Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments / Arguments
Regarding the rejection(s) of claims under 35 USC 103:
Applicant's arguments, in view of the amended claims, filed 11/04/2025 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. Therefore the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further analysis the rejection is maintained under
DETAILED ACTION
This is a reply to the arguments filed on 11/04/2025, in which, claims 1-7, 10-16, and 19-20 are pending. Claims 1, 10, and 19 are independent. Claims 8-9 and 17-18 have been cancelled.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul et al. (US 20230136230 A1, referred to as Paul), in view of Pender et al. (US 20200226603 A1, referred to as Pender) in further view of Kulkarni et al. (US 20080086767 A1, referred to as Kulkarni).
In reference to claim 1, An apparatus configured for providing multi-channel authentication in a system, the apparatus comprising: a non-transient computer-readable storage medium having executable instructions embodied thereon; and one or more hardware processors, Paul: [0058]-[0060] Provides for an apparatus comprising a computer-readable medium and hardware processors configured for executing instructions related to authentication.) Receive, from a plurality of system access channels, authentication data related to a plurality of data transfers and to a plurality of users, of the system access channels providing access to functionality of the system in a different manner (Paul: [0014], [0017] and [0031]-[0033] Provides for receiving authentication data from multiple channels (which could be at least 7 different access channels) which provide access to the system in different manners.) Consolidate the authentication data from the plurality of access channels to generate a set of consolidated authentication data (Paul: [0019]-[0021] and [0033] Provides for consolidating authentication data (tokens) from multiple channels into a single database.) Although Paul teaches providing user interfaces for authentication across multiple channels (Paul: [0032]-[0034]). Paul does not explicitly mention generating a user interface based on consolidated authentication data. However, Pender discloses:
Generate a user interface, based on the set of consolidated authentication data, to enable execution of a centrally-provided authentication function at a selected system access channel for a selected user initiating a data transfer (Pender: Fig. 4-9 and [0064] Provides for generating a user interface that prompts for authentication based on collected data. Pender paragraphs [0076]-[0080] further provides for generating a user interface (omni-channel user interface component) based on consolidated authentication data. For the sake of completeness, Pender: [0035]and [0049] Provides for an apparatus with computing platforms, hardware, and software for multi-channel authentication. Pender: [0010], [0059] and [0069] further provides for receiving authentication data from multiple channels (e.g., telephone, online banking, in-person banking). Pender: [0006], [0024], and [0050] further provides for consolidating authentication data from multiple channels into a centralized system by linking channel-specific systems and maintaining historical information across channels.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paul, which provide an apparatus capable of executing instructions related to authentication from multiple system access channels, with the teachings of Pender, which disclose generating a user interface based on consolidated authentication data. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to provide a centralized authentication function that can dynamically adapt to the user's specific context and requirements. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to streamline the authentication process across various system access channels, thereby improving efficiency and time required for authentication in a multi-channel environment.
Paul in view of Pender does not explicitly disclose generating a current authentication status for the initiated data transfer; and redirect the initiated data transfer to a different system access channel based on the current authentication status failing to satisfy one or more stored authentication criteria associated with the selected system access channe, enable execution of a selected type of data transfer with reduced authentication requirements based on stored authentication data associated with successful authentication of prior instances of the selected type of data transfer for the selected user and wherein the selected system access channel is a telephone call center. However, Kulkarni teaches:
Generate a current authentication status for the initiated data transfer; and redirect the initiated data transfer to a different system access channel based on the current authentication status failing to satisfy one or more stored authentication criteria associated with the selected system access channel (Kulkarni: [0057] and [0064]-[0065] Provides for explicit authentication status tracking and redirection to a different channel when current credentials fail to satisfy the threshold required for the requested resource.)
Enable execution of a selected type of data transfer with reduced authentication requirements based on stored authentication data associated with successful authentication of prior instances of the selected type of data transfer for the selected user (Kulkarni: [0070]-[0077] Provides for stored prior authentication data enabling reduced future authentication requirements.)
Wherein the selected system access channel is a telephone call center (Kulkarni: [0048]-[0055] and [0099] Provides for telephone-based channels including VRU gateways and call-based authorization flows.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paul in view of Pender, which together provide an apparatus for multi-channel authentication with consolidated data and centralized user interfaces, with the teachings of Kulkarni, which introduces authentication status tracking, channel redirection based on credential failures, and adaptive authentication with reduced requirements based on prior successful authentications. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Kulkarni's dynamic authentication management into the combined multi-channel system to provide intelligent routing and adaptive security. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve user experience by automatically redirecting failed authentication attempts to more appropriate channels where users can successfully verify their identity.
