D] on the planarization layer [37, Fig. 3D] and including a color filter corresponding to a color of the color conversion particle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park et al. into the teachings of Han et al., Kim ‘243, Park, Kim ‘922 and Terada et al. to include a planarization layer covering the color conversion layer and the conductive pattern; and a color filter layer on the planarization layer and including a color filter corresponding to a color of the color conversion particle, for the purpose of protecting features within the device, improving transmission efficiency, and converting and filtering light for desired wavelengths.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on pages 1-3, Section: I. Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed February 12, 2026 that the current prior art of record does not teach the amendments to independent claim 1. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, after a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, the amended limitations of independent claim 1 can be overcome by primary reference Han et al. (US 20190206979 A1), and newly cited secondary reference Park (KR 20170007587 A).
Applicant further argues on page 3, Section: I. Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed February 12, 2026 that claims 2-5, 8, 10-12, and 16-18 are dependent on independent claim 1 and should be in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees with Applicant for at least the reasons mentioned above.
In summary, the amended limitations of independent claim 1 can be overcome by primary reference Han et al. (US 20190206979 A1), and newly cited secondary reference Park (KR 20170007587 A). All claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claim 1 are therefore rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above.
Conclusion
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 03/31/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815