DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 10/04/2022. Claim(s) 1-26 are presently pending and are examined in this first action on the merits (FAOM).
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority based on Application 15/781572 filed 11/23/2016.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 4/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 23 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Matthew Vestal et. al. US20140365258A1 (“Vestal”) and Larry J. Williams et. al 20180364045 (“Williams”).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/04/2022, 11/16/2022, 01/11/2024, and 07/01/2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 14, 18, 19, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shai Abramson et. al. US20080097645A1 (“Abramson”) in view of Benno Pichlmaier et. al. US20170336787A1 (“Pichlmaier”) and Matthew Vestal et. al. US20140365258A1 (“Vestal”).
As per Claim 1,
Abramson discloses,
A method for operating one or more robotic lawn mowers on lawns, the method comprising:
A1) identifying a first lawn and a second lawn, and storing a first lawn identity and a second lawn identity in a control system (see at least [0030] The robot 22 receives and detects these signals, and based on this receipt, robot location with respect to the work area 24, and sections of the work area 24 (if divided into such sections), is determined, and [0043] The electronics of the main board 150, coupled with the navigation 151 a and drive 151 b systems, function, for example, in moving the robot 22 toward and back into the work area 24, including specific sections of the work area 24 (when the work area 24 is divided into sections, as shown for example, in FIGS. 10, 11 and 14 and detailed below), from outside the work area, mapping a work area or section thereof, and moving between sections of the work area.)
B1) delineating a first fence area at the first lawn and a second fence area at the second lawn, and storing the first fence area and the second fence area in the control system; (see at least [0071] Attention is now directed to FIG. 10, that details another system 600. This system 600 employs the robot 22 in a work area 24, with the work area 24 divided into multiple sections or plots, as would be typical with a lawn, garden or the like. This system 600, with the work area 24 divided into multiple sections allows for the operation of a robot 22, or alternately, several robots (or guided vehicles) operating at the same time (each vehicle in a different section or plot), in different sections or plots. The system 600 allows a detection of various parts on the perimeter loop 28, as well as the detection of a border or boundary line between sections of a work area 24.)
F1) operating the first robotic lawn mower to mow within the first fence area; (see at least [0071] This system 600 employs the robot 22 in a work area 24, with the work area 24 divided into multiple sections or plots, as would be typical with a lawn, garden or the like. This system 600, with the work area 24 divided into multiple sections allows for the operation of a robot 22, or alternately, several robots (or guided vehicles) operating at the same time (each vehicle in a different section or plot), in different sections or plots. The system 600 allows a detection of various parts on the perimeter loop 28, as well as the detection of a border or boundary line between sections of a work area 24.)
Gi) removing the first robotic lawn mower from the first lawn; (see at least [0043] The electronics of the main board 150, coupled with the navigation 151 a and drive 151 b systems, function, for example, in moving the robot 22 toward and back into the work area 24, including specific sections of the work area 24 (when the work area 24 is divided into sections, as shown for example, in FIGS. 10, 11 and 14 and detailed below), from outside the work area, mapping a work area or section thereof, and moving between sections of the work area
Ii) pairing the first robotic lawn mower with the second lawn by matching the first robotic lawn mower identity with the second lawn identity (see at least [0089] can determine if the robot 22 is in Section 1 801, Section 2 802, Section 3, 803 or outside each of these sections. The robot 22, as programmed in the control system 104, and can operate accordingly, for example, scanning differently based on the specific section in which the robot 22 is operating, moving into or out the requisite sections 801-803 or moving along the perimeter wire 28, following it, and [0093] The systems, including systems 20, 600, 600’, 699, 800 and embodiments thereof, as described above, are scaleable. They may be applied to as many sections of a work area 24 as desired in accordance with that detailed above).
J1) operating the first robotic lawn mower to mow within the second fence area; (see at least [0086] FIG. 14 shows a system 800 similar to the systems 20, 600 and 600′, except the work area 24 is divided into three sections, Section 1 801, Section 2 802 and Section 3 803).
Abramson does not disclose,
C1) identifying a first robotic lawn mower, and storing a first robotic lawn mower identity in the control system;
Di) transporting the first robotic lawn mower to the first lawn
E1) pairing the first robotic lawn mower with the first lawn by matching the first robotic lawn mower identity with the first lawn identity;
Hi) transporting the first robotic lawn mower to the second lawn
K1) removing the first robotic lawn mower from the second lawn.
Pichlmaier teaches,
C1) identifying a first robotic lawn mower, and storing a first robotic lawn mower identity in the control system; (see at least [0026] A cloud based optimizing and supervising algorithm performs offline and online path and duty planning of the robot group, ).
Di) transporting the first robotic lawn mower to the first lawn (see at least [0042] The CLU 10 also acts as storage/transport device and, as shown in FIG. 7, is operable to carry two or more robots 12 to a field to be worked. This is advantageous as the robots need not be designed to meet legal requirements to travel on public roads. Suitably, the CLU is provided with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport).
E1) pairing the first robotic lawn mower with the first lawn by matching the first robotic lawn mower identity with the first lawn identity; (see at least [0026] The robots 12A, 12B navigate and seed without human interaction, within a respective limited, predefined area 20A, 20B as shown in FIG. 2 and with an optimized seed pattern. The respective areas 20A, 20B etc. each have a surrounding geofence 23, [0035] FIG. 4A represents a field divided into six substantially equal parcels 20A-20F with each being tended by a respective robot 12A-12F), and [0035] as shown in FIG. 4B the cloud algorithm repartitions the field into five substantially equal parcels 21A-21E, assigns respective ones of the remaining robots 12A-12D, 12F to each parcel, calculates for each robot a respective new path to be followed, and delivers the new instruction to each).