In reference to claim 2, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein Paul in view of Pender in further view of Kulkarni teaches the one or more hardware processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: provide one or more high assurance authentication functions to the plurality of access channels, where the high assurance functions are not otherwise available to the plurality of access channels (Paul: [0019] and [0026]-[0027] Provides for higher levels of authentication (step-up authentication) to different channels.)
In reference to claim 3, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein Paul in view of Pender in further view of Kulkarni teaches the one or more hardware processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: receive, from a first system access channel, first authentication data (Paul: [0048]-[0050] Provides for authentication data (in the form of an access token) from a system access channel.) Generate the user interface based on the first authentication data to enable execution of the centrally-provided authentication function via a second system access channel for the selected user initiating the data transfer (Paul: [0050]-[0052] Provides for a process of converting authentication data (tokens) from one channel to be used in another channel.)
In reference to claim 4, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein Paul in view of Pender in further view of Kulkarni teaches the one or more hardware processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: provide a similar level of authentication and a similar risk profile for each of the plurality of system access channels (Paul: [0016]-[0020] Provides for similar authentication across different channels, with the backend systems treating tokens from different channels identically.)
In reference to claim 5, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein Paul in view of Pender in further view of Kulkarni teaches the one or more hardware processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: generate a user authentication history based on data in the set of consolidated authentication data associated with the selected user (Paul: [0019]-[0021] and [0031]-[0033] Provides for storing consolidated authentication data (tokens) from multiple channels in a single database, associated with user information.)
In reference to claim 6, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein Paul in view of Pender in further view of Kulkarni teaches the one or more hardware processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: provide an authentication module at the plurality of system access channels, the authentication module configured for communication with the centrally-provided authentication function (Paul: [0030]-[0035] Provides for authentication systems (e.g., e-commerce authentication system 321) that are provided at different access channels and communicate with a central backend.)
In reference to claim 7, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein Paul in view of Pender in further view of Kulkarni teaches the one or more hardware processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: generate a current authentication status for the initiated data transfer (Paul: [0047]-[0051] Provides for checking the current status of authentication for a user's request (data transfer).) Authenticate the initiated data transfer based on the current authentication status satisfying one or more stored authentication criteria (Paul: [0018]-[0019] and [0050]-[0051] Provides for a process where the system checks the current authentication status (valid token) against stored criteria (authentication policy) to determine if the token is sufficient for the requested action. If the token meets the criteria, the system proceeds with the data transfer (forwarding the call to the API backend). Pender: [0022] and [0078] Provides for providing access to account information based on successful validation of authentication responses.)
In reference to claim 10, A computer-implemented method for providing multi-channel authentications, Paul: [0058]-[0060] Provides for an apparatus comprising a computer-readable medium and hardware processors configured for executing instructions related to authentication.) Receiving, from a plurality of system access channels, authentication data related to a plurality of data transfers and to a plurality of users, each of the system access channels providing access to functionality of the system in a different manner (Paul: [0014], [0017] and [0031]-[0033] Provides for receiving authentication data from multiple channels (which could be at least 7 different access channels) which provide access to the system in different manners.) Consolidating the authentication data from the plurality of access channels to generate a set of consolidated authentication data (Paul: [0019]-[0021] and [0033] Provides for consolidating authentication data (tokens) from multiple channels into a single database.) Although Paul teaches providing user interfaces for authentication across multiple channels (Paul: [0032]-[0034]). Paul does not explicitly mention generating a user interface based on consolidated authentication data. However, Pender discloses:
Generating a user interface, based on the set of consolidated authentication data, to enable execution of a centrally-provided authentication function at a selected system access channel for a selected user initiating a data transfer (Pender: Fig. 4-9 and [0064] Provides for generating a user interface that prompts for authentication based on collected data. Pender paragraphs [0076]-[0080] further provides for generating a user interface (omni-channel user interface component) based on consolidated authentication data. For the sake of completeness, Pender: [0035]and [0049] Provides for an apparatus with computing platforms, hardware, and software for multi-channel authentication. Pender: [0010], [0059] and [0069] further provides for receiving authentication data from multiple channels (e.g., telephone, online banking, in-person banking). Pender: [0006], [0024], and [0050] further provides for consolidating authentication data from multiple channels into a centralized system by linking channel-specific systems and maintaining historical information across channels.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paul, which provide an apparatus capable of executing instructions related to authentication from multiple system access channels, with the teachings of Pender, which disclose generating a user interface based on consolidated authentication data. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to provide a centralized authentication function that can dynamically adapt to the user's specific context and requirements. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to streamline the authentication process across various system access channels, thereby improving efficiency and time required for authentication in a multi-channel environment.
