Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8-9, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2010/0277850, hereinafter Chang) in view of Foulke (WO 0003829, hereinafter Foulke) and further in view of LaBrie et al. (US 2019/0341290, hereinafter LaBried).
With respect to claim 1, Chang discloses a semiconductor package manufacturing method (Para 0005) which uses a semiconductor package manufacturing apparatus including: a chuck (200 of Fig. 2); and a scanning device (122 of Fig. 6) configured to provide information about a shape of the substrate to the chuck (Para 0016 & 0023), wherein the chuck comprises a first adsorbing portion (Para 0020 – center zone with independent control), a second adsorbing portion (Para 0020-0021– intermediate & outer zones), and a driver configured to drive the first adsorbing portion and each of the a plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion (Para 0007; 0028; respective voltage sources/drivers provide the respective voltages V1-V3 to the zones 201-203 of the electrostatic chuck – a processor controls a metrology device to measure data indicating an amount of warpage of the wafer; determining at least two different voltages to be applied to respective portions of the wafer by an electrostatic chuck that is to hold the wafer, based on the amount of warpage – electrostatic chuck drives the wafer), wherein the first adsorbing portion and each of the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion are configured to adsorb the substrate (Para 0019-0021), the semiconductor package manufacturing method comprising: driving each of the plurality of divided regions to correspond to the shape of the substrate based on the information using the driver (Para 0019 – applying different voltages to different regions of the wafer to flatten the substrate – processor optimize voltage profile base on warpage).
Chang does not explicitly disclose a solder device configured to attach solder balls to a substrate provided on the chuck.
In an analogous art, Foulke discloses a solder device configured to attach solder balls to a substrate provided on the chuck (page 06; lines 16-35). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chang’s method by having Foulke’s disclosure
in order to connect different components of a semiconductor device.
Chang/Foulke does not explicitly disclose rotating the second adsorbing portion without rotating the first adsorbing portion.
In an analogous art, LaBrie discloses rotating the second adsorbing portion without rotating the first adsorbing portion (Fig. 1B; Para 0049-0051; The centering hub 102 can rotate independently of the chuck hub 104). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chang/Foulke’s method by having LaBrie’s disclosure in order to improve processing quality by reducing unevenness on a wafer surface by controlling individual sections of the chuck.
With respect to claim 4, Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the driver is further configured to rotate the plurality of divided regions along a direction parallel to an upper surface of the substrate.
In an analogous art, LaBrie discloses wherein the driver is further configured to rotate the plurality of divided regions along a direction parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (0049-0051). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chang/Foulke’s method by having LaBrie’s disclosure in order to improve processing quality by reducing unevenness on a wafer surface by controlling individual sections of the chuck.
With respect to claim 8, Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the semiconductor package manufacturing apparatus further comprising an inspection device configured to: identify whether the solder balls are attached to the substrate and a location corresponding to a missing solder ball; and provide a solder ball to the location corresponding to the missing solder ball.
In an analogous art, Foulke discloses wherein the semiconductor package manufacturing apparatus further comprising an inspection device configured to: identify whether the solder balls are attached to the substrate and a location corresponding to a missing solder ball (Page 6; lines 18-27); and provide a solder ball to the location corresponding to the missing solder ball (Page 06; lines 1-17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chang’s method by having Foulke’s disclosure in order to connect different components of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 9, A semiconductor package manufacturing method (Para 0005) comprising: a chuck (200 of Fig. 2) comprising a first adsorbing portion (Para 0020 – center zone with independent control) and a second adsorbing portion (Para 0020-0021– intermediate & outer zones), wherein the second adsorbing portion comprises a plurality of divided regions (Para 0020-0021-intermediate & outer zones); providing information about a warpage shape of the substrate to the chuck (Para 0016 & 0023); and individually controlling positions of each of the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion based on the information (Para 0007; 0028; respective voltage sources/drivers provide the respective voltages V1-V3 to the zones 201-203 of the electrostatic chuck – a processor controls a metrology device to measure data indicating an amount of warpage of the wafer; determining at least two different voltages to be applied to respective portions of the wafer by an electrostatic chuck that is to hold the wafer, based on the amount of warpage).
Chang does not explicitly disclose attaching solder balls to a substrate provided on the chuck.
In an analogous art, Foulke discloses attaching solder balls to a substrate provided on the chuck (page 06; lines 16-35). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chang’s method by having Foulke’s disclosure
in order to connect different components of a semiconductor device.