Hi) transporting the first robotic lawn mower to the second lawn (see at least [0042] The CLU 10 also acts as storage/transport device and, as shown in FIG. 7, is operable to carry two or more robots 12 to a field to be worked. This is advantageous as the robots need not be designed to meet legal requirements to travel on public roads. Suitably, the CLU is provided with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport.)
K1) removing the first robotic lawn mower from the second lawn (see at least [0042] The CLU 10 also acts as storage/transport device and, as shown in FIG. 7, is operable to carry two or more robots 12 to a field to be worked. This is advantageous as the robots need not be designed to meet legal requirements to travel on public roads. Suitably, the CLU is provided with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of determining location of an autonomous work machine and Pichlmaier teaches means to transport the autonomous vehicle in-between fields.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the automated agricultural system taught by Pichlmaier, with a reasonable expectation of success, to calculate for each robot a respective new path to be followed, and delivers the new instruction to each (0035).
Vestal also teaches,
C1) identifying a first robotic lawn mower, and storing a first robotic lawn mower identity in the control system; (see at least [0027] The status profile may comprise a file or data structure stored in the memory that includes records and/or fields suitable for holding and/or indicating one or more of a wide variety of different current status values or conditions for each mobile robot in the fleet, including without limitation the following: a robot identifier)
E1) pairing the first robotic lawn mower with the first lawn by matching the first robotic lawn mower identity with the first lawn identity; (see at least [0020] The job management system automatically determines the actual job locations and job operations associated with the virtual job locations and operations, and automatically selects a suitable mobile robot from the fleet to handle each job request, [0027] a current job identifier; a current job status; a current job location; a proximity to the current job location; a current job destination path; an estimated time of arrival; an estimated time of departure; a robot idle time; a robot performance level; a robot security level; a robot battery charge level; a robot payload status; a robot payload error condition; a robot cargo status, and/or a robot cargo capacity)
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of determining location of an autonomous work machine and Vestal teaches a job management system that receives and processes job requests in an automated physical environment where the physical environment includes a fleet of mobile robots for automated handling of the job request.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the job management system by Vestal, with a reasonable expectation of success, to assign a particular mobile robot to handle the job request and determine, based on the status profile for the particular mobile robot (0036).
As per Claim 2,
Abramson discloses,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
A2) identifying a third lawn and a fourth lawn, and storing a third lawn identity and a fourth lawn identity in a control system;
B2) delineating a third fence area at the third lawn and a fourth fence area at the fourth lawn, and storing the third fence area and the fourth fence area in the control system;
C2) identifying a second robotic lawn mower, and storing a second robotic lawn mower identity in the control system;
D2) transporting the second robotic lawn mower to the third lawn;
E2) pairing the second robotic lawn mower with the third lawn by matching the second robotic lawn mower identity with the third lawn identity;
F2) operating the second robotic lawn mower to mow within the third fence area;
G2) removing the second robotic lawn mower from the third lawn;
H2) transporting the second robotic lawn mower to the fourth lawn;
I2) pairing the second robotic lawn mower with the fourth lawn by matching the second robotic lawn mower identity with the fourth lawn identity;
J2) operating the second robotic lawn mower to mow within the fourth fence area; and
K2) removing the second robotic lawn mower from the fourth lawn; wherein at least one of step F2 or J2 is performed at least partially simultaneously with at least one of step F1 or J1.
(see at least Fig. 14, [0071] This system 600, with the work area 24 divided into multiple sections allows for the operation of a robot 22, or alternately, several robots (or guided vehicles) operating at the same time (each vehicle in a different section or plot), in different sections or plots. [0072] The system 600 allows a detection of various parts on the perimeter loop 28, as well as the detection of a border or boundary line between sections of a work area 24).
As per Claim 3,
Abramson discloses,
The method of claim 2, further comprising repeating steps A2 through K2 for at least two or more additional lawns and at least one additional robotic lawn mower (see at least [0071] This system 600, with the work area 24 divided into multiple sections allows for the operation of a robot 22, or alternately, several robots (or guided vehicles) operating at the same time (each vehicle in a different section or plot), in different sections or plots).
As per Claim 4,
Abramson discloses,
The method of claim 1, wherein the control system comprises software and memory on at least one separate unit (see at least [0060] Turning back to FIG. 1, the signal generating unit 30 includes a signal generator (SG) 302, electrically coupled with a controller (CSG) 304, [0060] This low voltage signal generator is, for example, controlled by the controller 304, that is, for example, processor based. The controller 304 is, for example, a processor, such as a microprocessor, programmable or preprogrammed for its signal generating operations, and [0079] This switch 606 may be controlled by a controller 630 (also a remote controller) electronically linked to the switch 606 by wired or wireless links, or combinations thereof.)
As per Claim 5,
Abramson discloses,
The method of claim 4, wherein the separate unit comprises a digital unit. (see at least [0060] controlled by the controller 304, that is, for example, processor based, and [0061] either by circuit components or by a microprocessor in the controller 304 typically as programmed therein, and [0064] signal is generated by a microprocessor 404 of the controller 304).
As per Claim 7,
Abramson discloses,
The method of claim 1, wherein steps E1 and Ii are performed wirelessly (see at least [0079] This switch 606 may be controlled by a controller 630 (also a remote controller) electronically linked to the switch 606 by wired or wireless links, or combinations thereof.)
As per Claim 14,
Abramson discloses,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
i) identifying a second robotic lawn mower, and storing a second robotic lawn mower identity in the control system;
iii) pairing the second robotic lawn mower with the first lawn by matching the second robotic lawn mower identity with the first lawn identity; wherein step F1 comprises at least partially simultaneously operating the first robotic lawn mower and the second robotic lawn mower to mow within the first fence area (see at least [0071] Attention is now directed to FIG. 10, that details another system 600. This system 600 employs the robot 22 in a work area 24, with the work area 24 divided into multiple sections or plots, as would be typical with a lawn, garden or the like. This system 600, with the work area 24 divided into multiple sections allows for the operation of a robot 22, or alternately, several robots (or guided vehicles) operating at the same time (each vehicle in a different section or plot), in different sections or plots. The system 600 allows a detection of various parts on the perimeter loop 28, as well as the detection of a border or boundary line between sections of a work area 24).