Paul in view of Pender does not explicitly disclose generating a current authentication status for the initiated data transfer; and redirect the initiated data transfer to a different system access channel based on the current authentication status failing to satisfy one or more stored authentication criteria associated with the selected system access channe, enable execution of a selected type of data transfer with reduced authentication requirements based on stored authentication data associated with successful authentication of prior instances of the selected type of data transfer for the selected user and wherein the selected system access channel is a telephone call center. However, Kulkarni teaches:
Generate a current authentication status for the initiated data transfer; and redirect the initiated data transfer to a different system access channel based on the current authentication status failing to satisfy one or more stored authentication criteria associated with the selected system access channel (Kulkarni: [0057] and [0064]-[0065] Provides for explicit authentication status tracking and redirection to a different channel when current credentials fail to satisfy the threshold required for the requested resource.)
Enable execution of a selected type of data transfer with reduced authentication requirements based on stored authentication data associated with successful authentication of prior instances of the selected type of data transfer for the selected user (Kulkarni: [0070]-[0077] Provides for stored prior authentication data enabling reduced future authentication requirements.)
Wherein the selected system access channel is a telephone call center (Kulkarni: [0048]-[0055] and [0099] Provides for telephone-based channels including VRU gateways and call-based authorization flows.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paul in view of Pender, which together provide an apparatus for multi-channel authentication with consolidated data and centralized user interfaces, with the teachings of Kulkarni, which introduces authentication status tracking, channel redirection based on credential failures, and adaptive authentication with reduced requirements based on prior successful authentications. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Kulkarni's dynamic authentication management into the combined multi-channel system to provide intelligent routing and adaptive security. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve user experience by automatically redirecting failed authentication attempts to more appropriate channels where users can successfully verify their identity.
In reference to claim 11, The method of claim 10, Paul in view of Pender in further view of Kulkarni further comprising: providing one or more high assurance authentication functions to the plurality of access channels, where the high assurance functions are not otherwise available to the plurality of access channels (Paul: [0019] and [0026]-[0027] Provides for higher levels of authentication (step-up authentication) to different channels.)
In reference to claim 12, The method of claim 10, Paul in view of Pender in further view of Kulkarni further comprising: receiving, from a first system access channel, first authentication data (Paul: [0048]-[0050] Provides for authentication data (in the form of an access token) from a system access channel.) Generating the user interface based on the first authentication data to enable execution of the centrally-provided authentication function via a second system access channel for the selected user initiating the data transfer (Paul: [0050]-[0052] Provides for a process of converting authentication data (tokens) from one channel to be used in another channel. Pender: [0072]-[0075] and [0133] Provides for generating user interface components (authentication prompts) based on received authentication data.)
In reference to claim 13, The method of claim 10, Paul in view of Pender in further view of Kulkarni further comprising: providing a similar level of authentication and a similar risk profile for each of the plurality of system access channels (Paul: [0016]-[0020] Provides for similar authentication across different channels, with the backend systems treating tokens from different channels identically.)
In reference to claim 14, The method of claim 10, Paul in view of Pender in further view of Kulkarni further comprising: generating a user authentication history based on data in the set of consolidated authentication data associated with the selected user (Paul: [0019]-[0021] and [0031]-[0033] Provides for storing consolidated authentication data (tokens) from multiple channels in a single database, associated with user information.)
In reference to claim 15, The method of claim 10, Paul in view of Pender in further view of Kulkarni further comprising: providing an authentication module at the plurality of system access channels, the authentication module configured for communication with the centrally-provided authentication function (Paul: [0030]-[0035] Provides for authentication systems (e.g., e-commerce authentication system 321) that are provided at different access channels and communicate with a central backend.)
In reference to claim 16, The method of claim 10, Paul in view of Pender in further view of Kulkarni further comprising: generating a current authentication status for the initiated data transfer (Paul: [0047]-[0051] Provides for checking the current status of authentication for a user's request (data transfer).) Authenticating the initiated data transfer based on the current authentication status satisfying one or more stored authentication criteria (Paul: [0018]-[0019] and [0050]-[0051] Provides for a process where the system checks the current authentication status (valid token) against stored criteria (authentication policy) to determine if the token is sufficient for the requested action. If the token meets the criteria, the system proceeds with the data transfer (forwarding the call to the API backend). Pender: [0022] and [0078] Provides for providing access to account information based on successful validation of authentication responses.)
