DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filled on 02/02/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending for this examination.
Oath/Declaration
The oath or declaration filed on 10/04/2022 is acceptable.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elects Group I, claims 1-12, without traverse, and without prejudice to the presentation of the claims of Groups II and 13-20 “Response to Election / Restriction Filed” filed on 02/02/2026 is acknowledged. In response to the species restriction, Applicant elects Species M.IV: a configurable capacitance chip, as described in Fig. 4 and Applicant respectfully asserts that pending claims 1-12 are each generic.
This office action considers claims 1-20 pending for prosecution, wherein claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration, and 1-12 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 5-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandran et al (US 2020/0176427 A1; hereafter Ramachandran) in view of SHEN et al (US 2016/0293534 A1; hereafter SHEN).
Regarding claim 1. Ramachandran discloses an electronic device (comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Fig 13, substrate 150, such as silicon substrate, Para [ 0043]) including a first integrally formed capacitor ( Fig 13, left capacitor banks 102, Para [ 0032]) having first and second terminals (Fig 13, left terminals 110 , Para [ 0032]) formed at a bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig 13, substrate 150, such as silicon substrate, Para [ 0043]), the semiconductor substrate (Fig 13, substrate 150, such as silicon substrate, Para [ 0043]) including a second integrally formed capacitor (Fig 13, right capacitor banks 102 , Para [ 0032]) having third and fourth terminals ( Fig 13, right terminals 110 , Para [ 0032]) formed at the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig 13, substrate 150, such as silicon substrate, Para [ 0043]); and
a package substrate (Fig 13, package die 200, Para [ 0039]) attached to the semiconductor substrate (Fig 13, substrate 150, such as silicon substrate, Para [ 0043]) and including:
a first plurality of electrical interconnects (Fig 13, pads 250, Para [ 0045]) formed at a first surface including first, second, third and fourth electrical interconnects (Fig 13, plurality pads 250 , Para [ 0045]) wherein the first electrical interconnect is electrically connected to the first terminal (Fig 13, left terminals 110 , Para [ 0032]), the second electrical interconnect is electrically connected to the second terminal (Fig 13, left terminals 110 , Para [ 0032]), the third electrical interconnect is electrically connected to the third terminal (Fig 13, right terminals 110 , Para [ 0032]) and the fourth electrical interconnect is electrically connected to the fourth terminal (Fig 13, right terminals 110 , Para [ 0032]).
But Ramachandran does not disclose explicitly a second plurality of electrical interconnects formed at a second surface opposite the first surface; and a plurality of electrical conductors coupling the first, second, third and fourth electrical interconnects to two electrical interconnects of the second plurality of electrical interconnects.
In a similar field of endeavor, SHEN discloses a second plurality of electrical interconnects (Fig. [14], connections 140′, Para [ 0050]) formed at a second surface opposite the first surface (Fig. [14], connections 140′, Para [ 0050]); and a plurality of electrical conductors (Fig. [14], interconnect [1510, 120I.T], Para [ 0057]) coupling the first, second, third and fourth electrical interconnects ( circuit modules 804 includes electrical connection, Para [ 0085]) to two electrical interconnects of the second plurality of electrical interconnects (connections 140′, Para [ 0050]).
Since Ramachandran and SHEN are both from the similar field of endeavor, and SHEN discloses number of ICs and discrete circuits attached to a printed circuit board (PCB). Therefore, the purpose disclosed by SHEN would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Ramachandran.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ramachandran in light of SHEN teaching “a second plurality of electrical interconnects (Fig. [14], connections 140′, Para [ 0050]) formed at a second surface opposite the first surface (Fig. [14], connections 140′, Para [ 0050]); and a plurality of electrical conductors (Fig. [14], interconnect [1510, 120I.T], Para [ 0057]) coupling the first, second, third and fourth electrical interconnects ( circuit modules 804 includes electrical connection, Para [ 0085]) to two electrical interconnects of the second plurality of electrical interconnects (connections 140′, Para [ 0050])” for further advantage such as improve device performance with reliable interconnect structure.