Abramson does not disclose,
ii) transporting the second robotic lawn mower to the first lawn;
Pichlmaier teaches,
ii) transporting the second robotic lawn mower to the first lawn
[0043] a system for performing an agricultural operation on a field, including a host vehicle, two or more autonomous agricultural machines configured for performing the said agricultural operation, and [0042] The CLU 10 also acts as storage/transport device and, as shown in FIG. 7, is operable to carry two or more robots 12 to a field to be worked.)
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Pichlmaier teaches means to transport the autonomous vehicle in-between fields.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the storage/transportation device taught by Pichlmaier, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport (0042).
As per Claim 20,
Abramson discloses,
The method of claim 1, wherein step Bi comprises delineating at least one of the first fence area and the second fence area by an electrical wire (see at least [0005] In particular, the system can determine whether the receiver is inside or outside the loop, and evaluate its distance from the perimeter wire. This system is of particular interest for robots working in a defined area, or automatic vehicles that need to follow a wire, and [0028] The work area 24 is defined by a boundary 26, formed, for example, of a wire 27 (a boundary marker) arranged around the perimeter of the work area to define a perimeter wire 28 or a perimeter wire loop (perimeter wire, perimeter wire loop, and perimeter loop used interchangeably herein). The wire 27 is proximate to the ground surface 25, but is usually buried in the ground).
As per Claim 21,
Abramson discloses,
method of claim 1, wherein step Bi comprises delineating at least one of the first fence area and the second fence area by an electrical wire having an associated base station (see at least Fig.1, Fig. 14, [0029] The perimeter wire 28 is received in a signal generating unit 30. The signal generating unit 30 generates signals utilized by the robot 22 for multiple functions, in particular, to determine the specific location of the robot 22 within the work area 24 or outside of the work area 24, as detailed herein. The perimeter wire loop 28 defines a closed pathway over which the signal(s) generated by the signal generating unit 30 travel. Throughout this document, the terms “signal” and “signals” are used interchangeably when referring to the electromagnetic output (e.g., electromagnetic waveforms) generated by the signal generating unit (SGU) 30, and [0086] Wires, represented by solid lines 814 and 815, respectively, divide Section 1 801 from Section 2 802, and Section 2 802 from Section 3 803, are the secondary connections for the switches 806, 807).
As per Claim 22,
Abramson does not disclose,
method of claim 1, wherein the first robotic lawn mower is powered by an electric battery, and step Hi comprises charging the electric battery while transporting the first robotic lawn mower to the second lawn
Pichlmaier discloses,
method of claim 1, wherein the first robotic lawn mower is powered by an electric battery, and step Hi comprises charging the electric battery while transporting the first robotic lawn mower to the second lawn (see at least [0023] A host vehicle 10, also referred to herein as a central logistical unit (CLU), is accompanied in the field by one or more autonomous agricultural machines (AAMs) or robots 12, [0040] As represented by FIG. 6, where the robot is electrically driven the resource from the CLU will be an electrical charge from a battery 42 or generator of the CLU, and [0042] The CLU 10 also acts as storage/transport device and, as shown in FIG. 7, is operable to carry two or more robots 12 to a field to be worked. This is advantageous as the robots need not be designed to meet legal requirements to travel on public roads. Suitably, the CLU is provided with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Pichlmaier teaches means to transport and charge the battery of the autonomous vehicle in-between fields.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the storage/transportation and charging device taught by Pichlmaier, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport (0042).
As per Claim 24,
Abramson discloses,
A method for operating robotic lawn mowers on lawns, the method comprising:
A) identifying a plurality of lawns and storing a respective lawn identity of each of the plurality of lawns in a control system;
B) delineating a respective fence area for each of the plurality of lawns and storing the respective fence areas in the control system;
C) identifying a plurality of robotic lawn mowers, and storing a respective robotic lawn mower identity of each robotic lawn mower of the plurality of robotic lawn mowers in the control system;
D) transporting each of the robotic lawn mower to a respective first lawn of the plurality of lawns;
E) pairing each of the robotic lawn mowers with the respective first lawn by matching the respective lawn mower identity of each of the robotic lawn mowers with the respective lawn identity of the respective first lawn;
F) operating each of the robotic lawn mowers to mow within the respective fence area of the respective first lawn;
G) removing each of the robotic lawn mowers from the respective first lawn;
H) transporting each of the robotic lawn mowers to a respective second lawn of the plurality of lawns;
I) pairing each of the robotic lawn mowers with the respective second lawn by matching the respective lawn mower identity of each of the robotic lawn mowers with the respective lawn identity of the respective second lawn;
J) operating each of the robotic lawn mowers to mow within the respective fence area of the respective second lawn; and
K) removing each of the robotic lawn mowers from the respective second lawn. (see at least [0086] FIG. 14 shows a system 800 similar to the systems 20, 600 and 600′, except the work area 24 is divided into three sections, Section 1 801, Section 2 802 and Section 3 803, [0089] can determine if the robot 22 is in Section 1 801, Section 1 802, Section 3 803, or outside each of these sections. The robot 22, as programmed in the control system 104, and can operate accordingly, for example, scanning differently based on the specific section in which the robot 22 is operating, moving into or out the requisite sections 801-803 or moving along the perimeter wire 28, following it, and [0093] The systems, including systems 20, 600, 600′, 699, 800 and embodiments thereof, as described above, are scaleable. They may be applied to as many sections of a work area 24 as desired in accordance with that detailed above).