Chang/Foulke does not explicitly disclose rotating the second adsorbing portion along without rotating the first adsorbing portion.
In an analogous art, LaBrie discloses rotating the second adsorbing portion along without rotating the first adsorbing portion (Fig. 1B; Para 0049-0051; The centering hub 102 can rotate independently of the chuck hub 104). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chang/Foulke’s method by having LaBrie’s disclosure in order to improve processing quality by reducing unevenness on a wafer surface by controlling individual sections of the chuck.
With respect to claim 10, Chang discloses adsorbing the substrate using each of the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion (Para 0020-0021-intermediate & outer zones).
With respect to claim 16, Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the semiconductor package manufacturing apparatus further comprising: identifying the solder balls that are attached to the substrate; and providing a solder ball to a location corresponding to the missing solder ball.
In an analogous art, Foulke discloses wherein the semiconductor package manufacturing apparatus further comprising identifying the solder balls that are attached to the substrate (Page 6; lines 18-27); and providing a solder ball to the location corresponding to the missing solder ball (Page 06; lines 1-17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chang’s method by having Foulke’s disclosure in order to connect different components of a semiconductor device.
Claims 2-3, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang/Foulke/LaBrie in view of Kato.
With respect to claim 2, Chang/Foulke/LaBrie discloses the semiconductor manufacturing method of claim 1.
Chang/Foulke/LaBrie does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion is configured to adsorb the substrate at a position corresponding to the shape of the substrate.
In an analogous art, Kato discloses wherein each of the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion is configured to adsorb the substrate at a position corresponding to the shape of the substrate (Para 0056 and 0109). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chang/Foulke/LaBrie’s method by having Kato’s disclosure in order to reduce imperfections of a wafer by addressing each section individually.
With respect to claim 3, Chang/Foulke/LaBrie discloses the semiconductor manufacturing method of claim 1.
Chang/Foulke/LaBrie does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of divided regions of the adsorbing portion is configured to move each of the plurality of divided regions along a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate.
In an analogous art, Kato discloses wherein the driver is further configured to move each of the plurality of divided regions along a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate (Para 0032). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chang/Foulke/LaBrie’s method by having Kato’s disclosure in order to reduce imperfections of a wafer by addressing each section individually.
With respect to claim 11, Chang/Foulke/LaBrie discloses the semiconductor manufacturing method of claim 1.
Chang/Foulke/LaBrie does not explicitly disclose wherein the individually controlling the positions of each of the plurality of divided regions comprises moving the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion comprises moving the plurality of divided regions along a vertical direction to correspond to the warpage shape of the substrate.
In an analogous art, Kato discloses wherein the individually controlling the positions of each of the plurality of divided regions comprises moving the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion comprises moving the plurality of divided regions along a vertical direction to correspond to the warpage shape of the substrate (Para 0032). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chang/Foulke/LaBrie’s method by having Kato’s disclosure in order to reduce imperfections of a wafer by addressing each section individually.
With respect to claim 15, Chang/Foulke/LaBrie discloses the semiconductor manufacturing method of claim 9.
Chang/Foulke/LaBrie does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion are provided at an initial position when the substrate is attached to the chuck, and wherein the semiconductor package manufacturing method further comprises: relocating the plurality of divided regions to the initial position; and detaching the substrate from the chuck while the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portioin are provided at the initial position.
In an analogous art, Kato discloses wherein the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion are provided at an initial position when the substrate is attached to the chuck (para 0106), and wherein the semiconductor package manufacturing method further comprises: relocating the plurality of divided regions to the initial position (Para 0109 and 0114); and detaching the substrate from the chuck while the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portioin are provided at the initial position (Para 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chang/Foulke/LaBrie’s method by having Kato’s disclosure in order to reduce imperfections of a wafer by addressing each section individually.
Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang/Foulke/LaBrie in view of Kubo.
With respect to claim 5, Chang discloses wherein the measuring device is configured to obtain the information about the shape of the substrate, and provide warpage information to the chuck about a warpage type of the substrate (Para 0026 and 0028), movement of each of the plurality of divided regions (Para 0033-0035), and a movement distance (Para 0016).
Chang/Foulke/LaBrie does not explicitly disclose that the measuring device is the scanning device and comprises of a sensor.
In an analogous art, Kubo discloses that the measuring device is the scanning device and comprises of a sensor (Page 15, last Para -Page 16 first Para; Page 17, last para). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Chang/Foulke/LaBrie’s method by having Kubo’s disclosure in order to reduce error rate in semiconductor manufacturing process.
