DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 9, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. [WO 2021/162180 A1], “Jeong” (The US Publication: US 2023/0055222 A1 is relied upon for easier translation/referencing.)
Regarding claim 1, Jeong discloses a display device (Fig. 1-34) comprising:
a first electrode (Fig. 5, VL1) and a second electrode (VL2) disposed on a base layer (Fig. 4, 101);
a first insulating layer (109) disposed on the first electrode (VL1) and the second electrode (VL2);
a bank (410) disposed on the first insulating layer (109) and including an organic material (¶[0125 ]the internal banks (410) may include an organic insulating material such as polyimide (PI));
a light emitting element (300) disposed in an area surrounded by the bank (410) (as shown in Fig. 5); and
a second insulating layer (510) disposed on the bank (410), wherein:
the second insulating layer (510) forms an opening exposing a surface of the bank (as shown in Fig. 5), and the surface of the bank is formed of the organic material (¶[0125).
Regarding claim 2, Jeong disclose claim 1, Jeong disclose the opening surrounds at least a portion of the area including the light emitting element in a plan view (as shown in Fig 5, banks are partial covered by the second insulating layer (510), and in Fig. 3 shows banks (410) surrounds the LEDs (300)).
Regarding claim 3, Jeong disclose claim 1, Jeong disclose the bank protrudes (Fig. 5, 410) in a thickness direction of the base layer (as shown) and forms a step difference adjacent to the area including the light emitting element (as shown Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Jeong disclose claim 1, Jeong disclose the second insulating layer includes an inorganic material (¶[0160] teaches insulating layer (510) may include an inorganic insulating material).
Regarding claim 22, Jeong disclose claim 1, Jeong disclose the bank comprises a first bank (Fig. 5, 410) and a second bank (450) adjacent to the light emitting element (300), and wherein a width of the first bank is different than a width of the second bank (in the upward direction, the banks width are different).
Regarding claim 23, Jeong disclose an electronic device (Fig. 1, 10) comprising the display device of claim 1 (as shown in Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. [WO 2021/162180 A1], “Jeong” (The US Publication: US 2023/0055222 A1 is relied upon for easier translation/referencing) as applied in claim 9 and further in view of Yoo et al. [US 2022/0045244 A1], “Yoo”.
Regarding claim 10, Jeong disclose claim 9, Jeong disclose the second insulating layer (Fig. 4, 510) include an inorganic insulating material (¶[0160] teaches insulating layer (510) may include an inorganic insulating material) and the first insulating layer is an organic insulating material (¶[0121]. Jeong does not disclose the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer include a same material.
However, Yoo discloses a display panel with the first insulating layer (Fig. 7, PSV and ¶[0188] teaches the material can be inorganic material) and the second insulating layer (INS1 and ¶[0196] teaches the material can be inorganic material).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an inorganic first insulating layer as taught in Yoo in the device of Jeong such that the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer include a same material because an inorganic insulating layer is a suitable option for providing a planarized layer for the circuit layer (¶[0188]). Further, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (see MPEP 2144.07).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7, none of the prior art teaches or suggests, alone or in combination, all of the structural features of the claims, specifically including but not limited to, “a second insulating layer disposed on the bank, wherein the second insulating layer forms an opening exposing a surface of the bank, and wherein at least a portion of the surface of the bank is recessed and forms a cavity in an area overlapping the opening formed by the second insulating layer in a plan view,” as required by the claim.
Claim 8 is allowed by virtues of their dependencies on claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection required by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The list of prior art below teaches semiconductor display devices with LD surrounded by bank structures. The insulation layer located above the bank includes an opening.
Min et al. [US 2021/0305222 A1]
Kim et al . [US 2022/0037302 A1]
Park et al. [US 2022/0052108 A1]
Chai et al. [US 2021/0399040 A1]
Cho et al. [US 2022/0013693 A1]
Oh et al. [US 2022/0139319 A1]
Li et al. [US 2021/0288217 A1]
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PRIYA M. RAMPERSAUD
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/P.M.R/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/MARK W TORNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891