Claims 6, 8, 9 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson in view of Pichlmaier and Vestal as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Michael Todd Letsky US20100324731A1 (“Letsky ‘731”)
As per Claim 6,
Abramson does not disclose,
The method of claim 5, wherein the digital unit comprises a PC or a smart phone.
Letsky ‘731 teaches,
The method of claim 5, wherein the digital unit comprises a PC or a smart phone (see at least [0029] The sensor can be an IR, RF, Wi-Fi or other sensor for receiving wired or wireless data signals. The external control unit is preferably a remote control, a PC, a PDA or a Smart Phone, and [0054] remote control may have a display which displays the map created by the CPU 235. In another embodiment, the autonomous robot 200 may connect to a PC, PDA, or Smart Phone via Wi-Fi which displays the map created by the CPU 235).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Letsky ‘731 teaches method to control parameters to enable an autonomous vehicle to operate within a designated area/s of a field, lawn.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the control system as taught by Letsky ‘731 with a reasonable expectation of success, to define a closed-geometry formed by the tracked location as a perimeter of the area of confinement within the memory device (0010).
As per Claim 8,
Abramson does not disclose,
The method of claim 1, wherein step Bi further comprises establishing a first cutting pattern for the first lawn and a second cutting pattern for the second lawn, and storing the first cutting pattern and the second cutting pattern in the control system.
Letsky ‘731 teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein step Bi further comprises establishing a first cutting pattern for the first lawn and a second cutting pattern for the second lawn, and storing the first cutting pattern and the second cutting pattern in the control system (see at least [0058] Once the pattern has been selected by the user, the autonomous robot 200 is put into operational mode where it begins the step of maneuvering across an area defined by bounded area 220, thereby completing step 150. Robot control system 230 may use the boundary information, robot dimensions (cutting width), and exclusion information to generate a grid or map that indicates where the autonomous robot 200 should travel, should not travel or has already traveled. This includes the step of tracking completed grid points (step 160). With all of this information stored in the internal memory 233 of the robot control system 230, the robot control system 230 navigates the autonomous robot 200 inside the boundary 220 according to the selected pattern).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Letsky ‘731 teaches method to control parameters to enable an autonomous vehicle to operate within a designated area/s of a field, lawn.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the control system as taught by Letsky ‘731 with a reasonable expectation of success, to define a closed-geometry formed by the tracked location as a perimeter of the area of confinement within the memory device (0010).
As per Claim 9,
Abramson does not disclose,
the method of claim 8, wherein step E1 pairing the first cutting pattern to the first robotic lawn mower, and step Ii comprises pairing the second cutting pattern to the first robotic lawn mower.
Letsky ‘731 teaches,
the method of claim 8, wherein step E1 pairing the first cutting pattern to the first robotic lawn mower, and step Ii comprises pairing the second cutting pattern to the first robotic lawn mower (see at least [0057] the next step is for the user to select a pattern that will define the behavior of the autonomous robot 200 while traveling inside the defined perimeter 220 while performing its task. Possible patterns include random, semi-random, or specific patterns whereby the autonomous robot 200 may travel in stripes, circles, squares, or any other pre-specified pattern, and [0057] the CPU 235 may calculate a number of possible patterns based on the application of preprogrammed algorithms to that particular defined perimeter 220. In another embodiment, the pattern may be transmitted to the autonomous robot 200 via a PC, PDA, or Smart Phone. Once the pattern has been determined, step 140 is complete).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Letsky ‘731 teaches method to control parameters to enable an autonomous vehicle to operate within a designated area/s of a field, lawn.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the control system as taught by Letsky ‘731 with a reasonable expectation of success, to define a closed-geometry formed by the tracked location as a perimeter of the area of confinement within the memory device (0010).
As per Claim 15,
Abramson does not disclose,
The method of claim 14, wherein operating the first robotic lawn mower and the second robotic lawn mower to mow within the first fence area comprises operating the first robotic lawn mower and the second robotic lawn mower with complementing cutting patterns.
Letsky ‘731 teaches,
The method of claim 14, wherein operating the first robotic lawn mower and the second robotic lawn mower to mow within the first fence area comprises operating the first robotic lawn mower and the second robotic lawn mower with complementing cutting patterns (see at least [0057] the next step is for the user to select a pattern that will define the behavior of the autonomous robot 200 while traveling inside the defined perimeter 220 while performing its task. Possible patterns include random, semi-random, or specific patterns whereby the autonomous robot 200 may travel in stripes, circles, squares, or any other pre-specified pattern).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Letsky ‘731 teaches method to control parameters to enable an autonomous vehicle to operate within a designated area/s of a field, lawn.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the control system as taught by Letsky ‘731 with a reasonable expectation of success, to define a closed-geometry formed by the tracked location as a perimeter of the area of confinement within the memory device (0010).
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson in view of Pichlmaier and Vestal as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Bernard Drew et. al. US20140371979A1 (“Drew”)
As per Claim 10,
Abramson does not disclose,
storing a cutting journal for the first mower and a cutting journal for the second mower in the control system;
storing a cutting journal for the first lawn and a cutting journal for the second lawn in the control system;
storing a record of possible errors for the first mower in the control system; and
storing a battery status of the first mower in the control system.