With respect to claim 6, Chang discloses measuring a distance between each of the plurality of divided regions and the substrate (0016 and 0026), and wherein the driver is further configured to drive each of the plurality of divided regions based on the distance (Para 0017-0018 and 0028).
Chang/Foulke/LaBrie does not explicitly disclose that the chuck comprises of a sensor configured to perform the measuring step.
In an analogous art, Kubo discloses that the chuck comprises of a sensor configured to perform the measuring step (Page 15, last Para -Page 16 first Para; Page 17, last para). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Chang/Foulke/LaBrie’s method by having Kubo’s disclosure in order to reduce error rate in semiconductor manufacturing process.
With respect to claim 13, Chang discloses obtaining the information about the warpage shape of the substrate; and transmitting the information about the warpage shape of the substrate (Para 0026 and 0028), movement of each of the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion (Para 0033-0035), and a movement distance to the chuck (Para 0016).
Chang/Foulke/LaBrie does not explicitly disclose controlling a sensor to obtain the information.
In an analogous art, Kubo discloses controlling a sensor to obtain the information (Page 15, last Para -Page 16 first Para; Page 17, last para). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Chang/Foulke/LaBrie’s device by having Kubo’s disclosure in order to reduce error rate in semiconductor manufacturing process.
With respect to claim 14, Chang discloses obtaining a distance between each of the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion and the substrate (0016 and 0026), and adjusting heights of the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion based on the distance (Para 0016; 0023 and 0026).
Kato does not explicitly disclose controlling a sensor to obtain the distance.
In an analogous art, Kubo discloses controlling a sensor to obtain the distance (Page 15, last Para -Page 16 first Para; Page 17, last para). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Kato/Kim’s device by having Kubo’s disclosure in order to reduce error rate in semiconductor manufacturing process.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang/Foulke/LaBrie/ Kubo and further in view of Kitaoka (US 2004/0217765, hereinafter Kitaoka).
With respect to claim 7, Chang/Foulke/LaBrie/ Kubo discloses the semiconductor manufacturing method of claim 1.
Chang/Foulke/LaBrie/ Kubo does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensor extends into the chuck.
In an analogous art, Kitaoka discloses wherein the sensor extends into the chuck (Para 0007). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Chang/Foulke/LaBrie/ Kubo’s device by having Kitaoka’s disclosure in order to improve the accuracy of the measurements.
9. (currently amended): A semiconductor package manufacturing method comprising: attaching solder balls to a substrate provided on a chuck, the chuck comprising a first adsorbing portion and a second adsorbing portion, wherein the second adsorbing portion comprises a plurality of divided regions; providing information about a warpage shape of the substrate to the chuck;-chuck; and rotating the second adsorbing portion along without rotating the first adsorbing portion; and individually controlling positions of each of the plurality of divided regions of the second adsorbing portion based on the information.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang/Foulke/LaBrie in view of Liao.
With respect to claim 12, Chang/Foulke/LaBrie discloses the semiconductor manufacturing method of claim 11.
Chang/Foulke/LaBrie does not explicitly disclose rotating the plurality of divided regions based on the warpage shape of the substrate.
In an analogous art, Liao discloses rotating the plurality of divided regions based on the warpage shape of the substrate (0011; and 0017). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Chang/Foulke/LaBrie’s device by having Liao’s disclosure in order to adjust different parts of the substrate to achieve the best results during manufacturing process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17.
Claims 18-20 are allowed by virtue of dependency on claims 17.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 17, prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the “… a driver configured to drive each of the plurality of divided regions, the scanning device includes a first sensor, the chuck includes a second sensor, the semiconductor package manufacturing method comprising: providing the substrate on the chuck;
obtaining information indicating a warpage shape of the substrate using the first sensor;
identifying a movement distance for each of the plurality of divided regions according to the information; measuring a distance between each of the plurality of divided regions and the substrate using the second sensor; moving each of the plurality of divided regions to an initial position based on the movement distance using the driver; adsorbing the substrate to the chuck based on each of the plurality of divided regions reaching an adsorption distance at which vacuum adsorption is enabled; moving each of the plurality of divided regions back to the initial position; and detaching the substrate from the plurality of divided regions while positioned at the initial position.” when considered as a whole along with all other limitations of claim 17.
Response to Arguments
Based on new ground of rejection, applicant's arguments filed on 11/25/2025 are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899