Regarding claim 5. Ramachandran and SHEN the electronic device of claim 1, SHEN further discloses wherein the second plurality of electrical interconnects (Fig. [14], connections 140′, Para [ 0050]) comprise spherical interconnects arranged to be soldered (Fig. [14], connections 140′, Para [ 0050]) to a separate electronic device (Fig. [14], circuit modules 804 Para [ 0042, 0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ramachandran in light of SHEN teaching “wherein the second plurality of electrical interconnects (Fig. [14], connections 140′, Para [ 0050]) comprise spherical interconnects arranged to be soldered (Fig. [14], connections 140′, Para [ 0050]) to a separate electronic device (Fig. [14], circuit modules 804 Para [ 0042, 0085])” for further advantage such as improve device performance with reliable interconnect structure.
Regarding claim 6. Ramachandran and SHEN the electronic device of claim 1, Ramachandran further discloses wherein the first electrical interconnect (Fig 13, pads 250) is electrically connected to the first terminal ( Fig 13, left terminals 110, Para [ 0032]), the second electrical interconnect (Fig 13, pads 250) is electrically connected to the second terminal (Fig 13, left terminals 110, Para [ 0032]), the third electrical interconnect (Fig 13, pads 250) is electrically connected to the third terminal ( Fig 13, right terminals 110, Para [ 0032]) and the fourth electrical interconnect (Fig 13, pads 250) is electrically connected to the fourth terminal (Fig 13, right terminals 110, Para [ 0032]) via soldered interfaces (Fig 13, solder 162, Para [ 0032]).
Regarding claim 7. Ramachandran discloses an electronic device comprising:
a substrate (Fig 13, substrate 150, such as silicon substrate, Para [ 0043]) including a plurality of integrally formed capacitors (Fig 13, capacitor banks 102, Para [ 0032]), each capacitor having respective electrical terminals (Fig 13, terminals 110, Para [ 0032]) formed at a bottom surface of the substrate (Fig 13, substrate 150, such as silicon substrate, Para [ 0043]); and
a package substrate (Fig 13, package die 200, Para [ 0039]) attached to the substrate (Fig 13, substrate 150, such as silicon substrate, Para [ 0043]) and including:
a plurality of first electrical interconnects (Fig 13, pads 250) formed at a first surface and electrically coupled to the electrical terminals (terminals 110, Para [ 0032]) and a plurality of electrical conductors (Fig 13, IPD routing 120, Para [ 0034]) coupling at least two of the integrally formed capacitors (Fig 13, capacitor banks 102, Para [ 0032]) together.
But Ramachandran does not disclose explicitly a plurality of second electrical interconnects formed at a second surface opposite the first surface.
In a similar field of endeavor, SHEN discloses a plurality of second electrical interconnects (connections 140′, Para [ 0050]) formed at a second surface opposite the first surface (Fig. [14], connections 140′, Para [ 0050]).
Since Ramachandran and SHEN are both from the similar field of endeavor, and SHEN discloses number of ICs and discrete circuits attached to a printed circuit board (PCB). Therefore, the purpose disclosed by SHEN would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Ramachandran. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Ramachandran in light of SHEN teaching “a plurality of second electrical interconnects (connections 140′, Para [ 0050]) formed at a second surface opposite the first surface (Fig. [14], connections 140′, Para [ 0050])” for further advantage such as improve device performance with reliable interconnect structure.
Regarding claim 8. Ramachandran and SHEN the electronic device of claim 7, Ramachandran further discloses wherein the plurality of electrical conductors couple the at least two integrally formed capacitors together in parallel (Fig 13, Para [ 0005-0007]).