Drew teaches,
storing a cutting journal for the first mower and a cutting journal for the second mower in the control system;
storing a cutting journal for the first lawn and a cutting journal for the second lawn in the control system;
storing a record of possible errors for the first mower in the control system; and
storing a battery status of the first mower in the control system (see at least [0037] Data from the sensors (including the data from the GPS receiver 240, the accelerometer 250 and/or other sensors) may be fed to the processing circuitry 210 for storage, display, or for use in connection with applications that may be executed by processing circuitry 210, [0047] Thus, for example, the processing circuitry 210 may direct storage of the data or other information generated based on the data in the memory 214. As such, the processing circuitry 210 may organize the data or information for reporting or for use in other applications that may be locally or remotely executed, [0047] the processing circuitry 210 may store data for reporting to a computer executing fleet management software to manage a fleet of lawn mowers for implementation of efficient service, maintenance and operation management, and [0066] a method for processing position information of a riding yard maintenance vehicle for billing purposes, as shown in FIG. 7, may include receiving information indicative of vehicle position and/or orientation at operation 700 and analyzing the information based on billing criteria at operation 710. The billing criteria may include rules relating conditions detected relative to the vehicle position and/or orientation to corresponding costs to be accrued. For example, the information may be used to determine area covered on a parcel or job, time spent on a parcel or job, wear and tear experienced by the vehicle on a parcel or job, risks encountered by the vehicle on a parcel or job, and/or the like.
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Drew teaches a storage device for storing the information and a processor for processing the information may then be employed to analyze the data and provide feedback to the operator of the vehicle regarding the route and/or conditions created during operation of the vehicle.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the recording and storage device taught by Drew with a reasonable expectation of success, improve the ability of operators and/or fleet managers to monitor and/or record information regarding the operation of a riding yard maintenance vehicle (0008).
Claims 11-13 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson in view of Pichlmaier and Vestal as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Michael Todd Letsky US20120265391A1 (“Letsky ‘391”)
As per Claim 11,
Abramson does not disclose,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first fence area comprises a first GPS geofence, and the second fence area comprises a second GPS geofence
Letsky ‘391 teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first fence area comprises a first GPS geofence, and the second fence area comprises a second GPS geofence (see at least [0108] Thus, in a similar fashion to generating the perimeter of the area of confinement 220 utilizing GPS technology as will be described below with regard to FIGS. 18 and 19, the exclusion areas can be defined, [0142] By calculating the perimeter of the area of confinement 520, the CPU 535 generates a map of the area of confinement 520 utilizing the GPS information (i.e., latitude-longitude coordinates). In other words, the points P1-PN are mapped by the CPU 535 using a mapping scheme such that a closed-geometry area of confinement 520 is generated as a map, and [0180] the GIS data shape file can be used as an alternative to having the user define the area of confinement using the Setup Mode. The GIS data shape file, where applicable, already contains the data related to the shape of the user's yard and can be used to create the area of confinement in certain embodiments).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Letsky ‘391 teaches an autonomous robot that performs a task within a designated area such that the autonomous robot is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the GPS geo fence system as taught by Letsky ‘391 with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a task within a confined area that is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task (0006).
As per Claim 12,
Abramson does not disclose,
The method of claim 11, wherein:
step E1 and further comprises activating a first geofence alarm configured to indicate when the first robotic lawn mower exits the first GPS geofence; and
step Ii further comprises activating a second geofence alarm configured to indicate when the first robotic lawn mower exits the second GPS geofence.
Letsky ‘391 teaches,
The method of claim 11, wherein:
step E1 and further comprises activating a first geofence alarm configured to indicate when the first robotic lawn mower exits the first GPS geofence; and
step Ii further comprises activating a second geofence alarm configured to indicate when the first robotic lawn mower exits the second GPS geofence (see at least [0115] In the event the autonomous robot 200 is traveling outside the defined perimeter and detects that it is being “carried” without the secure pin first having been entered, then the autonomous robot 200 will activate a security alarm and transmit its GPS location (using a location tracking unit or GPS unit) back to the docking station 300).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Letsky ‘391 teaches an autonomous robot that performs a task within a designated area such that the autonomous robot is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the GPS geo fence system as taught by Letsky ‘391 with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a task within a confined area that is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task (0006).
As per Claim 13,
Abramson does not disclose,
The method of claim 12, further comprising one or more of: operating the first geofence alarm to send a first signal to the control system when the first robotic lawn mower exits the first GPS geofence and tracking a position of the first robotic lawn mower after the first robotic lawn mower exits the first GPS geofence; and
operating the second geofence alarm to send a second signal to the control system when the first robotic lawn mower exits the second GPS geofence and tracking a position of the first robotic lawn mower after the first robotic lawn mower exits the second GPS geofence
Letsky ‘391 teaches,
The method of claim 12, further comprising one or more of: operating the first geofence alarm to send a first signal to the control system when the first robotic lawn mower exits the first GPS geofence and tracking a position of the first robotic lawn mower after the first robotic lawn mower exits the first GPS geofence; and
operating the second geofence alarm to send a second signal to the control system when the first robotic lawn mower exits the second GPS geofence and tracking a position of the first robotic lawn mower after the first robotic lawn mower exits the second GPS geofence (see at least [0115] In the event the autonomous robot 200 is traveling outside the defined perimeter and detects that it is being “carried” without the secure pin first having been entered, then the autonomous robot 200 will activate a security alarm and transmit its GPS location (using a location tracking unit or GPS unit) back to the docking station 300. The docking station 300 will send this information to the server 400. The server 400 will e-mail the user with information indicating that the autonomous robot 200 may have been stolen, and will provide the user with the GPS location of the autonomous robot 200. In some embodiments, the autonomous robot may communicate with neighboring docking stations to transmit security information. In some embodiments, the autonomous robot 200 may communicate with neighboring docking stations to obtain corrected navigational information i.e. GPS correction data).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Letsky ‘391 teaches an autonomous robot that performs a task within a designated area such that the autonomous robot is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the GPS geo fence as taught by Letsky ‘391 with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a task within a confined area that is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task (0006).
As per Claim 16,
Abramson does not disclose,
The method of claim 14, wherein operating the first robotic lawn mower and the second robotic lawn mower to mow within the first fence area comprises performing GPS based control in real-time of relative positions of the first robotic lawn mower and the second robotic lawn mower.