In reference to claim 19, A non-transient computer-readable storage medium having instructions embodied thereon, the instructions being executable by one or more processors to perform a method for providing multi-channel authentication, (Paul: [0058]-[0060] Provides for an apparatus comprising a computer-readable medium and hardware processors configured for executing instructions related to authentication.) Receiving, from a plurality of system access channels, authentication data related to a plurality of data transfers and to a plurality of users, each of the system access channels providing access to functionality of the system in a different manner (Paul: [0014], [0017] and [0031]-[0033] Provides for receiving authentication data from multiple channels (which could be at least 7 different access channels) which provide access to the system in different manners.) Consolidating the authentication data from the plurality of access channels to generate a set of consolidated authentication data (Paul: [0019]-[0021] and [0033] Provides for consolidating authentication data (tokens) from multiple channels into a single database.) Although Paul teaches providing user interfaces for authentication across multiple channels (Paul: [0032]-[0034]). Paul does not explicitly mention generating a user interface based on consolidated authentication data. However, Pender discloses:
Generating a user interface, based on the set of consolidated authentication data, to enable execution of a centrally-provided authentication function at a selected system access channel for a selected user initiating a data transfer (Pender: Fig. 4-9 and [0064] Provides for generating a user interface that prompts for authentication based on collected data. Pender paragraphs [0076]-[0080] further provides for generating a user interface (omni-channel user interface component) based on consolidated authentication data. For the sake of completeness, Pender: [0035]and [0049] Provides for an apparatus with computing platforms, hardware, and software for multi-channel authentication. Pender: [0010], [0059] and [0069] further provides for receiving authentication data from multiple channels (e.g., telephone, online banking, in-person banking). Pender: [0006], [0024], and [0050] further provides for consolidating authentication data from multiple channels into a centralized system by linking channel-specific systems and maintaining historical information across channels.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paul, which provide an apparatus capable of executing instructions related to authentication from multiple system access channels, with the teachings of Pender, which disclose generating a user interface based on consolidated authentication data. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to provide a centralized authentication function that can dynamically adapt to the user's specific context and requirements. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to streamline the authentication process across various system access channels, thereby improving efficiency and time required for authentication in a multi-channel environment.
Paul in view of Pender does not explicitly disclose generating a current authentication status for the initiated data transfer; and redirect the initiated data transfer to a different system access channel based on the current authentication status failing to satisfy one or more stored authentication criteria associated with the selected system access channe, enable execution of a selected type of data transfer with reduced authentication requirements based on stored authentication data associated with successful authentication of prior instances of the selected type of data transfer for the selected user and wherein the selected system access channel is a telephone call center. However, Kulkarni teaches:
Generate a current authentication status for the initiated data transfer; and redirect the initiated data transfer to a different system access channel based on the current authentication status failing to satisfy one or more stored authentication criteria associated with the selected system access channel (Kulkarni: [0057] and [0064]-[0065] Provides for explicit authentication status tracking and redirection to a different channel when current credentials fail to satisfy the threshold required for the requested resource.)
Enable execution of a selected type of data transfer with reduced authentication requirements based on stored authentication data associated with successful authentication of prior instances of the selected type of data transfer for the selected user (Kulkarni: [0070]-[0077] Provides for stored prior authentication data enabling reduced future authentication requirements.)
Wherein the selected system access channel is a telephone call center (Kulkarni: [0048]-[0055] and [0099] Provides for telephone-based channels including VRU gateways and call-based authorization flows.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Paul in view of Pender, which together provide an apparatus for multi-channel authentication with consolidated data and centralized user interfaces, with the teachings of Kulkarni, which introduces authentication status tracking, channel redirection based on credential failures, and adaptive authentication with reduced requirements based on prior successful authentications. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Kulkarni's dynamic authentication management into the combined multi-channel system to provide intelligent routing and adaptive security. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to improve user experience by automatically redirecting failed authentication attempts to more appropriate channels where users can successfully verify their identity.
In reference to claim 20, The non-transient computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein Paul in view of Pender in further view of Kulkarni teaches the method further comprises: providing an authentication module at the plurality of system access channels, the authentication module configured for communication with the centrally-provided authentication function (Paul: [0030]-[0035] Provides for authentication systems (e.g., e-commerce authentication system 321) that are provided at different access channels and communicate with a central backend.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/A.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2432
/Jeffrey Nickerson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2432