Regarding claim 11. Ramachandran and SHEN the electronic device of claim 7, SHEN further discloses wherein the plurality of second electrical interconnects (connections 140′, Para [ 0050]) comprise spherical interconnects arranged to be soldered (connections 140′, Para [ 0050]) to a separate electronic device (circuit modules 804 Para [ 0042, 0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Ramachandran in light of SHEN teaching “wherein the plurality of second electrical interconnects (connections 140′, Para [ 0050]) comprise spherical interconnects arranged to be soldered (connections 140′, Para [ 0050]) to a separate electronic device (circuit modules 804 Para [ 0042, 0085])” for further advantage such as improve device performance with reliable interconnect structure.
Regarding claim 12. Ramachandran and SHEN the electronic device of claim 7, Ramachandran further discloses wherein the plurality of first electrical interconnects (Fig 13, pads 250) are electrically coupled to the electrical terminals (terminals 110) via soldered interfaces (Fig 13, solder 162, Para [ 0032]).
Claims 2-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandran et al (US 2020/0176427 A1; hereafter Ramachandran) in view of SHEN et al (US 2016/0293534 A1; hereafter SHEN) as applied claims above and further in view of de Rochemont (US 2018/0358295 A1; hereafter Rochemont).
Regarding claim 2. Ramachandran and SHEN the electronic device of claim 1, But Ramachandran and SHEN do not disclose explicitly wherein the plurality of electrical conductors couple the first capacitor in parallel with the second capacitor.
In a similar field of endeavor, Rochemont discloses wherein the plurality of electrical conductors couple the first capacitor in parallel with the second capacitor (Para [ 0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Ramachandran and SHEN in light of Rochemont teaching “wherein the plurality of electrical conductors couple the first capacitor in parallel with the second capacitor (Para [ 0063])” for further advantage such as improve electrical connectivity of embedded capacitors within a chip stack.
Regarding claim 3. Ramachandran and SHEN the electronic device of claim 1, But Ramachandran and SHEN do not disclose explicitly wherein the plurality of electrical conductors couple the first capacitor in series with the second capacitor.
In a similar field of endeavor, Rochemont discloses wherein the plurality of electrical conductors couple the first capacitor in series with the second capacitor (Para [ 0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Ramachandran and SHEN in light of Rochemont teaching “wherein the plurality of electrical conductors couple the first capacitor in series with the second capacitor (Para [ 0063])” for further advantage such as improve electrical connectivity of embedded capacitors within a chip stack.
Regarding claim 9. Ramachandran and SHEN the electronic device of claim 7, But Ramachandran and SHEN do not disclose explicitly wherein the plurality of electrical conductors couple the at least two integrally formed capacitors together in series.
In a similar field of endeavor, Rochemont discloses wherein the plurality of electrical conductors couple the first capacitor in series with the second capacitor (Para [ 0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Ramachandran and SHEN in light of Rochemont teaching “wherein the plurality of electrical conductors couple the first capacitor in series with the second capacitor (Para [ 0063])” for further advantage such as improve electrical connectivity of embedded capacitors within a chip stack.
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandran et al (US 2020/0176427 A1; hereafter Ramachandran) in view of SHEN et al (US 2016/0293534 A1; hereafter SHEN) as applied claims above and further in view of Nelson (US 2020/0083186 A1; hereafter Nelson).
Regarding claim 4. Ramachandran and SHEN the electronic device of claim 1, But Ramachandran and SHEN do not disclose explicitly wherein the package substrate comprises a printed circuit board.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nelson discloses wherein the package substrate comprises a printed circuit board (Para [ 0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Ramachandran and SHEN in light of Nelson teaching “wherein the package substrate comprises a printed circuit board (Para [ 0017])” for further advantage such as improve electrical connection within a chip package.
Regarding claim 10. Ramachandran and SHEN the electronic device of claim 7, But Ramachandran and SHEN do not disclose explicitly wherein the package substrate comprises a printed circuit board.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nelson discloses wherein the package substrate comprises a printed circuit board (Para [ 0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Ramachandran and SHEN in light of Nelson teaching “herein the package substrate comprises a printed circuit board (Para [ 0017])” for further advantage such as improve electrical connection within a chip package.
Conclusion
/MOIN M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898