Letsky ‘391 teaches,
The method of claim 14, wherein operating the first robotic lawn mower and the second robotic lawn mower to mow within the first fence area comprises performing GPS based control in real-time of relative positions of the first robotic lawn mower and the second robotic lawn mower (see at least [0119] the discussion below is made with regard to the location tracking unit 542 being a GPS unit and therefore the locations of the autonomous robot 500 are tracked and recorded as latitude-longitude coordinates).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Letsky ‘391 teaches an autonomous robot that performs a task within a designated area such that the autonomous robot is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the GPS geo fence system as taught by Letsky ‘391 with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a task within a confined area that is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task (0006).
As per Claim 17,
Abramson does not disclose,
The method of claim 14, wherein each of the first robotic lawn mower and the second robotic lawn mower comprises one or more respective sensors configured to hinder contact between the respective robotic lawn mower and obstacles.
Letsky ‘391 teaches,
The method of claim 14, wherein each of the first robotic lawn mower and the second robotic lawn mower comprises one or more respective sensors configured to hinder contact between the respective robotic lawn mower and obstacles (see at least [0182] the autonomous robot 200 comprises a current sensor that is operably coupled to the cutting blades 203. The current sensor can be directly coupled to at least one of the cutting blades 203, or the current sensor can be coupled to the drive shaft of the cutting blades 203, [0182] the CPU 235 can analyze the load on the cutting blades 203 to determine the thickness of the grass, whether no grass is detected, and/or whether there is an obstacle, and [0186] the current sensor will enable the autonomous robot 200 to avoid colliding with previously unknown obstacles. Thus, the autonomous robot 200 is able to adapt to its environment during a working session).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Letsky ‘391 teaches an autonomous robot that performs a task within a designated area such that the autonomous robot is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task using a variety of sensors.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the sensor system as taught by Letsky ‘391 with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a task within a confined area that is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task (0006).
As per Claim 18,
Abramson does not disclose,
The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more respective sensors comprise one or more non-contact sensors
Letsky ‘391 teaches,
The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more respective sensors comprise one or more non-contact sensors (see at least [0166] In still other embodiments, the autonomous robot 200 may include a vision sensor, such as a camera or one or more infrared (IR) sensors).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Letsky ‘391 teaches an autonomous robot that performs a task within a designated area such that the autonomous robot is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task using a variety of sensors.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the sensor system as taught by Letsky ‘391 with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a task within a confined area that is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task (0006).
As per Claim 19,
Abramson does not disclose,
The method of claim 18, wherein the one or more non-contact sensors comprise one or more infrared sensors, ultrasound sensors or cameras
Letsky ‘391 teaches,
The method of claim 18, wherein the one or more non-contact sensors comprise one or more infrared sensors, ultrasound sensors or cameras (see at least [0166] In still other embodiments, the autonomous robot 200 may include a vision sensor, such as a camera or one or more infrared (IR) sensors).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Letsky ‘391 teaches an autonomous robot that performs a task within a designated area such that the autonomous robot is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task using a variety of sensors.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the sensor system as taught by Letsky ‘391 with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a task within a confined area that is easy to use, achieves optimal coverage, operates at an acceptable speed and effectively performs its task (0006).
Claims 23 - 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson, Pichlmaier and Vestal as related to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Larry J Williams et. al 20180364045 (“Williams”)
As per Claim 23,
Abramson does not disclose,
method of claim 1, wherein the first robotic lawn mower is powered by an electric battery, and the method comprises, after one or both of step Gi and step Ki:
L) transporting the first robotic lawn mower via a mobile carrier to a storage facility; and
M) subsequently charging the electric battery via an electrical power supply system separate from the mobile carrier.
Pichlmaier discloses,
method of claim 1, wherein the first robotic lawn mower is powered by an electric battery, and the method comprises, after one or both of step Gi and step Ki:
L) transporting the first robotic lawn mower via a mobile carrier to a storage facility; (see at least [0042] The CLU 10 also acts as storage/transport device, and [0042] Suitably, the CLU is provided with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Pichlmaier teaches means to transport the autonomous vehicle.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the storage/transportation and charging device taught by Pichlmaier, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport (0042).
Williams discloses,
M) subsequently charging the electric battery via an electrical power supply system separate from the mobile carrier (see at least [0043] it should be understood that the robotic platform 100 may be adapted to service a plurality of other environments, such as servicing outdoor traffic surfaces (e.g., cleaning roads and walkways), outdoor groomed landscapes (e.g., mowing lawns), [0056] the robotic platform 100 may utilize a service robot resource facility 110, such as at a ‘home’ location that provides resources, including service module material supply (e.g., consumable materials, cleaning heads), service module exchange 114, electric charging station 116, and the like, and [0056] The electric charging station 116 may comprise a contactless charging facility that enables the robotic platform 100 to automatically charge its batteries while in proximity to the charging facility).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Williams teaches a robotic platform with a service robot resource facility including an electric charging station where the robot platform returns to the service robot facility for user execution of certain functions.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the separate and fixed charging facility taught by Williams, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the robotic platform to return to the electric charging station 116 when its batteries are low or at the end of a service day (0056).
As per Claim 24,
Abramson discloses,
A method for operating robotic lawn mowers on lawns, the method comprising:
A) identifying a plurality of lawns and storing a respective lawn identity of each of the plurality of lawns in a control system (see at least [0043] The electronics of the main board 150, coupled with the navigation 151 a and drive 151 b systems, function, for example, in moving the robot 22 toward and back into the work area 24, including specific sections of the work area 24 (when the work area 24 is divided into sections, as shown for example, in FIGS. 10, 11 and 14 and detailed below), from outside the work area, mapping a work area or section thereof, and moving between sections of the work area, [0086] FIG. 14 shows a system 800 similar to the systems 20, 600 and 600′, except the work area 24 is divided into three sections, Section 1 801, Section 2 802 and Section 3 803, [0089] can determine if the robot 22 is in Section 1 801, Section 1 802, Section 3 803, or outside each of these sections. The robot 22, as programmed in the control system 104, and can operate accordingly, for example, scanning differently based on the specific section in which the robot 22 is operating, moving into or out the requisite sections 801-803 or moving along the perimeter wire 28, following it, and [0093] The systems, including system 20, 600, 600’, 699, 800 and embodiments thereof, as described above, are scalable. They may be applied to as many sections of a work area 24 as desired in accordance with that detailed above.)
B) delineating a respective fence area for each of the plurality of lawns and storing the respective fence areas in the control system; (see at least [0071] Attention is now directed to FIG. 10, that details another system 600. This system 600 employs the robot 22 in a work area 24, with the work area 24 divided into multiple sections or plots, as would be typical with a lawn, garden or the like. This system 600, with the work area 24 divided into multiple sections allows for the operation of a robot 22, or alternately, several robots (or guided vehicles) operating at the same time (each vehicle in a different section or plot), in different sections or plots. The system 600 allows a detection of various parts on the perimeter loop 28, as well as the detection of a border or boundary line between sections of a work area 24.)
F) operating each of the robotic lawn mowers to mow within the respective fence area of the respective first lawn; (see at least [0071] This system 600 employs the robot 22 in a work area 24, with the work area 24 divided into multiple sections or plots, as would be typical with a lawn, garden or the like. This system 600, with the work area 24 divided into multiple sections allows for the operation of a robot 22, or alternately, several robots (or guided vehicles) operating at the same time (each vehicle in a different section or plot), in different sections or plots. The system 600 allows a detection of various parts on the perimeter loop 28, as well as the detection of a border or boundary line between sections of a work area 24.)
G) removing each of the robotic lawn mowers from the respective first lawn; (see at least [0043] The electronics of the main board 150, coupled with the navigation 151 a and drive 151 b systems, function, for example, in moving the robot 22 toward and back into the work area 24, including specific sections of the work area 24 (when the work area 24 is divided into sections, as shown for example, in FIGS. 10, 11 and 14 and detailed below), from outside the work area, mapping a work area or section thereof, and moving between sections of the work area
I) pairing each of the robotic lawn mowers with the respective second lawn by matching the respective lawn mower identity of each of the robotic lawn mowers with the respective lawn identity of the respective second lawn (see at least [0089] can determine if the robot 22 is in Section 1 801, Section 2 802, Section 3, 803 or outside each of these sections. The robot 22, as programmed in the control system 104, and can operate accordingly, for example, scanning differently based on the specific section in which the robot 22 is operating, moving into or out the requisite sections 801-803 or moving along the perimeter wire 28, following it, and [0093] The systems, including systems 20, 600, 600’, 699, 800 and embodiments thereof, as described above, are scaleable. They may be applied to as many sections of a work area 24 as desired in accordance with that detailed above).
J) operating each of the robotic lawn mowers to mow within the respective fence area of the respective second lawn; (see at least [0086] FIG. 14 shows a system 800 similar to the systems 20, 600 and 600′, except the work area 24 is divided into three sections, Section 1 801, Section 2 802 and Section 3 803).
Abramson does not disclose,
C) identifying a plurality of robotic lawn mowers, and storing a respective robotic lawn mower identity of each robotic lawn mower of the plurality of robotic lawn mowers in the control system)
D) transporting each of the robotic lawn mower to a respective first lawn of the plurality of lawns
E) pairing each of the robotic lawn mowers with the respective first lawn by matching the respective lawn mower identity of each of the robotic lawn mowers with the respective lawn identity of the respective first lawn
H) transporting each of the robotic lawn mowers to a respective second lawn of the plurality of lawns
K) removing each of the robotic lawn mowers from the respective second lawn.
Pichlmaier teaches,
C) identifying a plurality of robotic lawn mowers, and storing a respective robotic lawn mower identity of each robotic lawn mower of the plurality of robotic lawn mowers in the control system).
D) transporting each of the robotic lawn mower to a respective first lawn of the plurality of lawns (see at least [0042] The CLU 10 also acts as storage/transport device and, as shown in FIG. 7, is operable to carry two or more robots 12 to a field to be worked. This is advantageous as the robots need not be designed to meet legal requirements to travel on public roads. Suitably, the CLU is provided with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport).
E) pairing each of the robotic lawn mowers with the respective first lawn by matching the respective lawn mower identity of each of the robotic lawn mowers with the respective lawn identity of the respective first lawn (see at least [0026] The robots 12A, 12B navigate and seed without human interaction, within a respective limited, predefined area 20A, 20B as shown in FIG. 2 and with an optimized seed pattern. The respective areas 20A, 20B etc. each have a surrounding geofence 23, [0035] FIG. 4A represents a field divided into six substantially equal parcels 20A-20F with each being tended by a respective robot 12A-12F), and [0035] as shown in FIG. 4B the cloud algorithm repartitions the field into five substantially equal parcels 21A-21E, assigns respective ones of the remaining robots 12A-12D, 12F to each parcel, calculates for each robot a respective new path to be followed, and delivers the new instruction to each).
H) transporting each of the robotic lawn mowers to a respective second lawn of the plurality of lawns (see at least [0042] The CLU 10 also acts as storage/transport device and, as shown in FIG. 7, is operable to carry two or more robots 12 to a field to be worked. This is advantageous as the robots need not be designed to meet legal requirements to travel on public roads. Suitably, the CLU is provided with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport.)
K) removing each of the robotic lawn mowers from the respective second lawn (see at least [0042] The CLU 10 also acts as storage/transport device and, as shown in FIG. 7, is operable to carry two or more robots 12 to a field to be worked. This is advantageous as the robots need not be designed to meet legal requirements to travel on public roads. Suitably, the CLU is provided with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of determining location of an autonomous work machine and Pichlmaier teaches means to transport the autonomous vehicle in-between fields.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the automated agricultural system taught by Pichlmaier, with a reasonable expectation of success, to calculate for each robot a respective new path to be followed, and delivers the new instruction to each (0035).
Vestal also teaches,
C) identifying a plurality of robotic lawn mowers, and storing a respective robotic lawn mower identity of each robotic lawn mower of the plurality of robotic lawn mowers in the control system).
; (see at least [0027] The status profile may comprise a file or data structure stored in the memory that includes records and/or fields suitable for holding and/or indicating one or more of a wide variety of different current status values or conditions for each mobile robot in the fleet, including without limitation the following: a robot identifier)
E) pairing each of the robotic lawn mowers with the respective first lawn by matching the respective lawn mower identity of each of the robotic lawn mowers with the respective lawn identity of the respective first lawn; (see at least [0020] The job management system automatically determines the actual job locations and job operations associated with the virtual job locations and operations, and automatically selects a suitable mobile robot from the fleet to handle each job request, [0027] a current job identifier; a current job status; a current job location; a proximity to the current job location; a current job destination path; an estimated time of arrival; an estimated time of departure; a robot idle time; a robot performance level; a robot security level; a robot battery charge level; a robot payload status; a robot payload error condition; a robot cargo status, and/or a robot cargo capacity)
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of determining location of an autonomous work machine and Vestal teaches a job management system that receives and processes job requests in an automated physical environment where the physical environment includes a fleet of mobile robots for automated handling of the job request.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the job management system by Vestal, with a reasonable expectation of success, to assign a particular mobile robot to handle the job request and determine, based on the status profile for the particular mobile robot (0036).
Williams also teaches,
A) identifying a plurality of lawns and storing a respective lawn identity of each of the plurality of lawns in a control system (see at least Fig. 1, [0047] A service plan 128 may utilize a mapping facility 122, such as with capabilities to generate and utilize digital 2D maps 124 and 3D maps 126 for navigating through and providing planning services for service areas 140A-B, [0053] the service plan may include a plurality of service areas, such as service area 140A and a service area 140B, and [0057] Fig. 1, The robotic platform 100 may service multiple service areas utilizing multiple service modules, such as in a coordinated process outlined in a stored service plan).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Williams teaches a robotic platform with a service robot resource facility to service a plurality of service areas.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the separate and fixed charging facility taught by Williams, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide for multi-operative service area planning through a digital map utility, such as multi-area planning of different service areas 140A-B using a digital map loaded into the robotic platform 100 (0109).
As per Claim 25,
Abramson does not disclose,
The method of claim 24, further comprising charging one or more of the robotic lawn mowers
Pichlmaier discloses,
The method of claim 24, further comprising charging one or more of the robotic lawn mowers (see at least [0023] A host vehicle 10, also referred to herein as a central logistical unit (CLU), is accompanied in the field by one or more autonomous agricultural machines (AAMs) or robots 12, [0040] As represented by FIG. 6, where the robot is electrically driven the resource from the CLU will be an electrical charge from a battery 42 or generator of the CLU, and [0042] The CLU 10 also acts as storage/transport device and, as shown in FIG. 7, is operable to carry two or more robots 12 to a field to be worked. This is advantageous as the robots need not be designed to meet legal requirements to travel on public roads. Suitably, the CLU is provided with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Pichlmaier teaches means to transport and charge the battery of the autonomous vehicle in-between fields.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the storage/transportation and charging device taught by Pichlmaier, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport (0042).
Williams discloses,
The method of claim 24, further comprising charging one or more of the robotic lawn mowers (see at least [0043] it should be understood that the robotic platform 100 may be adapted to service a plurality of other environments, such as servicing outdoor traffic surfaces (e.g., cleaning roads and walkways), outdoor groomed landscapes (e.g., mowing lawns), [0056] the robotic platform 100 may utilize a service robot resource facility 110, such as at a ‘home’ location that provides resources, including service module material supply (e.g., consumable materials, cleaning heads), service module exchange 114, electric charging station 116, and the like, and [0056] The electric charging station 116 may comprise a contactless charging facility that enables the robotic platform 100 to automatically charge its batteries while in proximity to the charging facility).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Williams teaches a robotic platform with a service robot resource facility including an electric charging station where the robot platform returns to the service robot facility for user execution of certain functions.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the separate and fixed charging facility taught by Williams, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the robotic platform to return to the electric charging station 116 when its batteries are low or at the end of a service day (0056).
As per Claim 26,
Abramson does not disclose,
The method of claim 25, wherein charging one or more of the robotic lawn mowers is performed between step G and step H.
Pichlmaier discloses,
The method of claim 25, wherein charging one or more of the robotic lawn mowers is performed between step G and step H (see at least [0042] The CLU 10 also acts as storage/transport device, and [0042] Suitably, the CLU is provided with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Pichlmaier teaches means to transport and charge the battery of the autonomous vehicle in-between fields.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the storage/transportation and charging device taught by Pichlmaier, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide with a mechanism to refuel or recharge the robots during transport (0042).
Williams discloses,
The method of claim 25, wherein charging one or more of the robotic lawn mowers is performed between step G and step H (see at least [0056] the robotic platform may return to the electric charging station 116 when its batteries are low or at the end of a service day. The electric charging station 116 may comprise a contactless charging facility that enables the robotic platform 100 to automatically charge its batteries while in proximity to the charging facility).
Thus, Abramson discloses a system and method of several robots operating at the same time in different sections of a files and Williams teaches a robotic platform with a service robot resource facility including an electric charging station where the robot platform returns to the service robot facility for user execution of certain functions.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Abramson with the separate and fixed charging facility taught by Williams, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the robotic platform to return to the electric charging station 116 when its batteries are low or at the end of a service day (0056).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants should take note of the prior art in the PTO-892.
/A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668